Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Panama Garden 4 stars

Via Salaria 336, Nomentano, 00199 Rome, Italy

#560 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 365 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing was happy with this hotel.

    Best breakfast, large variety. Far enough to get out of Rome to get away from the horrible smell of fumes. Excellent, friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Internet service was sporadic and we were unable to check in and get our boarding pass for our flight to Barcelona.

    The staff was very helpful far beyond our expectations. They were prompt attending to our request. Our commendation to the front desk, dinning and housekeeping staff. They were all very professional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower was leaking a little bit, so after each shower the floor around the toilett was flooded. Rooms quite noisy (thin walls), however no noise during the night!

    Old but nice and lovely hotel. Clean rooms (safe available), daily cleaning (when needed), big balcony, a lot of flowers and plants around the building. Nice outside breakfast area, breakfast good but quite small. Friendly and helpful stuff. Good connection to transportation (10 min walk to metro, 5 min walk to next bus stop), 30 min walk to Rome Central Station (Termini), 45 min walk into the city (recommended, because you can't discover Rome by taking a bus ;) )

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some maintenance lacking, bathroom fixtures well scrubbed, but everything was definitely clean. WiFi worked for one of us, but not the other. Steep ramp into reception, not really easily buggy accessible.

    Comfortable bed, everything clean. Quiet room at front of property, despite being not far from a fairly busy road. Good quality breakfast, lots of options, including warm food. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately it’s bad experience. The room wasn’t very clean and comfortable. Everything was very old. Location is faraway center of the city but that very near to rome termini train station. Breakfast was not nice , it was not enough for begin of the nice morning. If you stay Rome I think you can pay more 20-30 eur and you have a reservation in better hotel

    Just near rome termini train station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Breakfast was relaxed and the variety was ample for all tastes. We had an early start one morning so the hotel made us both a breakfast box to travel with. The air on in the room was not linked to the card key so it meant it could remain constantly on which was great to come back to after walks and sightseeing. Very helpful staff.! It was our 25th anniversary and although they couldn't upgrade us, they commissioned a beautiful Decorative display on the bed surrounded with red paper hearts. Really nice! Beds were SO comfortable. Area was quiet and good for transport links. Great pizza restaurant round the corner too. My only comment would be to wish the hotel did food in the evening as we would have happily eaten there! Fab place and great stay.! Thank you Paulo for all your input too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The room was a little warm/small - Had to leave my car keys to the reception while using the internal parking

    - Good breakfast - Professional reception team

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and not new or large as shown in the website. The facilities in the bathroom are poor ( hairdryer ; bathtub/ shower...)

    The hotel overall is ok but disappointed because ourexpectations didn't match what was shown in the website.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception did not find my booking

    The room though not big was fairly new and clean. Enough space in the hall to sit with clients and have an informal talk.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an old hotel that has not been refurbished for long. This is evident everywhere. The rooms small and worn out, the bathroom awful, the wi-fi was not working properly, the breakfast of the lowest quality, definitely far from what one would expect in Rome. Low value for money, overall.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of!

    The staff were especially helpful and accommodating. They cleaned our rooms each day to a very high standard. And Everything worked! We even managed to get English Sky on our tv. The bathroom was big and the shower lovely. Breakfast was great. We were worried it might be too far from the centre of Rome but it was very easy to get transport anywhere we needed quite quickly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is established in an older building (which is part of its charm) but for that reason it can be a bit noisy at times.

    We enjoyed our stay at Panama Garden very much. The complete staff provided great service at breakfast as well as at the reception. We felt very welcome when we arrived early at 11 a.m. We were offered coffee and cake while they were immediately preparing our room which we could enter within half an hour. Furthermore, we enjoyed the terrace of our room. We had a triple room and were very happy that the third bed was just as good as the other beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not a lot of choice of restaurants in the vicinity. Were recommended 2 by the hotel, which were great, and found another ourselves.

    Staff are extremely helpful. Everyone goes out of their way to ensure you have a pleasant stay. Situated just on the outskirts - an oasis of calm after a hectic day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The best holiday ever, all staff assisted you, looked after you in every way, nothing was ever a problem. Bedroom was very comfortable, spotless and room cleaning service was great. Breakfast I loved it, lot to choose from, sitting area for breakfast was romantic. Hotel lift and good access for disabilities.The hotel sent a lovely Mercedes taxi for our pick up at the airport and also did the same for our return flight. I met people from all over the world, the hotel left coffee and tea and pastries throughout the day for its customers to have, sat many a day in the gardens with the tea and pastries. Walking distance to tram line that took you to the Vatican, few miles to all other attractions, all easily accessed either by tram or taxi. I enjoyed this holiday so much I will be returning next year. Roll on 2018 for next visit to the Hotel Panama Gardens. Thank you to all the staff you were superb, you all made my holiday so enjoyable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only quibble was the size of our bijou bedroom. It could have been a bit bigger - but our spacious private terrace made up for it.

    Some hotels are glitzy and bustling. Some are drab and tired. The Panama Garden is just right . Set in manicured gardens of flowers, shrubs and trees, this gracious establishment is the quintessence of genteel Italian style and comfort. We found every member of staff genuinely friendly and helpful; the receptionists provided a map of Rome and showed us how to easily reach wherever we wanted to go, the waiters smiled as they brought our choice of coffee at the excellent, comprehensive buffet breakfast, and even the pretty chambermaid was polite and charming, changing the linen every day, and replenishing the complimentary mineral water in our room's fridge. Our room was well-equipped, with a top-quality Simmons mattress, large colour TV, air-conditioning, wi-fi, safe, and an electric kettle to make cups of tea (a wide variety of Twining's was provided) and coffee, which we enjoyed on our spacious, sunny private terrace, fringed with lemon trees and jasmine. Tea, coffee and pastries were also complimentary throughout most of the day in the comfortable lounge, which was graced with a couple of intriguing antiques, and also a photo of one of its most famous habitues - the young Brigitte Bardot. All in all, The Panama Garden is a haven of civilized peace and comfort. And you don't have to be a Panamanian banker to stay there!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Location was convenient for public transport to travel to the attractions. Very good breakfast with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't know who is in charge of giving stars to hotels in Rome but this hotel should have maximum 2 stars. Its terrible wear and tear all over, rooms full of dust, not to mention terrible bathroom , awfully, moisture everywhere, shower that doesn't function......this hotel shouldn't be on the booking offer at all!

    NOthing, it was dirty, breakfast was poor and hotel is overpriced in consideration to its true value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1st room - we could not even walk around the bed - 2nd room - was at front of hotel and I could not sleep due to the road noise - 3rd room large and quiet

    The staff were excellent and really helpful Our room was upgraded twice during our stay - but why could we not have the best room available from beginning

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bad night , the window it seemed broken! you can hear everything, the room was too small , Air conditioner didn't start .. I didn't like the experience at all

    The staff , Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to remark

    Excellent Value for Money. I spent 63€ for a standard double room, that was at the check-in upgraded to 'Superior'. The room had been recently restructured and refurbished. Very clean, comfortable bed, big TV screen, air conditioning, new parquet, balcony, big bathroom with very big shower. I don't know what a standard room would have looked like, but the room I enjoyed was worth spending much more than 63€. Nice and abundant breakfast, polite service, cozy common areas

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the state taxes is very high

    We realy enjoy our stay in Panama Gaden hotel,The staff are very nice very courtous specially Mr,Paolo they speak fluent English and they ae very approahable,The room were we stay is well maintain by a Filipino staff,I forgot his name but his very kind,The bathroom is also good towels are clean,Breakfast was also good and the kitchen staff ae akso very nice our money is worth the foods, If ever I would go to Italy again we would aggain stay in the same Hotel,

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No bar in evening

    Very nice room which included tea/coffee. Nice and clean hotel. Breakfast included cereals, cold buffet and hot choices. Staff always willing to help and answer any questions.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door of room opens only 45degree.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt this hotel was really good value for money and very clean. Staff were friendly and our room had a lovely terrace which was nice to sit out on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room TOOOOOOO small

    The staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to close to the hotel.

    Good selection of breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    transports en commun!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was utterly terrible. Both times I had it it tasted like someone had mixed tea with coffee

    Friendly staff, lovely location, well equipped room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff were very accommodating and helpful nothing was to much trouble.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely poor breakfast for being a 4 star. It looked like a 2 star hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing important

    Everything , staffs were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were indeed not worth it !

    Good Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    nothing

    the garden of hotel was very nice to me.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were absolutely amazing. All of them were very helpful, but in particular Roselba and her son!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows could have done with being replaced they were very flat

    Breakfast was excellent, room was beautifully decorated, and had great facilities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great because they kept replenishing it so the food was fresh and hot. The staff were lovely and very helpful. It was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from the centre. Rooms too small

    Staff very nice and informative. Breakfast very good selection and nice quality.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn't work; room was too warm and a little small

    Staff was nice, especially at breakfast

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    O chuveiro.

    O staff do hotel é o diferencial!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything including the breakfast had a "Pleasant surprise" effect.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All staff are professional and very polite (and smiling!); I very much appreciated to find a tray with kettle, tea and coffee in the room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible first room Terrible breakfast Manager not pleasant

    One staff member was helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A bit older bathroom, not very wide offer of breakfast buffet.

    Nice, clean room, comfy bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff, whole buidling air conditioned, breakfast outdoors on the terrace.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Too far out of centre. Breakfast choice limited

    Frendly efficient staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Couple

    Difficult access from busy main road, and very narrow access to Garage. Small rooms rather cramped

    Very helpful and professional staff. Good breakfast and overall good value for money

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The tea-making facilities at the reception desk are a good idea but the water needs to be HOT. The hotel is quite a trek from the centre.

    The staff were great. I got a late checkout for €20 which I thought was reasonable. The staff are very professional. The breakfast waiter was the old-school type of well-trained, polite career waiter that used to work in hotels when the industry was more professional. Excellent.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a wonderful stay at the hotel, the staff were very helpful and friendly. They recommended good restaurants and travel advise on how to get into the centre of Rome. The buffet Breakfast had such a variety and catered for everyone. Will recommend to family and friends.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This hotel was lovely from the moment we walked in to the time we said our goodbyes,the staff went above and beyond our expectations and we really felt welcomed here. The hotel was situated a little bit away from the busy area which was nice but within walking distance of shops and restaurants (nice ones too). The fair of a taxi into Rome center was around €14 but worth it as taxi drivers tell you where is good and where is not. During our stay at the hotel we had free tea and cakes in the reception area and was treated very well, I would like to thank the staff for returning me my handbag after I left in reception (had a couple of drinks) everything in my bag was still there including phone and money so this gave me great hope I could trust them. Whole stay was fabulous thank you panama gardens

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the hotel needs some renovation

    Location

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Distance to metro, very small lift.

    Excellent staff, nice area, good value for money, breakfast buffet, gym.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Comfortable beds, good to, staff extremely helpful in organising airport rides etc

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    • Couple

    It's a little too far from the centre, but this does mean it is quieter.

    The staff were exceptionally helpful.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really

    How helpful all the staff were so willing to please

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Family with young children

    I didnt like its service , breakfast , wifi , staff interaction .....

    Ibexause you mentioned it is 4 star hotel but sorry it was not even -1 star

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast basic.

    Great bedroom, spacious, fab bathroom, air con. Very comfortable beds. Spotlessly clean. Lovely area.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms are not soundproof

    Helpful staff, fresh breakfast

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Decor very tired, room was very small, very expensive parking

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean and a beautiful Hotel

There are also 23 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Hotel Panama Garden traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: