Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Relais Palazzo Viviani This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Roma 38, 47837 Montegridolfo, Italy

#3 of 4 hotels in Montegridolfo

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 293 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2018

    10
    romantic castle with great rooms .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    the own restaurant was closed monday evening

    romantic castle with great rooms ... perfect for a weekend getaway and to calm down park outside the castle ... the gate is super narrow and they do have a service to pick you up from the lower parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    9.6
    Nice place, would like to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Tastefull and varied breakfast with proper serials, youghurt, proper bread, meat etc. It was a busy time and sometimes a little bit stressfull and buffet was empty before breakfast ended. But over all happy with the selection and service.

    Great atmosphere in this little historical village on a hilltop. Friendly staff, very nice velcome by Silvia which was very helpfull. Nice and relaxed pool area. Would like to go again. Easy parking and access.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 26, 2017

    10
    Always great to return here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Always great to return here. If you are looking for relaxation, great scenery and welcoming people than this is a great place to visit. I like the fact that within half an hour you can travel to the beach, which has so much for children or the shops and then return to the tranquil surrounding of this beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2017

    9.6
    This is our third stay in 12 years, under three different...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air conditioning was a little noisy and not quite powerful enough to cool a double height space, but in no way spoilt our stay.

    This is our third stay in 12 years, under three different owners and it's just as beautiful, relaxed and about as romantic setting as you could wish for. The food is very good including breakfast where they were very helpful with a special dietary requirement (vegan).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    10
    Enchanting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent stay. Loved the old castle-like feel to the property. Fantastic breakfast that was varied and of excellent quality. Beautiful pool and gardens. And it is all set within a small, extremely well-preserved medieval borgo in the hills of Rimini with beautiful glimpses of the sea. Staff were very nice, friendly and kind to my rambunctious three year old. Loved it!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2016

    10
    A charming Palazzo set in beautiful grounds with sensational views..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The downstairs dining room could do with a bit more light to make a bit less dungeon like. Perhaps a coffee machine downstairs so the waiter does not have to go up and down a staircase. it might be nice to have a proper bar with comfortable seating to have an aperatif..

    The staff is extremely nice and helpful. The new manager is delightful and lots of new things are happening at the Palazzo. We travel through Italy twice a year and always stay here,

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2016

    7.5
    Looks can be very deceptive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was the same every day (rubbish). By day 3 I felt as if the croissants knew me, they had been there that long! No mini bar, even though we told them every day we were there. They acknowledged it and did nothing. The rooms were really noisy. I woke up at 5.30 to what I thought was torrential rain, only to realise it was the shower next door. That same night 'dolly' in her stilettos woke me at 2 in the morning stomping around in the room the other side of us. Not as close Misano as they led us to believe, which was the only reason we booked and paid the money (certainly not worth what they charge)

    The location was lovely and so was the main property. However, I didn't see any pictures of the chalet type property that we found our self being booked in to. Once inside our room, we forgot what the outside was like as it was clean and comfortable but not worth what they charge

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2016

    5.0
    Not the charm we expected...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our charmless room (down the hill from the main residence) was nothing like the lovely pictures shown on this website. The uncomfortably hard bed was two twins squashed together with the resulting gap you can feel in the middle. If you're going to advertise a "Matrimoniale" bed, your clients should be able to sleep with their partner without an uncomfortable ridge under them. And the bed should be comfortable. It would take very little decoration to make this room less nondescript and more special, like the rooms in the other photos. Unfolding a face towel in our bathroom, we were taken aback by a huge brown (dirt? old blood? something else?) stripe down the middle of it, almost the entire length of the towel. A FACE TOWEL. The staff apologized profusely, but how does this happen? The tub's drain did not open, so I had to prop it open. These are things that housekeeping had to have noticed but didn't care to fix, in two days of our sojourn. They couldn't have cleaned the tub without noticing the drain wouldn't open! (Or did they even bother to clean it?) And the liquid soaps/shampoos are pure horrible perfume - awful. Why there are no mosquito screens on the windows is beyond me. At least we could've enjoyed the stillness of the countryside on a cool evening without getting devoured by mosquitos. Housekeeping should've noticed the old squashed mosquitos on the wall that greeted us, as well... Breakfast had lots of fruit and breads and milk products (the latter of which I can't eat), but only two savory choices (two lunch meats - turkey and something sausagey). No eggs, no prosciutto, etc... Weird, considering most of the clientele were Northern Europeans who would eat the more savory things, and prosciutto di Parma and mortadella (absent here) would have been regional Emilia-Romagna specialties, to boot. I think they gave us the "dud" room since we booked on booking.com..

    The staff was nice, the view from the pool is beautiful, and the grounds are lovely, even if our room had no view. Wifi and tv worked fine. Good cappuccino and they even had soy milk! When asked, they came up with some chocolate crackers that were non-gluten. (Why not put the non-gluten stuff out there on buffet in the first place, though, so I don't have to feel like a second-class citizen at breakfast, asking for favors?)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2016

    8.3
    A very nice place but with several shortages.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pity the village is scarcely inhabited. Difficulty to find a decent restaurant in the herabouts - even in Urbino. Breakfast is largely unsufficient (no toaster!) with low-rate products.

    The location and the view on the sea and the hills. The old village.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2016

    7.9
    Great stay in beautiful hotel and nice part of Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We expected to stay in the old town/castle - but rooms are located just outside that area. Although we were at first somewhat disappointed - the rooms turned out to be much better and modern then in the old part. And to be honest it did not matter that much and saved a lot of uphill walking. Although all buildings in the old part/castle are beautiful and well maintained, it looked somewhat abandoned with almost nobody staying there. Only the hotel reception. We think that is reserved for large groups, conferences, events, weddings... Although beach is only 10-15km away it takes some time due to winding roads (but nice scenery)...Go for Fano - anything else is dramatically touristic and crowded and very difficult to find parking. Breakfast was basic - scrambled eggs only in the weekend, also not possible to order this or any other egg dish separately.

    We enjoyed our stay - large rooms. Location is great. Old castle on top of the mountain with beautiful (see)views all around. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Swimming pool is nice - with see view, poolbar and nice setting in the large garden. Some nice little old towns nearby. Saludecio and Mondaino. Good parking facility. We got upgrade for our childrens room to make sure they were close to our room and wifi was OK for them. Wifi was excellent in the rooms and swimming pool area - key for our older children. We all loved our stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    8.8
    A definite thumbs up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room - Separate Building
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The mini bar could do with a few more drink options, besides water. Our daughter's cot bed didn't have a mattress so she wasn't as comfortable. The Osteria (open only for dinner) leaves no option but to drive out for a proper lunch. Otherwise, a piadina (similar to a sandwich snack) is available by the pool, but even then, the choice is limited to say the least. Considering there isn't really anywhere to get a snack and a drink other than the pool bar, i would recommend that it's open for longer hours.

    The place and views are outstandingly amazing. It's very peaceful and the place is very well maintained. The staff are very helpful and were particularly lovely with our 2 year old daughter.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2016

    10
    Perfect in every way - we loved it here & would love to go again!! You've got to visit xx
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not applicable

    Everything was perfect, the location, the staff, the atmosphere, the rooms, the grounds, the food - we loved it here & would love to go again!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    10
    It was a truly wonderful experience !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Norhing

    We loved the buildings, furniture, quietness, little bar, separation from other patrons . Loved it!!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    10
    Romantic retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very romantic and peacefull, great food, lovelly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.5
    Very very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The spa is poor and not so clean. Level much lower than the rest of structure.

    There were no so many people so...relax

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2017

    8.8
    Perfect stay!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff, we had a lovely stay, thank you very much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2017

    9.6
    Great holiday location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Airco didn't work good. Water in the pool could be cleaner.

    Location, staff, food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful location, amazing building and a perfect holiday atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a beautiful place. I loved the little mid-evil village on top of the mountain. The atmosphere was serene.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay in Palazzo Viviani.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We enjoyed our stay in Palazzo Viviani. Kids loved the pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2016

    7.5
    Stunning location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No in house restaurant operating every night

    Large room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2016

    10
    I'll be back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    everything: amazing location, views, staff, room standard, swimming pool

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    5.4
    The breakfast was very poor with no hot food or toast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast

    The breakfast was very poor with no hot food or toast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: July 22, 2016

    10
    The area was fantastic and perfectly located .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The area was fantastic and perfectly located .

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 28, 2016

    8.8
    The rooms were beautifully decorated and we had a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Our fridge did not work.

    The rooms were beautifully decorated and we had a lovely spritz in the Castle. It was a fabulous location for a night - a real sense of history pervades. Breakfast was very nice - typically italian.

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2016

    8.3
    Views and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We were in a unit in the Village with open-loft (2 beds for children). When walking on the loft floor you had the impression that the ceiling under it were falling on you!

    Views and location!

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2015

    9.2
    Very pretty hotel with great swimmingpool !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Poor wifi & average airconditioning in the "burgo" part of the hotel (the little "houses" behind the swimmingpool )

    Very pretty hotel with great swimmingpool !!our teenagers enjoyed it very much!The restaurants in the castle are great as well!

  • Reviewed: July 25, 2015

    2.5
    Close to some nice areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wi fi; no AC, breakfast deplorable; no information about what was open for eating; it must be close to closing down, since no one seems to care!

    Close to some nice areas

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2016

    10
    Everything is excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything is excellent

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2015

    9.2
    Very tranquil and the scenery is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't have any complaints but you will need a car if you wanted to explore.

    Very tranquil and the scenery is excellent.

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2015

    5.8
    Personnel at entry rough;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Personnel at entry rough; bad internal road indications: rather labyrinthic.

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2015

    7.9
    The location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    dirty pool, problems with booking upon arrival,

    The location was perfect Castle rooms small but quaint

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2015

    7.9
    overall medieval environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    dinner (and wine in particular) well below expectations

    overall medieval environment

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Browse Relais Palazzo Viviani Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: