Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palumbo 5 stars

Via San Giovanni Del Toro, 16, 84010 Ravello, Italy

#14 of 15 hotels in Ravello

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 113 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.2
    I would never go back to that hotel even for half price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was smelling stale, A/C didn’t work even after complaining to stafff. Uncomfortable and nonfunctional bathrooms, very old. Super expensive.never attempted to apologise or compensate for our troubles.

    It is situated in nice location, good view, close to city center.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    I didn’t like that the day we checked in I had to book...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like that the day we checked in I had to book another room there and it was only £117 and it was the same class of room as the one I paid £400 for. I felt slightly cheated on this !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    5.8
    This historical mansion turned hotel is a spectacular piece...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid $1,000 a night for a dank musty room on the ground floor. The windowless room had one door to the outside lawn. We felt like we were sleeping in a cellar. Due to the lack of a dehumidifier and proper airflow, and even with air conditioning which only worked part of the time, the tile floors were wet and slippery and our clothes were literally damp from the atmosphere. The response to maintenance issues was lacking. We noticed the first day that one of the nightstand reading lights was out. It took 3 requests and 2 days to get the light replaced (at $1,000 a night?)!!! In spite of the fact that virtually every five star hotel (or less) has a swimming pool, there is no pool here. So on a hot humid summer afternoon, you need to catch a cab down the mountain to cool off in the Mediterranean. We rented this room at the last minute, so our choices were limited. In that regard, we are partially for some of our complaints. However, this hotel cannot live off of its past laurels and needs a major renovation to deserve a five star rating.

    This historical mansion turned hotel is a spectacular piece of architecture with artwork and murals throughout. The hotel is located in the center of the village, close to all of the attractions and the world class Hotel Belmond next door. The staff is friendly, and the restaurant is very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.4
    Better choices elsewhere. The bathroom was dangerous with a stairwell behind the door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were told the restaurant closes on 1st Nov but we went in Oct and it was closed and so was the bar. Yes there were other places to go but sometimes especially after a long drive you just want to sit down and relax.

    Its a great location with friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    Tired hotel in a good position but more like a 3 star on accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and run down. Tiles are chipped and broken in the rooms and covers and curtains are old. Plug points are broken and limited. This old hotel is in a good position but needs a room refurbishment.

    Great breakfast and wonderful views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Palumbo is perhaps the most wonderful hotel I've ever stayed at. The staff are professional but genuine - the friendly atmosphere is not forced or pre-packaged. This is a hotel that has been well-run by the same family for generations, and it shows. It isn't cheap, but you absolutely get what you pay for and more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.8
    Perfect place to finish a long day driving the Amalfi Coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception staff here are fantastic and couldn't be more helpful. Our room was comfortable and offered a stunning view out over the coastline. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Classic hotel, lovely touches, magnificent view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Guests should pull up 100yds from the hotel and call them. They will collect your car and drive it through a narrow lane and on to their secure garage.

    This is a lovely hotel, which we prefer to it's grander neighbour.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Consistency in the room care. Chocolate on pillow or not? Heater on or not. I love warm towels & a chocolate at night.

    Quiet & elegant hotel in perfect location in magical Ravello. Loved the linen sheets. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Card machine

    Good location. Fantastic view

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Historical hotel with good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Garden room was wet and damp. Decoration feels like cheap...

    Historical hotel with good view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    Never again in this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and furniture are too old and need a new left.

    Location of the property.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    A great combination of easy-going elegance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was both very professional and very friendly. The food and cocktails top notch. The beds very comfortable and the location superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    6.7
    The location is excellent, the view marvellous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    As there is no elevator, there is a problem for people with disabilities.

    The location is excellent, the view marvellous

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    2.9
    No service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No service at all : no restaurant , staff not so helpful They charge 25 Euros per day for parking , without even asking ....

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    3.8
    Could not wait to leave
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms

    The rooms offered were terrible , smelled musty . We refused the first room shown .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    Comforatble but not a magnet to get me back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No soap replenished, breakfast only average, no kettle for tea or hot water

    Quiet and central

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.0
    Not a 5 stars hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is very very small. İts not a 5 star actually. İ can give 3 stars. 25 euro for parking? Are you kidding me? İts way too much!!!👎🏽👎🏽👎🏽

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast perfect. Sea view breath taking... need to visit it.we had the junior suite full sea view.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    PALUMBO HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive for the type of accommodation offered Don't quite think 5 stars is correct.

    Location staff and views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    10
    Amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The croissants were extra flakey. Excellent. Had an amazing stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Amazing views from our hotel window of the coastline
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little expensive for a night's stay

    I loved the decor and the style of the furnishings. Lovely gardens and very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Piece of magic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    7.9
    pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gorgeous hotel. The room was a little eccentric to say the least, but the hotel itself is gorgeous, food wonderful, view fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Spectacular spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building and furnishings were ancient and gorgeous

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    The interier of this hotel is impresive besides the quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The interier of this hotel is impresive besides the quite and food is excellent . You will have all you need around the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    Long in the tooth.needs upgrade in facility and management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants too done

    Not great bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    You have to value the history of the place- elegant with amazing views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was old but gorgeous

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Top location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a unique experience with a big car

    The service was fantastic

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.6
    Incredible view of the Amalfi coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredible view of the Amalfi coast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive. Does need some updating

    Great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    8.8
    the staff was wonderful, the location was great, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the wifi was not good, there were mechanical issues with the heat and plumbing

    the staff was wonderful, the location was great, the facility was very interesting

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    10
    The staff were excellent , Debra, Marina and Antonio were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi could have been better. It was a bit patchy in the bedroom.

    The staff were excellent , Debra, Marina and Antonio were very friendly . Marina even came out with her car to locate us when we were a bit lost at night due to sat nav failure. Debra gave us useful advice regarding the local places to visit. Antonio was always there smiling and being helpful .The location was perfect . The view from our room was awesome . I would definitely go back there again.

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    10
    The hotel's public places are beautiful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They called our room a garden room ... We felt like we were in a basement. We should have asked to be switched. We asked to see other rooms and they were brighter and more attractive. The hotel was not crowded ... don't know why they didn't put us in a nicer room. If you book here, be very specific about what type of room you would like.

    The hotel's public places are beautiful ... Very charming. Great location. Enjoyed delicious breakfasts overlooking fantastic view of Amalfi coast. Dinner on the terrace overlooking same view made for a memorable evening.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.2
    Great value, wonderful views, good food, and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some of the fixtures could use updating (the toilet was uncomfortable; some power outlets didn't work).

    Great value, wonderful views, good food, and great location.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    7.9
    very poor breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor breakfast…Rooms cold although blankets arrived the very moment that we asked

    very poor breakfast . We were ushered out of the breakfast room but lovely dinner the previous night

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful location and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was very small. Staff was pleasant but often weak on English and not always around when you need them. many steps up to hotel and many steps in the hotel. Need to be in shape! No pool.

    Beautiful location and view. Beautiful old villa.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    7.1
    The location is really good and building is very nicely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ravello is expensive and this hotel is not the most expensive (but it can't be considered cheap). However, even though we booked a standard room this is listed as a 5* hotel and, given that, the state of our bathroom was unacceptable. There was extensive mould and all the fixtures and fittings looked really outdated. I don't know if the other rooms are better and I wish I had checked and then complained before we had unpacked. I'm not really the complaining type which is perhaps my fault but still they owners need to address this because it's an embarrassment.

    The location is really good and building is very nicely restored with a good balance to keep it authentic and useable. There is a jacuzzi and lovely gardens with a fantastic view. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was of a good quality (better upstairs than served in the room).

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    10
    Love staying here, 3rd time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Love staying here, 3rd time. Dinner on the terrace with a full moon rising. And excellent sommelier, all staff very professional and helpful. We like historic places with character. Helped us get car out of their garage and through tight alleyway to exit

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    7.1
    Impressive building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not senior friendly. Breakdast quality was very good, but quite small selection. None of the staff spoke english except for the ladies at the reception desk. Bathrooms need updating. No elevator in this building. Hotel location is that you don't watk anywhere without a long climb.

    Impressive building.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    10
    Very nice hotel with amazing view from the room and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice hotel with amazing view from the room and the restaurant. Staff where extremely helpfull and oriented to the guests. Can only recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Air conditioning not working

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    9.2
    Junior suite room 32 excellent room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exterior appearance of hotel.

    Junior suite room 32 excellent room Fresh fruit and quality of pastries for breakfast. Gorgeous linen on beds.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    6.7
    That the parking charge was not orally mentioned to us by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That the parking charge was not orally mentioned to us by the staff when they offered us to park the car

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    6.3
    Property is in need of refurbishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Property is in need of refurbishment. Great character in the general area (which is fine) but rooms are very outdated

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    9.6
    Great views, very good room, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints about anything

    Great views, very good room, great staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.6
    Very pretty, spacious room, great view, ultra-helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very pretty, spacious room, great view, ultra-helpful staff. Great food too.

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    10
    Magical view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Magical view. Wonderful breakfasts. Will return

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.6
    amazing place, beautiful location, excellent service,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi patchy reception but I was fine without it.

    amazing place, beautiful location, excellent service, brilliant food.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: