Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Miramare Sea Resort & Spa 4 stars

Via Comandante Maddalena, Sant'Angelo, 80070 Ischia, Italy

#44 of 179 hotels in Ischia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 102 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 38

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit off a walk to the beach and spa pools, but it was refreshing and there were electric golf carts a your call. Also, not kids made it quieter more romantic.

    Beautiful property , right out of a movie! The white stone steps leading through the lobby to our room were pristine. Great room over looking the bay as promised, with 2 lounging chairs and a table and chairs . Very nice hydro spa, great breakfast, and we even ate dinner each night in the restaurant . Food was delicious and the service impeccable . I like to bring a pot of coffee to the room each morning before breakfast, the head waiter made a lovely presentation for just coffee! It’s a must visit, off the beaten path, a place for fond memories.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place is heaven on earth! I traveled here when I went to school in Roma! Don’t know why more Americans don’t travel here!!! It exceeded my memories!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere a little dull - mainly older clientele (over 70).Room 110 had a wonderful view but the noise from 7am as breakfast was bing set up downstairs woke us up every morning!

    Wonderful location looking out to see from all rooms ... very attentive staff, great breakfast. Nearby Spa (5 minutes walk) lovely with good pizza at the restuarant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting to this location was more lengthy and expensive than we expected. From the Ischia Port we took a 40 Euro taxis and then were dropped at a taxi station that provided golf cart transportation to the hotel which was another 10 Euros for a 2 minute ride. We had tried contacting the hotel by email several times before arrival to understand how to get to Ischia and then how to get to the hotel and only on the third attempt just prior to arrival did we hear back. All our other hotels contacted us a week before arrival to ask our arrival time and if we need assistance getting to the hotel. Miramare never did. This was frustrating.

    This remote location is extremely charming. Hotel is very beautiful and has a vast well maintained property with thermal baths and a singles tennis court. Room was very beautiful with a balcony overlooking the bay. Breakfast was excellent with wide variety of foods including a large assortment of honey. Fresh squeezed orange juice was delicious. The dining room and balcony where you eat is lovely and sitting on the balcony was a great way to start the day. Staff provided excellent service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beach was not truly sandy, more like small pebbles.

    They upgraded us to an amazing room with fantastic views! Breakfast was good and staff was great!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was pretty expensive for what it was and quite an old crowd... not so many other young couples.

    The location!!!! Wow. We had a room overlooking the sea. You can jump in the sea from a little platform near the restaurant for a morning swim. Good breakfast, lots to choose from Comfy room (although we didn't have the best room- I saw there were much better rooms that ours). The restaurant served amazing salt baked fish. Town, 10 seconds walk away, very cute. Recommend hiring a speed boat for the day. Amazing cocktails courtesy of Genaro (brilliant ginger negroni!)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The question does not apply to this place!

    The hotel has the best food ever met ! Breakfast are divine. Diners are unforgettable. The location is fantastic. Direct access to the water. Wonderful view on the sea, Capri, the mountains... breathtaking view on the stars during the night. The people are lovely ! We wish to be back to Ischia especially to the miramare

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No steam iron in the room - needed one as we had a photographer fly in to take pictures for our wedding anniversary in our formalwear.

    The sea view was absolutely breathtaking - when there were no boats around (which is 99% of the time) you have absolute privacy in your room with a view of the empty sea stretching to the horizon. Coffee was also unbelievable (but you expect that in Italy)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Soft pillows that had just the right squish to them, helpful and cheerful staff the breakfast was the best! Unbelievable views! The people on the island were very friendly. Our taxi driver went above and beyond to make sure we got our ferry.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish they'd told us we had to pay when they asked if we wanted a shuttle from the hotel through the pedestrian only area of town! *Very* awkward to be chased down and asked for 14 euro for a 3-4 minute ride! Same with the taxi, a heads up about how much it should cost would have made all the difference in the world as we were inevitable cleansed of 50 euro. Really unfortunate to end things on a sour note like that.

    The breakfast was amazing and the views were just gorgeous. This place has old world charm, not for those after a 'slick and shiny' experience. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great for breakfast.

    Breakfast buffet was huge. Twelve types of honey and a similar number of jams/preserves. Fresh orange juice was wonderful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It wasn't made clear that you couldn't get a taxi to the hotel only to the edge of the village so we had to trudge through the cobbled streets with our suitcases trying to find the hotel. It also wasn't clear that the pool area was quite a walk or buggy ride from the hotel and not on site as we had anticipated. We did get an electric car back to the bus (so we didn't have to walk uphill with cases) and it cost 13 euros so was overpriced in our opinion and should be a free service offered by the hotel.

    The hotel was very nice and clean with wonderful views out to sea from our room and a fabulous balcony.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no signs as to where to park the car and little indication in the village to walk to the hotel. Terrible noise from one room to another, you can hear everything and room doors are as think as paper! It was raining that day and it was cold outside but the rooms were not heated. We had to ask for an extra blanket. Finally, 220 euros per night in October is too expensive for the season! Other four stars hotel on the coast with sea view billed us from 90 to a 120 euros per night.

    The quiet location in a little village, warm welcome, the view on the sea, large room with balcony (Rooms 150 & 156), the breakfast on the terrasse facing the sea. Dinner was very good with kind service. The little eletric cars to bring your suitcases to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with bedrooms smartening up .

    Close to town. Facility of rock platform with sun loungers very secluded and quiet even in August. Great restraunt. Friendly staff very helpfull. Pedestrian town . Great views .

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    This hotel does not have its own spa&beach and you have to compete for a sunchair/space in the pools with the customers from Apollon. It is also unpleasant that you have to ring the bell and wait in front of the gate each time you return to the hotel.

    Great location, lovely view, nicely refurbished room

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The setting of this hotel is gorgeous and the village of Sant Angelo just magical. Breakasts on the terrace were stunning. Spending the days at the connecting Thermal waters and beach was a relaxing delight and you could even dive straight in to the sea off the rocks by the hotel. The staff were charming and we wished we had planned a longer stay.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is too old and making noise. Not very comfortable.

    Excellent location . Very friendly staff in the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The thermal barhs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...can't wait to return

    Great to dive into 20feet of clear water+14 thermal spas.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pools and spanfacilites are not located at the hotel. Takes five mins or more to get there.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get to

    Good facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was spectacular!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent. And the staff was great especially Rosaria.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room did not look anything like the photos and advertisements on Booking.com. Misleading. Also, the hotel is not a resort and does not have a spa. We had to walk 20 minutes to another hotel for the spa. Very misleading.

    The balcony was very large and offered a beautiful view of the sea. The breakfast bar and dinner bar offered a wonderful selection of foods.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a superior room which, admittedly had a large balcony, however the actual room was tiny, making it difficult for two people to move around comfortably. In addition the bed was only a double bed, which was surprising given that it was a superior room and the price we had paid. The bathroom was fairly large, but there was no bath and the shower cubicle was tiny. I'm 5'2" and a UK size 12, so I'm not particularly large, however I struggled with the shower. My husband is 6' and he literally could not turn round in the shower. Generally, the room was shabby and whilst I would not expect the "sharpness" of a corporate room, as that would defeat the character, age and nature of the hotel, some remedial works and freshening up are required. The attitude of the waiting staff and the majority of staff, to be completely honest, however, was disgusting. On our second evening at dinner, it was very windy on the terrace and we asked to be moved to an inside table (before we had ordered any food or drink). The waiter glared at us and was clearly not happy. He offered us a table inside and then literally slammed the ceramic candle holder onto the table with a thud, followed by the plates and cutlery and simply left them for us to set out ourselves. He then threw the bread basket onto the table. It was appalling and with hind sight, we should have complained and left the restaurant, however, we were just stunned and decided not to eat there again. For the remainder of our stay, we enjoyed our evenings at alternative restaurants in the village. In summary, whilst we will definitely visit Sant'Angelo again, sadly, we would not stay at the Miramare.

    The location was amazing. Fabulous views and the little town/village of Sant'Angelo was just beautiful. The young female receptionist who greeted us on arrival was exceptional. Unfortunately I cannot recall her name, but her manner and her English were faultless.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Overall, I loved everything. The one item which needs improvement is the bathroom. My shower was tiny, tiny - about 18 inches square. The view more than compensated for this, but might be difficult for some.

    Location was fabulous. Room had a balcony overlooking the Med. Loved watching the sunrise right from the room. Staff was very friendly and welcoming - tried to accommodate all our needs. Loved the restaurant terrace overlooking the Med and the private stairway to ledge on the Med where we could swim.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet is below any stardards - unstable, slow and going down after 3 - 4 min use, we asked staff for help but they didn't react saying everything is working. Renovation / redecoration of the rooms is a must.

    Perfect location, great facilities including beach and thermal park, great and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the pools are a walk to the hotel and most of them not allowed for children under 12. this was not properly explained on the web site.

    the view was amazing!

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The spa area could use a little updating, but we enjoyed the thermal pools and the poolside restaurant.

    Loved the location and surrounding natural beauty.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On their website it should be noted that they're located in a carfree zone and that you either walk 15 minutes with your luggage or pay 3€/person and 3€/bag for a ride in a golf cart

    view, staff, breakfast, quietness.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was not motivated. We tried to have dinner at the restaurant after a recommendation from the reception of the hotel, and the food was below average. Breakfast was unappealing.

    The hotel itself, the location is great, easy access to the see, great thermal swimming pools. Espresso coffee was good.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    One small complaint: spotty wifi.

    Wonderful staff. Violene was our first contact person at the front desk. She was gracious, helpful, always attentive ( and with a smile) and went out of her way to accommodate us.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We didnt know you can't reach hotel reception by taxi. We got dropped at a taxi stand at the nottom of the hill about 150 meters grom the hotel. Someone at the taxi stand where we were dropped off called someone with a golf cart to transport us and our luggage the remainder of the way at a cost of €13, which I don't recall reading about on booking.com. Would have been good to know.

    The hotel is on a picturesque hillsde overlooking the sea. Very helpful staff. Room was comfortable, decent size with small balcony.You can enjoy meals or drinks on the terrace. Private spa pools and beach a few minutes walk from hotel. Small town of Sant Angelo with lovely shops, cafes and restaurants is right outside the door.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovation

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Expensive.....

    Beautiful rooms on the cliff, gorgeous view from rooms with sea view, clean, well equipped, spa nearby, good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Locationt, breakfast and very attentive and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel maintenance status

    The position dominating the bay The Aphrodite Spa free access The customer Service

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    furnishings room and bathroom

    view, food, therms, srew

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 38

Browse Miramare Sea Resort & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: