Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palazzo Guardi

Calle del Pistor, Dorsoduro 995, Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy

#261 of 368 B&Bs and Inns in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 864 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    2.5
    Very disappointing - don't stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inaccessible location, uncomfortable beds, incredibly noisy, mosquitoes, average breakfast, no lifts for luggage - had to leave a day early and do our money. Not 10 minutes walk from main attractions. Definitely not 4 stars.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.5
    good location, no bridge to cross.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift in the second building. Had someone to carry our suitcase up but no one available to bring it down

    good location, no bridge to cross. Close to two boat stop. Eatery nearby. Good quality breakfast. Warm pastry on offer. Boat to other islands and airport within short walk.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location and great value for a canal view room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was very poor which can be important when traveling internationally. Some of the staff were rude and very unhelpful.

    Great location and great value for a canal view room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.3
    2 out of 4 staff grumpy and not friendly at all would go back to the area but not there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard and room noisy could hear everything in reception and breaky room

    Position was great room really small and very noisy three flights of steep stairs to reception and our room was three meters from reception and heard everyone come and go and the overnight receptionist coughed and snorted all night just great NOT!!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    5.0
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely the price is way over the offer. The breakfast is really average with no effort on variety and quality and the rooms are small and dark. For the same price you can have much better in Venice.

    The old palazzo is stunning.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.8
    The view, the room apart from the bathroom was great and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff member that welcomed us was so unpleasant, not kind but angry and hostile. Not a very nice feeling.

    The view, the room apart from the bathroom was great and the location superb..

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Fun, relaxing, easy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is a little dated but that’s expected in Venice

    The breakfast was amazing and they catered for gluten free! The staff were super helpful and accommodating

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Location, bathroom, very clean, they emailed maps and info...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there were tea making facilities the room

    Location, bathroom, very clean, they emailed maps and info ahead of stay which was helpful and reassuring

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    We had the Junior Suite with the terrace only for us on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had the Junior Suite with the terrace only for us on the rooftop with view over the Venice gardens, so, what else... the bed what pretty good too. But we did not experienced the breakfast which was to early for us nightbirds...

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    3.8
    Reception is unfriendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception is unfriendly. Expect no warm welcome when you meet for the first time. The interior is not looking like it is in the pictures and the view from the windows will be poor. No information was given about the terrace which is shown in the pictures. Far away from the train station. Be careful and do not bring any heavy pack with you as you need to drag them for 3 km. on a path with several bridges with stairs. Prefer back packs. There are 2 seperate buildings and one has no elevator.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like. Was about 20min walk from Santo Marco. Close to the sea front. 1st time staying in Venice.

    Comfortable and clean

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    The rest of the room, location, staff, breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quintuple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom of mybroom little bit small for a quadruple room. Noise in the hall every time someone got in or out their room.

    The rest of the room, location, staff, breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Location and the view of the canal from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really can't think of one thing I didn't like.

    Location and the view of the canal from the room. And to see early morning life beginning on one off the canals was lovely and a memory for ever.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for the attic room and on check in apparently it was to dangerous to go into the room but they wouldn’t state why. There was no evidence (maybe a good thing) that there was anything wrong so we got downgraded and no compensation for this error on there behalf. We was especially annoyed as the day we arrived was a lovely day then when we got into our room the next day it was raining so we couldn’t make full use of the roof top balcony.

    The attic room was very nice and loved all the detail within it. The location is perfect and within a 20-25 minute walk to anywhere on the islands. If you don’t mind walking your save a fortune on water taxi’s and busses. The breakfast is simple but perfect for what you need. The ham was especially very nice as well as the pastries

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.4
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. The beds where extremely uncomfortable.very difficult to find entrance.i wouldn't call it a hotel it's a basic bed and breakfast.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean and great location close to the major attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator was terrible so had to walk up 5 floors most times. Breakfast just ok.

    Clean and great location close to the major attractions. Fun and beautiful rooms. We got ours with a terrace which was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Loved it, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Palazzo Guardi is very well located.It has easy access to 2 different water bus routes and has restaurants etc nearby. It is very spacious and comfortable, staff were good, especially Ugy. He was welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.9
    mixed. we became happier as time progressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were very unhappy that their was no lift like the web site said. 3 floor walk up didn't help with the needing a rest. Tho, they did carry our bags up. Also, I spent a lot of time writing a travel journal to friends. They didn't receive it. So wander about their free Wi-Fi.

    The room was spacious with a great view. We had been traveling for 8 weeks so we needed a rest.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night reception. Not friendly. It is a four star hotel ostensibly but 3 stars would be more appropriate, even tho it is in Venice!

    Location. Person who organised breakfast. Breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    One to remember!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our junior suite was absolutely breath taking! We Had a clear view of the canal below us and could watch the gondolas flow past. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. If I return I will definitely stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.8
    Good location, not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Felt the description in booking.com was a bit off and unclear. We travel with a baby (6 months) and we booked this hotel because it advertised a lift and a reception. Both of the lift and the reception were in another building, which created issues for us. (note: Lift barely fits 2 people, reception is available over the phone, but not easily accessible in the afternoon, since there is only 1 person) Value for money (junior suite) was not there, for our standards Room was next (5 meters) to the breakfast area (noisy) Asked to do a late checkout due to the baby (2 hours more). They refused because it was full. (first time a hotel declines this kind of request when travelling with the baby) Last but not least, we communicated our points to Palazzo Guardi over email upon our arrival with no official reply

    Clean and soundproof room view of the canal was ok (people could see you from outside) Size of the room was OK (junior suite) Breakfast basic but adequate Provided a water boiler, when asked Location was good, close to the ferry. However, it's not a 10min walk from San Marco (unless you run) like written in the description

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay at Palazzo Guardi , good value and very convenient area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little on the small side and there was no view from the bedroom window. It was quite warm and the air conditioner was not working.

    The bed was comfortable and the linen was clean. The breakfast was good, eggs, bacon, cereals , juices etc. The receptionist was very helpful and friendly. The area is nice and quiet and close to the Acadamia vaporetto stop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.7
    The pillows were flat and only one per person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows, friendlier staff, help with luggage.

    The pillows were flat and only one per person. What they advertise is not what you get. No view at all to the canals- a building about a meter from our window. Steep staircase-more than 2 floors and NO help with luggage. It was very difficult for us as women. The reception lady was not friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    The room was so hot and by a Dance club that opened at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room by a dance club and the room so very hot.

    The room was so hot and by a Dance club that opened at 11:00pm closed at 4:00am. Could not open window for air because of the noise from the club.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.8
    Our experience of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English speaking TV, not even one channel. Walking upstairs with luggage. Hard to find, no signage. No tea and coffee in room. Room very dark.

    Location great for getting around on water bus. The views over the canal although windows were small.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Great location! Didn’t enjoy cigarette smoke we smelled and price we paid for canal view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the bed. 2 bed mattresses pushed together. Was uncomfortable. Also didn’t like the canal view as much as I thought. Had a few burnt out lights in the bathroom. Very noisy and people’s cigarette smoke came into our windows. So for the price we paid it, we didn’t utilize it!

    The staff let us drop our bags off before check in. Location was incredible and included breakfast was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Great location away from San Marco madness but near enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location away from San Marco madness but near enough. Very close to Academia. Good breakfast variety. Helpful staff. Small quiet hotel on 3rd & 4th floors with serviceable lift.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    Nice room, could improve breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Little options and the scrambled eggs were not properly cooked. They could also change the type of marmelade. No taste.

    Warm and comfortable room. Clean bathroom and quiet place. Walking distance from centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.2
    This place doesn’t belong to Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place shouldn’t be a hotel since it doesn’t give any privacy. The rooms are distributed around the breakfast room so everyone hears every single word or noise behind your door. The furniture was old and broken. The sofa was falling into pieces, the bedding wasn’t comfortable and the bathroom was barely providing with the minimum hygiene facilities. To make it worse, as we came back to our room, an old client, likely suffering from dementure, tried to enter in our room and exposed himself. The staff witnessed the incident but offered no apologies the next morning. We decided to leave since the experience was far from what we expected from Venice... and ask for a refund of the two remaining nights, but once again we only received a “No”. We’ve been “offered” to change our room which means we’ve haven’t been heard nore considered.

    Nothing...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location for the hotel in a beautiful city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main woman on reception was quite dismissive and rude initially but was friendlier at the end

    Breakfast was great, room comfy and clean, cleaners were really lovely and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    As the locations in Venice are difficult to find, a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the locations in Venice are difficult to find, a very clear map showing the property and the Pier to offload should be issued along with the reservation voucher.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    It is a good solution and located near to boat stations and close to a nice area of bars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast's coffee was awful but the second day I saw a person ordering special coffees and they were italian quality! The problem was that no one told me this. It is a bit weird to not be able to come in and out freely but to ring a bell to have the door opened in the main entrance. The noise isolation in the room is very bad. The breakfast was good but a bit repetitive.

    Very nice area and very nice rooms with good size. The bathroom was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    A pleasant and comfortable stay in a good, convenient area of Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could have been better, but adequate considering there is no kitchen. Fresh fruit would be nice... the elevator (it is old) was not my favorite! Walked the 3-flights up except with luggage.

    Loved the location. Close to the center, but quiet and just near a canal with that Venetian feeling! The neighborhood was a good pick! Lots of students and good restaurants and places to eat and drink. Comfy, clean, and cozy...

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite an old school room, could do with updating a bit. Also include some English channels or English subtitles on the TV.

    Not too far from San Marco so we didn't get the noise from the town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    warm and welcoming place, cute little rooms very confortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the reception desk is too close to the room doors and to the breakfast area because the place is small and because the staf was sometimes very loud and noizy this bothered us a couple of times. they should be more careful

    warm and welcoming place, cute little rooms very confortable, fresh baked bread and croissants for breakfast, great location in a very nice area surrounded by caffe's, pizza places, shops and restaurants

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.8
    Probably one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in. Well worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Attic
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better, there usually wasn't enough hot food made so half the days there hadn't been enough made for the amount of people staying and it had run out, even if you went down early. Staff were very accommodating if you asked though. Would have liked a bit more of a welcome, restaurant/ local bar recommendations etc would have been handy.

    Room and bathroom was beautiful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    €200 deposit taken upon arrival. Would not accept preauthorisation, this meant most of our spending mony for the trip was taken from us. We had to withdraw more currency and got fingered on the exchange rate and bank fees. Also meant we had to take currency home and exchange it for sterling. Seems unnecessary to me. You are not allowed to retain your room key, it must be handed over to reception anytime you are leaving the hotel, and picked up again when you return. Access to the hotel is via an intercom; you have to dial the receptionist and only then they buzz you in. We were left staning outside for a prolonged period one night, apparently the receptionist knew we were buzzing to get in but the button that releases the door was not engadging. After 30mins we were buzzed in, she explained the technical issue but didn't offer any reason why she did not come down and open the door manually - the reception desk is 30secs from the door. Maybe its unreasonable for us to expect this? Aside form the weird access arrangements, its otberwise decent.

    Nice room Basic but decent breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    I suggest it to all travellers who would like to enjoy the beauties of Venice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff were extremely helpful, especially one person who helped me fixing my luggage and provided me with some snacks to take away as I was leaving very early. I especially enjoyed the fluffy bath towels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely room decorated in traditional Venetian style just a short walk from Piazza San Marco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was immediately off the central reception and breakfast area so privacy wasn't great. You could always hear people coming in and out and eating breakfast in the morning.

    We spent two nights here and enjoyed our stay. The room was comfortable and clean although got a little too warm despite turning the heating off. The venetian decor was beautiful. Staff were always available to help if needed. The hotel is located on a quiet canal only ten minutes walk from Piazza San Marco yet far enough away for there not to be any noise from the street.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Quiet and peaceful stay in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so hard it was not very comfortable. The minibar didn’t work.

    The location is very quiet for Venice. It is close to cichetti bars and restaurants. All of the major sights are only a quick vaparetto ride or stroll. We have stayed her several times and will return again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    We loved Venice and this room was very central and was nice and big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one pillow each and bed was very hard . It's not a hotel it's more like a suite in a building. But once you know that it's a good place to stay. As I said it was very clean and staff who look after the rooms done a great job.

    Good location, big room, very very clean & cleaned each day with fresh towels . Croissant's and Nutella every morning . For the price we paid and the location and it was a lovely room. Restaurant beside building very reasonable prices and good food so that's handy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    5.8
    Noisy stay, disappointing breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While located a short 20 minute walk from the train station, Palazzo Guardi has few other perks. We stayed in a standard room, which to our, and many other guests', dismay was not only located on the same floor as the reception and breakfast area, but the room door literally opened up into the breakfast area. This meant that we could hear guests check in and out as well as the staff preparing the breakfast area for breakfast from as early as 7 in the morning. I would not return nor would I recommend staying here to other travellers.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Great Location very close to the Academia with plenty of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hard bed which was not very comfortable. Junior Suite next to breakfast room so noisy in the morning if you want a lie in.

    Great Location very close to the Academia with plenty of good restaurants near by. Room had good view over the canal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.8
    We enjoyed Venice but will look for a different hotel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms on the third floor were very noise. If you are going to have late nights find another hotel!!The WIFI WAS DOWN FOR TWO OF OUR FOUR NIGHT WHICH DID NOT HELP OUR STAY. Lady on the reception desk in the morning very grumpy......please try and enjoy your job or find something you would like better.

    The place had a lift. Lady serving at breakfast was very helpful. Good shower that did not flood the bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.2
    Venice is a must for everyone; what a place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff should always realise that their contact with you is your first impression of an hotel. Great customer service costs nothing. The chef on the other hand made a delicious breakfast and welcomed us warmly.

    The location, with a beautiful view from the room of one of the many canals in Venice, was perfect. Breakfast was a great selection of hot and cold food - a great start to the day. Large, airy room with 2 big double windows opening on to a canal in what is surely the worlds most grand and unique city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    A good location
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift to the hotel is tiny and we chose to walk up the stairs and use the lift only for luggage.

    .The hotel is very close to the Accademia vaporetto stop. The hotel recommended and booked for us good local restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.9
    The city is very nice the hotel OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance is very narrow and the elevator is so small. According to your record the city tax included but when we checkout they said city tax not included so we have to paid it in cash and it was 16 euro for 2 nights.

    The room's size is very good and very clean, Staff friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    4.2
    This was a horrible experience for my niece who was visiting Europe for the first time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested two twin beds. I even verified that through Booking.com and the hotel and still arrived to find two twin mattresses fitted as a double bed. The room had not been updated in a long time (wallpaper was dirty). The room overlooked a boxed area between buildings that smelled so bad we could not open the windows. It was really hot in the room and the attendant had to go and find a remote to run the air conditioning. ( He was very nice). I asked if we could change rooms and was told that the hotel was full and that the price we paid was not for an upgraded room with a view. The room was definitely not worth the money we paid. Thanks Booking.com for that information :( There are two buildings and we had to walk down the street to get to our building. The breakfast was minimal at best. The bigger breakfast area was in the other building. There is only a lift in the building where you check in so if you book here, and can not do stairs, make sure you get that building.

    Was around the corner from the water taxi and down the street from the Hop on Hop off sightseeing taxi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Our 2nd stay at palazzo guardi. 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is quite loud outside, if you have to open the windows for air. We stayed after the AC was turned off for the season. Lots of people congregate on the street below late into the evening at the cafes then with the early morning deliveries

    Location in the dosodora area of Venice. The close proximity to 2 vaporetto stops. The friendliness of the staff. The large size of the rooms(we stayed in the suites with canal view). The bed was very comfortable and large.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    4.2
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We paid for and expected to stay at the main property but instead were given a room in a separate building on the third floor facing the reception desk and adjoining the breakfast tables. We were charged 534 Euros for the two nights which, according to another staff member, was the rate for a suite in the main property rather than in an ordinary room. Booking.com gave it 8.1 rating which may well apply to the main property but definitely not where we stayed. This is very misleading and is actually false advertising.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    2.5
    Terrible! Smelled like a hot sewer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was the worst property I have ever stayed in! The room smelled like raw sewer and it was very hot! When we asked Georgia, the gal at the front desk to please move us, she said she could not do it. We asked her to change us for the second night, she did not do it. We asked to have someone help us-- they said our stay was not refundable and would not even give us the owner or another managers name. Do not waste your money at this terrible hotel!

    Nothing!! Place smelled like raw sewer and no one cared to help us!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    Bed Bugs :( We liked the hotel but it's hard to leave a great review now that we have itchy sores.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BED BUGS! We had bed bugs in our room and we have been dealing with the itchy spots ever since. We had to go to the farmacia and purchase ointments and creams to deal with this. It's putting a damper on the rest of our trip in Italy, but we're trying to make the best of it.

    The service was excellent. The breakfast was tasty. The location was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.4
    It needs an upgrade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was not friendly. She got irritated when we asked about transport to airport. We stayed right next to the reception. We could here everything and realised we had to whisper the while time. The bed were 2 single beds pushed together and it separated during the night. Therefore ... sleeping inbetween matresses.

    The fact that there were someone at the front desk 24 hours.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.5
    Staff were not very friendly, although they were helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff were not very friendly, although they were helpful. Our room was in a different building, a fact we learned AFTER carrying our luggage to the reception area on the third floor (elevator was broken).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    Nice room, but didn't love the atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff weren't particularly helpful or friendly, in fact they were almost rude. I felt uncomfortable approaching them to ask any questions. Customer service could be a lot better.

    The room was nice and clean. The breakfast was nice too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Great place to stay in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was bit minimalistic, but this is common in Italy. Staff could be a bit more friendly at welcome.

    The location was perfect, out of touristic crowd, but still close to the main attractions. The private terrace of the junior suite was very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.2
    Hidden Gem in Venezia
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I almost got charged twice the city tax when I was checking out - pay attention to this. I got charged for 2 people instead of one.

    Located very close to a main port (Zattere) Palazzo Guardi was a very convenient place to stay whilst in Venice. The room was fantastic, very comfortable and spacious. The hotel consists of two buildings, one containing reception which was hard to find as it was down a small alleyway and another very close by in which I was staying. This building has the breakfast room however it does not have an elevator. The breakfast was very good and had a good range. The room itself was absolutely beautiful, the bed large and comfortable. Due to all of these factors when I next go to Venice I will be returning to Palazzo Guardi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    Excellent location, lovely apartment and a really helpful owner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor issue is that there is no lift and the apartment is on the 3rd floor however I would definitely stay there again!

    Excellent location and the property owner was really helpful giving us some great places to eat and drink!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast service was not available until 8 am each...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Time of breakfast service too late in the morning.

    The breakfast service was not available until 8 am each morning we were at the hotel. Our travel plans called for us to leave the hotel no later than 8:10 each morning in order to meet our guide, v or catch the vaporetto. This was an unfortunate situation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location, comfortable and clean room, noisy air-conditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had problems with the air-conditioning from the buildings that were in immediate proximity of our hotel - it was so noisy that we couldn't sleep well.

    The Hotel's location was great, the receptionist was kind and the room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.7
    Location was convenient with zaterre and academia as nearby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside our room was the breakfast area. Luckily the rooms are soundproof so did not hear noise from outside. The hotel rooms are split over two buildings - so delay in checking in and out of you are not in the same building as the reception. Lighting was very poor in our room and the rooms needs updating but not much of an issue as we were there for only one night.

    Location was convenient with zaterre and academia as nearby boat stations.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.8
    Location is good, but the annex is somewhat dreary
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Canal View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had asked for three beds, the first night it was only set up with two. Since it is an annex, there is no staff anywhere to be found except at breakfast (coffee wasn't very good either, but rest of breakfast was pretty good

    Location is good, but the annex is somewhat dreary

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    5.4
    Superb location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I was located in the Annex so felt like a poor relation.

    the location was great. The room was OK, AC worked and it was quiet. The view was a filthy light well

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Clean B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No Kettle/tea/ coffee in the room. - The public sitting room had no air conditioner so not possible to use during very hot weather in July. - I did not like seeing the same cake served over 3 days ( at least) for breakfast as was not eaten / finished !

    Clean B&B Good size room Receptionist lady was helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous palace in the heart of Venezia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Elevator was crazy slow and only big enough for one. Lucky for us we had no luggage and love to climb stairs.

    Gorgeous place and worthy of the name Palace!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Charming B&B in Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the bathroom was very poor. No vanity space. No makeup mirror.

    Great location although it was next to impossible to find. The breakfast accommodations were charming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    Our family had both of the rooms in the other building 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no good views from our rooms.

    Our family had both of the rooms in the other building 2 doors down from the main hotel, so it was very private and quiet. The alley was very quiet. The hotel is near the Academie bridge and a bit away from the busy touristy area. The staff member who checked us in was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfecto!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location! Venetian-style room. Elaborate breakfast. Staff quiet in morning, so not to wake you. Nice view of canal (if you stick head out window)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Make sure you stay in the main hotel- not the "addition"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was inches from the breakfast area. You can hear the set up starting around 7(?) And all the noise: talking laughing eating clinking clanking- like it is next to your pillow. When you walked out of your room every person looks up at you! The entire room is dark green-bed walls, drapes. Also the tub is set up on a step so it is very high to get in and out of. The tub sprayer had no attachment for a stand up shower so we took showers crouching or sitting... Saw the main hotel at check out- much nicer! the attendant at check out barely looked up at me and never inquired about my stay.

    Awesome location!! Quiet at night. Nice views. The prosecco and glasses were a nice touch.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.5
    Good day but unpleasant night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked for a double bed. It was 2 single beds pushed together. This does not make it a double bed. Try sleeping with your partner if you're falling down the gap in the middle.

    The location, facilities, staff were all good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower head holder in the bath tub, you have to hold it manually to shower

    Excellent location! Walking distance from St Marco square but away from tourists, in the quite part, easy access to transport and good connection ( by boat) to St Marco parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Good place, pros beat the cons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel has two separate buildings, one has a small elevator, ours did not but wasn't too bad of a hike up the stairs, only 2-3 floors. Only one girl working the check ins so little help if you're not able bodied, she did help my wife with her suitcase though. The remote for tv didn't work and I really had to work the guy to get batteries or new remote but he eventually came through. Mattress wasn't the best, woke up with a sore back but wasn't terrible.

    Nice area, close to everything. Walking distance to cruiseship terminal, long walk but doable. Nice breakfast, not a bad hotel at all. I think they're all expensive but this one was away from the major tourist trap and right where the locals drink and eat. Recommended, would stay there again if they get new mattresses.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    Great Location in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My comments above mixed-in pertinent negative aspects. However, stepping up to enter the bathroom presents a potential problem overnight. Yes, a canal view existed, but one had to pull back curtains to view, which also reduced privacy. Our room required quite a few stairs to reach or leave, so those less physically able would not do well. Finally, the Internet for this room was very undependable.

    Best was the location, away from the most heavily visited places, yet close enough to walk or take the water taxis. Room was very clean and quiet. Breakfast was very good, but slow to get out by 8 AM; seems that another staff person would be helpful. Maybe light musc in the background would enliven a fairly sterile atmosphere. None of these comments are critical to the review. Plenty of quality restaurants and shops are close by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.9
    nice and comfort for one night stay
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They made a mistake with our reservation which made us run from one place to the other - the hotel has another location which is not as nice, though not too far a way.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.8
    Great hideaway hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street outside could have had better lighting.

    We enjoyed the attic junior suite with private patio. It was a great place to watch the sunset over Venice. The water bus was close by and the general location was nice and quite compared to other areas of the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Palazzo Guardi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: