Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Paradiso 3 stars

Via Pozzillo, 84048 Santa Maria di Castellabate, Italy

Review score

Based on 269 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 42

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and quiet hotel for those who like to unwind a bit. Very friendly atmosphere created by owners and their staff. Clean beach with guards on duty at all time. Pretty two little towns within walking distance along the beach with many shoos and restaurants. A real paradiso :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to come home :-)

    Staff and management excellent, accommodation front line apartment 19 steps to beautiful beach. Relaxing, friendly, lovely restataurants in the area too. Recommend La Geta, The Belvedere and Kappa. Amazing time! Keep up the good work Domenico and team x

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing if I had one criticism it would be Nil

    Amazing friendly modern, Italian style hotel, on beach staff,owners were a joy, rooms and view were fantastic, I stayed in many hotels around the world but without doubt this game out on top, cant rate it highly enough, impossible to find a negative,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Enzo the owner met us with a complimentary beverage and was a true gentleman. The staff were amazing as was the food at the restaurant. Breakfast was very good, with a a lot of selection. Sant Mary and San Marco villages are within walking distance with many shops and not as touristy as many of the other Amalfi Coast towns and the view from the town of Castellabate are worth the short drive up the "mountain". Easy to find, great location and highly recommended :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice and lack of facilities

    The location on the beach was perfect with a young son. Breakfast was limited to cake and croissants, no other choice and restaurant was closed so we had to wAlk to town every meal time 20 minutes away but beautiful setting and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartments were a little tired. Two twins made the double bed with a very big gap between them.

    Located on a lovely sand beach with both San Marco and Santa Maria a short beach walk away. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Wifi worked well in public areas and even a little in our apartment. Peaceful end of season stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi coverage could be better.

    Location, location, location, coupled with a warm friendly welcome. What more could you want? Perfectly situated between two pretty towns. Lots to see and enjoy. Relax on the beach in comfortable loungers, or tackle the hill to enjoy stunning views.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi stopped working and was very hit and miss. We were so very sad that beach bar did not open till 10/10.30 am. Would have liked to have morning coffee/light snack right on the beach. The sheer amount of mosquitos present around the apartment and the bar area. Apartment was very dark inside and its terrace/seating area had no sun on it at all at any time of day.

    Location next to the lovely beach and the free sun loungers for guests were superb. Great that you do not have to cross any roads to go down to beach too. Friendly staff and complimentary drink when checking in and out were a nice touch. Well equipped kitchen and good sized fridge if you wanted to self cater. We enjoyed walking along beach to San Marco town and the 'K' restaurant in the main square there was superb (10 mins walk to the small square where church is and 5 mins walk to cute American bar at edge of harbour for a drink after on way back). Having a glass on wine and pistacios at hotel's beach bar on the beach and watching sunset every evening, just fab.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable and with a small balcony, but it would need a bit of restyling.

    Very nice location just outside Castellabate and right on the beach. Mr Enzo (the owner) was superb and really amicable. All the common areas were well-maintained and there was a really nice atmosphere outside. We only stayed one night but it seemed like a nice place for a long beach holiday.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The noise from frequent live music nights could be a little intrusive at times.

    Great location with a private beach 100m from our 2-bed apartment. Staff were very friendly and attended to any requests very promptly. Apartment was clean and towels changed very frequently. The accommodation is a lovely 15-minute walk along the beach from the town of Santa Maria.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check google images carefully. The sat nav took us into sante macro and right to the beach. You access the hotel from the top road above the village. Through a private electric gate. This could have been made clearer on the booking email perhaps.

    Wonderful family run hidden treasure of a hotel. Staff are polite and helpful everytime we met them. We arrived after a long and difficult journey. The manager personally greeted us and had an esspresso in our hands in less than 2 minutes. In 10 minutes we were checked in and walked to our apptmt by an English speaking staff member. The beach is literally outside your front door especially if you get apartment 1! We will definitely return here. 5*!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were fine but looked a little tired and when we go back a hire car would be handy. As it is a good 15 mins walk to the town.

    Lovely family run hotel in a great position on a sandy beach. Really friendly staff, will had a very relaxing time.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool.

    Air conditioning in all rooms without additional charge. Your own reserved spot on beach for your stay with complementary lounger, chair, umbrella. Owners very happy to help in arranging transfers, taxis and car hire. Towels changed every day. Friendly and helpful attitude of all staff Within walking distance of two quaint towns (via beach)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    A charming and laid back family run establishment. The owners are very hospitable- we were offered free drinks on arrival, a whisky following a delicious evening meal at the hotel and a lift to the bus stop in Santa Maria on the last day. We stayed in one of the holiday apartments below the main hotel building which was literally 5m from the beach, well equipped and spotlessly clean with a very large and comfortable bed and a balcony with table and chairs from which you could just see the sea through the bushes. Lovely sandy beach and each flat/hotel room has its own allocated sunshade plus lounger and deckchair. The location is between the pretty village of San Marco (which has a harbour from which you can take a boat trip and two excellent restaurants in the square by the church) and the bustling village/small town of Santa Maria, which has a supermarket, shops and restaurants and a relaxed holiday feel. To get to either on foot involves either a short walk along a busy main road (doable but not particularly pleasant) or a walk along the beach- about 5 mins to the edge of San Marco and 15 to the edge of Santa Maria. We did not have a car and were quite happy without one, though anyone with a pram or mobility issues might find the location more restrictive. We used the local buses to reach the hilltop village of Castellabate, the Greek temples at Paestum and a nearby mozzarella farm- all worth visiting! A lovely area to visit and a lovely place to stay! Good value for money too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed/ bathroom need updating, though very quiet, clean and airy. (Hotel is in process of this.) Beach loos need replacing and checked more frequently.

    Family run hotel. Very helpful and friendly people. Beach side location, clean sea and sands, hotel lifeguards in attendance. Good restaurant with local cuisine. Fresh towels everyday. Staff very professional, polite and happy. Relaxing atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can request where you want to stay. We stayed right on the beach! Just wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access road a bit dangerous

    Calm and beauty

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaniness and size of very cozy room Ocean sun set view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard for me. I have to have a soft bed because of a back problem. This was my only concern with my stay which was otherwise excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Enzo is the best! He made our stay very pleasant. Rooms next to the beach are super nice. Quiet, peaceful, friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right ON the beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location and quietness

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows, breakfast

    Staff, private beach, friendly place, location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast menu could have included fruit yogurt and eggs .

    Lovely room and great beach access

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff and location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners and staff are very friendly. The place has it's own privet beach, very clean and beautiful, with your own chairs and more.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Too many people on the beach in July

    A very nice stay - great location, very friendly staff, nice and cosy hotel at the beach !

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The family environment, cleanliness, location, food - this hotel has everything. Don't miss it!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ( Note: we were there out of season when many places were either quiet or had yet to open so understandably some facilities were not available). Only viable access to San Marco or Santa Maria is via the beach.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Spotlessly clean. Large comfortable room with good facilities. Good clean beach. Very pretty, well groomed surroundings and quiet location.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Leaving.

    Couldn't believe the size of the rooms. The staff were so hospitable - made us feel very comfortable - especially enzo and his trusty hound Nelan. The beach is incredible.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we arrived we were greeted by a gentleman who was so polite and welcoming. He also upgraded our room to a suite, it was so beautiful. We only stayed for one night and wish we had stayed all weekend in this hotel. Friendly, helpful, generous. We had a lovely stay in the gorgeous suite.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was closed when we arrived, so every day we had a 20 minute walk along the beach and back to eat. Breakfast in the hotel was very limited. Apartment not cleaned at all during a week there and no clean sheets.

    Very close to the beach. We had a 5 bed apartment for 2 people so there was plenty of space.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Self catering accommodation right by the beach. Loved being soothed to sleep by the waves every night. Apartment was basic but clean and had everything we needed for 5 days - addition of a kettle would be good though. Living area quite small and dark but presume dining etc done outside most of the time when the weather is warm enough.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room we had originally given was not what we had booked, the so called sea view from the top floor was a sea view only if u stand up! U could just about see the sea above the tree line, if u sat u just see a parapit wall. Thankfully the owner was accommodating and gave us a very large room on the first floor overlooking the trees and apartment buildings.I wouldnt bother getting a room with sea view as u cannot see it any way as there are trees and apartment buildings in front of the whole hotel. Breakfast was very poor and not refilled Italian basic. Was a bit far from main village and the safest way to go (unless by car) was through a 20min walk on the sandy beach. Food at the hotel restaurant and snack bar on the beach was ok but not exciting.

    Nice big modern room in first floor recently renovated. Hotel was beautiful decorated with old traditional furniture decorated throughout the building.2 min walk from beach

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Enzo and family were exceptionally helpful and friendly, they couldn't do enough for us, they drove us into town, which is not far at all, but we had high heels on, they were very hospitable. Would go again in a heartbeat!

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The drainage in the shower wasn't great. Also the wifi access was only accessible from the lobby/reception area of the hotel and not in the room we stayed in.

    Our hosts at the hotel were wonderful - charming, friendly and helpful. We booked a family studio overlooking the sea that slept 5 people (there were only 2 of us) and it was great, it had everything we needed; plenty of towels, kitchen equipment etc. The hotel has its own section of the gorgeous sandy beach which is just steps away from the accommodation and loungers/umbrellas are included. To reach the main town you can either walk on the road (uphill and then downhill - takes a while) or just walk along the beach (ten minutes). We did this every night for the 3 nights we stayed and it was perfect for getting to restaurants etc. The restaurants in Santa Maria de Castellabate are also superb!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great hotel. Will definitely book this hotel again whenever visit Italy.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only thing better than the beautiful setting and the friendliness of the staff was the unbelievably & unlimited espresso!

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful staff and owners. Free loungers on the beach

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peaceful

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The family that owned the hotel and the private beach

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Badly signposted from road, meagre breakfast, sea barely visible from hotel

    Beach superb and well looked after

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 42

Browse Hotel Paradiso traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: