Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Residenza D'Epoca di Palazzo Cicala

Piazza San Lorenzo, Genoa Historical Centre, 16123 Genoa, Italy

#69 of 92 hotels in Genoa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 117 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    4.2
    Medium to bad experience. Not a 4 star hotel by EU standards. Not recommended to relax.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfast offered. Very noisy room and area (couldn't sleep first night, second night i bought earplugs). Mattress rather uncomfortable. Basic room, no sound proof from corridor and hotel exit door.

    Good central location. Many small trattoria around the hotel. Clean room. Smart check-in procedure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Large room with very comfy beds.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lack of the served breakfast that was only with few biscuits, packaged juice and coffee from the machine in the room.

    Large room with very comfy beds. Great windows. Very central position.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    We'd stay again. An elegant antique room with a view and great food and drink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit odd getting in with key codes and exact door pushes, and I wouldn't stay here alone because it's in a large old though beautiful building with some questionable people around the area outside. Parking is a challenge. We parked quite far and then walked in with our suitcases which in rainy weather isn't great but for most of the way the center covers you somewhat. We also heard the neighbors in their rooms come in late but it was short lived noise.

    It was a very convenient location for walking, it was in the center, near a beautiful old church, a great cafe and restaurants. We were within walking distance to the aquarium. The room itself was big and comfy and beautiful though a bit squished bed wise for a family of 4. There was a tv and a little bathroom with a shower. There was cookies and fruit and some little local snacks that we loved trying in the room. Any questions we had we had a quick response phone call and text back. We had great food for our meals all within a few steps of leaving our building.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    8.3
    Spacious room in the city centre (historical precint)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside noise (Italian people talking very loud outside at odd hours) waking us up during the night.

    This place offers a very spacious room in the heart of the city (just across from the Cathedral of St Lorenzo). It is an apartment room converted from a former palace. We area couple but our room could accommodate 5people (2 doublebedsand a single bed in the room). Heating can be a challenge (goes on and off) but there are extra dunas available. The fridge is stocked with snacks and drinks all provided free. A coffee machine (with capsules) and a kettle are also provided. Excellent service! A good instruction is sent to you prior to your arrival.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    6.3
    Beautiful old palace in the centre of Genoa in front of San...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well, I used to really like this hotel but things have change since last time I stayed, unfortunately trying to reduce costs they managed make the staying experience a bit miserable. First of all now you have a self service checking system now with codes, no more breakfast, just a plastic croissant in the mini bar!, so cheap!

    Beautiful old palace in the centre of Genoa in front of San Lorenzo cathedral.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    7.1
    perfect location, with some discomfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no breakfast, unbearable noises from plumbing, bathroom poorly redone and under poor maintenance; extremely slow lift (and no lift to the first floor); no iron in the room, none to be borrowed according to staff;

    very big room, perfect location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    5.4
    Low ceilinged room in a grand palazzo.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our was a good size but was on a sort of mezzanine level between ground and first floor. It was definitely not the typical palazzo style room, it had a very low ceiling. There was no permanent lighting in the room, all lamps which we needed to move around to get proper light in all areas of the room. There was a big loud mobile air con unit in the middle of the room with the outlet though a hole in the window which meant the window shutter wouldn't close. We felt our room was not as described and therefore if you are looking to stay in a palazzo style room, avoid room 6.

    The location was good for the centre of town and the port.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    5.0
    Good location but need to think about Customer comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loads of clean towels but the loo paper was very low and was not replaced. Which is pretty awful really for the price of the property. There was no hot water on Saturday morning for a shower.

    Good location and were welcomed. Quite hard to find. Directions need to be better. A free mini bar with drinks and some snacks which was good. Free Wifi

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.1
    Lovely location and room; horrible service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were promised there would be a crib and when we arrived there was not one in the room. I was told by the manager that one of her employees must have made an error in confirming with me by email that a crib would be available. The manager was extremely rude and unhelpful. I suggested that she purchase a travel crib or borrow one from another hotel, and she refused. She suggested that I could find another hotel myself if I would like, but offered no compensation for not having a crib. She then tried to tell me how to parent by suggesting that I was being difficult when I did not like her suggestion that my 9 month old baby sleep on the second bed in the room, as she was "sure that she will not fall off because it's a big bed".

    Lovely location and beautiful room; however, we were promised there would be a crib and when we arrived there was not one in the room. I was told by the manager that one of her employees must have made an error in confirming with me by email that a crib would be available. The manager was extremely rude and unhelpful. I suggested that she purchase a travel crib or borrow one from another hotel, and she refused. She suggested that I could find another hotel myself if I would like, but offered no compensation for not having a crib. She then tried to tell me how to parent by suggesting that I was being difficult when I did not like her suggestion that my 9 month old baby sleep on the second bed in the room, as she was "sure that she will not fall off because it's a big bed".

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    2.5
    No staff no electricity in room 2hen arrived
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff no electricity in room 2hen arrived

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.0
    A historical place in the heart of Genoa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many noises outside during the early morning.

    Position and furniture

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    5.4
    Great location but that's about all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    2.5
    The position in Genoa
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    There is not a reception. There is not a safety place to leave the luggage during our business day in Genoa. They said: you are from booking, you paid not so much. No registration, no invoice.

    The position in Genoa

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    3.8
    nice location, in a beautiful old building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was no hot water for the first two days of my stay. Despite complains and request for a different room nothing was done until the third day of my stay. Hotel stuff did not offer any re-compensation for the inconvenience and did not seem to care about the complains. There was a lot of noise coming through the walls from other rooms and hallway. I do not recommend this hotel, especially if you appreciate warm shower and peaceful sleep.

    nice location, in a beautiful old building

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    7.1
    Staying in a palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    One of the rooms was turned to a very noisy street - couldn't sleep until 4am! One of the keys wouldn't open the door from inside (when locked) - we were locked in the room and had to wait for someone from the reception to go there with another key to let us out

    Staying in a palace Very central location, in the heart of Genoa Rooms looked better in the pictures - but were still pretty good

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.9
    The staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was very hot outside and the airconditioning was not working sufficiant, so it was very hot inside too. Our "big medieval ballroom's" downside was, it just had one very small window, so even at night only very little fresh air could come in. But the staff brought us a big ventilator, which helped a bit.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed for the second time in one of their appartments. The first time we were on the top flor of an old building in a very modern appartment, this time we were in an appartment almost like a big medieval ballroom. Both were nice.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    7.5
    The location was right in the centre of the main tourist hub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The stairs,no lift. The air conditioner was extremely noisy & only just effective. The TV and hot water service were not working properly.

    The location was right in the centre of the main tourist hub. The staff were very helpful in finding the location as it is zone traffic restricted. The breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.9
    The size of the rooms, the high ceilings with ornate detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed here during a heatwave. The room allocated didn't have any air-con or curtains. As the windows were very big this meant either no shutters and no privacy or close the shutters and sleep in a sauna. Luckily the helpful lady at reception let me change rooms after one night to a room with air-con.

    The size of the rooms, the high ceilings with ornate detail.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    7.5
    The location is great next to the street with all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We arrived around 10 pm after 8 hrs traveling by train and the address given when booking is not the same of the apartments, that was a bit unsettling to be taken around the streets to a different location carrying all our luggage, it would be good to be informed in advance about this.

    The location is great next to the street with all the palazzos, and restaurants, the flat were we stayed was inside a building that was a palazzo itself so it was interesting and adifferent expirence.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    5.4
    Good location, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is certainly not 4 stars level hotel, 2 or 3 maximum. The bathroom was dirty. Instead the second bed was just a sofa, torn towels, the door in the room didn't lock from the inside room, poor insulation, no air conditioning, lean interior.

    Good location, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    7.5
    Large and clean apartment in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was nice they left breakfast for us in the refrigerator but the food was not great. Better than nothing though !

    Large and clean apartment in a great location. Easy to walk to the sea as well as busy downtown area.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    7.9
    Great location, clean and spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The "free" wifi didn't work and the person at the desk seemed unable to do anything about it, claiming that it was "a little slow" when in fact it did not work.

    Great location, clean and spacious room

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    10
    the location is very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It's a bit hard to find the hotel. We can't connect the wifi..

    the location is very good! And the room is so nice. And the receptionist is so nice, she told us all the attractions and how to get there.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    7.1
    The apartment was very dirty with previous gasts underwear...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The apartment was very dirty with previous gasts underwear in wardrobe. When they offered to clean, I decided to do it by my self :( to be sure that it is really clean and we can let our baby on the floor.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    6.7
    Good value considering the size, location and kitchen, but...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Our 'room' was an apt in another building down the street. It had low ceilings, bland 80s furniture, much of it stained and shabby. Heating wasn't doing the job and we called 'reception' and the one staff member on duty (who looked stressed and exhausted) had to come and open the heating control panel WITH A KEY to change the heating. It was then re-locked meaning we couldn't turn it down over night (we just opened the window - abusurd).

    Good value considering the size, location and kitchen, but it wasn't what we booked or hoped to stay in.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2015

    7.1
    Large, huge loft apartment in a secure building;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    staff had trouble with English; the apartment felt empty and underfurnished; breakfast was basic, ok but with ingredients from supermarket; third sleeping place as a foldout bed while there was easily space for a good normal bed in the living room

    Large, huge loft apartment in a secure building; private large terrace on top of a building with a great view; modern kitchen facilities and modern bathroom; central location for exploring old Genoa city, port and other sights.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2015

    9.2
    Wonderful location in centre of old town, easy to walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    mattress uneven

    Wonderful location in centre of old town, easy to walk to sites The (unlinked) restuarant in the old cellars was very freindly and hood food.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    7.5
    The hotel and apartments are in amazing locations and have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It does not have the full service of a hotel. The staff are very friendly, but there are some reasonable requests they are unable to meet (wine glasses for example). We'd stay here again, but adjust our expectations

    The hotel and apartments are in amazing locations and have stylish fit outs.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    10
    Nice big rooms, perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice big rooms, perfect location. Clean rooms, beautiful beds. Nice and friendly staff. Perfect for a stay when you visit Genova.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.3
    Great room, quiet hotel in very central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot water for the first two days of our stay

    Great room, quiet hotel in very central location.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.2
    Super location and building
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Super location and building

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    8.3
    The location in an old palazzo and the historic character of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location in an old palazzo and the historic character of the room, together with modern comfort.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.8
    Location is very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    If you have car, parking is a biiig problem. No near parking places. Also, wifi is not working properly.

    Location is very good. room is nice.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    10
    Great rooms, great staff!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Great rooms, great staff!

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    Posizione ideale per visitare la città.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Posizione ideale per visitare la città. Personale gentile. Colazione abbondante. Consigliato.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    6.7
    Large rooms and center location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not so clean, no dishwasher

    Large rooms and center location

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We didn't expect that 4star hotel will look like a bad hostel. The worst experience ever!

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    2.5
    Room cleaning, comfortable, room, staff soooooo bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room cleaning, comfortable, room, staff soooooo bad

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    9.6
    great suit for living with friends,it can lives 5-6persons...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    without hairdryer,and AC isn't strong

    great suit for living with friends,it can lives 5-6persons,good location

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    10
    Location, helpful staff, fuss free
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location, helpful staff, fuss free

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    9.2
    location, right in the city centre next to the cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bathroom was too small, shower impossibly small

    location, right in the city centre next to the cathedral

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2015

    9.6
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, friendly staff

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Residenza D'Epoca di Palazzo Cicala traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: