Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Relais & Chateaux Palazzo Seneca 4 stars

Via Cesare Battisti 12, 06046 Norcia, Italy

#2 of 7 hotels in Norcia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 119 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    The hotel is in a beautiful area with commanding views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’d recommend making the food menu a little clearer. We had a big lunch so weren’t overly hungry. If we would have known there would be 4 complimentary starters we probably wouldn’t have ordered a starter and a main as we left feeling really stuffed. I’d also probably make the dining room a bit ‘warmer’ and lose the arm chairs as it makes it difficult to eat - especially at round tables and for short people like myself.

    The hotel is in a beautiful area with commanding views across the valley. As soon as we arrived, Michaela was terrific. She had lots of information about the area and took the time to show us around the hotel and offer ideas for restaurants. In the end we chose to eat at the Hotel’s restaurant - Vespacia - and it was terrific. My husband and I usually hate fussy food with foam and we were pleasantly surprised. The pigeon with beetroot was amazing, and the complimentary starter of spaghetti was the best I’ve ever had. In addition - Michaela had a bottle of Prosecco chilled and waiting for us as it was our anniversary. They also had upgraded our room and gave us a complimentary dessert for dinner. Can’t say enough good things about this place. The jacuzzi and steam room were also terrific as was the terrace for sunset.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    We are definitely returning to Palazzo Seneca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    It is a lost gem in the middle of Italy. We liked everything despite its remote location. It is a lovely place to stay away from urban life and enjoy nature and the peaceful setup of a small town in the countryside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    A fantastic place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    This is a beautiful property, with friendly staff. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. There are ample public spaces, indoors and outdoors, to relax if you want to. Norcia is a lovely village with good local bars and restaurants. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Dreamlike
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC needed to go colder.

    The room was excellent. The details in the finishing, the small balcony, the amount of power outlets, the shower, the tv, the bed... they were all 10/10

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Almost everything, but specially the staff and the fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The quilts at the bed were far to heavy, big and warm for Nordic people like us.

    Almost everything, but specially the staff and the fantastic breakfast with excellent personal service and recognition. And of course the chance of eating great gourmet food at the hotels restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    As good as it gets , a true luxury relais & chateau !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to stay longer !

    Everything ,the room was large ,sparkling clean ,with a nice view . The staff were friendly & courteous free parking was available outside the hotel. The breakfast was divine , the best we’ve found anywhere , it left us wishing we had dined in the hotel restaurant .! The other facilities ,such as the lounge areas ,library ,& conference room were excellent .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is an oasis in Umbria. The breakfast was fantastic. The staff was so friendly. This was our favorite room on the trip so far. The shower omg. Please know that Norcia has been devastated from a massive earthquake. But don’t let this stop you. The town people were wonderful. The flowers were blooming in nearby Castelluccio. (Which is completely destroyed ).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.5
    A very comfortable and pleasant hotel with plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall rated exceptional but it is sad that the quality of breakfast provided was disappointing. We had over the month had experience of breakfasts provided by several hotels of lesser ratings and by B&Bs, and that of Palazzo Seneca rated lower than all of them. In particular the eggs, bacon and sausage were cold on each of three mornings as were the plates. Quantities prepared were small. It would be sensible to cook these to order rather than have them get cold in an ineffectual heater. On another subject, and not as a criticism, it would have been of great help to those such as ourselves who were driving round the region to have been provided with a brief note telling us which roads in the province were still closed for earthquake repairs or which were only open for traffic at certain times of day. On one occasion we had to detour over eighty miles as a road tunnel was closed.

    A very comfortable and pleasant hotel with plenty of character.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Memorable! Simply memorable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely everything from the moment we stepped in we were transported to a different world... The place: very well restored/preserved. The staff: smiling, happy and helpful. The breakfast: home made food of a premium quality. The restaurant: Michelin star with a long and rich wine list. And the list goes on and on...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Palazzo Seneca is the place to stay when in Norcia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service of the staff in the breakfast room was not impressive. We had breakfast early and ahead of guests but the croissants were gone.

    The bed was very comfortable. The room was clean and well decorated. The dual shower was heavenly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    An exceptional hotel and dining experience in the beautiful Apenine countryside of Norcia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exceptional in ever way.

    The Palazzo Seneca is an exceptional first class, 5 star hotel very worthy of its best hotel in Italy 2017 award. As a stand-alone, the Seneca would be a wonderful place to stay anywhere in the world but in this case it comes with two bonuses: the Vespacia Restaurant (a Michelin starred restaurant which, based on our meal, is headed for a second star very soon!); and second, it’s location in the iconic gastronomic town of Norcia which is in the process of rebuilding from 2 major earthquakes just a couple of years ago. Notable to us (as grandparents) was the number of young families with children enjoying the hotel and the incredible countryside - the staff and hotel were exceptional in this regard and we would highly recommend this Relais and Chateau hotel and Norcia for families with children. The hotel breakfast, befitting of a Michelin starred chef, was without peer. As exceptional as the Seneca is, it’s very reasonably priced, and thus a great value as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    A friendly, luxurious, central, delightful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing I didn't like

    This hotel is a family run business and the staff are delightful. They simply cannot do enough for you. The in-house Michelin Star restaurant was also brilliant with awesome wines from the region.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Discreet luxury in the gastronomic heart of Umbria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant is excellent but "fine dining" and expensive. Not fantastic for vegetarians (but hey this is Norcia, the capital of charcuterie!).

    Superb location in the centre of this lovely historic town. Hotel itself completely untouched by 2016 earthquake but step outside and tragically it's a very different picture. Service discreet but excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Exceptional ! I can not fault the hotel in any way .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't like the fact we could only stay for one night ! but thats my fault not the hotel .

    everything, its just a loverly place to stay , staff 1st class , food great, perfect weekend hotel for me .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    6.3
    The place is nice but the city is ruined
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city of Norcia is full of ruins due to an earthquake that happened last year. The chateau was not damaged but the entire city is full with demolitions and we couldn't get to the chateau with the car. Paying more than 200 Euros per night and staying in the middle of a ruined city is not my idea of a luxurious vacation.

    The chateau is very nice and the room is very comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Buzzing with life and full of visitors
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Very attentive staff, friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely room with terrace off. Breakfast room was nice with a stunning view of the hills. Norcia is not a pile of rubble as stated by previous reviewer. There is much damage of course, but shops, bars and ristorantes are open in the main corsa, When we were there the town was buzzing with life and full of visitors. Piazza San Benedetto is somehow the same. The Basilica still has it's facade, the townhall is there and the huge fortified building that houses the museum seems undamaged. The monks are 10min drive up in the hills and have built a new church. We went to a sung mass on Sunday morning.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Enjoyed the hotel but sadly there was nothing to do or see in Norcia other than the rubble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately poor Norcia has suffered far more earthquake damage than we realised so there was nothing to see. All 13 churches were closed due to the damage as well as the main cathedral. It was impossible to visit the valley up at Castelluccio as the roads were unpassable and the tunnel closed.

    Breakfast was excellent. The spa was also appreciated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Outstanding Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super hotel in Norcia. Service and facilities are first class. Restaurant outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    5 Star Hotel in Remote Town
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing luxury hotel and in a remote town. Staff were very helpful and the and the quality of the hotel was well above our expectation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Without a doubt, a wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without a doubt, a wonderful hotel. Beautiful rooms and amenities. Great restaurant. Top, friendly service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    A real treat in elegant surroundings
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere of the beautiful palazzo

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Absolutely wonderful hotel, we loved everything about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely wonderful hotel, we loved everything about it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Best hotel I have stayed in !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! The staff were amazing, so welcoming and extremely helpful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    10
    High quality guestrooms and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and high quality guestrooms,great regional breakfast but most of all the service!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    10
    Perfect setting in Umbria, elegant but very briefly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough time there

    The understated elegance and attention to detail. The food was excellent also

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant does not warrant a Michelin star. It is nice, but not at an elite level.

    Excellent staff. Beautiful Facilities.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    9.6
    A beautifully restored palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Heating in the room was difficult to control.

    A beautifully restored palace. A good restaurant, although it was a shame that only 2 tables were occupied.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very disappointed in the Restaurant. The meal was expensive and uneven. The setting is beautiful but the dinner was very average. Not worth the money, sad to say.

    The location was excellent. The hotel was wonderful and the staff was excellent. All the rooms are different so check them out. The renovations is fabulous a blend of the old and new. The breakfast was the best we add in our entire two week trip and afternoon tea a delight.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    10
    Palazzo Seneca has been throughout a great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Palazzo Seneca has been throughout a great experience. The staff, the breakfast, the historical building perfectly renewd, the facilities,the restaurant, the willingness to help for a perfect stay, the family owning the hotel: everything went far beyond our expectations (which were high). Reasonable in price too for this class of hotel! Well definetly be back!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    6.7
    Building is nice, location in town centre is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi did not work in the room. The general toilets were not all proper and lack of service staff in the bar.

    Building is nice, location in town centre is great. The restaurant is excellent with kind staff and service. Breakfast is great and compleet!

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The WIFI did not work in the room to start with but we were offered another room where WIFI did work. We were just too tired to move after a 125km cycle. Spa a bit small and dark; shame it is in the basement. Preferred to venture outside to relax instead.

    Friendly staff Excellent tasting menu with matched wines Proximity to centre of town Care taken over storage of our bicycles

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    10
    Great relaxing atmosphere and great staff - Andrea was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great relaxing atmosphere and great staff - Andrea was fantastic - very helpful with wine, food, and sight seeing recommendations! All of which were excellent!!!! Our stay here was a very relaxing break between a just completed week in Florence and upcoming week in Rome.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    7.1
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is too far away. For a 5-star hotel, they should have valet service. They however will charge you 10 euros each time if you want them to park the car. Otherwise, it will be a 10 minutes walk from the parking to the hotel. They won't offer help even when check in and check out.

    Location is good. Just next to the square and everything.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    9.2
    Very nice old building, beautifully restored.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms themselves are relatively weak point: a bit inconsistent in size and setup within the same category, some with terrace, some without.

    Very nice old building, beautifully restored. A private hotel with excellent food, great service and a very friendly owner.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    10
    Wow! Where to start? Perhaps by stating that Palazzo...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wow! Where to start? Perhaps by stating that Palazzo Seneca is one of the finest Relais et Chateaux which I've encountered and, given their affiliation criteria, that's quite a statement. It's worth visiting if only to observe the fourth and fifth generations of the Bianconi family evidence what can be accomplished with their hotels, their restaurants and, perhaps most importantly, with their community through competence, hard work, omnipresence, creativity and entrepreneurship. We long to return.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    9.2
    Downstairs the seating areas do not work that well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Downstairs the seating areas do not work that well. Not that comfortable although fire place is magnificent

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    What a wonderful charming hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    What a wonderful charming hotel! Excellent location! Friendly Staff. Elegant spacious rooms. Will go back anytime.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.6
    Very chic, beautifully restored property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very chic, beautifully restored property

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.2
    Lovely quality hotel with perfect combination of modern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant menu far to fussy for our taste.

    Lovely quality hotel with perfect combination of modern design in a well maintained old building.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    Amazing breakfast and restaurant, nice library and relaxing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing breakfast and restaurant, nice library and relaxing area by the fireplace

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.6
    Location, building, helpful staff, general ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom could have been larger.

    Location, building, helpful staff, general ambience

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    9.6
    The staff went beyond any expectation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff went beyond any expectation. They helped us celebrate our anniversary in a friendly big way.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    10
    This was the 4th time I stayed at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi hardly worked, if at all, in the room. On the corridor it does.

    This was the 4th time I stayed at this hotel. This is my favourite place.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    10
    Restaurant and staff, wonderful local food and wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant and staff, wonderful local food and wine. Staff very knowledgable and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    10
    The atmosphere and professionalism of the owners and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The atmosphere and professionalism of the owners and staff

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: