Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palazzo Savona

Via Schioppettieri 8, La Kalsa, 90100 Palermo, Italy

#280 of 401 B&Bs and Inns in Palermo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 197 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.8
    Noisy and old, not good for a long stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is really old, so are the rooms and bathrooms. We got a small room with a window, but unfortunately the room smelt like somebody was smoking in it for several years. Air conditioning was out of order. But we were there just for one night, so it was bearable. The breakfast was not worth 4 euro/person we paid. Shared bathroom was quite ok, but depending on cleanliness of other quests.

    The hotel is situated in the city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Centrally located and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room on the first night was facing the main street and was really loud, but we had to keep the windows open because the remote for our air conditioner was missing from the room, and it was really warm inside. One of our keys was broken, but the receptionist wasn't around during the late afternoon time, so we had to call for her to come.

    Centrally located and very close to everything from restaurants to sights to airport shuttle stop. The room was spacious with high ceiling and there were three bathrooms on the floor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic location, space and price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the only down side for some was sharing the bathrooms, but there are plenty and all are spacious and kept clean.

    This place is in a great location. The rooms are large and often come with balconies in these traditional old Palermo style buildings. The location is equidistant from the station where there is access to bus tour and day trips to Cefalu or longer journeys (eg Catania and Taormina) easily by rail, and to the beach where you can stroll down admiring the boutique jewellery stores, gelatarias, Sicilian street food and wine shops. Very closeby is A cheap supermarket for budget lunch/suncream etc and round the corner the old town and beautiful architecture. For the price, this is a fantastic bet,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    V nice. Beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lampshades in our room were very dirty. It was noisy at night. Oil some of the door handles and hinges, maybe heavier acoustic doors, maybe something acoustically absorbent in corridors. The sound of squeaking locks and closing doors echos.

    Very simple good value for money generally clean and nice people. Great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    5.0
    Nops! Didn't like
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes. Damn they sucked mine & my small children's blood. We arrived around 23:15 at the hotel & were charged 15€ extra for "so called" late check in lol. Thought to sleep sound but Mosquitoes!! Aaaaaggrhhh..Damn. Next day they sprayed the room though.Little shabby reception as if just left untouched since long. Nice 'shared' bath but Dirty shower cabinet & all the bath accessories. Fungus around..Damn.

    Just the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly. We arrived very late, gut after a quick call that was no Problem. Room, toilette and beds were Clean. Wenn had a nice stay for small Money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    For the price paid, I was pleasantly surprised to a find an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wifi barely reached into my room and kept cutting out randomly. The place was really pretty dirty - wet moldy bathmat, dust and dirt on the floor, and there were some kind of bugs in the room because I ended up with lots of bites on my hands.

    For the price paid, I was pleasantly surprised to a find an enormous room with a balcony overlooking the very center of Palermo with a big, comfy bed and soft quilt. The heater even did a competent job of heating the huge place. While I was technically sharing a bathroom, I never once found it occupied when I needed it. One day, the electricity went out and they had to move me to a different hotel down the street, which was also very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    2.9
    It was awful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived to hostel, me say that hostel is full. And Depart me to hostel Agata. It was awful. Bed room without window, without wi-fi. But we booking room with balcony!!!! Breakfast brought only for one people! But there were two of us!!!!!! It was very cold, we slept without a blanket!!!! I booking room in Palazzo Savona, but live in another!! It was Terribly!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Loved the vibrant city! Excellent location to sights and restaurants/cafes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guests have to share 2-3 common bathroom but when some guests booked 1 or 2 bathroom as private, all guests have to share only 1 bathroom.

    The lady at reception (sorry to forget name) was friendly and helpful. Spacious room and nice breakfast included. If you don't mind noisy streets, it's an excellent location (few steps to Quattro Cantri) as it is close and walking distance to train station/bus station and to the majority sights and restaurants/cafes/ convenience stores. Loved the idea some streets were closed to vehicles for evening strolling after 6-7pm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Not as good value as we expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We informed the property that we would arrive about 10pm when we booked. However they only sent us a message that we would have to pay a late check in fee of €15 that afternoon. It was then too late to cancel and book another hotel which does not do so.

    The location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst coffee of my life, but that is not that important since it is a hotel and not a caffe bar.

    Location is great, 10 minute walk on Via roma from Palermo Cantral rail station. It is really close to Piazza Pretoria and Pretoria fountain and Maqueda street. Also, the neighbourhood has many restaurants so you can choose within many different cuisines. Opposite to hotel is Vucchiria - market by day and place to get some drinks by night, if you want to feel like a real Sicilian (you will understand what I'm saying once you get there). Our room was clean, we had two balconies, and two bathrooms next door. The breakfast table was full to choose from. The staff was helpful and nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Nice building, noisy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was next to a main road. As a result of this (and lack of any soundproofing), it was difficult to have an undisturbed night's sleep. The floor of the room was not clean, leaving dirt on the bottom of our bare feet

    Helpful staff, happy to answer any about the area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    6.7
    Perfect location but count on the noise from the main...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very basic. Common rooms (incl. bathrooms) could be more set up and be cleaned more often. Personnal comment: more plugs sould be nice in the rooms.

    Perfect location but count on the noise from the main streets. Quiet big and clean rooms. Helpful staff!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    a mysterious city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff, good but monotonous breakfasts, the room was clean but it looks raw, nights were loud from the street, but this is the center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.4
    There are better options in Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The girl at the reception wasn't very efficient. - First morning, they run out of breakfast before we arrived, even though we were on time. We asked the girl a for some breakfast and she just said they only had a croissant to offer, which was frozen, so she put it into the oven and we had to wait for 20 min, eventually, the croissant was burnt outside and non-done inside. Next day, breakfast wasn't set on time, so we had to wait for 30 min. Besides, it was low quality, so we ended up having breakfast outside. - The air-con in our room was broken, we asked for a new room and we didn't get the double bed we had booked. - The bathroom wasn't close to our room, so we had to cross a corridor to reach it every time we needed to use it.

    - Big spacious room - Fantastic location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay in Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rosa Maria in the reception was exeptionally nice and helpful, we got really valuable information and tips from her that made our stay both easier and cooler! The facilities are good, rooms are simple but clean and the location is great. We were three girlfriends travelling and stayed for four days. Its simple, but more than enough if your goal is to see the city, not hang our in a hotel room. This is definately a value for money kinda place! The hotel is very close to everything worth seeing in Palermo, and collective transportation is easy. We give Palazzo Savona our highest recommandations:)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    spotlessly clean, very good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy....but you are in middle of city. Bring earplugs and mosquito zapper and you'll be fine

    Very helpful staff, good breakfast,very central, good rates.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Palazzo Savona is an affordable hotel in the best possible location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I initially booked it for the location and that indeed is perfect. My room was large with a beautiul ceiling and two balconies. The breakfast was great with a good choice of coffees. But the highlight of my stay was the friendliness of the staff - Alessandra, Giovanna and Rosamaria. Everything is provided for you but, if you feel the need of something, all you have to do is ask.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    Location was perfect, nice breakfast, kind host
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect, nice breakfast, kind host

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    6.7
    There are better options in Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    furniture needs repair (sofa was dirty and broken). Also common rooms could be cleaned more often.

    very good location, spacious room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need some repair, furniture in bed condition

    Nice location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location and great view from the balcony on Corso...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and great view from the balcony on Corso Vittorio Emanuele

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    The Palazzo Savona is a very nice place and in the center.
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Palazzo Savona is a very nice place and in the center. I recommend it. The people it si very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.9
    It is appropriate for 1-2 day trip. Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner,heating problem

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is very basic.

    Perfect location. Friendly and helpful staff. The room was spacious and clean. Great value for money!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better, bathroom cleaning more often

    Great value, excellent location and confortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    8.3
    Location &Price
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    alright
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to tell 3 times that I had paid via paypal as staff wouldn't believe it.

    central location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Great location just off via Roma
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Polite helpful staff, room size was larger than expected! Location was very central and close to everything we needed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Great, central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great, central location. Friendly staff. Fast wifi.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Fantastic location and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were so helpful and kind.

    Stayed in April 2017

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Palazzo Savona traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: