Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palazzo Papaleo 5 stars

Via Rondachi 1, 73028 Otranto, Italy

#4 of 32 hotels in Otranto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 318 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was such a beautiful hotel in a perfect location. The room was amazing with a balcony that you could see the ocean from. The staff were amazing (when we’re lost arriving they took us on the golf buggy to the Car park and got our luggage whilst taking us on a tour around town!). The breakfast was outstanding (everything was baked and made on site). Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1. Wish could stay longer. 2. lamp in my room must be changed for soft glow urgently instead of white fluorescent or LED !!

    1. Amazing breakfast on rooftop, local pies, freshly baked goods every single day, delicious juices 2. Rooftop has lounge chairs, daybeds and shower. If you check out you can still enjoy sun and have freshwater douche 3. Hotel has old word palazzo ambiance, look at first floor with belle epoque furniture, afrescos and objets d'art 4. Most important is the STAFF: the cleaning ladies are super amazing, Dario and other staff members always super helpful 5. Across the piazza there is small tourist office: Call Cristina the lady who works there and ask for tours around Otranto. I have done tour with her and Franco the driver, we went to Cave de Bauxite, Porto Badisco, Ciolo, Santa Cesaria Terme, Leuca and San Giovanni in Salento. We ended in amazing Gallipoli 6. Also ask Dario and other hotel staff to book mini 3h boat tour with Hydra company : Antonio and Lorenzo are very nice. 7. Ask for local restaurant tips : Arboe Vitae, Balconcino dOriente, Idra, Altro Baffo, all excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved our stay here. The hotel is comfortable, elegant and quiet. The service was simply outstanding from pickup at the carpark and reception through to catering and cleaning. Nothing was too much and our every request was catered for swiftly and expertly. The breakfasts on the beautiful terrace overlooking town and sea were delicious as was our romantic dinner. Thank you to chef Michele and waiter Gabriel in particular and thank you to the rest of the team too. You have created something very special. Wishing you every success! Rod and Marion

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were a little too sweet for our liking - sugar overload! It would have been nice for some more variety.

    Very central and handy location in the city centre. Close to lots of restaurants and the water for swimming and boat activities. The rooms are nicely appointed and the service from the hotel staff is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotelstaff at the desk was extremely friendly and helpfull. They shaked hands when welcoming us what makes it very personal. Free upgrade due to the ling ride and, at that day, rainy wheather. Very spacious pleasant room with great bathroom/shower. Fantastic breakfast on roofterrace. Unfortunatedly we stayed only one night but we really were wanted to go back for several days because we had such a great 18 hours. These people understand what hospitality means!! Thank you so much!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the hotel. It’s an old palace that has been converted into a boutique hotel. The rooms are lovely. Our room had a balcony overlooking the ocean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wi-fi in our room (Room 23) was intermittent and rather unreliable. This may not be the case in other parts of the hotel of course.

    The Hotel Palazzo Papaleo is wonderfully situated inside the city walls of picturesque Otranto – literally within touching distance of the Duomo! It has retained its original character as the palace of the Papaleo family, and has been decorated and furnished to a very high standard throughout. Our bed was amongst the most comfortable we’ve ever slept in! Toiletries were of a very high standard and plentiful. Breakfast is also of a good standard and offers a decent choice. The staff are particularly welcoming, helpful and informative, and the standard of their English is also good – something which is not always the case in Puglia. We had a hire car which we had to park about 6 minutes walk from the hotel, but this was not a problem. We walked, but the hotel does offer an electric ‘golf buggy’ type vehicle for those who would find this challenging. We would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Otranto.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was generally very nice but the eggs should be prepared freshly, then it would be perfect.

    We had a really nice stay! The hotel is located conveniently, the rooms are comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Most of all the staff was really nice & helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are terrific. Front office very helpful. The breakfast was the best we had n Italy. Coffee great. We had drinks on the roof garden and we were brought lovely glasses for our wine purchased at a winery. Everything was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Seems to be a common theme in Italy, but the bed was a little bit too hard ( but a lot softer than others).

    This hotel was great. The staff were welcoming, the room was lovely and clean and the breakfast was great. We would go back in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hair dryer was very weak.

    Excellent staff. The bed was very comfortable. The room had good air conditioning and a nice balcony with a sea view. The hotel has a pleasant rooftop bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had come from Brindisi where wine was cheap. This town is a bit of a tourist trap - however great cocktails in a couple of bars were great value!

    You cannot park in the old town. However hotel staff met us to collect bags and us, in a golf buggy, and suggested where we could park. The staff were exceptionally friendly. The Jacuzzi on the roof terrace is great but we were in a heat wave, it would've been perfect for a colder evening. Breakfast is buffet style and there is plenty of choice. You are in the old town very close to the beach and the harbour. My understanding was that this was once a Pope's summer home and it is adjacent to the cathedral. Otranto is an excellent place to visit and the subject of the very first Gothic novel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor could be a little updated style wise

    Jacuzzi on the roof was lovely. Staff were very kind and friendly. Great location in the centre of town right by the cathedral.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the rooftop terrace for drinks in the evening. Breakfast was delicious (great coffee, too) and the staff was friendly and helpful. Be mindful that since the hotel is in the pedestrian-only zone, you will have to park in a lot about a quarter-mile away; however, the staff will take you and your baggage back and forth to your car in a nifty little golf cart---how fun! I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities are a little tired and could be updated, but not enough where it was an issue.

    Exceptional staff who always greeted us with a smile and took care of all our questions and needs. We don't speak fluent Italian, but the language barrier wasn't an issue. I have some food restrictions, so the chef at their restaurant took the time to meet with me to prepare a meal I could eat without worry. They went out of their way to make our stay the best it could be. Room was clean with an extra turn down service. We were very pleased with our stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the double room I had did have an upper level lounge area, the bedroom area was a bit cramped.

    The location of the hotel, sitting room and roof terrace are fantastic. I would stay again even just for the view. The staff are very helpful. Particular thanks to Patrizia for going very much out of her way to drop me at my destination when it was unclear if there was a bus or not. Breakfast, served in a shaded area on the roof terrace was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and facilitating reception. Restaurant chef produced delicious and quite innovative meals which were good value compared to other restaurants in the town. Buffet breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to report

    The staff were most helpful, brought us to the bus on the golf buggy as there was no taxi, breakfast was delicious and the beds were really comfy, it was perfectly placed in the old town and we walked there from the train in 15 mins

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice to have a kettle in room .

    Staff were very helpful and friendly . Room was delightful with painted vaulted ceilings and full of antique furniture. No tea making facilities though ! Breakfast was the best of all our breakfasts on our two weeks holiday touring Puglia and Salento area. It was amazing with eggs ,quiche ,home made cakes ,yoghurt ,fresh fruit and much more... A small banquet ! I would definitely recommend !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somebody forgot that we are staying and breakfast was not served, however it was sorted within minutes 👍🏼

    Very beautiful and fresh hotel with friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue was the jacuzzi, the reason we booked this hotel, has very limiTed opening hours and we were not aware of them so we missed out in using it. It also costs extra to use.

    Fabulous bed and bedding, great location with views, amazing service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit deceptive that the use of the roof top hot tub is an extra charge. In any case, we could not use it because it is located in the same general area where dinner was being served.

    At first glance, this hotel did not fit the bill of a 5 star hotel...when you read "palazzo" and "5-star" you expect a certain level of grandeur. But the staff and service certainly made it 5 star. Wide range of offerings at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Aircon leaked on clothes which the staff tried to remedy immediately.

    Breakfast was beautiful with an amazing view. Enjoyed the jacuzzi (after eating in the restaurant to get a free couple's use), which with a drink was spot on.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    . We didn't understand why there is a small jacuzzi on the roof garden! The view itself is enough!

    view from restaurant,terrace in the room,room size,transfer by golf car and parking,breakfast,building ,location,restaurant .Restaurant menü was a little short but we could find delicious foods and good wine too

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The use of hot tub will incur additional charges, while claiming to offer parking, it is actually offsite and with charges. No clear instruction on how to get to hotel, especially those with cars. Should have mentioned upfront that people should drive directly to offsite carpark where hotel can do a transfer by shuttle. No introduction to the spa facilities and so, did not profit from them (not sure if it is also with additional charges). With the price for a 5 stars, it should be able to offer a lot more services and facilities but not with additional charges. Shower cabin needs serious and better maintenance, water stains everywhere on wall, soap holder, glass doors to shower head looked as if they were very dirty.

    Great location, in the heart of old town right next to duomo in no traffic zone. Nice clean room overall with spacious bathroom. AC and Wifi worked well. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was good with fresh fruits.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of facilities Noise Extra cost for hot tub use... $800 Eu/2 nights should include use of the hot tub should I please

    The hotel is lovely and quaint... Only 9 rooms. Breakfast is fabulous. Location good. However because it is set in an old house, you can hear all the hotel noise in your room. The staff is great but I don't believe this is the best quality for your money in Otranto.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was looking forward to use the whirpool in the top. It costs 30€ for 2 persons for 30 minutes. A bit expensive in my opinion if you are already paying the price for a 5-star hotel

    Small beautiful hotel in a perfect location. Great breakfast. Amazing view from the terrace.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    An old period house which has been turned into a hotel. Very well appointed and decorated throughout. All staff are very friendly and professional, excellent service. Good size rooms and comfortable. Set bang in teh middle of teh old town so easy access to teh beach. The breakfast was very good on the roof terrace, as was the dinner. Good service with a golf buggy to bring you from the car park

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you dined at the hotel you were given a free 30 minute session in the jacuzzi which would normally have cost around 30 euro. This wasn't enough to entice us though - unfortunately the roof garden where dinner was served seemed a bit soulless when we checked it out on the first night. Perhaps it was our poor timing, but our first impressions were that it could be transformed into a stunning venue with the right lighting, decor and restful music. It could become a small exclusive restaurant for both residents and non-residents? Perhaps that would add a bit of the atmosphere and buzz that we felt was lacking?

    Although we were in a basic room (we knew what to expect as we had been given a photo and told it was small) we were very comfortable. It represented excellent value when considering the exclusivity of the hotel. The decor was a little dated in the room but this was reflected in the price so not complaining. And it was spotlessly clean with quality bedding and toiletries. Suspect it's on the list for a refurb and the price will go up. So all in all we felt lucky to be able to still afford to stay in this beautifully converted former home. Staff very helpful - they even came in each evening to turn the beds down and tidy up - haven't experienced that for years! Location was perfect - right in the centre of the historic city and almost within touching distance of the castle walls. Although you can't drive right up to the hotel there is an electric buggy service that will transport your luggage to where you have parked.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly, attentive staff. Excellent accommodation. Beautiful old building in the heart of the old town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fresh treats at breakfast were delicious and a great rooftop venue

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, great staff, Gabriele and rooftop chef were excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no parking

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly helpful staff, clean rooms with view of the sea. Nicely renovated rooms with new bathrooms and free hot tub on the rooftop!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool. Just a small spa.

    The location and the size of the rooms!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major.

    Location and helpful pick up. Beautiful breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing!

    Very comfortable and quiet at the top of Matera. Ideal position for exploring the two Sassi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was clean and big. Jacuzzi was perfect, hotel staff eas very helpfull. Breakfast was good and location perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous cave rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, helpful staff; excellent location in old city close to beach; large comfortable bed; lovely roof terrace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hardly anything

    Excellent service, rooms, and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have found Italian beds generally really hard.

    Great location. Staff really helpful and delightful. Rooftop breakfast was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing jacuzzi on the rooftop

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Le style

    La situation excellente mais la deco vieillotte

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its not the same as the pictures on the web page. Thought this was a boutique hotel, but it was a B&B

    The Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low wifi

    Perfect location and kind personnel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place very close to the town 2 minutes walk. Beautiful decor and rooms. Would definitely recommend this accommodation

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A wonderful place to stay. The employees were very courteous, helpful, and very friendly. I will be back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many of the staff are rude. They had interns working there who treat customers poorly. The shower did not work all week, and they didn't care.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    great service, great location!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortabel beds. Very helpfull staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing breakfast and very cordial staff. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service and location was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderfull

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for use of the jacuzzi given the price of the hotel rooms was a sour point.

    The rooms were large and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful atmosphere, friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very nice and the staff extremely welcoming, professional and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning was not very good and rooms were smaller than expected given the price.

    Excellent location, comfortable bed and good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast mostly had sweet options

    Location, comfort, view, helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, very helpful staff, lovely breakfast, beautiful patio, very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Decor in rooms a little dated

    Staff make this hotel special especially Carlos Antonio and Patricia . The location is amazing . The roof terrace for breakfast is superb . So quiet and peaceful but in the centre of everything

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed was too soft. It is really very, very soft. Internet was a real problem. It is easier to say that it does not exist at all. No bathrobes...

    Location: Very good. Staff: Very supportive, especially Valentina. Breakfast: excellent.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The setting is superb and the staff is superb plus! Everyone was extremely kind and informative and clearly enjoy helping us find some marvelous spots to explore in this area.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our bathtub had no shower curtain.

    The breakfast and the breakfast room were very nice. I liked the cold pizza and the fruit salad for breakfast. The staff was very friendly. We got upgraded to a suite and so had a lot of space.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends

    Everything was fantastic! The room was really clean and the staff were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. Really helpful ringing the bus company to find out our bus times and helping us with directions-thank you! We loved staying here close to the sea. One of the best hotels I've stayed at because of the fantastic service by the staff. Thanks for everything, Amy.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattresses were a little soft for my taste, but I still slept very well.

    Great location in the heart of the old town. You can't drive to the hotel, but they came out and picked us up in a golf buggy to bring us to the hotel. Great views from the roof terrace.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The weather was "monsoon-esq" as we entered the hotel literally drenched to the bone, on our bikes. the staff could not have been more helpful and dried everything. The room was really comfortable, shower hot, breakfast delicious and recommended wine, excellent. Hope to return soon. Thank you so much.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic breakfast in a lovely rooftop setting, very helpful and friendly staff, great hot tub on the roof! Hotel is also beautiful inside if you are visiting in colder months. Great location in the old town.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Group

    Nothing.

    The staff - Maurizio and Patrizia were both exceptional! Maurizio gave us a lovely welcome and a guided tour of the hotel complete with history of the family-owned property and information about the old town. Patrizia went way beyond mere helpfulness in phoning other hotels on our behalf to contact other family members, and assisting in confirmations for ongoing travel... all with a lovely smile. The staff in the restaurant, both waiter and chef, were also friendly, helpful and went above and beyond with their attention to detail and level of personal service.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't find it easy to locate the hotel but the hotel will pick you up if you call them from a car park.

    The rooms are very attractive and the centre of town location is convenient. The staff are very helpful and charming. We liked the breakfast room with its views over the town

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful location near to the Cathedral. Very pleasant and peaceful room with a comfortable bed and good en suite facilities. The hotel has retained its elegance and history whilst providing modern facilities. The breakfast terrace area was an ideal way to start the day and the breakfast proved to be excellent with a good variety and choice. All of the hotel staff were helpful, happy and communicative. We really enjoyed our two night stay and would be happy to return.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -room was quite small -sea view..but quite far!

    -super central -clean room -amazing breakfast!! One of the best we had in Italy. Generous and delicious with amazing views. -friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Welcome (The best ever) ..Dario & all team Car (Parking for us) Location (Best in Otranto) Service (Great, start to finish) Roof Restaurant (Great chef, + Carlo & Team)

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location in the old town, hotel is full of character but also very comfortable. Room was spacious with a huge bathroom and excellent shower- we had an outside terrace as well. Staff were very friendly & helpful.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Palazzo Papaleo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: