Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pantalon 3 stars

Dorsoduro 3942 (calle Crosera Pantalon), Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy

#278 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 238 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 69

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - a little bit noisy, especially when the room is on the street side and when you have neighbours who get up early - a little bit expensive for the size of the room

    - Excellent location of the hotel - clean and good equipments - very nice staff - old fashioned Venitian style

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (4 Adults) - Depandance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful customer service. We stayed in an apartment that was more than the 5 minute walk away. The reception didn’t give us directions until we asked for a map. Then they didn’t tell us which number house - just the name which was not visible. Check in process was lengthy. The rooms were filthy with rotten pasta on the floor, covered in dust and dirty plates. The beds also weren’t made up which was disappointing.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    May the room was noisy from within comfort level low.

    Location was good room was sufficient for both of us. Staff was also there to assist. Overall good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed VERY uncomfortable, could feel all the springs, also not that clean, some hair in the bathroom and some bugs from the plughole, no tv remote, I specifically asked in an email to the Hotel to give me two beds as I didn't want to sleep with my friend and they did not comply...sorry!

    Great location friendly ish staff but English not great...then again my Italian isn't great so I shouldn't complain lol

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff slept in the reception area. Room was dirty. Room was tiny. Water wasn't hot in the shower. Breakfast meats were disgusting. Breads were stale. Bedding was dirty. No lift. Carpets were dirty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (4 Adults) - Depandance
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of Apartment was not the same as Hotel address. Needed extra walk with all luggage. Hotel makes guest to come to Hotel reception for check-in and check-out... in stead they could have made these arrangements at apartment.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (4 Adults) - Depandance
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we booked the "dependance room”, we were not informed that the room is a good 10-min walk from the property nor that it would not be cleaned unless cleaning was requested and paid separately. This was quickly remedied, and someone was sent to clean the room after 2 days of our stay. However, the staff came announced and - without ringing or knocking the door - simply entered the room at a time where my parents were still in bed (the bed faces the door.... so imagine the embarrassment). As mentioned above, the "dependance room” is away from the main building and much further from the train station, and we had to hire a porter service (which is not one of the services offered by Hotel Pantalon). In addition, the room is poisoned with mold (see the pictures) and had we booked it for longer, my father (who suffers from asthma and bronquites) would have showed a much worse condition than as when he left the property. If you have mold allergy, beware! Finally, may I just point out how rude it was the treatment we received from the Hotel manager, who insisted on having the city tax paid in cash (something not specified in the contract with the property). She also initially refused to give us receipt of our payment and only did so after we refused to pay it in cash otherwise. In addition, the manager yelled at us for requesting someone to come to the room to pick up the keys when vacating the apartment. This caused us much surprise because we wanted to make sure they could check the room before we left. It made no sense to make us go back to the main building with a number of suitcases and two elderly people only to return the key, specially when this would make us incur on extra money of porter services. At the end, they agreed but we had to leave the premises without an invoice or receipt of payment of the hotel fees (which, by the way they deducted in full from my credit card on the day we checked-in). Definitely not customer-service oriented.

    The location was not the worse, although it also was not what we bargained for. The so-called "dependance room" is not within the main property building. While a relative short walk away, it requires that one crosses two bridges with lots of stairs. This was not mentioned to us when we booked the room (nor was it mentioned on the hotel website - see photos from the booking day). The fact there are bridges with stairs to cross is relevant, because the “porter services” usually charge their fees based on the number of luggages to carry as well as the number of bridges they cross (5 euros per bridge, to be exact). If you have luggage to carry, consider this an extra cost.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (4 Adults) - Depandance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nothing actually..It was difficult to find the hotel. After checking in,I had to find my way to the apartment myself which was 5 to 7 minutes walk from the reception. Would have been better if somebody had guided us all the way to the property from reception building.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was very small without lift and pillows were very uncomfortable. The bathroom had not shower box and cleaning service was not useful. THE BREAKFAST WAS VERY SIMPLE

    The staff were very good and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was tiny and breakfast a bit joyless but that's a minor matter for 60 euros for a night.

    It is in a great spot - 2 minutes from the Frari, 7 from Accademia in a lovely part of Venice. The room was very small but that's not unusual in Venice, I think, and the chandelier was splendid.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire hotel needs a clean and refresh-nicer staff-better housekeeping-I found a broken nail on my night table-there was a shower-no curtain-continental breakfast was not as promised-our room was 115-on the 3rd floor ! No lift-no offer of help from staff to get bags up 3 long flights of stairs-no maps or info-I went to the hotel across the street-very bad

    The only thing we liked was the location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (4 Adults) - Depandance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for this kind of room. We booked an apartment for 4 people, in reality it was one small room with a bed and a sofa, no place to put even the luggage. In addition it was not at the hotel building, but 10 minutes walk from there, what was not mentioned while booking. Receptionists do not speak English, in general they are very unfriendly, they don't care about the guests at all. Didn't enjoy my stay at all, paid much money for an overpriced room. Do not recommend!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast was every day the same. Could have more variety.

    We had a pleasant stay here. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Every where you want to go you can easily walk. the staff was really friendly :)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (4 Adults) - Depandance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely unfriendly personal!we did our booking for twee nights which has been already paid but when we arrived they told us it was just for one night, we lost about 2 hours to discuss about it, in the end they figure it out that was a mistake of hotel!

    We had a suite, good location, kitchen in the room which was good provided

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room we've got was so tiny, that we barely been able to move without stepping on the bed. But still quite good.

    Great location and good breakfast. Staff is nice and welcoming.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    bathroom extremely small, no shower cabin so water from the shower would flood the floor of the barthroom completely every time

    Did not get the room on the pictures, but the hotel staff was accomodating and I could change (in the end I didnt because the room I got was better). Friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms, very nice/big/clean towels

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too hard, the bathroom was designed,in such a way,that a large person,would not be able to use the toilet,as the sink was too near it.

    Excellent Wifi,good spacious room for three

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is small but beautifully styled, with aircon and very central. Quick and easy access from bus and train. Staff very helpful. Breakfast area well organized and furniture classically styled. I had stayed previous at another accommodation for 15 euros more without aircon, room was very basic and self servce so i would therefore recommend this place as a solo traveler.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hard bed; little daylight available; no shower curtain in wet-room.

    power shower was great; breakfast ok. 5 minute walk to the water taxi area spare pillows available in cupboard

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views were not great but as the hotel was not on a canal we weren't expecting anything spectacular.

    The hotel was really good location about 20mins walk from st marks square, Rialto bridge and the main station and car park. The hotel staff were really helpful, they were always willing to help and recommend restaurants which were fantastic. Granted their English wasn't the best but it was a lot better than our Italian!!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin Walls, terrible Coffee

    Good location, ok for a 2-3 day trip

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were mosquitos in the room and this made for uncomfortable sleeping

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (4 Adults) - Depandance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located 5 mins walk from main hotel

    Friendly reception staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mosquitos and the shower were bad

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (4 Adults) - Depandance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet capricieuxtwo

    Excellent location, nice hosts, possibility to cook a little

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, friendly feel. Local (untouristy) eateries nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (4 Adults) - Depandance
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being told it wasn't in a hotel but was an apartment

    Venice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (4 Adults) - Depandance
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The studio apartment was quite interior from Hotel Pantalon. Breakfast was just some biscuits and nothing else .

    Staffs were friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great accomodation with friendly staff in a wonderful location! Would definitely go back again in a heartbeat!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was creaky, doors clunky, a slight annoyance considering our baby.

    Charming dated Italian hotel with old furniture and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Never will use booking com again

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    value for money

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small, darkish room

    Central location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was cozy, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee in the room and also no shower curtain.

    Good central location. Air condition was good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Studio (4 Adults) - Depandance
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and historical...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to see and too expenssive

    Never recoment to goto place

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower didn't have any curtain or separation. The quality of the brioches in the morning it isn't really spectacular.

    Romantic room, great location easy to reach from the station and in good position for many attractions.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The Depandance is NOT near the hotel....you have to cross several more bridges with your heavy luggages after you already got tired from finding the hotel. The Depandance is in an abandoned neighborhood area, quite scary. The bed was not comfortable. The room was not considered clean. A small kitchen hidden in a cupboard which was quite strange.

    The decorations of the room.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was extremely small for the amount of money we paid and the shower did not work, the water was warm at best and the shower curtain was missing.

    The breakfast was quite good and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent location. Ease of access from the bus and train terminal which was great considering my late night arrival. And still so close to the heart of everything!

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had asked for one large bed and get twins. We complained and they connected the 2 with a large sheet, which is better than nothing but still not what we expected. Initially the choice of this particular hotel was because they had large beds..; Additionally the mattress was a nightmare

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathroom was a little challenging with size. But This is not uncommon for Italy and would not stop me from staying here again.

    Loved the location. It was in a perfect spot to walk to San Marco area that allowed you to roam the streets and cross bridges. Could have taken the boats but prefer to walk and enjoy the sights along the way. Great restaurants near by as well.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The prize for 1 night is 120 Euro which is not cheap

    We booked the appartment, not the hotel! Pantalon has 2 appartments. Very nice and clean with a small kitchen in a cabinet... 1 double bed and another flexible bed for 1 or 2 person.... its small but it is in venice and you get the spirit =) =) recommended!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extremely small room. Staff appeared very glum. Breakfast area very cramped. Breakfast advertised from 7.30 but they were not ready, which is a problem if guests have early travel arrangements. Would not be ideal for a long stay.

    Good location close to the Friari. Pleasant rooftop garden.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff is not so friendly. We ask for a late check out but he pretends like he didn't hear any of my question. We rent an apartment, and the location is not really next to the river, hence we didn't get the river view. For the value of money, considering its in venice, then the rate is quite good. There's also a notice stating then we need to wash our own plate or cups, okay I don't mind to wash it and always did wherever I go, but I don't think its appropriate to put such a note since the guest is paying for the room. including all the facilities.

    The decoration. The apartment have a very soo authentic Italian decoration. I like it

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom was too small, cramped feel to it. And no doors or curtains on the shower, so water went everywhere. Old-fashioned decor and old building which I usually love, but somehow didn't feel good.

    Close to St Lucia station, but in the small streets or called, so you experience venetian life as you walk out your door. Within walking distance to St Marks square. Get a map and take your time, because you'll need it to navigate Venice.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Struggling to reach the Location especially when you have young kids and travelling bags. Value of money is not worth it regarding the hotel location.

    Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dining area too small, couldn't find a seat at breakfast. Room is way too small for a 3* rated hotel

    Location is key. Easy access from various arrival points( ferry railway etc.)

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hot room Shower very weird entire bathroom was soaked. No curtain. No stall. Staff rude/not helpful. The man checking us out was barely dressed. Undershirt and unkept. Stairs no elevator.

    Can't think of anything

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our booking documents stated a ‘King-sized bed’ yet our room had two single beds pushed, rather than fastened, together. Each bed was made with its own single set of sheets and at the slightest movement the beds separated, sliding across the wooden floor, creating a chasm between the beds The wooden floor was dusty. It may have been swept daily-we’re unsure-yet the floor was dusty and un-mopped as debris stuck to our socks, or feet The shower head was broken and would not remain in an upright position The stair carpet, and carpets overall, looked dirty. The reception area is gloomy and uninviting as the draperies are permanently closed, which blocks the minimal light coming from the narrow street

    The hotel is centrally-located to the Rialto, St Marks and the Piazza Roma bus terminal

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One room with 3 beds(1 double) + 2 single. We were expecting 2 rooms. Quite dark inside. No one showed us to the place or helped with luggage. Inside one of your second beds was hidden so we went back and forth to the main reception.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location and easy to find. An average three star hotel

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    no staff present for assistance

    location

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed not too comfortable and room tight

    Location good bathroom good

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a lift as our cases were heavy!

    great location, very friendly helpful staff,

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little small and only one channel on TV was in english.

    Breakfast was good and the room was comfy. Wifi worked well.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very small and not very clean

    Position and value for money

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cleanliness and noises from the others rooms. Breakfast a bit dull

    The location

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was good, breakfast was good too.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Terrible experience!!

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception was a bit stuffy and not good english spoken, we also speak Spanish German and Portuguese but it didnt help!

    Location and fast internet.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Good service

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No kettle

    Very authentic feel, handy location, spacious

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Annex was 10 minute walk. from check in.

    Beautiful decor.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff came across as bit rude

    Location was good...quiet yet central. Free wifi

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed covers smelled smoke. cold, not in the hotel

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 69

Guests also reviewed these properties: