Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palazzo Talamo

Via Pasitea 117, 84017 Positano, Italy

#27 of 36 hotels in Positano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 345 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    Location was very good, close to the beach and downtown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t have blinds on the window so at 6 in the morning you were wide awake. Recommend to bring night shades to wear.

    Location was very good, close to the beach and downtown positano. Could not ask for a better central spot with an amazing view of the ocean and city.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.2
    The clean room suites have an amazing view, very clean and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and pillows were a little uncomfortable

    The clean room suites have an amazing view, very clean and the staff are friendly. We booked well in advance and we thought it was great value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Great sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Average unstylish furniture. Low quality breakfast in an overheating small area eith no air conditioning. Considering local food it have been nicer to offer some...

    Great sea view. Good valet parking but extra cost.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    This is our second time visiting this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is our second time visiting this property. There is something so comforting when travelling and being greeted by a family who is passionate and so welcoming. The rooms are beautiful, clean and you cannot beat the views. Every single balcony at this property comes with a beautiful view. I would highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    The location was perfect—close to excellent restaurants, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small, but that was a very minor drawback, as we were not in Positano to spend much time in our room.

    The location was perfect—close to excellent restaurants, and close to town and beach. The staff was so genuinely friendly and incredibly helpful. The view was just lovely, and we loved sitting on the balcony. The breakfast was delicious, and quite a spread, with a different torte of the day every day. Meats cheeses, hard-boiled eggs, delicious fresh fruit, cappuccino and American coffee, and much more.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were pleased that there were tea and coffee making facilities in the room after staying in other hotels without any. I asked for another couple of milk cartons the next day as they hadn't been replaced and was told that this was only provided on check in. Also if you wanted more that 2 cups of tea or coffee with breakfast you had to pay for them. For €160 a night it seems rather mean!

    We had a small room at the front of the hotel, It was rather dark and very green, green walls, green curtains and green bedding. Nice and clean room with a nice balcony. Good location. We turned down the offer of the portage at the harbour of €10 per case to take our cases up and decided to carry them. We carried them up 349 steep steps. Maybe €20 was a fair price!! Once you get to the top of the steps the hotel is right there. Really good location and a nice walk back down (either by stairs or road)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    A wonderful hotel in a great location allowing you to have spectacular views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to comment as I have been to Italy many times and you learn to go with the Italian flow and reason.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and had variety. Room clean with plenty of space and the view was spectacular. The restaurant was opposite a wonderful restaurant and stairs that lead you to the beach and to more shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Magnificent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like!

    The view from balcony of room is amazing, the room is spacious and light. Location is an easy walk into and back from town and beach ( via road stairs are more challenging, but that is Positano ) There are great restaurants all around. The family running this are amazing and incredibly helpful! Bonus has kettle!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Great views and friendly town. Clean, secure and comfortable accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps and steps.

    Stunning views from private balcony. Great breakfast options. Restaurant next door. Pretty town despite all the steps. Easy access to other Amalfi Coast ports via ferries.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    The View!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen was below room.

    The location is excellent, not in center but not too far. Great restaurants, grocery store (wine and snacks) and shopping (hand made shoes, souvenirs, clothing) very close. The property has an elevator (Yes!) and offers a modest continental breakfast. The room was a little small, but was very clean. The small outside patio and view was spectacular! I would recommend and look forward to returning again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    I can not fault Palazzo Talamo, the location was incredible,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can not fault Palazzo Talamo, the location was incredible, views were beautiful and the staff were so amazing. We had an incident in Positano and the staff went above and beyond to make sure we were okay. Especially Carmelo. We are very grateful for our stay here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great. To visit or take a tour anywhere you do need to walk up and down great distances. However, the magnificent view from the room’s balcony is beyond description.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed it so much that we would stay again if we have to opportunity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave

    We loved the location. Within walking distance to the beach and some great restaurants. Can either walk via lots of steps or the road for an easier walk. We loved loved loved the view from the balcony. Breakfast was lovely. Mainly pastries cheeses and some meats. If you want bacon and eggs it is extra

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the fact that if you wanted to have a tea or coffee in your room you had to pay for it.

    Location. View. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    the area was too hilly for us as older people. the prices were very expensive in the shops and resta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people all staff were very friendly and helpful

    The staff were extremely helpful. They went the entrails to try to print our plane tickets as there are no internet cafes and our own details were very hard to pick up on their system.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Stay for the view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge for tea bags! Our room was also very green and the balcony is not private.

    Amazing uninterrupted sea view, very close to restaurants and shops and can also walk to the beach. Breakfast was great and staff are friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Great view from the bedroom and great balcony, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weak hairdryer, some problems having constant hot water, the rest was great

    Great view from the bedroom and great balcony, nice breakfast and very helpful and friendly staff, calm and a lot of restaurants around

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Worth the view alone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should advertise that there is an easy way and a hard way to get to the hotel, as the hard way involves climbing hundreds of stairs. Not the easiest with suitcases.

    Amazing views with a balcony overlooking the coast. Big comfortable bed, and nice breakfast. Worth the stay just to experience the view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Positano!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Palazzo Talamo is in a great location, quick walk (by the stairs) to the town centre and beach. The staff were very helpful, welcoming and nice, and the breakfast very good. The view from the room balcony was superb!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    A great place to spend a few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water sometimes alternated between hot and cold.

    Our visit to Positano was made special by staying at the Palazzo Talamo. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful when presented with any requests. Its position provided amazing views over the water as well as being close to the bus stop for the small town bus. An elevator assisted you with getting your bags to your room as well as to the cheerful breakfast room. The breakfast was varied but with more sweet options than savoury. Muesli, yogurt and fruit were also available. The room, while small, was nicely decorated and extended to a balcony with a beautiful sea view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Warm, friendly, family run Hotel with spectacular views and exemplary service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire experience was so perfect!

    The entire experience was amazing! Carmilla greeted us so warmly and the breakfast staff were so friendly. The view from our room was spectacular and we slept so well. The breakfast was delicious and we enjoyed every minute of our short stay. We will definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.0
    Great location and wonderful view from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and wonderful view from the room. Friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are small but comfortable and the porch is lovely. Central and the parking although expensive works great. Great place to stay in Positano.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Had a great electronic charging station I the room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect except maybe a bit too high up from port for those that can’t handle hills or stairs.

    Had a great electronic charging station I the room with multiple ports.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location. Nice room. Needs some tweaking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel it’s not acceptable that you can’t take a cup of coffee/cappuccino from breakfast, in a to-go cup. If you want to enjoy another cup, you have to sit in the dining area. The beds are quite firm. The water in the shower kept changing from hot to ice cold many times during our showers.

    The room was a nice size. It had a balcony facing the water. Very good location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Loved the location, great view off our balcony of the harbor in Positano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pillows could have been better, down is our option. Common complaint on our trip through Italy.

    Loved 2 restaurants in same area, one directly across the street and one next door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful views from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smokers next door so leaving the balcony doors open at times was difficult.

    Beautiful views, clean rooms , nice breakfast. Very nice restaurant across the street.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.9
    Our stay was very upsetting and disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lady owner very rude ..Notes everywhere on what u can't do..Have to pay for ice and coffee and if u break a glass. Can't put any of your own food or drink in mini bar and really upset me you can't have an extra bath towel for the shower unless you pay! It's all about money at this hotel

    Location was great. Room small but clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic holiday in a unique location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access with your luggage was straight off the street, no need to climb stairs Location , cleanliness, veiws from our balcony made for a memorable holiday Would definitely recommend the Pallazo and Positano to anyone looking for that holiday of a lifetime

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice but they could do a few better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like all the signs around your room saying if you break this you have to pay x amount of dollars put a real cold feeling to the place .. plus you have to pay to even use a tea bag I thought was ridiculous not good when you're charged 200 euro a night. Have stayed many many places around the world and no one has ever charged for a teabag.. we weren't really game to touch anything or relax.. spoilt a beautiful place really

    It was a beautiful spot, and was lovely and clean . Building Up the top so lots of stairs or hills to go up and down. I wouldn't like to see elderly or disable people there as It would be hard to access. Staff were nice and breaky staff even better ..

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location and adequate for people on a budget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are small. Beds are very narrow, short, and uncomfortable, like sleeping on a narrow cot on stilts. Not good for tall or large people. Strained myself carrying luggage down stairs To reception. Bottom floor has obstructed view. Small hotel with not much room to wonder around.

    Most of the staff were friendly with the exception of one person. The location was great as it is close to a Michelin star restaurant across the street and many other good restaurants within a five minute walk plus 300 steps down to beach. Rooms are small but very clean. View is obstructed on bottom floor so ask for upper floor. Good hotel for people on a budget but would not stay here for a honeymoon or special occasion. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic view, great food and a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue we had was the mattress on the b d was a bit uncomfortable gave me a bit of a soar back other than that i have nothing else that I did not like.

    Beautiful location, view was great and overall the stay was perfect. The breakfast was also a great way to start your day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Quaint hotel in wonderful location of Positano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed! Oh my gosh, it was so hard, like sleeping on a plank! Even my husband who likes a firm matrass had a sore back! They need some memory foam toppers for sure!

    Great location, amazing views of Positano and the Mediterranean. Close to some great restaurants. Cafe Positano right next door was awesome.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    I absolutely loved my room and the balcony looking out onto the boats in the ocean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing could have been any better!

    The breakfasts were beautiful and well presented and attended by the staff. The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. They were available 24/7.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    We were there for a short time so it was fine for the time we were there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk rep could've been more informative. Was not told that the key card for our room was for the electricity in the room. We got in during the day so using the lights and AC were not an issue. However closer to night we didn't know why nothing was working. Went back to the front desk and that's when we were told. Also phones are not clearly labeled to tell you how to reach the front desk. Again had to walk up to ask a question as weren't told the contact number to reach them. Also didn't like bed sheets and bed wasn't very comfortable.

    Views were beautiful. Liked the aesthetic of the facility

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful place but over priced mediocre food. Hate that the road with cars is also for pedestrians.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was 90% cakes. Too many sweets. Not enough eggs & fruit. Coffee was mediocre. Room was small. Internet was slow and inconsistent. Staff was perfunctory.

    Good location for getting down to port and other restaurants. Nice view from our room balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.3
    Very Clean and view from our room was spectacular!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were not able to get any dinner reservations anywhere; did not really try either.

    Very Clean and view from our room was spectacular!! I would stay here again!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.5
    Pretty place in decent location with lovely view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was disappointed that there was no iron at all, so I had to go out in creased clothes. The bed was hard and the pillows were flat.

    Enjoyed sitting outside on the balcony looking at the beautiful view (didn't enjoy the smoke from the neighbour though). The bathroom had lovely cheerful tiles, and a window with a view. The breakfast was typical for Italy, had fresh fruit, freshly baked cakes, meat, cheese and coffee/tea. I was super-excited that there was a kettle!! So many places didn't have one. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.8
    Great location with amazing balcony and view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so hard and room was tiny considering the amount of money we spent- most expensive of our entire trip! Shower didn't maintain a constant temperature- hot and cold!!

    Great location with amazing balcony and view!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful way to spend my boyfriends birthday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Before we booked we saw a lot of people complain about the rooms being too small and not what they paid for - we actually didn't understand these reviews because the room was amazing and quite big in size. I don't ever post reviews but wanted to make this one clear as if you're hesitating to book this place because of the price and trying to stack it against other peoples reviews, like we were, then don't hesitate because you'll be pleasantly surprised by how nice it is. Breakfast however was average - lots of sweets/cakes rather than healthy foods. We were used to most of the hotels we stayed at this trip having scrambled eggs but this place did not - not the end of the world obviously.

    The rooms were beautifully decorated - especially the bathroom, the sea view rooms had amazing views. Super clean rooms, 24/7 reception, close to the beach (you're in Positano so yes, there will be stairs but compared to a lot of other places in the area there are not many steps down to the beach) Lots of nice restaurants around as well.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Nice and Convenient Hotel in Positano
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very hot and humid when we visited last week and the room key also controlled the electricity to the room..which meant that the A/C would turn off. but..luckily...each afternoon, the room was still cool. The breakfast was really not very good...but again..was enough to get by on. Pillows were hard...and there was no hair conditioner with the bathroom supplies...

    The location of the property is off of the street which makes it very easy to get to, especially in Positano! Its nice when you can avoid the steps as much as possible.....The decor was nice..and the staff was very friendly. The room had a very nice balcony overlooking Positano...and it even had a window!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps. 700 from the hotel to the beach. Alternatively walk the windy road down which is very picturesque or catch the Intra bus.

    Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean and Positano. Spent many hours enjoying the view and relaxing. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The staff helped us with restaurant and porter bookings. A lovely buffet breakfast, again with a fabulous view. Several restaurants and cafes near the hotel for dinner. There is an intra Positano bus that takes you down to the square and around the hills back to the hotel. About €1.20. Took a day trip to Capri with the ferry from Positano pier.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    9.6
    Lovely and very helpful staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard but finding this a trend in Italy.

    Lovely and very helpful staff! Felt so welcome and at home. Perfect location with a great view.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    First Class Spectacular Views and Hospitality making you feel right at home to enjoy Positano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was amazing with spectacular breath taking views. Staff were amazing and always happy to please with individual dietary needs. Breakfast had a good selection of local specialties to enjoy before you set off to explore the Amalfi coast. Front counter staff very helpful to offer local knowledge to assist in daily activity planning needs. Local stairs to access the beach were very close by. The rooms were very clean and comfortable for a couple. The balcony was big enough to enjoy the view over a glass of wine and snack before dinner with many restaurants at your doorstep. Highly recommend and will definitely return again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Great little boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing the hotel could have done better. They don't have parking themselves, but there is so little room in Positano so that's not surprising. They have a deal with a local parking place which charges 22E a day and they do a kind of valet service. There is also a lot of steps down to Positano itself, but that's the same wherever you stay.

    Great location with a lovely view of the area. Reception were incredibly helpful and the lift to the rooms was a real bonus. The staff were small in number, but attentative when required. I'd fully recommend having a drink on the outside terrace before venturing out. Everything was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.3
    The hotel was really great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower was blocked and didn't drain properly. I found it disappointing that any extras came with a price. For example people were limited to two coffees at breakfast before they were charged. Little things like that should be part of the service.

    The hotel was really great. Staff were incredibly generous and did their best to accommodate anything we requested. In the room our bed was nice and big, the bathroom facilities were lovely and the room had a great feel to it. The breakfast was pretty good, you must like a lot of carbs, but the views from our room and from the hotel in general were the best part. Right out over the ocean. It was magnificent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    I loved it here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's almost 500 steps up from the beach but you don't get that view unless you are high up. It was worth it but make sure you only need to go back once a day.

    The view from the terrace was spectacular. There was a window looking out to the sea in the bathroom so even when you were showering you had an amazing view! I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Will be back for our 5 year anniversary!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish they had a restaurant so I never would have to leave, but honestly there. Are restaurants all around the hotel so it's not an issue.

    The most ideal view in Positano! The bar inside was cheap and came with snacks and had an incredible view as well. The staff was actually nice, unlike others that feel like they are nice because there have to. We will be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Great location, beautiful hotel! Although do not expect luxury.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although we loved our time here, we thought it was over-priced. The breakfast did not contain many hot items and it was cleared 30 minutes prior to it's closing time. We did notice the staff bickering quite loudly to each other until they saw customers however they were still pleasant.

    The views are absolutely stunning and the property itself is in a great location close to the shops / beach. The rooms are quite basic, yet they are clean and the bathrooms are beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.7
    Good location, but small rooms and not the best value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and cramped for even 2 people, the breakfast was okay but the room was small and dark and they had parasol type things attached to the windows stopping you from enjoying the views and sunlight! Our shower was awful and leaked all over the floor and left it feeling like a wet room - it was also freezing cold then scalding hot every 2 minutes. Understandably the hotels are more expensive in Positano but I think this hotel is over priced compared to others we stayed in on the amalfi coast, but the views were next to none meaning the climbing of the steps was no bother, until we made the rookie mistake of climbing up them on the first day with 30kg of luggage in 30 degrees. Did not make that mistake on the way home and acquired the services of a 'porter' who take your luggage down to the port on a buggy. 10 euros well spent!

    Our terrace overlooking the sea was beautiful, the location was great if you wanted to be near the best restaurants but not if you hate taking 100's of steps down to the beach etc. The service on reception was great, they were all so lovely and willing to help you with everything you needed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    8.3
    good! the employees are very good!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room was very simple... the bed (i didnt like it) the colors.. the confort... the bedroom was big... but wanst good decoration... and the price was very expensive.... for me was a 4 stars hotel... the price was very expensive. but i didnt find other location in Positano for this dates....

    I like the location, the view, breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.8
    Great find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a little small and bare with barely enough room for two suitcases to be open around the bed. I also think the breakfast leaves a bit to be desired. But overall there was very little to not like!

    The location of the property was hard to beat. You can be dropped off right at the door with your luggage instead of having to climb stairs with luggage so that was a plus. We also loved being a short walk down to the beach and across from a great restaurant! The staff was excellent and so accommodating. The room while bare was very clean with a beautiful view and private terrace. Overall compared to the price for other hotels in the area this was a great find and I'd definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Picture perfect Positano views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little uncomfortable.

    We loved the location of the hotel, 5 minute walk down the stairs to the beach or 10 minute stroll on the road through the gorgeous shops of Positano. The staff were so friendly and very helpful with making dinner reservations and arranging car parking for us. The view from our room was perfect! Lovely breakfast each morning. Would love to return one day. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    The location was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the breakfast staff was amazing, I wish there was hot foods such as eggs. But for a continental breakfast, it was still quite good.

    The location was amazing! Directly across the street from the most amazing restaurant I've ever eaten at. And plenty of restaurants and shops right beside it. The stairs down to the beach were right outside the entrance. We had the most breathtaking view from our Balcony. We enjoyed a glass of wine on the balcony each night. The room exceeded my expectations. It was typically Italian with beautiful ceramic tiles. The staff was super friendly and very accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect stay, perfect staff and the most perfect location! Loved all about this hotel!! Giovanna, Paulo and Antonio were great. The breakfast is very good. The room has a beautiful view and the location is perfect, near to the beaches, in front of a delicious restaurant, near to the road where SITA bus stops and also has a easy access by car/taxi. Bed and bath are also great. 10!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    9.2
    Location, Location, Location!! What a Value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and the bed was hard (pretty standard for hotels in the area from what we could tell), but the view, the location and the breakfast more than made up for it.

    The location and view for this price point are almost too good to be true. Yes, it's a bit of a splurge to stay in the middle of Positano but the price point was a bargain compared to similar properties. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. If you are driving a car, there is a public parking area about 1/2 mile up the road prior to reaching the property. Don't pass it up as the road is one way and its a long way around to get back to it. You can park here for $22 euro per night and they will drive you and your bags to the hotel. The room was small but we got a great price and it had a lovely patio overlooking the ocean! The restaurant across the street was excellent but you will need reservations at least 1 day prior during season. The breakfast was one of the best we had of the 5 hotels we stayed at between Naples and the Amalfi Coast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location, good hotel, friendly staff and lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was extremely hard and seemed to have a rubber sleeve on the mattress which made it incredibly noisy when you moved in bed. The shower took a long time to heat up and although there was a fridge in the room you weren't allowed to put your food/drink in it. Also you had to pay for the 'complementary' tea and coffee if used which I thought was a bit mean considering the cost of the room!

    The hotel was situated half way up from the main area/beach. Easy walking for a reasonably fit person however there is a bus you can catch back up the hill one way system. The hotel staff were all very friendly, they made a packed breakfast when we had to set off early for excursions and our flight home. The hotel was very clean with good sized rooms with balconies and lovely views of the town/ coast. They also have a bar area with views and good restaurants next door. The breakfast choice was good and a buffet style. There was a safe in the room so you needn't carry your valuables everywhere. The air conditioning unit was one of the quietest I've experienced 😃.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.3
    Not as friendly as all the reviews I had read...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having read so many reviews about how friendly and welcoming the family that own Palazzo Talamo were etc I was a little disappointed in firstly our reception when arriving. The sister that was on the front desk whilst she answered any questions did not appear to be happy or in a good mood. Their Mother however is a blessing, she is lovely and it was a pleasure to see her each morning at breakfast... We travel every year for a couple of months and have stayed in many family run hotels and B&B's far more welcoming and friendly... and we are in one right now in Amalfi and they are wonderful....

    The view and the location... The young man who worked the night shift would always welcome us with a smile and ask how we were...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    We loved staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although everyone is super friendly, there are a few rules that are strictly enforced. I wanted to take my wife a coffee in our room from the breakfast room, but it caused near pandemonium. It certainly isn't a deal breaker, but it would have been nice to take a few things to our room's balcony. Parking also isn't included and (not the hotel's rates) is rather expensive at €22 per day. Still would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants to visit Positano.

    We loved staying here. The location is great - it is close to the steps to the beach and on the main road to walk down. But because the hotel is underneath the main road, it is quiet and you can relax away from the hustle and bustle. The view from our room (although not of main Positano), was breathtaking. The staff were friendly and very informative.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    This hotel exceeded my expectations in every way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We only stayed 4 days and wish it could have been more!

    This was a hotel focused on their guests .I felt very safe there. Carmilla and the other staff were always there to help us with questions, provide beach towels and advice on travel, and make sure we were enjoying ourselves. I took their brochure to share with my friends!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    The jewel in the Crown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the steps to get up to it but kept us fit!

    This hotel is the jewel in the crown. The view from the balcony is exceptionally beautiful. Staff are very friendly and breakfasts delicious.I recommend it highly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    I'd stay no place else!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing!!! Everything was perfect!

    From the moment I walked in I felt at home. Beautiful as I remember from last time I was here 8 years ago! Giovanna, Carmela, Mama all welcoming. Breakfast good, Helpful front desk staff at all hours. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this property!! Grazie

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    We'll come back - no need to look anywhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking in Positano is obviously a challenge - but PT has a good solution with Parking Anna just up the street. Park there before you get to the hotel or you'll have to circle the whole town again.

    Very friendly and accomodating staff. Beautiful view from our room. Decor of entire hotel is charming. Breakfast was excellent - not just a continental but easily a $30-$40/person value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    Great hotel, amazing view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The standard room was tiny when you factored-in two relatively large suitcases - but this is europe!

    The view!! Amazing!! The standard room is relatively small, but the balcony was amazing. The location is adjacent to great shops and restaurants. Even the 400 steps up from the beach is fun and a good way to burn off all that bread, pizza, bread, pasta, bread and bread.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.8
    Fabulous accommodation with views to die for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It would be nice to have tea, coffee and milk available to you so you could have a cuppa anytime. I didn't like the fact you had to pay for each teabag plus the milk.

    The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We liked that the prices in the mini bar were very reasonable. You could sit and enjoy a drink on the balcony with the beautiful view knowing you were not getting ripped off.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.3
    Lovely place to stay with stunning views from balcony. Gorgeous!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reflection on the facility but I wish the area around the accomodation was a bit more pedestrian friendly! You need to continually watch for traffic! Cars seem to rule over pedestrians in Italy!

    Enjoyed the views from balcony! Close location to restaurants. Good breakfast! Friendly and attentive staff. Quiet location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.8
    Fantastic view from the balcony , clean room and nice ...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't like is the size of the single beds , they were quite small .

    Fantastic view from the balcony , clean room and nice breakfast with lovely coffee , very good location and helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.6
    Recommended place in positano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok.. not more. The hotel has a bit old design.

    The location was the best. We gat room with a balcony, and it had an amazing view!! The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel has an arrangement with a parking lot that helped us (the road was very narrow..) Positano is amazing and the hotel definitely helped the magical atmosphere.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    6.7
    Decent, but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charging for tea bags in the room is ridiculous. The decor could do with sprucing up. We felt chased out of the hotel on check-out day. The signs in the room warning us we would be charged for damaging stuff was not the warmest of welcomes. The parking is quite expensive.

    The view is amazing. The balcony off our bedroom was a nice spot to hang out. Breakfast selection was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    A great find in Positano.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The staff was exceptionally helpful and very friendly. The breakfast was a very pleasant experience in that it was very Neapolitan. Great location. Fantastic view of the Mediterranean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    9.6
    Would stay again in a heartbeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast doesn't include really any fresh fruit or veges.

    Super clean, staff were so nice! nice room, beautiful view and balcony. Excellent value for money!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    8.8
    Extremely clean and with an astonishing view to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but too simple, few options. Bathroom a bit small.

    Extremely clean and with an astonishing view to the sea. Fully equiped and modern room. Helpful and friendly staff. Great location, close to the main square and right in front of Da Vicenzo, which is an amazing restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    9.2
    Hotel was right off the main road, which meant we didn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was right off the main road, which meant we didn't have to carry our bags down many stairs. Views were breathtaking. Amazing nearby restaurants. Breakfast and kitchenette staff were great!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    10
    Perfect if you would like to stay in Positano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view is phenomenal, the location is great and the rooms are very spacious and neat. The breakfast is perfect and the staff is very friendly. We would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    6.3
    Lovely town, mixed feelings about the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Booking.com location point on the map is about 500m away from its true location-this is a big deal in arriving, when you consider all the stairs and hills in this town! Sort it out please

    A member of our group left his charger for his razor at the hotel and a staff member, remembering where we said we would be staying next in Amalfi, brought the charger to our Amalfi hotel! Unprecedented service!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.2
    Stop looking, stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay. Up on the hill overlooking Positano. We had a cheaper room which was pretty small but our friends had much bigger rooms. Views are excellent. Staff were the best . Really friendly. We sat outside at night drinking from the bar on the terrace. Drinks were half the cost of what you would pay next door with the same view. Good breakfast plainer but ok.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: