Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palazzo Stern 4 stars

Dorsoduro, 2792, Dorsoduro, 30122 Venice, Italy

#30 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 517 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much. Onething is at breakfast time I couldn't eat at the lovely terrace becuz of the food fighter seagull.(Quite frightening) But that's natures law, not the hotels fault. :)

    Service wad great. Room was large, clean and location was wonderful.Was my first hotel in traveling Italy with my mom and after ending the vacation, we both agreed that this was the best. Fantastic!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful property converted from an old palace. Perfect location and extremely helpful staff with can do attitude. Great breakfast. We did not have a coffee machine and therefore were told we could order from the bar anytime. Nevertheless we were charged. I was quite happy with the hotel overall thus opted not to argue with the team

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should be no additional charge for using the rooftop hot tub given the expense of staying at the hotel. That seemed petty and left a sour taste after such a wonderful stay. We had just stayed at Hoel Minerva in Florence where we enjoyed a rooftop pool and great view for no additional charge.

    Beautifully decorated historic building. Staff was very helpful with suggestions for restaurants and finding our way around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Selection for breakfast could have been better.

    Amazing building, beautiful terrace with a perfect view of the canal. Very helpful staff. Even if you have a room with no view of the canal it’s still a unique experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay was far too short !

    The people of Palazzo Stern were amazing on all teers for they made the stay luxurious ! Amazingly Located and Wondefully Welcoming !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in an incredible location - perfect for exploring Venice. Right next to a water bus stop and walking distance from all the main sites as well as quieter, less touristy parts of the city. Have breakfast on the terrace right by the water and watch the world go by on the Grand Canal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults) with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought we would have had a better view of the canal. We did not want to complain and have a negative attitude and it was bad weather during our stay so that was not a big deal.

    Very helpful staff and very convenient location to water taxi. They arranged for a trip to murano and we got to see the glass being made.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service, the breakfast is copious and respect the health possible issues of anybody, simple and attractive and very fresh, no substitute as food or chemical process products.

    The place put yourself in an other dimension to start your hollidays with. The Palazzo is full of history and so beautifully well preserved and classy that make you feeling special already, privilege is the proper word. It is extremly well located and the staff professional and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room - coffee terrible guys!! Thankfully at no extra cost we had delivered hot water so we could make our own tea!!

    Great staff who 'went the extra mile' to make our stay amazing!! Brilliant location with terrace overlooking the Grand Canal. Perfect for walking from and the river bus stops right outside. Room very comfortable and everything spotless!! The interior building itself is stunning!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The smallish bathroom while beautiful was challenging. It was difficult to climb up and over into the bathtub/shower. The concierge staff was helpful but not particularly warm.

    This gorgeous property provides a unique way to experience historic Venice. The neighborhood was quiet but we were right on the Canal. The view from our room was magical. It was a pleasure to return to our room after strolling the narrow streets and bridges of Venice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults) with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a well restored, well functioning, old palazzo, with a few quirks that go with its age - e.g. only one functioning power point in the room. But everything else was great.

    Amazing location, great views, fascinating building. Right by the valporetto stop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening bar could do with some more atmosphere e.g. music and more tables. The coffee machine in the bar was very loud. The complimentary tea and coffee pods in the room were appreciated, but they did not have regular breakfast tea, despite having a good tea selection at breakfast.

    The room was lovely and the bath was amazing. Beautiful building. The staff were really helpful when we didn't have the right power adapter. All the staff appeared to speak some if not good english. Breakfast had hot food which is very welcome in Europe. Molto Bene.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing.

    Not new as customer, always highly satisfied. The boat stop a the door step and I can easily walk to the center, the touristic place in a 10 minutes. Venice is small and somehow this hotel is very close to the center but still in a very peaceful area on the canal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All was good.

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, beautiful building. In nice quite area of a he city, good choice of local places to eat. Upgraded to canal view room. Exceptional. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you want to experience the Venice style than this is your place to stay. It feels like a place couple of hundreds years ago, but in perfect condition. A real gem for reasonable price. We had fantastic time there and planning to return soon.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have any complaints whatsoever. Our stay was most enjoyable.

    The staff was wonderful, the view of the Grand Canal exceptional, and the breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults) with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old world feel with rooms in a traditional Venetian style, quiet convenient location next to a public water bus stop, breakfast box provided for early check out

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults) with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor point was that there was no room service and you could not have lunch or dinner at the hotel. This was not a major problem however as there were multiple restaurants about 100 m from the hotel.

    From the moment we arrived the staff were very attentive and helpful. Our room was decorated beautifully, large , with a lovely view of the main canal. We had a suite which was perfect for a family of 4. The bathroom was clean, with excellent fixtures and reasonable size. Breakfast each morning had a selection of fruit, cereals, bread, eggs, bacon and pastries. The staff are wonderful, always helpful and happy to assist in any way. We would love to come back for a longer stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults) with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In winter months the bar area is a little snug - as soon as it's warm enough to sit outside this wouldn't have been a problem.

    This is a small, beautifully decorated, palazzo hotel on the Grand Canal, located next to the Ca Rezzonica vaporetto stop and right in front of Campo San Barnaba. The staff were excellent, and our room (looking onto the Canal) was fantastically quiet. Decent buffet breakfast served downstairs (again fronting the Canal). A small but charmingly served bar - in warmer months there's an outdoor terrace right on the Canal - and the barman made a great Old Fashioned. The nearest competitor we've stayed in is the San Cassiano Ca Favretto, and it's a tight call but we'd probably go for Palazzo Stern again. It's a little more expensive but worth it. A real plus is the very quick access to the Accademia bridge, and to less trod and more 'Venetian' areas to the back. There are three excellent restaurants in a 3 minute walk - our favourite (Oniga) is 1 minute away. Eat nothing all day and try the Buccintoro. The concierge was happy to make and confirm restaurant reservations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £258 per night is a lot to pay for a room with no windows being right up in the attic. We did find that you can ventilate the room by opening a panel high up in the beams which helped a lot as the AC didn't seem to have much affect.

    Location. Stylish. Lovely building. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thoughtfully renovated building is magnificent, and the furnishings luxurious and impeccable. The concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful, and the service was attentive. The location on the Grand Canal and outdoor space was beautiful, and romantic.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t say a bad word about this hotel

    The rooms were beautiful and the staff could not have been anymore nice or helpful. They were really welcoming to everyone

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pokey room on ground floor, could hear reception staff talking . Hot breakfast items left to stew to long and not refreshed unless asked. When outside patio not open for breakfast, it was to cramped inside.

    Patio area for having breakfast. Helpfulness of staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the terrace, beautiful view but dirty flying rats will eat all your food while you are sitting there. Actually you can't use it.

    Very close to a stop of the boat, beautiful old building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were originally given a room that was not facing the canal and did not meet the description of a junior suite from the website. We complained and were moved the next day and the whole cost of the room for that night was taken off of the bill.

    Junior suite room facing the canal was stunning, beautiful decor and the view was magnificent. The staff were excellent and very helpful and the hotel was spotlessly clean. The hotel is next to to the Alilaguna (airport transfer) and ACTV (water bus) stop so very easy for transfers and getting around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    This was my third consecutive year staying at the Palazzo Stern. The location on the Grand Canal cannot be beat! Stepping off the vaporetto at the Ca' Rezzonicco stop you arrive at the most wonderful palazzo. Sauro makes the best negronis and Rani doesn't disappoint with excellent morning cappuccinos.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One can always find small faults, but overall this hotel absolutely met expectations .

    If you like to explore the less touristy side of a city, but still want restaurants and shops within easy walking distance, the Palazzo Stern is perfect. There is a vaporetto stop right outside the hotel for easy access to main attractions, but once inside the hotel property, it feels secluded and private. The decor reflects the city, and is charming. Our bedroom was adequately sized and overlooked a garden at the back of the hotel. Fixtures and fittings were of good quality, and included a coffee machine. Breakfast is buffet-style, offering eggs and bacon over and above the traditional hams, cheese and pastries. One can eat on a lovely terrace if the weather permits. The staff are knowledgeable and happy to assist with tourist queries. When booking, I thought the hotel was expensive, but it was worth the money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, verging exceptional

    The rooms were very authentic and in keeping with the character of the property and it's location just perfect. Breakfast/drinks alongside Grand Canal during the day or at sunrise/sunset was just perfect and so relaxing. The breakfast service and staff went above and beyond and were a credit to Palazzo Stern.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is just great. It is a small palace, but very luxurious. Room was big, comfy, we had view on Grand Canal. It is well worth the extra money, it's unbeatable. You can just seat and enjoy. Bathrom is very well equiped. The staff is helpful. Breakfast delicious and is served on the terase right beside the Canal. Pure joy. The location could not be better, just beside the waporetto station, but it is doable on foot - 15 minutes from Piazza della Roma, where the parking garage is. It is also 15 minutes on foot to San Marco's.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the electronic systems in the room might benefit from an update. Everything worked but was a little fiddly.

    I was traveling with friends who have a physically challenged daughter. The staff made every effort to make their stay (and mine) comfortable. The staff were helpful with arrangements including dinner recommendations/plans, a trip to Murano and our onward travel. The property itself was in an excellent location and was worth even just enjoying the terrace on the Grand Canale.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults) with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    Booked in Junior suite overlooking the Grand Canal and easily enough space for the three of us. Great location with very friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for three nights as part of our honeymoon. The location is ideal being located beside a vaporetto stop. The room was clean, comfortable and had a nice touch of the weather forecast for the next day. Breakfast was excellent and ideally situated looking out over the canal. What stood out for me though, was the staff. We received a fantastic welcome and they went through the map of the city thoroughly to help get you your bearings. The staff were always there to help us and really made our stay both special and memorable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The orange juice. The breakfast was good, but deserved better juice!!

    The location with the breakfast terrace overlooking the Grand Canal and with a view of the Accademia Bridge. The interior and exterior of the building are magnificent. The staff were polite and very helpful. Have stayed many times in San Marco and it was good to find this excellent hotel 'on the other side' of the Canal to explore Dorsoduro and within comfortable walking distance of the Frari, the Salute, the Zattere, Campo Santa Margarita and even Rialto.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the ground floor behind reception so we had all the noise of phones ringing and guests arriving. Also people above upstairs were noisy which we heard. Breakfast was average. Struggle with the value for money but then it's venice and everything is overpriced. Advertise hot tub and suana which costs 70 euro an hour and is a tub on a roof

    Good location right on the grand canal. Easy walk from the parking garage at piazza Roma. River ferry stops right outside so access to line 1 very easy. Close to loads of bars resturants and walking distance to st Marks square. Stunning terrace for breakfast with view of canal. Lovely balcony on our room over a side canal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent however if I could suggest just one thing it would be to make a kettle available for cups of tea. There is a coffee machine in the room that uses capsules of assorted coffees and teas but I found that is not quite the same as a kettle that provides boiling water.

    The room was a welcome retreat after trudging around the Venetian streets in the heat of summer. The air con would be on, windows closed and curtains drawn. The concierge staff were excellent and professionally assisted in any way that they could. The breakfasts were delicious and a fantastic start for the day and of course the Palazzo Stern itself is a very beautiful building positioned on the Grand Canal with a vaporetto stop at the front entrance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware of mosquitoes on the terrace at night, but nothing that can be done about that'

    An exceedingly comfortable bed, a gorgeous view onto the Grand Canal, St Marks square about 15 minutes walk in one direction and Rialto about the same in the other. Good restaurants nearby, breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Canal... What's not to like? Had a lovely time and a great start to 3 weeks in Italy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. Hard to believe but true. Location, hotel facilities, breakfast, people (very professional) - all amazing. I would give a higher 10+ rating if I could.

    I liked everything about this hotel from the beginning to the end of our stay. Will be back and highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (4 Adults) with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi was spotty

    AMAZING terrace on the grand canal, perfect for an evening drink and breakfast too. Loved the balcony. Beautiful traditional Venetian decor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the free trip to Murano to visit the glass workshop, arranged via the hotel, however the sales pitch by the team there was a little too pressurised, although they kept insisting 'no obligation', but could have been toned down a little as was off-putting. If you can happily swerve salespeople go for it as the demo was super and was lovely to look in the showroom but if you don't like salesmen following you around, avoid!!

    Beautiful residence in superb location. Staff were extremely helpful and courteous, especially Andreas who was super helpful and accommodating to our every wish. The room was spacious (superior double) on the first floor with really comfy bed and with coffee machine, mini-bar and air conditioning. We were there for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and arrived to a bottle of prosecco on ice, which was a lovely surprise, alongside the glass of fresh juice on arrival and the luggage was held for us whilst we sat on the terrace for an hour to wait for our room (as we'd arrived early), which was ready earlier than the usual 2pm once we'd checked in. Vaparetto stop next door which was extremely convenient ('Ca' Rezzonico - good to know for travelling there via airport), however we travelled in by private water taxi, expensive but well worth it ! We couldn't recommend this property enough, plus the district of Sa Barnaba within Dorsuduro is easy on foot with good selection of shops, bars and restaurants without having to head into the Rialto area if not wishing to. All in all, top marks 👍

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is rather cheap for this type of place I would have expected a higher standard not just little better than an airport hotel

    Excellent location and nice view on the canal from the breakfast terrace.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we could only stay one night!

    The service here was FANTASTIC! Upon arrival, we had a problem with our transfer and we tried to resolve it ourselves for hours; once I asked Andrea at the Front Desk to assist, the matter was immediately resolved. Their entire staff is absolutely devoted to service and made our stay wonderful. The hotel's terrace is right on the Grand Canal and is a wonderful place for coffee in the morning or a glass of wine in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast, whilst adequate, was not up to the standard of a 4 star hotel but this was made up by having it on the terrace in the sun overlooking the Grand Canal. We booked a lovely room overlooking the canal and requested a large double bed, but it had two single beds which were made up as such and difficult to push together!

    The location, with a terrace right on the Grand Canal and next to the Ca Rezzonico Vaporetti stop,and the staff, who could not have been more helpful, are the hotels greatest assets.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast terrace was very good, food generally good but hot buffet could be improved

    Service excellent, room spacious and well situated. Boat stop right outside.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been if there'd been the possibility of a snack or light supper available in the evening because after a long day of walking & site-seeing we often didn't feel like going out to eat (& there were only a a few restaurants in a 5 mins walking radius)

    It was stunning architecturally, rooms well furnished & bathroom v luxurious, sheets very high quality cotton, and the location was brilliant, right next to a Vaporetto stop & only 5 mins walk to the Accademia & away from all the crowds who mass at St Marks Square. We walked there easily in 15 mins daily

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Surprised to charge for using the hot tub on the roof yet give a free boat taxi to Murano (which was great)

    Ideal location next to Vaporetto stop. Lovely terrace over the Grand Canal. Decorated beautifully inside. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too warm at night, had to keep window open, and mosquitos took advantage of it! Laundry service not available during weekends!

    Excellent location near everything in Venice! Walking distance to great eating places. Hotel staff well prepared and courteous! Great flexibility with housekeeping.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location and the staff are perfect! Very nice place to stay in Venice. They are many good restaurants in the neighborhood and everything is really close by.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The building is interesting and full of character. The location is perfect. It is away from the crowds but only a pleasant 15 minutes walk to St Marks square or right beside a water bus stop if you prefer not to walk.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedrooms are a somewhat spartan. Reception agreed to make a restaurant reservation for us but when we arrived it was closed. Someone (but no-one wanted to admit who it was) had not thought to inform us and so we had a wasted journey.

    The architecture of the building and it's position on the Canale Grande are excellent. A real bonus is the stop for the waterbus from the airport right next door thereby eliminating the need to drag luggage along a maze of narrow alleys.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very convenient for the vaporetto, lots of restaurants and galleries and very original, charming building. Staff were faultlessly polite and friendly and breakfast was delicious!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints save perhaps the front door could be made a little easier to open

    As a regular visitor to Venice this hotel offers the very best of everything-true it is not cheap-but excellence does come at a price! Location,proximity of vaporetto stop,staff,lovely palazzo, good breakfast ....

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is really between 3 and 4 stars; hardly any usual room conveniences associated with a 4 star hotel. Drinks in the hotel bar are very expensive even by Venetian standards.

    Location, location, location! Easy transfer from/to airport

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have decent hairdryers available - the ones in the bathroom are hopeless. The coffee at breakfast was not great.

    Fantastic location. Very comfortable bed and big room and bathroom. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Upon our arrival we were welcomed with some cocktails, including a fruit juice for the little one. We were also offered a free upgrade, as available, at no extra cost! During our stay the staff was an extremely helpful and polite. When leaving the hotel, I also happen to leave my cell phone behind and they assisted me, by arranging the shipment on my behalf and following up with the Currier. Superb experience, would advise anyone going to Venice to stay there. Overall: Perfect Location Beautiful Room (what a shower!) Good breakfast Great staff Great service

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Venice hotels overall do not offer value for money.

    Breakfast generous and varied. Bed comfortable. Good size bathroom. Room at back of hotel v quiet. Lovely cake and confectionary gift on New Year's Eve. Fantastic location in a less people congested area of Venice, 5 mins to Accademia and bridge, 10 mins to Peggy Guggenheim collection. Right at Ca'Rezzonico water bus n.1 line stop.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (3 Adults) with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Besides breakfast, this place does not have its own restaurant so be prepared to walk around if you are hungry.

    River side accommodation with superb view of grand canal, excellent room conditions, and superior decoration. Breakfast is enlightening and delightful. The place is close to public boat pier which makes it convenient to travel around Venice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We should have booked a longer holiday!

    The view of the Grand Canal was sublime. We had a corner room so we had a double aspect room. The bathroom had both a bath and a shower and was very beautifully tiled in mosaics.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a perfect world, the downstairs bar area would be a bit larger and a bit more comfortable if you want to sit there with friends on winter evenings. But this is an old palazzo and its charm makes up for everything. Actually, in my opinion, after two visits, there is nothing not to like.

    The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are very friendly and always helpful. The location is perfect . It is also very nice to have the option of a lift.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely comfortable and the croissants were indeed excellent. A fabulous terrace overlooks the Grand Canal and Ca' Rezzonico boat station is next to the hotel which makes travel by water easy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The top corridor of rooms could have had more character, in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Outside heaters on the cooler autumn nights would have been a bonus.

    The location of the hotel was excellent and it had loads of local restaurants to enjoy. it was small and therefore felt far more personable than the most city hotels.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Yes, eggs were fluffy. Loved the full breakfast everyday. Rooms were beautiful and clean. Staff was very helpful and friendly. In all is a great place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Like a lot of hotels in Venice in October the municipal heat is not turned on so we were a bit chilly but a wonderful stay none the less. But this happens in October in Venice.

    Location, service, special place..very few rooms. We over looked the grand canal. A special stay in a special city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Of all the hotels we stayed in over a three week period, this had the least impressive breakfast. The qualities of the food was mediocre.

    Location is perfect. RIght on the Grand Canal at a Vaporetto stop, but not congested with too many people. You can walk to many sights. Restaurants within a block. Beautiful hotel and exceptional terrace.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room temp was controlled by front desk. Very cool upon check in. Temp control in room didn't work. Had to get front desk to warm things up.

    Excellent buffet breakfast, updated bathroom facilities, firm & flat bed, close to Vaparetto stop. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was weak. Limited ability to charge electronic devices. These inconveniences were minor though and definitely outweighed by charm of the hotel.

    Charming small palazzo with Grand Canal view terrace. Location next to valparetto stop was convenient. Staff was very helpful with both questions and making reservations for us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Location was away from more tourist crowds of San Marco Square and right at public dock. Building is quite beautiful with wonderful deck on canal where we enjoyed breakfast each morning. Room was also bigger than I expected for Europe and quite comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffe machine and little cups not really good for making English sized cups of tea

    Great location, really comfortable and fantastic view out of window.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very easy to reach from airport. On orange line adjacent to stop. Gorgeous view of grand canal from outdoor breakfast area. Small bar serving drinks. Away from noise and crowds of St Marco but easily reached on foot.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Excellent location at the Grand Canal, very friendly staff and services. Supreme room service and Gourmet buffet! Highly recommended and would always come back to this Hotel. Thank you :-)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Simply everything!!! Excellent location, spacious room with grand canal view. Bed was very comfy. It was super!! Bathroom was well decorated with mosaic and equipped with jacuzzi. Breakfast was rich, having it at the terrace overlooking the canal was a wonderful thing. Water bus just in front of the hotel. Everything was available around hotel, bakery, supermarket, small restaurants, pharamcy... We will definitely select this hotel again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Great location, great service and truly beautiful hotel and room! One of the best hotel stays we've ever had! Made very welcome at check in, restaurants booked for us and lovely breakfast staff! Can't recommend it enough!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This was my 11th trip to Venice and the only property where I have returned. It is my definitive choice for my next trip to Venice. FANTASTICO!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Grand Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location the friendly helpful staff and the magnificent unique building (every room is different and special - but that does mean it might not match the photos on the website) plus the hot tub on the roof.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I'm not sure what they could have done to make our stay more comfortable.

    Excellent location, very friendly and helpful staff. Both nights we were there we were recommended the perfect restaurant for us, and on one of the nights we got a complimentary water taxi to our restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have loved to have the option to dine on the amazing terrace of the hotel. But breakfast was great too thwre...

    Location, building, everyrhing...

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Palazzo Stern traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: