Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pallanza 4 stars

Viale Magnolie 8, 28922 Verbania, Italy

Review score

Based on 568 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel for central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confort of the bed was ok with just two pillows.

    Location is excellent , in the center of pallanza and 200m from the boat to visit the islands. The terrace to take the breakfast is cute, room was ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    A very good 3 star hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds just basic very hard twin mattresses. The shower stall was barley large enough to turn around in. It was one with the doors that are 90 degrees to each other to close. The tv in the room was no larger than 20 inches making it very difficult to watch the World Cup. We took the up charge for the breakfast add. We could not have been more disappointed with this and in fact ate breakfast at another place by the lago one day. The included breakfast at the hotel consists of horrible powdered eggs some breads, meats, cheeses and yogurt. All in all, very thin and not worth the add in our opinion. All together, these are the things that make this a very good 3 star hotel....

    This is a very nice 3 star hotel. It is not a 4 star hotel by any normal standards. This hotel is close to the center and Verbania ferry terminal as well as several very good restaurants and bars. There is a path that goes along the lago just across the street. Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel with a lot of charm, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    parking was a little far from the hotel.

    Location was great. I loved the market event that took place in almost in front of the hotel on Friday. The boat transportation station was 1/2 a minute from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff!!!very friendly and helpful!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is good ,very close to the lake.And a restaurant next to the hotel is not expensive but very good! The staff!We forgot her name (long hair wears glasses)when she knew that the WiFi signal in our room was not good,she run up and down for us to change the room! Thank god!Finally we had a good room with a balcony and good WiFi ! The breakfast is also good classic and delicious!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    nice place but loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A good bar at the hotel but with that comes the noise that travels up to the rooms...epecially with warm weather when you want the window open for some air (no a/c until July, the room was 26 degrees mid-May). It was way too noisy Friday and Saturday nights with live music. Also the walls are paper thin, you can hear everything your neighbour is doing. Unfortunately we had an especially "romantic" couple next door, the woman sounded like a dying animal. UGH, oh what a night (eye roll).

    Location is nice, great view of the lake. Staff very friendly and gave good information of what to do in the area. Verbania is very small, you can walk through the town in 10 minutes. A good spot to catch the ferry. The breakfast is nice, good coffee. Many restaurants near by to choose from.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular just that cannot walk along the lake in front of the hotel, all construction work, bad timing.

    Friendly staff at reception and breakfast area. Near bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    personel was very friendly amd some of them speak really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy from the streets below. Room was dusty. Furniture very old, room and toilette too small, no Safe, mini TV. No parking. The hotel’s parking space is just some land somewhere, not at all 4 star.

    personel was very friendly amd some of them speak really good english. Hotel looks quite nice. we had 3 windows on lake side.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    The hotel location, staff, food were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel location, staff, food were excellent. The only thing is bed was a little hard but we loved everything. The American Bar next door was amazing. We went next door for a glass of wine and enjoyed an antipasto plater which was included in the price of our drinks. Great time in Italy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant and good location on the lake with comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking may be a problem. Breakfast plentiful but juice and bread could be of better quality.

    Great location comfortable air conditioned room and helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Best place you could stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, perfectly located. Stunning view from our room, the bed was so comfy we overslept. Buffet breakfast was excellent, also. But the best part of our stay was the staff, so professional and friendly... I'm still smiling as I'm writing this review. We will definitely come back, Thank you again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Just How I imagine an Italian hotel should look with little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just How I imagine an Italian hotel should look with little balconys and shutters at the tall windows , easy waking to all the restaurants and a beautiful lake view , staff where polite and very helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Perfect stay! Very nice hotel with splendid lake view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked was a bit small for 2 persons. (Only one chair). Palanza as a village is not special, but Verbania is close by.

    Very friendly personnel with good German and Englisch speaking skills. Verynice breakfast at the terras with lake-view. Shower was fine also for tall people like me (1.94m). Hotel had 'good old grandeur'. Location is very good. Near by the ferry's.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.7
    The numerous members of staff are all extremely kind and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite the fact that the staff is very helpful, the hotel should not be rated 4 stars. No safe in the room; old equipment (not even mixer for hot/cold water, poorly working shower). Breakfast is minimal. The area is expensive due to its beautiful nature and landscape but the quality of accommodation is sub-standard, for the price paid.

    The numerous members of staff are all extremely kind and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel along the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful hotel along the lake. Beautiful building. Great location and good parking. Very helpful and friendly staff! Close to lots of nice restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    What a view - what a lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We opened the window shutters and were amazed that our room had a small balcony and we had a superb view of Lake Maggiore. We spent two nights at Hotel Pallanza and wish we could have stayed more. We enjoyed the Welcome Dinner (extra cost) arranged by the hotel at Hotel Belvedere. Staff were professional, friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Very good location. Parked just in front of the Port Pallanza (blue line zone and 7 euros per day paid at Hotel), very connevient for taking ferries to the islands and other destinations. Lots of restaurants close by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the fact that when we came to the hotel they asked us to pay 15 euro more a day if we want lake view. I am working with you often and always when there is different price for lake or mountains view you wright it and this time you didnt. I payed the difference but did not like it.!!!!

    Location is good. View is good, the place is clean so is the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.6
    Great location and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three pillows between two was a bit mean!

    On arrival, we were lucky enough to find we had been upgraded to a lake-side view room - which was a delight! Even so, the hotel was brilliantly located: very handy for the ferry, cafes and restaurants. The receptionists were absolutely delightful: charming, very friendly and and keen to assist in any way. You really got the impression they cared very much that you enjoyed your stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    La position de l hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    La position de l hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Staff of the hotel work very well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff of the hotel work very well. I want to ask too many good words about Jessica andMartine. All staff work good. With best regards. Vladimir

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast, location, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor bed, room was dusty.

    Breakfast, location, staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.9
    The bed and pillows are really comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi wasn't good.

    The bed and pillows are really comfortable! Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.2
    Great place to enjoy the weekend at the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location directly at the waterfront. Everything close by in walking distance. Very friendly hotel staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.8
    We had a wonderfully relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good position in centre of town with wonderful lake views. Staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.9
    Brilliant location and reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furniture a bit dated and tired

    Lake view fantastic. American bar right next door!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Elegant and on the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A comfortable and elegant hotel on the lake side. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. Worthy of its four star rating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.8
    Su[perb lakeside location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Idyllic spot , particulaly in the evening to watch the sun set. Although we did no use it, the close proximity to the ferry was ideal.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.6
    A wonderful location overlooking the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful location overlooking the lake. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    9.2
    Great place extremely nice stuff we loved that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place extremely nice stuff we loved that. Good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.2
    breakfast with good choice, terrace, location directly at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    breakfast with good choice, terrace, location directly at the lake, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    5.8
    Location in Verbania, close to the ferry terminal, ideal to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hotel feels quite impersonal. The beds are awfully thin and stiff, to the point it is almost a joke

    Location in Verbania, close to the ferry terminal, ideal to quickly visit the gardens of Villa Taranto and to hop on the boats to the Borromeo Islands.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    10
    The staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The orange juice could have been better. Freshly squeezed would have been nicer.

    The staff were excellent. So friendly and helpful with every question.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and pleasant to deal with and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the reception staff did not give us back our passports and rang us to tell us when we were a two hour drive away and we had to return- thus adding 4 hours extra driving to our day!

    The staff were very friendly and pleasant to deal with and the room was very comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was good but more fresh fruit would have been welcome.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Waitress at breakfast was excellent- attentive but not intrusive. Beautiful setting looking on to lake.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.1
    If you like old fashioned rooms, this is your place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A big disappointment: no garden, no swimming pool, not even a roof terrace, no private parking, nothing of the facilities you could expect in an 4 star hotel. The green you see in the pictures is the public garden across the street, the "terrace with panoramic view" consists of 2 tables for smokers on each side of the entrance... The description on booking is nevertheless accurate, what you read is what you get (and nothing more). I should have studied the pictures and the description better...but was fooled a bit by the 8.7 average rating

    If you like old fashioned rooms, this is your place. The rooms are clean and big, beds are good, breakfast is good, personnel is very friendly, location is good. There is a beautiful mirror in the hallway, this (and the price) are the only things that suggests this is a 4 star hotel.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    7.9
    In the most hotels in Italy only thin blankets are provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    In the most hotels in Italy only thin blankets are provided. we were missing common duvet. They would be used even in summer time, they are light and much more comfortable than blankets.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.2
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi works, but isn't super fast and coverage isn't great. A bit more places to dry clothes would be useful.

    Location is great. Depending of course what one is up for. Beach close by, some nice restaurant near, boats just in front of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.6
    Perfect location opposite the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location opposite the ferry. Such friendly and helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast selection excellent and terrace option (4 tables so bag a table quick). Very quiet location too. There are many glod quality restaurants close by too.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    10
    Style, comfort, friendliness, breakfast, view, location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    One minor detail: Wifi very slow in bedroom.

    Style, comfort, friendliness, breakfast, view, location, quietness. Perfect choice of hotel, as long as you take a room with lake view, preferably on higher floors The 1st floor room on the back street that we were first given was of much lesser standard than the room on the 3rd floor that we got after asking for a better deal; the 15 euros/night supplement was worth every cent ! Verbania is a nice lakeside village, close to Borromean islands and to Stresa. hotel Pallanza is a very good choice.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    9.2
    Loved the view from our room, the check in, the character of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was not much to not like here! I guess if I had to say anything, it would be that the a/c was not "cold" like we Americans are used to.

    Loved the view from our room, the check in, the character of the rooms. Everything was so very nice.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    8.3
    The Hotel ,the hotel staff and Pallanza
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The American bar ,its manager and staff,are not welcoming which is a pity because it forms a significant part of the hotel .Apart from that the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    The Hotel ,the hotel staff and Pallanza

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    10
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was perfect. Quieter than Stresa. A perfect walk to Villa Taranto and relaxing boat trip to Cannobio....no complaints at all! Really lovely hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    9.6
    Everything is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing

    Everything is perfect. Breakfast is very rich. Some people have written that breakfast was poor. I wonder what do they have at home for breakfast?

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    9.2
    wonderful buillding at a perfect place at the lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was a bit small... however i was a wonderful stay.

    wonderful buillding at a perfect place at the lake... super friendly staff... they cared wonderfully.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2015

    8.3
    Good location in Pallanza
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lack a bit of extras to lake it a real 4 star hotel (e.g. bathrobes, slightly larger rooms...) No real lounge No parking (free public parking place nearby fill up quickly).

    Good location in Pallanza View on the lake Nice decoration

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    10
    Location, friendly staff, nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very hard pillows, we are used to feather pillows . It is hard to sleep with hard pillows If you have a car, parking can be a problem, however, when we were stuck With having to pay up to midnight, the staff helped out with a parking permit

    Location, friendly staff, nice room

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    7.9
    The location and the panaroma of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The location and the panaroma of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Inner walls not soundproof - could hear noise from neighbours

    Very friendly and helpful staff Great view of the lake

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    9.6
    - friendliness of staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - friendliness of staff - the lake view

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    10
    View of the lake and fantastic breakfast and dinners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Tour buses stayed there also.

    View of the lake and fantastic breakfast and dinners.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    8.3
    The view over the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view over the lake

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    10
    We had a lovely room with balcony and view of the Lake and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a lovely room with balcony and view of the Lake and all the staff were very friendly and helpful, which made the stay so much more enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.6
    Great location on the lake, staff very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location on the lake, staff very helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    9.2
    Staff are great and location is perfect, easy walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff are great and location is perfect, easy walking distance to everything and right on the lake front

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    7.1
    Nice hallway with huge open floor: can see from top floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was poor. Espresso tasted like tea from coffee beans.

    Nice hallway with huge open floor: can see from top floor all the way down.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    Very personnel & friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very personnel & friendly staff. Welcome letter before arrival and follow up by mail after check out! Worth to return - thanks a lot!

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    9.6
    Great position and well presented
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great position and well presented

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    9.6
    Very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No blankets. The bed was a little hard.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Free parking voucher right outside the hotel. Fantastic breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    5.8
    Nice location, nice view, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No atmosphere, very tired room, very poor breakfast, bad coffee. Definitely not a 4 star hotel, maximum 2.

    Nice location, nice view, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.6
    The staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff and location

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2015

    9.6
    Proximity to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Proximity to everything Staff were very helpful and friendly Very clean hotel

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: