Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palazzo Vecchietti - Residenza D'Epoca

Via Degli Strozzi 4, Duomo, 50123 Florence, Italy

#15 of 384 hotels in Florence

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 112 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some noise coming in from the street. Everything else was fine.

    Fantastic location, beautiful room, friendly and helpful staff, delicious and high quality breakfast, intimate property with not too many rooms, excellent Wi-Fi. Would definitely stay again if in Florence.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We have traveled throughout europe extensively during the past 20 years and I can tell you this is one of the finest properties we have ever stayed in. The staff, the room, the service were all excellent. I mean excellent. Every night we asked about the finest restaurant to eat at and all reservations for dinner were made with a smile. There was never a feeling that someone was doing something for a tip they were doing it because they love their job. The morning breakfast team was truly exceptional meeting any and all of our needs. If you ever get a chance to stay at this amazing hotel do not pass on this property you will not be disappointed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really as the aim of this travel is just to eat and do shopping . All that we had wanted to do we were able to do within walking distance from hotel

    Right in the heart of the shopping area . Able to get back to hotel whenever we were tired . Lots of eating places surrounding the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is the worst. It should not be called 5-star. I really regret to choose this hotel. General manager/owner, you should learn what 5-star hotel maintenances are. 1. Shower water was not drained and the water on the floor of the shower room reached 2-inch high. The staff sacked the drainage and ugly clog came out! Have you ever cleaned up the drain pipes? 2. The staff offered us to use the shower in another room. But the shower hose was broken and a sharp metal parts almost cut my husband hand. How dangerous shower! Have you ever checked if the shower hose is safe? 3. Our room has a mini-kitchen. Surprisingly, the food remained on the pot in the mini-kitchen. Do we have to wash the pot before using it in 5-star hotel? IT should be clean before we enter the room. 4. The sponge to wash the dishes in the mini-kitchen was terribly dirty and almost brown. Disgusting! Do you know that the sponge should be replaced if it is dirt? One more thing, the furniture looks cheap. Ha! It looks like American furniture you can get on the Website. I believe that 5-star hotel fee includes the maintenance cost to keep the high quality as a hotel. The staff said that the general manager/owner does not like discount. But if she does not do the proper job, she cannot say that. The hotel owner just discounted 10%. If the total services are not worth the original fee, the owner should discount more. She ruined our trip. She is just greedy.

    Staff is polite though.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vacuum cleaner at 8am on a Sunday. Staff preparing for breakfast and banging plates and cutlery at 4am - don't think it was necessary to prepare this early.

    Concierge and front desk are absolutely fantastic. Location can't be beaten - in the heart of Florence near Duomo and Shopping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is perfect, even small details. Nice and big room, best location, helpful staff. Car parking is convenient, the staff takes care of the paper work for the traffic control things, but it's a bit pricy. If u have the budget, it's the best choice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were wonderful and welcoming and the rooms were generous and luxurious, including a small kitchen if you buy local food. They also serve prosecco and snacks in the lobby each evening by the fireplace. The buffet breakfast has amazing fresh local produce which tastes Devine.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind!

    Location was excellent, right in the middle of the historic centre of Florence and a very easy walk in any direction to major sites of interest. The interior was beautifully presented with great character and staff exceptionally helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the noise is incredible coming from the street. airport transfer price is not commercial.

    Location was sensational, great boutique hotel, lovely décor, lovely staff ...

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Everything about about this hotel works just perfect. Paolo made the check in and make the best recommendations about food and tour. Made me love more Florence.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing I could fault in this hotel.

    Palazzo Vecchietti is a small boutique hotel located steps away from the Piazza della Repubblica which is a large square with a carousel, surrounded by shops and restaurants. People gathered here every evening, it was very much the hub of activity. It is an easy walking distance from sights and shopping. The hotel is a converted 16th century residence which retains many of its beautiful original features without compromising the comfort of its guests. Our suite had large, well furnished rooms, a beautiful bathroom and extra storage rooms. It's very quiet and more personal than the larger hotels. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that when I requested something a bit different for breakfast - porridge made with fresh milk, they went out and bought the ingredients and learned how to make it just right for me - with walnuts, blueberries and bananas.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Luxurious room, furnished in great comfort and style, in an elegant building. Really more of a studio apartment, with a fully equipped kitchenette. Excellently located within walking distance of all the sights and the train station. Outstandingly courteous and responsive staff, who helped us before arrival with information and bookings for the key places to see, and had a solution to every problem.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtain could not block the light from outside, night and day. Airconditioning position blows the air on the bed while asleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love everything the building the room the location the staff !! all are amazing and friendly they go far and beyond to make you feel like home

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many high end stores. Too much shopping😆

    Centrally located

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were excellent , very helpful and went out of their way with their service .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being in museum

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely comfortable hotel. With management that are very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wow

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi was very slow.

    All was outstanding other than Wi-Fi was slow. Everything else was exceptional!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No spa facility or bath in room

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Style of the room

    Location + coziness

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to stay longer. Can't wait to come back soon.

    The service was excellent. Great location. Rooms were large and well appointed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC was not working properly, it was a little bit hot

    staff & location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location was great. Our suite was very spacious and comfortable. The service was outstanding. No complaints.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Every thing was perfect

    The whole experience of comfort, elegance and thoughtful attention to detail. The staff was superb.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    it is the best choice of hotel !!!the location of the hotel is outstanding but the staff were even better than the location. congratulations Paolo and Luca you are the best !!!

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect

    Amazing service! Was emailing with Luca before to request a quiet room, and everything was prepared accordingly! Had a complimentary sparkling wine as it was our honeymoon. Breakfast's really good too! And the location is great!

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    nothing negative!

    I tried most of the luxurious hotels in Florence and this one is the best luxurious hide-away in Florence for sure... Incredibly isolated tranquil world inside this hotel...with all sorts of kindness and heartful care of the class... truly truly highly recommended...!!!

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We stayed in a suite that was situated right by the Main Street. It took as a while to sleep since their night life is very much alive. People were singing until 3AM

    The staff were great!!! They really made our stay stress-free by doing all the restaurant reservations for us, and recommending the routes to take to certain places.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No air conditioning during winter months so you are forced to just turn off the heaters and it can still get too warm. It's very noisy outside until late in the morning. No facilities other than a breakfast room on the third floor. No restaurant or food room service. Service can be hit or miss.

    Location of the hotel. Size, beauty and comfort of the rooms. Great value.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had a lovely 4 night stay. The staff were excellent, friendly, knowledgable and accommodating of our needs. The rooms were spotless, serviced well... all in all an excellent place to stay and I would highly recommend it!

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We should have stayed longer

    Palazzo Vecchietti is located in central old Florence and walking distance to everywhere. The rooms (more than a room really) are large and beautifully furnished. Lovely linen, huge comfy bed, great bathroom, little kitchenette with dishwasher. The building is beautiful with paintings and books and sculptures tastefully placed. All the staff were lovely!

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't even hesitate its an amazing place! In the center of Florence, walking distance from all the important monuments, the hotel is cozy and beautiful The breakfast is delicious. Thanks to Leonardo and Luca from the reception our stay was enjoyable

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't get the room in the picture at their website. The room was really plain.

    What i liked about the hotel was the location very central. And it was easy to get around the places we needed to be. Nice that they gave us complimentary pastries and proseco to celebrate our honeymoon.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The hotel was not allowed to install modern soundproof windows (some historic buildings conservation act). Windows of our suite were to a busy street so until 4am we were "enjoying" drunk shouts, scooters driving back-and-forth and from 5am noise from street cleaning machines and emptying of trash bins. The noise was so loud as if our bed were in the middle of a piazza. I had to buy ear plugs to be able to sleep. When we asked to put floor heating on in the bathroom (we had a 1-year old with us) they just turned off the whole air-conditioning inside the suite. We also had a constantly blinking and clicking light in the wardrobe which there was no way to turn off but to pull out the card from the slot (ie turn off all the electricity in the whole suite). And on the last day the coffee machine failed...

    location, breakfast, staff friendliness and restaurant recomendation

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is a fabulous hotel! Small and lovely, the hotel is right in the heart of Florence. The staff are very concerned with every aspect of your stay. The breakfast was amazing! The room was beautiful. We would go back here in a heartbeat.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There weren't lot of mosquitoes but the hotel can benefit from one of those mosquitoes zapper in the lobby area. We saw few of them fly around in the area. We did not have the same issue in our room but again saw them in the hall way

    Very comfortable- Great Location and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our suite this time was located towards the front of the hotel which was quite noisy until 2am. Request a suite toward the back of the hotel.

    This was our second stay here. Luca and the staff are always delightful and helpful. Location can't be beat. Breakfast is delicious and has gluten free options with advance notice.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole stay was just perfect.

    The location of the hotel is outstanding but the staff were even better than the location. Luca was a great help with a big touch of care meanwhile. Plenty of storage rooms all around and the kitchenet was very usefully especially the coffee machine.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You can hear the street noise but you are in Central Florence so to be expected.

    Fantastic location can't beat it, staff extremely helpful recommending restaurants and helping with travelling back to pisa airport. Rooms are spacious clean comfortable and luxurious. A hidden gem. Step outside and you are right in the buzz of it. Wish we could of afforded the room with the terrace.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I coult not find a thing that I did not like.

    Just incredibly good interior and the fееling that you live in very old building with it's own style. Excellent breakfast. Good atmosfere.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location couldn't have been better, staff were extremely helpful, particularly Luca and Paolo who gave us wonderful recommendations on where to go / eat!

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My only problem is that the air and heating system couldn't be adjusted in the room. I like to have AC on and that wasn't an option at this time of year (March). Street noise is noticeable if that would be a problem for anyone, but the hotel's location's being right in the heart of Florence which is an asset also means their are people and cars nearby. All part of the experience in this incredible Italian city.

    Incredible Old World style. Beautifully renovated building. The suite we stayed in was gracious and extremely large. Lovely interior design. The location was perfect for walking to any place in historic Florence. The staff was incredibly helpful, friendly & gracious. Extremely clean and comfortable. Very comfortable bed. Plenty of closet and clothes storage space. My stay was for 10 nights and the suite was extremely wonderful for space and comfort over that length of time.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had such a lovely stay, the location is fantastic everything was within 10mins walk from the hotel. The room was beautiful and very clean. Twice daily maid service too! Would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quite noisy at night as i opened the window. But it isn't a very big deal for us as we had a very deep sleep ;P

    The staff are nice and helpful, wonderful experience in Florence. In room breakfast is nice, everyday is a good morning. Location is great, in the heart of Florence.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cannot say anything.

    The staff, the breakfast, the magnificent room and the location, simply cannot be beaten in Florence. A hidden gem amongst the chaos of the streets outside. Would never stay anywhere else.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Turn down service, cleaning up cups etc a bit erratic at times, noise in street a disturbance very late - 4 am ?? Club turn out drunks making way too much noise - room a bit hot so had to have window open. Overall though beautiful - 1 night spoilt and nit the hotels fault.

    Location spot on for seeing Venice easily, popping in and out with bags of shopping, for a siesta after a big lunch etc.

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is VERY expensive (not the hotel's fault but a fact of life in Florence)

    Location is excellent. Top floor suite with outside terrace is very unique. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Valet car parking was expensive (50 Euros per night). Otherwise everything was excellent.

    Very nice hotel. Located in the heart of Florence, very close to main attractions. Staff were professional, welcoming and very much helpful. The room was wonderful, spacious and very clean. Breakfast area was very nice, but limited selections.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Brilliant location. Beautiful building with comfortable well appointed rooms. Excellent staff, friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Every aspect of the place was great

    Breakfast was perfect

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The best hotel we lived in Roma.Amazing building!Very friendly and helpful front desk people. The location is just perfect to everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic lication, friendly staff, superb room

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Could not get any English language tv stations other than the news.

    Location, style, helpful staff. Good bathroom and bedroom.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location, beautifully decorated, and the perfect level of attention from staff.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    V

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our room was a little noisy at night

    The friendly staff, the good breakfast and the comfort of the room

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No Gym...

    The stuffs are very nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    this otel is the best choice for florence location and hotel management are excellent..the staff was very polite

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing!

    Excellent location, excellent and friendly staff. No negative feedback at all. Better than 4 seasons !

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Group

    a bit high for the rate.

    the staff are excllent.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely city florence

    Everything was perfect, nice staff, nice room. Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I cannot find anything to mention

    Everything was perfect

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amenities, decor, location

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    every thing was perfect, the room , staff , location , breakfast and the most important the atmosphere is great.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No concerge

    Location art deco hotel

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Couple

    Everything ,, really it was amazing place to visit and stay

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Best place ever

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Browse Palazzo Vecchietti - Residenza D'Epoca traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: