Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Park Hotel Regina 3 stars

Viale Umberto I°, 157, 55022 Bagni di Lucca, Italy

#2 of 5 hotels in Bagni di Lucca

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 187 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very pleasant stay, breakfast had a good choice, fresh. Rooms fresh and clean. Only downside is no one on duty in the evening, only way in is by key code which is not satisfactory. To go out of the hotel the door is released by pushing a button on the door which in the case if one family they were unable to do because it was so stiff. Reported incident to staff in the morning. Otherwise very very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The range of foods for breakfast was quite limited.

    Large, comfortable bed. The room's windows were fitted with shutters, window boards, sheers, and curtains, so we could vary the amount of light and sound coming in from the windows.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Old, misleading pictures, no air conditioning, no real towels, poor internet, tv a small as a laptop screen, in between 2 roads, no view at all, poor breakfast, matras crap village has nothing to offer, standard price 142€!!!! Are you kidding me! We paid 88€ which is still 2 too much! We staid in san gimignano argo turismo for 142€/n it was paradise! We booked 2 nights we left early morning after 1 sleepless night and no compensation 178€ 1 night was the worst experience of our life! Congrats to the marketing strategy! Never again better to stay in lucca or around there

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little inefficient. Closed at 8.00pm, and entry code did not always work.

    Quirky and unusual. Close to town centre. Friendly. Nice garden and pool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no air conditioning in the room.

    Nice older style hotel. Swimming Pool was very welcome on a hot hot day. Reception staff friendly and efficient. Breakfast good and plenty. Room comfortable but with no air conditioning, but a fan.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No desk service late evening, so remember to request entry code!

    Extremely comfortable bed, inviting pool & jacuzzi in Romantic location. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception is only open at certain times - and, during much of a recent public holiday, not at all, with no information for residents. The adjoining road can be a little loud if you're not accustomed to occasional traffic passing in to the early hours

    A classical, elegant small hotel, very typical of the attractive small town in which it is located. The small but well-appointed room offered almost everything one would need but, of special mention, was the king-size bed - which has to have been one of the most comfortable beds we have EVER slept in. Nice grounds, at the centre of the town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sometimes tricky back door lock that wasn't a problem. It added to the charm.

    We loved the ambiance of the hotel and felt the history of past poets and writers who also loved the area:the clean air, the architecture, the trees & thermal springs. This is a warm friendly hotel without the glitz.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel in a fantastic setting. Laying round the pool looking at the mountains, you can't get much better. Friendly staff and clean rooms. Would definitely go back.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room was adequate in size, however, decor was outdated and lighting was dingy. Bathroom was not the cleanest and smelt damp and I would recommend refurbishment to the bathroom or better ventilation. No air con, one fan, required to open window exposing the room to the road with cars and motorbikes racing by, harder to sleep!

    Clean and well looked after pool with lovely eating area outside the building, situated in the heart of Bagni Di Lucca with restaurants and attractions close by. Friendly staff - English Speaking. Nice coffee with breakfast (Ask for an American Coffee with milk!!)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning....standard rooms face a rather noisy street - i wish i had upgraded to a rear facing room. Skeleton staff so no reception in evening or early morning.

    Good location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a hotel. Only staffed during main hours. No flexibility to arrive late. We were directed to "find another hotel enroute" when we contacted the hotel to advise we were stuck in very heavy traffic. The receptionist had tried to call us but we were using a different phone to the contact details we originally gave. Reception closes at 8 and there is no cover after that.

    Beds were fairly comfortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is close to the road and road noise could be an issue for some people. Bed covers a bit worn in places.

    Comfortable hotel with stunning scenery, great staff and a lovely swimming pool,

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no car so the location was too remote. Not enough to do locally but l had a restful two days No internet!! I have never been anywhere that has No internet!

    Lovely pool, friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Road outside rather noisy so air conditioning would have been good so that we could have closed the windows.

    All of the staff were really lovely and very helpful and genuinely wanted their guests to have a great time with some marvellous suggestions of where to eat. The pool area is great with very comfortable loungers. Excellent hairdryer in bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were not happy here. We received a cold welcome from the receptionist, which was unpleasant after a long drive. Our room (301) was next to the road, which was VERY LOUD and very disturbing throughout the day and night. In fact, everything in this hotel seemed really loud! All the hinges squeaked and needed oiling, and there were gaps under the bedroom doors so all corridor noise came in and woke us up. Someone dumped a load of glass bottles into a recycling wheely bin outside our window at 7am. The door handle and door frame were falling to bits. Towels were very thin, like tea towels. There is no aircon in the room and not even a fan, and it was uncomfortably hot during the day and in the night. Wifi was unstable. Breakfast was a bit weird - a repetitive buffet of sweet desserts, plus some uninteresting cheese and mortadella ham, and super-strong heart-palpitation coffee. Not appetising. This is a hotel slowly falling into disrepair. The main building has a potentially nice balcony at the back but it's unused and wasted. There is a secondary building that is completely dilapidated and falling into ruin. We will not be going back to Park Hotel Regina. It's hugely overpriced and pretty weird in many ways. Don't go here - you won't be happy. Go somewhere else.

    The pool is big and a good temperature and the pool area is lovely and quiet. Bed was comfy. Good restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are horrible, mildew on the walls and holes in the bedspread. I asked to move to another room that was just as bad. This hotel charges more than double than others in the area and it's not worth it. I had some work to do, Wifi is bad and they charge by the hour (unreal in this day and age) yet couldn't get a signal on the 3rd floor. No air or ventilation in room and the street noise is loud and nonstop. I tried to cancel after one night and they laughed at me. Very rude desk staff! I have lodged a formal complaint with Booking.com, DON'T stay here.

    The pool is a nice feature, breakfast is adequate.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The receptionist spoke poor english. There is no AC in the rooms and the nights were pretty unconfortable because of that.Some rooms were a bit noisy because there were too close to the street.

    The pool was very clean, the rooms were very clean too ( there was everyday cleaning ). The location is perfect for visiting northen tuscany. There is a Connad Supermarket nearby.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Great Bed & Breakfast hotel for exploring Lucca 20 miles,Tuscany etc. Next door free parking. Nice patio for drinks, leading to an excellent swimming pool with loungers and sun shades. Reception very helpful and friendly. Good nearby restaurants.Excellent value.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the hotel says it is soundproof,even with the windows closed the noise from the road was very intrusive. As it was, it was much too hot to have the windows closed. Internet access was supposed to be available in our room and even though the access point was right outside our room we couldn't connect. It would have been nice to have fresh fruit as an option for breakfast.

    Loved the pool and the views from hotel,also the breakfast terrace. The staff were lovely and always helpful. The room was a good size and the beds very comfy. It was good to have a lift as our room was on the top floor!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whole experience was an absolute disaster. We were a party of 3 adults and a child of 6,we booked our trip weeks in advance of our travel date stating that we would not be checking in until after 12.00 am due to our flight times. When we arrived at approximatly 12.30 we found the hotel locked up and with no way of getting in to the hotel ,after constantly ringing the number we had been given on our booking conformation the manager answered and refused to allow us in to the hotel, telling us to come back in the morning, he then put down the phone. We had to sleep in the car 3 adults with a 6 year old. We confronted the manager the next day who refused to refund us any money because it was not his fault, he also refused to return our money for the second night we had booked so we had to stay. This gentleman "I use the term very loosely" did not care about our predicament his only concern was money, he is an absolute fraud. We gave the hotel plenty of notice that we would not be checking in until late and they did not advise us that we would not be allowed access. Total lack of concern totally unprofessional !!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great with beautiful scenery,nice balcony, good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great quiet place, very picturesque between green mountains in the valley of the river.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They charge for the WIFI

    Nice and clean beautiful view from the window.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location in the heart of a lovely village. Spotless. Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was hot hot hot. But it didn't ruin our stay

    A very old building in typical Tuscan style

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Charming hotel in a pretty town with great facilities. The staff could not have been more helpful. We were sorry not to be staying longer.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room facing busy road offered on booking.com. Had to pay extra for descent room.

    Good breakfast. Nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Same breakfast every day!

    Location,personal,parking and a very good restaurant across the street!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If You have to go to Bagni di Luca, then the hotel itself was fine. Nothing special, and no wifi or amenities. But for the price, a good value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing to say on this question .The Hotel ,staff/owner/family We're lovely.

    The Hotel totally served my short visit

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything, great location, great staff, faultless.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of wifi

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing,everything fine.

    Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning.

    Staff was extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The rooms where very nice, and the staff where really cute, very helpful and sweet. I enjoyed my stay there. If I would go to Bagni the Lucca I would definitly stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This was a fantastic stay. The owner Roberto was great and from the beginning he made me feel at home. I had travelled for many hours and the first thing he did was to make me a lovely snack of meats and cheeses with an excellent glass of wine. What a welcome. My characterful room faced the river. This is 5 star treatment with 3 star prices. Fabulous value. I will be back. Top marks from me.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    The Manager and Staff excellent and very good English spoken. Everything within easy reach including restaurants and railway to larger cities.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. All excellent

    Excellent Manager and Staff. All very helpful and very good English. Helped in advising day trips etc. Will definitely be returning and would recommend to all my closest friends.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I loved everything about this hotel! Great location, particularly warm friendly and helpful staff, retro elegance and a really tasty breakfast....what more could you want!

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Peaceful old world hotel, the rooms are a good size with a fridge, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The pool area is very pleasent where you can relax to the sound of the river running nearby. Good breakfast which can be taken inside or outside.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception closed at 8.30. Difficult for late arrival. Breakfast buffet was poor, not enough selection.

    Great location, Short walk to restaurants. good swimming pool. lovely view from bedroom. very friendly, helpful staff, good car parking.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was particularly hot this August and so even the balcony bedroom was hot at night Just a weather issue!

    The hotel is in a great location, there are restaurants within walking distance and plenty of local shops within metres. The pool is fantastic and the view from our balcony room was stunning. We were encouraged to upgrade to a balcony room which we did. It did add to cost but it was certainly worth it - not sure if we could have stayed in a smaller bedroom in August. Staff very polite and helpful. We hope to return!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had a 1 year old with us and were placed at the front of the hotel where we could hear extremely loud music until very late! No air conditioning which also made it difficult to get baby to sleep so we has a very restless night with hardly any sleep. For this reason one night was definitely enough!

    Great location and pool. Receptionist very helpful and knowledgable .

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Towels looked more like bedsheets, shower was leaking. Room had no airconditioning, to hot to sleep. Rooms on the roadside are very noisy. The hotel tried to push us to cancel our booking to save themselves the booking.com-fee....

    nice swimming pool and good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of bar services in evening. Can't help thinking that offering a welcome bar and evening meals would make this hotel perfect. Had to go and buy an electric fan as the room was so hot and stuffy

    The staff are amazing. Really helpful and friendly. The pool area is fantastic

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nil.

    Friendly and very helpful managers. Great location. Excellent pool and spa facility. Ample breakfast with pleasant hosts. Wonderful setting for a taste of Tuscany.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was contacted by email the day before departure by the hotel proprietor requesting that I should cancel my booking with booking.com and re book directly with the hotel to an upgraded room at an extra 40 euros per night. I declined this offer as the hotel accommodation was not cheap in the first instance. It later emerged that the rest of the party had also been requested to cancel their booking and 'upgrade'. We were then placed in an enormous ground floor room with 1 double bed and 3 single beds. The two of us were somewhat 'rattling' around this huge impersonal room. The room was without the facilities which other guests had e.g. Wi-Fi, minibar. There appeared to be a 'temporariness' about the room, as if it usually served as a staff base rather than a guest room. The room was itself was identified with an A4 handwritten number stuck to the door with 'sellotape'. While the room was spotlessly clean, the worst thing about our stay was the late night and early morning noise from the busy road directly outside the window! I felt like I hardly had any sleep over the four nights stay. The first morning of our stay, the room was actually entered by a member of staff at approx. 7.00 am with a key through an adjoining linen room door. We were in lying in bed at the time!! This also happened on a second occasion through the main room door but thankfully we were up ready for an early departure that morning. Another morning we were woken at 6.30 by the loud clanking of metal due assembly of the street market directly outside the window. I appreciate that this is out of the hotel's control. Overall, as a regular traveller and hotel booker, I was disappointed with the hotel. By not paying cancelling our booking with booking.

    My daughter and I stayed at the hotel in order to attend a family wedding in nearby village. The hotel location was good in the centre of Bagni di Lucca and near to local restaurants and bus stops. The swimming pool was lovely with pool side bathing areas and the attendant was helpful, putting up parasols etc. The hotel garden was beautifully maintained. The young girl on reception, who seemed to do everything, was very pleasant and provided us with a packed breakfast on the morning of early departure.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have been travelling to Bagni di Lucca for over 50 years to visit family. This is the first time I have had the opportunity to stay in a hotel. We were very impressed by the facilities and cleanliness of the hotel and by the staff. Excellent breakfast and great value for money. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noise from the main road is disturbing at night a bit light coming from the hall to the room shines directly to the bed

    very nice staff, great location, room had all that we needed, breakfast was delicious

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No air conditioning.

    The staff, the pool, the atmosphere, the location, the price.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sarah on reception is a lovely friendly helpful person, nothing is too much trouble for her

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No Air Con Road outside Busy

    The staff were very accommodating

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms in bad need of air conditioning

    Lovely place and lovely staff lovely location

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms on road side very noisy, could not keep window open. No air con, bathroom smells fusty.

    Pleasant staff, great pool.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Aircon panel did not seem to be connected to any aircon system.

    The pool. Fabulous nearby restaurant

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No dislike

    The hotel was in central beside restaurant shop bus services

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff, very helpful

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free wi-fi

    I loved the comfort and the proximity to the center of Bagni di Lucca. Loved the cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good breakfast, helpful manager

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    an intime hotel'with personal treatment/

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Browse Park Hotel Regina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: