Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Pensione Seguso 2 stars

Zattere 779, Dorsoduro, 30123 Venice, Italy

#229 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 170 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Paid WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful and cozy hotel in a very nice part of old Venice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no air conditioning in the room, so I imagine that it will be a bit hot in high summer. As the weather was mixed during my stay, it was fine for me - even though I had to choose between heat and an open window resulting in a nice breeze, but also some mosquitos. The big advantage of being so close to the Vaporetto also means that you hear the boats in the morning. But as they don't run during the night, I slept perfectly. It is an old building, so sometimes you can hear your neighbors in the other rooms - this hotel just requires some mutual respect and thoughtfulness towards each other.

    I fell in love with Pensione Seguso: It is a small hotel with a very traditional and beautiful interior. In my cosy little room with a surprisingly comfortable bed, I had a wonderful view on the water and watched the ships go by. The bathrooms, that I shared, were enough (actually, there was only one single time that one of the three bathrooms in the first floor was occupied when I went for my morning shower) and always very clean. The stuff was also incredibly friendly and helpful with every question. The best, however, was that the hotel is in a 3-minutes walk of the Vaporetto station with direct lines to almost anywhere. That was especially convenient for me as I had to go to Lido every day. The location is in a more quiet part of Venice (less tourists) but still in the center and close to the main attractions (15 - 20 min walk to San Marco). The WiFi was free and worked very well.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.2
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    It did not have air conditioner. It was very hot and the fan provided was noisy that I had hard time sleeping at night. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The room virtually didn't have space to even open our suitcases. The bed and just small space around it... that was it. The curtain rod fell as I was trying to close the curtain. In the bathroom, they provided shampoo and soap and towels. Nothing else.

    The staff was kind.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Old world charm right on the canal in Dorsoduro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. This was only an issue for one night when it was hot.

    It was difficult to leave, I loved it so much! It was like stepping back in time with antique furniture and old world charm. Breakfast was delicious. Staff was lovely. Location in Dorsoduro was perfect. Right on the water--what a view! They let us leave our luggage after we checked out so we could walk around some more before it was time to leave.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    I stayed in a room on the first floor and its view was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in a room on the first floor and its view was wonderful. I didnt have any problem about using wifi, it was always full in my room. I felt very peaceful and comfortable. Staff were very nice people. They were always debonair and helpful. If i had a chance to visit Venice again, there is no doubt that i would resevation in this place. Thank you so much for everything :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    No private bathroom in the room and it wasn't clearly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No private bathroom in the room and it wasn't clearly listed. I could here someone snoring in the room next to mine cause the rooms are separated just by a door. All of this For 130 euro a night. Outrageous to be honest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    An excellent location and a friendly atmosphere. This hotel is packed with charm and very well run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The mattress in my room was too hard for my comfort, but I was taken to another room to try out its mattress for my next stay. Perfect!

    The location is second to none, overlooking the Giudecca Canal and the San Vio and minutes away from Zattere stop. The pensione is packed with charming details. The staff were most friendly, welcoming and very helpful. It is basic in that many rooms are not en suite, but there are plenty of bathrooms on each floor, all kept scrupulously clean. in warm weather there is an excellent outside space to sit for a cappucino or a drink, as well as a comfortable lounge.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    5.4
    It’s still a charming hotel with a great Canel View (if you book a balcony view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows and towels were awful. Evening lobby staff was moody. Had to close the windows at night, wait 10 min. then go around killing all the mosquitos landed on the walls before going to sleep.

    View was excellent. Good location near to Academia Bridge and Peggy Guggenheim Musuem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Do not modernize!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    As noted before by others, breakfastbread not worth the name.

    very nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Nice to be able to sit outside, the furniture there not up to the overall style though. Will come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.5
    Ancient pensione on the Giudecca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price is quite steep, but it is in Venice, therefore everything is expensive.

    The position is excellent, within 100 steps of the Vaporetto stop of Zattere. It overlooks the Canal of Giudecca, and we had a room with a splendid view. On Saturdays and Sundays, many of the world's largest cruise ships pass by - a treat if you like to "spot" ships - on their way to the Cruise Terminal. It is a beautiful, ancient building, but it has a lift (small and often very busy). Some rooms don't have a bathroom. The staff is very professional and helpful. The bridge of Accademia is also nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    6.7
    It's hot and have lots of mosquitoes in the summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no air conditioning, the day I stayed there is very hot. Because there is no air conditioning, I need to open the window, and I got bite by lots of mosquitoes. I killed 8 mosquitoes during the night.

    Good view from the window, you can see the river.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Very pretty hotel in a quiet part of Venice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved pensione Seguso. It is located in one of the quieter parts of Venice, the furniture is really pretty and although you share the bathroom with other guests, it was always very clean - and always free. The staff was really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    3.3
    Rustic to another level and over priced, I won't be staying again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small singh bed, only one pillow, shared bathroom which didn't even have a shower, not all windows opened as there was building work going on, and over priced And everything in the room did not sit properly or was broken and leaning against the wall

    My room was really small, and had a really small single bed, the furniture in the room wobbled very rustic but to another level, there was building work going on early morning to, basically it was somewhere where I could put my head down, my room did not have a bathroom either which was on the landing to be shared with others, it was actually quite a depressing room , Luckily I was hardly there and enjoyed what Venice had to offer,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    7.5
    Family-owned waterfront pensione with a long tradition
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast would haved benefitted from variety of bread, fresh fruit and a little protein. Shared bathroom not ideal, but quite convenient.

    We liked the owner, Signora Seguso and her staff very much - also the magnificent double room overlookimg the water and the Giudecca shoreline opposite.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    8.8
    Atmospheric, elegantly furnished and slightly old-fashioned - in a good way!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitoes in November!!

    I am not after luxury. I like established, civilised places which keep doing well what they have always done. Good location, courtesy and atmosphere. Pensione Seguso achieves all this.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    7.5
    A good base to explore Venice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit basic but adequate for our needs.

    Easy access from cruise berth and to airport and central Venice. Quaint and with friendly staff. Lovely canal view.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    8.3
    A beautiful old building in good condition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Basically no shower gel provided. Breakfast was very very simple but sufficient.

    A beautiful old building in good condition. Lovely and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.3
    Old Friend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No honey or home-made jam for breakfast. Hope "old friend" won't take offence!

    We love The Seguso; it always feels like revisiting an old friend. Our fifth visit; in the past we have brought family, friends, teen-age grand-daughters and are always given lovely rooms facing the wide Guidecca canal, which one can sit and watch for hours on end from a big armchair in the window before wandering through the quiet square behind the hotel to visit the nearby Accademia Gallery

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Really: Best place to stay in Venice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really: Best place to stay in Venice!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    The staff are amazing and really friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are amazing and really friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous and will definitely stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The charm and feel of being in Italy is truly enhanced in this propeety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Venice for sure. Not the most comfortable, not so practical but we love it in this great location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THERE IS SOMETHING SPECIAL WITH PENSIONE SEGUSO. MAYBE NOT THE MOST PRACTICAL AND COMFORTABLE BUT JUST SOMETHING. ALWAYS LOVED IT.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    It has an ambience I never get tired of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can take on a little water at high tide but that also is part of Venice.

    Has the original feel of Venice, windows over the canal, antiques eveywhere

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    GREAT CHARM / BEST LOCATION !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast is not so thrilling.

    There is something with Seguso that makes you love it. The location and the charm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.1
    Central but old accomodation, useful for a short trip/stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Old interior with terrible bed frame. No darkening curtains for the windows

    Central location, close to everything and directly on the canals

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Laft nothing to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The stay was exactly what I wanted

    Staff were always chatty, and helped me to book trips, and provided information

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    3.3
    Was very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, bed, privacy...etc

    Nothing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    Original and quirky. Brilliant location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning- but had big fan.

    Full of character. Quirky. Loved location. Staff were so friendly and helpful. View from window was heaven.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Very good accommodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good accommodation! Super location, clean rooms and personal

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    Good, close to the vaporetto stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Heat and flies at night

    Small and cosy

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.0
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    asked 3 times for door latch to be repaired and it wasnt

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    4.2
    Do not stay there in a hot season
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC, not even ceiling fan, moscitos and overwhelming heat - was not able to sleep

    Receptionist and a breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location, people and time spent In Pensione
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like a shared bathroom. Not that fully comfy

    Great location, people and time spent In Pensione

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very curious and it was conviently located. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Venice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.2
    The best Pensione in "La Serenissima"!
    • Family with young children
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Fantastic Staff + Wonderful location + Beautiful rooms + Delicious food = "Tutto Perfetto"!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    Dreamlike location in Venezia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared bathroom

    A amazing location - best view of Venice

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.1
    Pleasant Hotel on Zattere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast No longer serving dinner nor using a sitting room

    View of Giudecca from windows Location and staff Elevator

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    Location, Building design
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Canal View Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Oder in evening from outside

    Location, Building design

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    6.7
    Friendly staff - great recommendations for dinner &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    room is very small; beds are small and very 'soft'; no bath in the room (shared); moskitos everywhere; breakfast was less than average ... everything is much more expensive ... that's the 'Venice-Bonus' (e.g. 30min Gondoliere: 120,-EUR; icecream @San Marco 16,-EUR)

    Friendly staff - great recommendations for dinner & booked those for me; helped me with a parking-solution for my motorbike & the waterbus-system; close to san marco centre / 15min to walk

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    8.8
    DECOUR JUST RIGHT FOR VENICE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WARDROBE DOOR WOULD NOT SHUT

    DECOUR JUST RIGHT FOR VENICE. HOTEL POSITION PERFECT

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    7.1
    Memories !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Limited facilities but full of character as a place to saty for a day or two.

    Memories ! Last stayed there fifty years ago on honeymoon ! Nothing appears to have changed - except the staff, of course.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    7.1
    The staff was available, kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My single room had a very narrow bed. The first floor where I stayed with shared bathroom was very shabby. Walls in my room were pealing in places and the hallways and bathrooms were sufficient but shabby. Hallways could have been cleaner.

    The staff was available, kind and helpful. The breakfast offered was extensive and nicely served. The location was excellent and the common rooms was pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.5
    Great place in Venice: not in the tourist crowds and yet you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast and beds are quite basic. No airco in rooms.

    Great place in Venice: not in the tourist crowds and yet you can walk to Marco Polo Sq. in 10 mins. Friendly staff. Rooms and shared bath room were clean.

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    9.6
    Location is absolutely extraordinary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As a solo female traveler, it would be nice to have a more secure locking system for the door to the room...but I didn't really feel unsafe.

    Location is absolutely extraordinary. Ambiance is older and charming.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    6.7
    Loved the antique furniture and the classic design of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No A/C, no internet connection. If you get a room facing the terrace, you are at the mercy of fellow customers who might make themselves at home there at 4 a.m in the morning. Could not close the windows because the weather was hot.

    Loved the antique furniture and the classic design of the hotel. Good hot coffee in the morning, but better get to breakfast early, or it might not be so. The windows are tightly sealed against noise. Very good location.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    8.3
    Friendly helpful staff and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very uncomfortable bed. Shared bathroom with handheld shower or bath only but less hassle than I expected and very clean.

    Friendly helpful staff and excellent location. Free wifi a bonus as not expecting it

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    8.3
    A really beautiful Venetian house, and run very much as a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Try to get one of the charming maids to make you proper 'caffe latte' in a cup, with a little jug of hot milk at breakast........and try to avoid the very weak ,nearly cold, coffee in a pot (albeit a beautiful old one !)Unless ,of course, that is what you prefer.......

    A really beautiful Venetian house, and run very much as a house. Don't expect mod cons and slick styling....thank goodness.More 'Wings of the Dove' than 'Wild Times in Venice' Very elegant and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    9.2
    Very comfy bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Always a slight smell of gas from the kitchen -- could that be removed?

    Very comfy bed

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    5.0
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    To far from railway station and attractions Hotel a bit old

    Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    7.5
    The position was awesome, great view from bedroom window,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The position was awesome, great view from bedroom window, nice place.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    8.8
    Staffs and a location is good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was difficult for me to lock my room.

    Staffs and a location is good!

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.0
    Beautiful location to grand canal and very handy for water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful location to grand canal and very handy for water taxis. Easy to walk st marks square. Very quaint and authentic,

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    9.0
    Very handy of zattere water bus stop and easy walk into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very handy of zattere water bus stop and easy walk into town.quiter part of town but plenty of restaurants nearby

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    Charming old house, convenient location, stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Charming old house, convenient location, stunning views.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    8.8
    Position, historic feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast only average

    Position, historic feel.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: