Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Pelican Beach Resort & SPA - Adults Only 4 stars

Via Mar Adriatico, 34, 07026 Olbia, Italy

#19 of 28 hotels in Olbia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 184 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 58

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    If you want a tranquil beach escape, this is the place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The main thing that annoyed me about the stay was that water from the tap was not drinkable and that bottles of water at the restaurant were €4. If the tap water is not drinkable, I feel that it should be provided. Equally, no tea & coffee making facilities, which is always a down side for me!

    Pelican was a lovely place to stay for peace and quiet, and a real beach escape! The staff were very helpful and I particularly appreciated use of the spa shower on our last day so that we could enjoy the beach before going to the airport. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    I’d recommend this hotel only for middle age couples wanting 1x1 time together.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff was not particularly friendly and insisted charging me 2.5 Euros for a small bottle of drinking water in my room when their water is stated (above the sink) to be non-potable. I found this to be very irritating, especially since there are no stores around the hotel that sell bottled water. Also, the sand on the beach around their chairs should be raked to remove old seaweed.

    Good place for a couple who wants to be left alone to themselves. Most couples were in their mid 50s.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    A nice holiday, our first to Sardinia and our trip to see the islands made our week
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beach, in particular, the Hotel beach, we named it muesli beach, it hadn't been raked and looked after at all. For what it has cost us for 1 week we could have gone to the Carribean for 2 weeks and probably even have upgraded flights. Our room had a garden view so I was happy but had I had a room in the Reception area of the Hotel overlooking the road I would not have been very happy.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly, it was a relaxed location and the rooms were kept very clean. A short transfer from the airport which was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    Pretty beach, very close.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Noise isolation very poor, you can hear absolutely everything from your neighbours. Room service didn´t clean the bathroom properly. Poor breakfast.

    Pretty beach, very close. Nice hotel, very friendly and helpful people! Nice view from the "gym" and from the breakfast restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel with friendly and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel with friendly and nice staff. Breakfast was great. The restaurant has great sea view. And beach is right near the hotel. Though we had only 1 night here, but would definitely stay for longer. Also it way nice that hotel has transit room. So last day after checkout we could go to the sea and had shower and change clothes there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.9
    Great resort, private, well kept, beautiful grounds, beautiful food and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The price of the rooms

    Great local and great staff, Beautiful food and atmosphere. everything is expensive in Sardenia when you stay at a hotel rated this highly, so suck it up and enjoy!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice place with good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at the check-in time and tried to make a reservation at the restaurant and were told it was already fully booked for the evening and was for the next few days so it wasn't possible for us to go during out stay.

    Nice place with good facilities. Beach access is great and the pool and spa were excellent. Included breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.7
    Hotel was located right on the beach with private lawns and beach. The beach was quiet and very
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was No Dressing table in the room and no hooks to hang towels in the bathroom. There was also no writing pads nor pen was placed in the room.

    location in the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful and peaceful stay with attentive staff and lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have eaten better food in Sardinia. Not to say it was bad, but it did feel a little mass -produced.

    Such a lovely tranquil spot. Clean, friendly and lovely little touches with everything,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    6.7
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was bad. Scrambled eggs look like they were made from powder. Rooms were tiny. The hotel is split in two buildings. If you are staying in the back building you are not allowed to sit on hotel lawn near the beach! This was never mentioned on the site or during reservation. Very overpriced. The location (Pintolongu) was very disappointing.

    Kind staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.5
    lovely location, nice decoration, fab staff but not 4 star quality in a few basic ways.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC in rooms controlled by reception unless you stand on the bed to reach the controls, front deck chairs reserved for suites. So silly. Smokers allowed to smoke next to eating areas. Entire area of lawn and seating should be non smoking, or at least areas around food. Double beds are two twins that slip apart with uncomfortable split in the middle. Coffee at breakfast is instant!! Seriously!

    Staff, pool, beach, cocktails.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Great Breakfast and Dinner, also the location of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    beach vendors on the beach

    Great Breakfast and Dinner, also the location of the restaurant directly at the seaside, Spa Area with Whirlpool and Sauna, relaxation area... The private Beach with complimentary beach towels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    On the whole a nice, peaceful break. Lovely beach and mainly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has a part of the sun loungers that are only allowed for guests staying in suites - seemed unnecessary, particularly as these were the shadier areas. The rooms were not very well sound proofed and you can easily hear the noises from the next door rooms (caused early wakes ups on most days). Location is not good if you don't have a car - it is a 20 minute walk to the nearest restaurants.

    The setting of the hotel is very peaceful. Great little beach; very good breakfast that is served until 10:30 (ideal when you have left the kids behind). Nice ambiance. Rooms have great black out curtains to help sleep in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable but quiet - Rent a car!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too far from anything for my personal taste. If you rent a car though, there's plenty to discover! The pool and the spa are a little soulless. The private beach isn't actually private as people pass right in front non-stop.

    One of the friendliest places we've ever stayed at. Front desk, restaurant, life guard - all so helpful! Nice rooms, fantastic restaurant and lovely views. Np kids around so perfect for relaxation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    Great facilities and Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were very poorly soundproofed. Some people didn't understand the Spa was a quiet area.

    The restaurant spa and restaurant were great. The small gym has the most amazing views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.3
    Great Hotel for a simple getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pool was cold (May) SPA was limited - only Jacuzzi outside which was a bit cold in the evening . Rooms could do with modernizing but were very clean TV - English channels very limited, Bar drinks were a little expensive

    Very good food Fantastic WIFI Very quite hotel - no hassle - perfect for a simple relaxing getaway Colleagues very friendly - Barman was excellent Plenty of outdoor space to relax - excellent access to beach. Good area for walking - felt very safe

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.7
    Big, clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too expensive. The dinner is absolutely overrated in price and it is not that good level as we expected. Personal a bit arrogant, waited long and when received the food we were not sattisfied with the quality. Absolutely not worth money paid.

    Big, clean room. Nice view from the restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    A beautiful place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Private beach was great. The staff were very helpful and always greeted us with a smile. We loved the appetisers we got with every drink. Extremely happy with a stay at Pelican Beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Tranquility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and facilities were beautiful,very tranquil..vip treatment,staff very professional and friendly and happy to assist with any problems/questions.wish we had of booked into restaurant for dinner ,as it smelt amazing, but it was late and it was booked out.lovely eateries close by though ,especially the trattoria Rossi .Loved afternoon drinks in the garden with appetisers ,delicious!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.9
    Location location location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small for the price. No internet in the room which is basic these days. Could not drink the water in room.

    Location location location. Make sure you get up for an early morning swim with the locals on the beach.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location and VERY relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and VERY relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.8
    Location good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced for standard of accommodation

    Location good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Perfect!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Beach Front
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a beachfront room and expected to be beachfront, it just meant the block of rooms was beachfront.

    Most amazing beach!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic relaxing setting attentive staff and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steam room smelt of old socks

    Fantastic staff and food

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful resort with fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of entertainment

    Very quiet, not a great deal of night life, good for relaxing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.0
    resort fine but should have been half the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the gym, the mini bar

    massively overpriced for what you got

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to open the windows to renew the air in the room.

    Location and facilities. Recommended for honeymoon.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Excellent staff, food and beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff, food and beautiful hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    3.3
    Never stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The women who worked the front desk. The lighting. The beds.

    The staff was so rude! The worst!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    8.8
    Relaxing and quiet beachfront stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to check the bill as extras were added we didn't have.

    Quiet beachfront location. Perfect for some downtime. The spa is lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    9.6
    Exceptional food, location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Exceptional food, location and staff. We will definitely be returning.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    Friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Friendly service Very clean rooms Beautiful location (and short transfer) Excellent food & wine!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.8
    The staff was amazing: very friendly and truly helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The organised trip (visit to nearby villages and Porto Cervo) was too expensive for what we actually did. The buffet breakfast could be a little improved.

    The staff was amazing: very friendly and truly helpful (especially the manager, the reception staff, Mauro, Elibeth, Antonio, Gaia, Matteo, and the chef). During our staying I proposed to my girlfriend and they were able to organize a spectacular and exquisite romantic dinner. The adjacent beach is lovely and the hotel can provide all sort of services to visit Sardinia . The food is excellent, the hotel facilities are extremely clean and tidy.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    10
    The food was sensational.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The food was sensational. The staff were exceptional. The private beach was so quite and relaxing. The day spa was brilliant. It's exactly what I was looking for and needed. I'd definitely go back.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.2
    Beach very good,beach service very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were too late in season. We're not aware that hotel closed at end of September so things very run down at end. Menu good but same menu every day needed some day specials.

    Beach very good,beach service very good.staff very friendly and helpful.hotel furnishings and comfort very good.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    10
    The hotel is very nice situated immediatelly by the sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is very nice situated immediatelly by the sea,which is unbelievable clear. I like design of the hotel with special relaxing atmosphere,which make us feeling very well. Personall was always ready to help us with needs any time we need.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    6.7
    Location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dogs were allowed in the restaurant which surprised us and others!! We complained and dogs were subsequently excluded at least at meal times. Slow drinks service pre-dinner.

    Location and friendly staff. Excellent cuisine particularly dinner. small shower cubicle and hot/cold/hot shower.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.2
    Very quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool overflows on to path. WiFi with poor connection and not in rooms. Limited breakfast for cereal choices such as Muesli. Bedroom with lack of hooks for towels in the bathroom or for dressing gowns. No tissues.

    Very quiet place. Lovely beach. Good atmosphere. Nice setting. Close to Olbia. Very kind staff in particular Antonio, Elibete, Mauro, Emanuelle and reception staff. No children. Our bedroom close to restaurant and sea.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    3.8
    Staff polite, but insufficient, service suffered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I am somewhat surprised at the pelican's claim to four star rating, our stay started badly with an invitation to get changed in the toilets as our rooms were not ready (it being a Spa they could have offered a shower). Facilities were very cramped, the pool is of a terrible design and space in restaurant, bar and beach insufficient for the number of guests. The restaurant was ok, but only ok, and the (short) menu did not change for the fortnight we stayed. Breakfast is limited in choice and singularly unappealing. As has been commented on by other reviewers, breakfast is understaffed so you will struggle to even get a coffee served. Had the Pelican been an urban hotel this would all have been forgivable, but it is in the middle of nowhere with limited facilities or entertainments in walking distance or reachable conveniently. The final and most irritating element of this hotel is that even with the tiny beach crammed three deep, the lovely and spacious gardens... are off limits. Use is reserved for those who are allocated rooms in one wing of the hotel, the other guests are deemed "second class" and may not use the garden - even if empty. I do not recommend this hotel.

    Staff polite, but insufficient, service suffered.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.1
    Good location at beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Sunloungers on grass limited to certain guests only Bed in hotelroom was too firm and thus uncomfortable. When asking for a mattress topper, the hotel couldn't provide it but laid a think blanket on, which frankly didn't change the firmness

    Good location at beach Restaurant food good and reasonably priced

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    7.5
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room that we stayed had its windows on to the outdoor hallway such guests who were walking past to get there rooms had a view into our room. The only option wast to shut the curtains which then meant that the sea view was disturbed. The hotel is located in a remote area which means that having a car to get around is not optional.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The general quality and cleanliness of the hotel is of very high standards. The beach/garden area is very very relaxing and private.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    8.8
    Beach front facility, staffs are all nice, friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant services are very poor. They were extremely occupied and trying not to notice customer's request or call.

    Beach front facility, staffs are all nice, friendly and helpful. If you want to spend your precious vacation time without kids, this is the place.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    6.3
    Beach front
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beach is not at all as you see it in the pictures, completely misleading. If you are beach fun, don't go to this hotel. We had to drive to different beaches in Sardinia evey day. Wi-fi is zero points, don't even think that there is wi-fi in the hotel.

    Beach front

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    10
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There-is no Wi-Fi in rooms and rather poor Wi-Fi in public areas as well.

    Location was great. Excellent spa. Very friendly and supportive staff. Clean room and nice pool. Beach and Hotel's restaurant are located just cross the road from the hotel. Olbia airport is just 15 minutes by car, which was very useful for us as well.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.6
    Incredibly friendly staff;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel prides itself on being 'adults only' but the beach is right next to a public beach with plenty of children. Not a big issue overall, but just something to be mindful of.

    Incredibly friendly staff; always helpful and there to assist! The location was ideal and between the pool and the beach it was great to see.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bathrobes. Very weak coffee at breakfast from flask. No room service apart from breakfast, it would have been nice to get a coffee in our room. No corkscrew in room to open wine in Mini Bar!

    Friendly staff. Very clean all round. Lovely food

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    9.6
    We went to the resort drying off peak.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Can't think much!!!

    We went to the resort drying off peak. Beach chairs were always available, did not need to wait for the restaurant. Nice mix of clientele who enjoy relaxing beach time. Staff were very friendly and professional who made us feel very welcomed. We will definitely go back there !

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    All Staff was amazing .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    All Staff was amazing . Specially Valentina!!! She is the best employee ever. She took care of all my requests. Made my stay memorable!

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.5
    Food,peacefulness, pool,beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    2nd class status if staying in the new addition to the hotel complex.

    Food,peacefulness, pool,beaches.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    10
    All, a lovely stay, good restaurant, tasty food, romantic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All, a lovely stay, good restaurant, tasty food, romantic setting, nice beach clear water... we would go back

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    9.2
    Good view, nice swimming pool and spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room is abit small and dark.

    Good view, nice swimming pool and spa

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.5
    The staff are very nice and the location is perfect for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff are very nice and the location is perfect for relaxing

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    The place is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I have no bad experience in this hotel

    The place is amazing Stuff are more the lovely

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    9.2
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi Fi - bad Beach - busy

    Location. Superior room upgrade - brilliant. Restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.6
    Direct access to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit pricey. Somewhat hard to get reductions on anything.

    Direct access to the beach. Very nice swimming pool and spa.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.8
    Beach and gardens were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beach and gardens were lovely.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    9.6
    Great facilities and staff, very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great facilities and staff, very enjoyable.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    5.4
    Very poor wi Fi and none in rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Food was poor and too expensive

    Very poor wi Fi and none in rooms Foodie restaurant London prices and very poor indeed

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 58

Guests also reviewed these properties: