Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palazzo Schiavoni

Fondamenta dei Furlani 3288, Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy

#165 of 316 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was amazing! Giulia, Dianna & Rachelle we’re so helpful & accomadating to our needs and requests . The hotel is in a great location nestled along the canales, quiet, and clean! Fantastic experience would highly recommend and would definitely go back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    10
    Highly recommended Dec in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too short of a visit!

    Everything. All the staff was very attentive, friendly and super helpful. We lost our train last night, they helped us with an even nicer room with two bedrooms, 2 full modern bathrooms, kitchen, a terrace with a splendid view... Elegant,comfortable and clean rooms. Nice breakfast, even help to lower and load our baggage into the water taxi. Not our first time in Venice, and this is by far the best hotel we've stayed in. Definitely our main choice next time in Venice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Amazing!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of anything

    We liked everything. This is an excellent hotel. Our room (rondini) was perfect for us and our 2 kids. The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning worked perfectly and was quiet, even had a little fridge in the room. I loved the hotel style, old style but very modern bathroom. .the breakfast was delicious every day. Boiled eggs, ham, salami, hot croissants and bread, all the jelly and nutella you wanted, cherry tomatoes, cereal, excellent cappuccino, coffee, milk...etc. the staff was extremely nice and helpful. The owner was very friendly and super helpful giving advice to visit the city. The location of the hotel is also great. Restaurants, stores very close and only 5 minutes walk to the vaporato (bus boat) stop Arsenale. 10 minutes to the piazza StMarco. Also very quiet, we slept like babies! Can not recommend this hotel enough!! .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Great property and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road approach from San Marco is not disabled friendly.

    Great apartment with antique, well maintained furniture. Comfy beds and were served a sumptuous breakfast in the room on request. Around five minutes walk from San Marco boat terminal. Many monuments, eateries and shopping places around. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Lack of hot water cools enthusiasm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of porter or other help with luggage No hot water two mornings of the three nights we stayed! Croissants were not as good as those in some cheap cafés Expensive for the quality Bathroom very small

    Room with canal view Elegant room decoration Comfortable bed Free bottle of water Quiet Location convenient

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place for 1-2 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small but nice room. Very comfortable bed and shower. Clean! Good breakfast and quite area near the hotel. Not far from San Marco square. Helpful and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were very friendly & accommodating. We had an early morning flight so would of missed breakfast but they had a breakfast bag ready in our room the previous evening for us to take with us. Superb Great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Great size, great location would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing worth reporting

    Palazzo Schiavoni is a wonderful, family run apartment hotel located in a great part of Venice. The rooms were very large and exceptionally clean. The staff and owner are very friendly and helpful. The staff speaks at least English and Italian. We had a two-bedroom apartment with a full-size galley style kitchen that included a washing machine and dishwasher. Every day the staff would bring breakfast right to our room including fresh meats, cheeses, hardboiled eggs, coffee, hot chocolate, bread and the yummy Cornetto Italian Pastries (a favorite among our family). It is obvious the owner and staff care a lot as the owner herself took the time to greet us on two occasions, ask about our stay and offer her assistance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    6.7
    Location and staff really makes this place great, rest of the hotel is just mediocre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was meh, bathroom isnt soundproof and you can her them breathe, good luck taking a dump without telling your partner to go outside for a walk. really a uncomfortable thing for a romantic week in venice

    Great location and personel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Nice clean and convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a nice place near to acanal for direct access to water-taxi. Near to attraction but not noisy and not crowded near cafe restaurants and all you need. Old house with real atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three pin adaptor better fit for sockets. Though two pin OK in some. When main light switched off some of the sockets stopped working! No toilet available in hotel when we collected suitcases! Crisp manageress!

    Large comfortable bed. View of canal. Fridge in room. Tv with some English news channels. Staff friendly and helpful. Attractive room. Shower etc good but basic. Near to good sea food cafe and pizza cafe & cake and coffee emporium. Able to leave suitcase on last day..on the stairs! Though security was good. Supermarket nearby. Breakfast basic but ample.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.9
    The place was clean, very close to the main attractions .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very basic only cold stuff like croissants , cheese and ham, apples no bananas, no fried eggs or anything like that

    The place was clean, very close to the main attractions . Staff is very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    Fabulously Venician
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains didn't seem to draw across the window just net. Although we may just have been a bit silly, it was too late to ask staff as reception closes at 8pm. So we will never know. I like a black out room luckily I had an eye mask with me.

    Lovely large room with beautiful venician style decore. Sheets and towels were soft and clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    8.3
    Good location for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't like the smell from the room. It was nice to live in a more than 100 year old palace, but some minor improvement could have been made.

    Prior to going there, most of the reviews mentioned poor breakfast, but we were pleasantly surprised by it. Is not a full continental breakfast, but it was more than enough for us.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    10
    Would come back to stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely table service for breakfast. Reception staff accomodating. Great help with water taxi booking and getting our luggage onto the taxi. Tidied our room each day. Would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    8.3
    Good hotel, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor, the standard room is nothing like the picture, very small, when we said it's not similar to picture they gave us beautiful room but only for extra charge

    Staff was great, location is perfect, canal room is beautiful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Exquisite decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exquisite decoration. Excellent location. Very convenient for a family

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Location was central and staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Suite Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything that I didn’t like.

    Location was central and staff very friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    A perfect short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment exceeded expectations, staff friendly and professional, location just right.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Great place for a city trip the Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location near the center of Venice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit small.

    Lovely setting. Friendly staff. Good breakfast. Location was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.8
    Very nice place and superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee and bread.

    Very clean, comfortable bed and very good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    It was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been a bonus to have tea and coffee making facilities in the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Hotel is in a great location but the room certainly wasn’t like the photos we looked at
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given certainly didn’t match up with the photos we looked at before booking. Room was very small

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    The Venice atmosphere in the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite Two-Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Venice atmosphere in the property. Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast was good, fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are small, but very good value for money, given the location.

    Breakfast was good, fantastic location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable but small
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very basic. Coffee not good.

    Comfortable but small

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Martina and her staff go out of their way to make sure you enjoy Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything, central spot easy walk to major sights.

    Breakfast was delicious, loved the ham.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Everything was excellent :-)))))
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't want to come back to my home again and lev Venice

    Everything was excellent :-)))))

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Location and cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive

    Location and cleanliness

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.5
    A great getaway for a couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saint Marks square was fantastic. The general ambiance was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    10
    5 starts - highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was just a delight to stay there.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    8.8
    Missed the breakfast - we were offered cheese, bread and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couple of mornings began with cold shower - lack of hot water. Breakfast could include bigger veriety of corn flakes, as there was no cooked food - no eggs or any simple hot food for the morning.

    Missed the breakfast - we were offered cheese, bread and coffee. Was very nice of the staff. Were a bit late with checkout - the staff was wery understanding and didn't charge us anything for the additional hour.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    7.5
    The location was great, very close to visit San Marco and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately, the room had a particular smell coming from the bathroom (maybe a rooten pipe) that didn't go away for our entire stay (and stayed in our clothes on our trip back home). The walls let the noise through and the door was only closed when locked with the key. The breakfast was a bit limited compared to some 2 star hotels that we've stayed in europe. It was enough for our morning and the receptionist made us a nice cappuccino but the breakfast could be improved with fruit, iogurt and fresher bread.

    The location was great, very close to visit San Marco and the Bridge of Sighs. The receptionist was welcoming and gave us all the instructions promptly. The room looked just like in the picture (the golden courtains, nice top wall and classic venetian mirror and decor). The Wifi worked very well everywhere. There were clean towels, warm water and the bed was huge. The receptionist let us check out and leave the bag for picking up later which was another plus. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.2
    The rooms were beautifully decorated with internet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had extreme difficulty navigating to the hotel by the map provided on the website, the map instructions lead us the wrong way and should be clearer.

    The rooms were beautifully decorated with internet connection that worked very well and the staff were friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    9.2
    Centrally located to a lot of the iconic sites which we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although quaintly decorated, the room was a little small.

    Centrally located to a lot of the iconic sites which we were interested in seeing, we found this accommodation to be most peaceful and quaint. Being adjacent to a canal allowed for easy boat pick-up on check out. The staff were ever so pleasant and no request was too onerous.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    10
    At check-in we were welcomed in a courteous and efficient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At check-in we were welcomed in a courteous and efficient manner, with excellent spoken English. The hotel is in a very quiet location with waterbus stations, good restaurants and bars, and San Marco Piazza all located within 5-15 minutes walk away. Free WiFi connects quickly with a strong connection speed. The included breakfast was more than adequate and was provided by a super-friendly and courteous room supervisor. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    10
    We were given a whole 2 bedroom apartment with 2 en suites...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi and the air conditioner in one room didn't work the first day, but it was all good for the rest of our 3 night stay. No fruit the first day.

    We were given a whole 2 bedroom apartment with 2 en suites and 3 balconies. Fresh cut fruit for breakfast on days 2 and 3.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    9.2
    Perfect location in the heart of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location in the heart of Venice. The staff were lovely. A great base for exploring Venice. I booked a double room but was upgraded to one of their apartments - Thanks!

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    Staff is kind and very helpful, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff is kind and very helpful, great location. Beautiful place!!

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    8.3
    Location was very convenient for nearby restaurants and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was BAD.

    Location was very convenient for nearby restaurants and sightseeing spots. Staff was very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.6
    the staff there is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the staff there is very nice. the location is very good. the environment is quiet.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2015

    7.5
    Location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Construction in entrance hall, breakfast very simple, coffee very bad

    Location, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    9.6
    Location, excellent stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location, excellent stuff

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: