Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Pensione Svizzera 3 stars

Via Luigi Pirandello 26, 98039 Taormina, Italy

#16 of 71 hotels in Taormina

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 704 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, and some rooms are on 3rd or 4th floor. Whilst this didn’t bother my partner and I, it may bother others.

    This hotel is in a perfect location. It is right next to the entrance for the Gondola (taking you directly to Isola Bella beach). It is also only a short stroll into the city center from the hotel (3 mins). It’s lovely and quiet, the views from the breakfast are beautiful. The staff are lovely and extremely helpful. We very much enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than expected, but I had the standard one. However it had a breathtaking seaview

    The location and the their garden which gives you the feeling you are in an oasis.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Lack of a lift made the stair climb to the top (4th) floor hard work, especially after a day's cycling.

    An excellent, modestly-priced pensione ideal as a base for exploring the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped bedroom and en suite shower room - you had to be something of a contortionist to get in and out of shower cubicle; shower design was such that after every shower the floor was flooded. Warnings about steep and numerous stairs need to be clearer in the hotel’s publicity.

    Comfortable bed; good view from window; nice garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    while climbing the stairs wasn't our favorite part, we were helped with luggage on arriving and leaving, too.

    two large windows, one facing the sea were delightful; bed was very comfortable; and the hotel was very quiet. eating and sitting areas outstandingly pleasant. the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great,clean rooms and most important 5mins walk from taormina centre and 1min walk for bus station.GREAT LOCATION..will come back for sure and suggest it to family and friends :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in a beautiful picturesque tourist town. The place to see if you are visiting Sicily. I think, because of very limited space in this crowded, steep city, all the hotels have small rooms and limited facilities. We had a lovely balcony (only 1 large one is available) and a great view. We did LOTS of walking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Convenient location - close to funivia and bus station. Excellent breakfast, great views (book higher floor!), caring and helpful staff. Prompt responses to email inquiries, even before booking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly staff including housekeeping with a lovely breakfast room. This hotel is a few minute walk to the bus station which was one of the reasons we booked it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator.

    Excellent location, a walking distance from the cable car and Porta Messina, and all of Taormina's main attractions. A great view, very friendly and helpful staff, everything was so clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downfall is there is no elevator and our room was on the second floor, but the bellman carried our bags up to the room. We had to pay for a parking space to park the car like $15 Euro a day. But I think that is typical.

    The view from our room was lovely, the room was comfortable, the staff was extremely accommodating and helpful. We had an early morning tour and they prepared an early breakfast for us. The hotel was close to the bus station where our tour left from.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely quaint accommodation set in a beautiful garden area - enjoyed drinks in the garden and a lovely breakfast which was well done. Staff were all friendly and professional, Room is comfortable clean not overly spacious but large enough. easy access to the old city area - loads of cafes and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only drawback was encountering buses on all the curves driving up which forced us to have to backup a few times. Once we got there we did not move car. Took public transportation

    Rooms were very comfortable with water views were just beautiful. Some traffic noise because on main road but relaxing garden area made up for it. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Convenient location to everything on top of Taormina . Short walk to everything even funicular.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are only stairs in this 4-floor hotel. Not a problem for us, as we were on the ground and basement levels. People on the 4th floor may have some of the best sea views in Taormina (we did not have any view), but they need to lug their cases up there first. There were many items on offer at breakfast, all of them unremittingly dull and tasteless. The meal was as copious as it was uninspiring. Outside the hotel, the Via Luigi Pirandello was heaving with tourists most of the time. We tried to escape into the old, original part of the town, but couldn't get away from the feeling that everything there had been contaminated by the town's popularity.

    I was seeking an old-fashioned hotel that gave one the flavour of Taormina before it became the tourist-infested location that it now is. Pensione Svizzera was the right choice for this. Built in the 20s, its deep pinky-ochre external paintwork and architecture bring to mind the wealthy English traveller from the Jazz Age. The hotel offers breakfast on the terrace or indoors - the terrace, with its sea view, is the dining area of choice, but be prepared to get there early if you want a good front-row seat. There is also a Happy Hour where, seated outside in the very pleasantly planted and appointed courtyard, one can get competitively discounted drinks between 5pm-8pm. My son-in-law claimed that the hotel's Aperol Spritz was the best he'd had on our 8-day visit to Sicily - and he did sample rather too many! Nice touch: the hotel offers a complimentary bottle of red wine in each bedroom. We haven't tried ours yet, but we did manage to get it back to the UK in one piece. Wifi signal is good - there is also a free-to-use computer and printer in one of the downstairs sitting rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lift, and 42 steps up to room; however, we knew at the outset we would be walking up

    Staff was very accommodating; location VERY convenient to bus station and sites in Taormina. Breakfast was superb!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is a really nice building which is just a 5 minutes walk away from the old town. The breakfast place has a wonderful view of the sea and breakfast iitself was amazing! The staff is really forthcoming and helpful. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend La Pensione Svizzera!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel airconditioning, whilst it worked was quite noisy. Two large suitcases in a room was a bit squeezy, a rack being provided for one only. Did not need two desk chairs in the room.

    The hotel's proximity to shops and the main sites, for example the Greek Theatre was all within walking distance. The shuttle service offered by the hotel to the beach was a bonus, although the skyway to the beach was steps away. There was an easy short walk to the bus terminal. The airport shuttle service worked well, the hotel staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - it was perfect

    Our room with a sea view was beautiful. It was very comfortable and spacious. The staff were very friendly and attentive including the Reception cat. Breakfast on the terrace was most enjoyable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful sea views from our 3rd floor room and a decent sized bathroom and shower. Very attentive staff and fabulous location. We were sorry not to be there for a longer stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only drawback is no elevator but they do have staff that carry your bags.

    this is an enchanting place to stay with lovely staff members. My 4th time here.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was really too small to do anything but stand there. The room was too small for travellers on the go for 7 weeks. Better quality pillows are required. There is no lift but staff helped with the bags. Taormina is very busy so be prepared for traffic noise.

    We had a nice sea view but no balcony. The staff were very helpful in parking the car though there is a charge. The building is quite historic and very attractive with a lovely garden aea for sitting and to have breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If driving, you need good directions, and you need to park on the side of a busy street while you collect the key to the gated parking lot which is down the street.

    Excellent location, easy to walk to the Porto Messina. Very good breakfast. Our room had a terrace with a wonderful sea view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff who organised a driver for us from the airport and suggested restaurants and places to visit. We loved the location too, as it was just outside the old town, but within an easy walking distance. This meant we had a lovely view from our balcony over the bay below.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is great, the sheets were a little hard though which had more to do with the fabric of the sheets.

    Friendly staff, clean, reception has 24/7 coverage, a very nice garden where we would sit at night with friends and have a drink (own bought drinks), the location is perfect and on walking distance to the bus station with a direct connection to the airport (7,50 euro per person!). The city centre was on walking distance, absolutely perfect! The hotel provides free beach towels and a shuttle to the beach including seats + parasol).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view and the wonderfull place where you can have a drink and where you have coffee. The location is perfect, not much noice and close to the main places. They provided parking although we did not reserved it before, that was quite a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a fantastic hotel to enjoy Taormina! We loved it! * rich breakfast, great variety of food with a beautiful view * effective air condition in the room * helpful stuff with good English knowledge * welcome present (a bottle of wine!!) * shuttle to the beach for an affordable price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View - Attic
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of a lift - we were on the top floor and I have a very bad knee, so made it pretty hard

    Great location and very friendly staff. Couldn't have been much better

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was great for us being a short walk from the bus station and also just a short walk into the town centre. There was a complimentary bottle of wine in our room on arrival which we appreciated, and enjoyed sitting on our little balcony looking out at the beautiful view. The towels were large and thick. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was an excellent full breakfast provided each morning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This comment is probably not fair to the hotel, but the weather was very hot and we were tired. As a result we did not really enjoy walking around the town. This is a place that is popular with tourists.

    The facilities were beautiful and in excellent condition. The location was relatively good, but some walking required.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Expensive as everything in Taormina - the hotel is far better than the common Taormina restaurants, which cost much for bad service and below the average food

    Beautiful view on the Taormina bay from both the hotel balcony and from the hotel´s terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The locations ideal as the hotel is not on the main tourist route so was quiet but it was only a short walk to the cable car and the centre. Good breakfast. Nice independent hotel with a mix of visitors including French, German and Australian

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sea View - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom had the best views but it was on the 4rd floor with no elevator... The key system is old fashion, with big keys instead of modern cards. Besides the keys are at hand of anyone in the reception.

    Incredible views, perfect location, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have liked the room to be a bit more spacious and having a fridge in the room would have helped.

    Excellent location, comfortable & very clean room and very nice breakfast served on a lovely terrace with great views!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the 4th floor and there was no elevator. Other than that, it was fantastic! 10/10

    Staff were super helpful. Breakfast was fantastic. Good value for money!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Leaving!

    Perfect location;5 minute walk to town and 1 minute to cable car for beach. Lovely breakfast terrace with great views. Also lush vegetation around comfortable sofas Great breakfast of scrambled eggs and bacon. Also wide choice of continental. Staff very attentive , polite and so helpful and friendly. I am recommending hotel to friends and will not hesitate to go again. Thank you.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location. Steps from the cable car to the beach and easy walk to the historic area for exploring. Parking just a few steps down from the hotel in a gated area. The staff was friendly. The property is a little older (in decor) than others we stayed at, but very comfortable and very clean. The shower was great in both size and water pressure. Towels are big. We took advantage of the happy hour and relaxed on our private terrace one afternoon. Wonderful. We were grateful to be on the first floor as there is no elevator. Note there are steps from the street level down to the lobby. Breakfast room has a nice view. The selection is limited, but sufficient. Matteo made a great cappuccino. One big plus, they provide beach towels for use at the pool or beach! This hotel does not have a pool, however they have an agreement with other properties for use of the pool with shuttle for a fee. We weren't able to try out the pool options, but highly recommend the beach. We would return.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid a similar price to what we paid for a hotel just around the corner. Room was better but was missing pool.

    Excellent location very close (2 mins) to town and bus station (links to airport/tours) and cable car to beaches. Room decent size with free wifi and breakfast very good with high quality products. A high 9 out of 10.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was small but contained all you needed, some people might find it too small. It's advertised far and wide by the hotel on booking sites, but there are a lot of steps to the rooms so be prepared! Second floor rooms have around 50 steps to get to them.

    Staff could not have been more helpful, breakfast was plentiful and the views were stunning from the balcony. The air con was very welcomed!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is in a improvised place owned by a neighbour

    Very nice place. I had reserved a room with sea view. The bed was very comfortable and we received a bottle of wine as a gift. The location is perfect, near of the city center and to the cableway to go down to the beach

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like. The only thing we missed was a small fridge in our room to keep the water cold - but that was not a deal-breaker.

    The hotel is situated far enough from the madding crowd on the main street and tourist drag but close enough to walk there. It's a minute to the cable car and the main bus stop and has a lovely terrace overlooking the bay. The staff were all super friendly and very helpful with recommendations of where to eat and where to go. Breakfast offered hot options (eggs and bacon) plus a good range of yoghurt, cereals, fruit, and cakes. It's a small and relaxed place to stay. It was also easy to find, get to and away from, which was a plus for us as driving can be rather stressful as there are a number of tight bends, narrow streets, parked cars and no pavements.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is a 15 euros charge for parking (but the parking spot is very convenient, close to the property). Breakfast was disappointing.

    Excellent location; beautiful building with great views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had reserved one of the cheaper basement rooms but were upgraded to another room when we arrived which had a lovely sea view. The hotel is a 2min walk from the cable car to get down to the beach and a 5min walk into the centre of Taormina.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Attic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 floors with no lifts. Small shower and toilet room. Parking is €15 per night, on street, we were told other hotels charge less but obviously we cannot prove it. Average breakfast.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent morning breakfast overlooking the sea with outstanding espresso. Conveniently located just down the hill from the town entrance. Hotel has a relationship with two beach properties a few kilometers to the north and offers transportation to these properties. Each room is different - ours did not have a sea view but did have a very comfortable private patio outfitted with a table and chairs. Perfect for an aperitivo before enjoying some excellent dining in the beautiful city of Taormino!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing except the scorching weather

    excellent location and good directions to a nearby parking area which is a separate enterprise.Very helpful desk staff, helped arrange meals out and anything else one wanted.We went to a Beethoven Concert conducted by Zubin Mehta and they let us use their seat cushions to use in the Greek Amphitheatre - much needed. Very nice breakfast and pretty garden for relaxing and having Happy Hour

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing at all.

    The operators were a family and so very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was great overlooking the sea. We spent 7 nights there and would recommend without hesitation Just a very pleasant place to live in for the 7 days. Very good value for money in a spectacular village. Di and David

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lift would be great, haha...... our fault traveling with too many bags!

    Great location, very helpful with organizing parking just down the road. Nice breakfast and lovely terrace for drinks in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I knew Taormina was a "tourist town" and was of the mindset that I need to visit it. I loved it and could have spend a 3rd night. Yes, there are a lot of tourists mid June but there's a lot of beauty to explore either by car or bus-- try Castelmola. The Hotel was absolutely lovely and although there are stairs, the setting of the hotel was like a oasis. Quiet, private, giving feeling of seclusion. All was wonderful, from the staff to the room to the outdoor patio where we had breakfast and happy hour.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A swimming pool would have made the stay perfect. The offsite parking is a bit expensive but since there is no real alternative it is a great asset to have something available at a convenient location. Thae absence of a lift could be difficult for some

    love;y setting. Could be improved by a swimming pool since the temperatures in Taormina were over 90F. Comfortable rooms although the walk-up to three floors is challenging for some. Included breakfast is lovely and easy since restaurants can be expensive and touristy. The staff was extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with at all times.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We can't think of a negative

    The staff were most friendly and helpful and their recommendation of Da Lorenzo restaurant was spot on. The views from our room were superb, breakfast very good, the whole experience was great and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom in our room was tiny and the shower cubicle particularly, not a criticism but something to be aware of.

    This hotel was great, we loved it. I had emailed them before arriving and they were effective, efficient and helpful when replying. On arrival the receptionist welcoming and friendly, as our stay continued all of the staff were. Our room was medium sized, with a small balcony. This had two chairs and a little table on it with views over the beach and cable car. We were very happily surprised to find a complimentary bottle of Sicilian red wine in the room which was a lovely gesture. The room was clean, tidy, and the air con worked well which in high temperatures was very much needed. There might not have been the most up to date furnishings but somehow it added to the feel of the place. Breakfast was ample with a good choice of pastries, cereal, fruits, bread, meats, cheeses etc. Plus fruit juices, coffee, tea and water. For fans of a full English, you'll not get it here but there is a good choice in my opinion. One thing I must add is that the gentleman who oversaw breakfast was lovely, he makes a great cappuccino and remembered what we wanted each morning. The hotel has a 'bar' which I was very surprised more people didn't take advantage of. The garden was nice, shaded and the view is beautiful. There is no lift, we were on floor 2 and this was around 50 steps up. They do get easier the more you do them! There's nothing they can do about the steps, and there are very clear statements about not having a lift, but I was glad I wasn't on the top floor! The hotel is a couple of minutes up from the bus station, and five minutes walk (up an incline) to the old city gate and the main streets.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The pillows were a bit too hard, but the chambermaid found me a thinner one and I slept well there after. Perhaps more choice of fresh fruit at breakfast. A swimming pool or access to one would have been nice.

    The property may have a 3 star rating but all of the staff were 5 star! It was perfect for what we needed, five minutes from the bus terminus. Excellent restaurants only minutes away. Not far from the main street. Happy hour was most enjoyable!! We met some really nice guests also staying.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Difficult to fault this place but the on- street car park space requires some tight manoeuvring to get close to the wall and then the replacing of a chain when leaving.

    Ideal central location for exploring Taormina and just a few hundred yards from the cable-car down to the beach. The breakfast area and the 'sea-view' rooms offer a spectacular vista looking North-East towards the straights of Messina and the Calabrian coast. Staff all very pleasant and helpful. Comfortable and attractive patio in the communal area with mature palm trees and flowers. Central Taormina is one of the more expensive areas in Sicily but La Pensione Svizzera is relatively good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I enjoyed the holiday there because the staff are very polite and helpful. I would recommend anyone to go there as it is very family friendly hotel and very quite with magnificent views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows - they can do with a variety of pillows to suit everyone. One was to big and the other one too flat.

    Very central setting, perfect for seeing the town and going down to the beach with the cable car - a little oasis - nice terrace with beautiful views - our balcony had great views too. Staff were amazing and more than helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Attic
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a room with panoramic view, but it was not so good. The breakfast was normal and the coffee very bad. Regular quality/price relation.

    The bed was very comfortable. Also, the staff carried with our baggage because he building has not an elevator.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no lift so if you are not comfortable with stairs ask for first floor.

    Old world charm. Warm staff, Wonderful breakfast. Also enjoyed the happy hour. The bathroom was very modern and we rated the shower the best shower that we had while in Italy. Great views. Would recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room, although acceptable, had no view and was in need of a makeover.

    Very convenient location just by the chairlift down to the beach and 5 minutes from the main street. Lovely garden and conservatory. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked more fresh fruit at breakfast i.e soft fruits berries etc as there were so many on sale in the town. Nothing else not to like!

    The location was perfect. Very quiet. Comfortable rooms. Nice outside space. Helpful staff. Breakfast was very good overall.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Our stay at Pensione Svizzera was an exquisite experience. Every member of staff was more than outstanding in their smiles, welcome, helpfulness and warmth. Our room (on the fourth, and top floor) was comfortable and well equipped and had a great balcony with 270 degree views of the sea and mountains. Breakfast was excellent and with seating on a balcony with amazing views from the top of the mountains to the sea. The location was perfect with great views, easy access (for Taormina) and adjoining the old city - a short walk to the Teatro Antico.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel restaurant could also serve meals and not only breakfast and, when we went to the bar to have some cocktails at the "happy hour time" announced by the hotel nobody was there.

    Staff was extremely kind and accommodating to our needs. We were able to get a room upgrade with a wonderful view and other additional amenities at no additional charge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Smallish room which is normal for Italian hotels. Road at the back of and in front of the hotel. One road is enough.

    good breakfast, friendly staff ,clean room, lovely courtyard style garden with comfy chairs and palm trees, afternoon tea. Good views from the terrace. Short walk to cable car and town city. Away from the crowded streets.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could provide better directions to the parking-just 2 blocks away, but difficult to find the first time.

    Great location with parking just 2 blocks away in this hard-to-park-in town. There is a nice little bar inside the hotel for a nightcap. Just 2 block walk to the main shops/restaurants in town. Lovely hotel highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although parking is convenient I feel is a bit overpriced at 15 euros per day. We also had to lock/unlock a chain across the spot which it was not easy at times, as this is a very narrow and extremely busy road.

    Excellent location, amazing views, really friendly and helpful staff, lovely breakfast. The place has character and would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for stroll into the main part of town. Lovely sea few from a bedroom . Very helpful and welcoming staff . Complimentary bottle of wine was most welcome.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Attic
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    100 % satisfaction!

    We've got a nice apartment on 4th floor (the higher the better view -if you don't mind that there is no elevator available) with a nice terrace.....top view to the sea and town around the hotel....we could not wish more! Very helpful and friendly staff. The garden and breakfast area is extra beautiful. This hotel has a soul! Forget all other 4-5 star hotels ......this Hotel is probably the best choice if you stay in Taormina and you want to have perfect access to both, the beach or the old city centre !

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much.Slightly cramped room but good sea view.Don't go to al Nido restaurant nearby. Unpleasant owner and expensive.

    A very comfortable hotel very near the centre. Nice patio areas for breakfast and drinks. The staff were charming.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Attic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only, single drawback is that there's no elevator (...and we were on the fourth floor).

    Our room was spotlessly clean and had an incredible view; the staff were extremely friendly, welcoming, and helpful; and the breakfast was excellent. Plus, the place is just a few minutes' walk from the center, but in a nice, quiet location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Great location in Taormina, if you are driving. Parking spot just behind Villa . The Taormina bus station is about 500 meters down the street. Quiet at night, not like all the noise in the center of town. Just a 10 minute walk up to the main squares. Bed very comfy, shower and amenities , great! Also no problem with internet. Would recommend this Hotel. Very quaint old style Villa, has a beautiful garden and breakfast room looking out from the hillside tothe sea. Very friendly staff!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is super tiny, specifically the tiny shower. I'm not a big person but i still hit my albow twice trying to take a shower. The breakfast was barely average. I know we came late at the hour but most items are stale already.

    The staff are all very friendly and speak English well. The location is great. Close to everything but not too close to be noisy. The view from the room and breakfast area are beautiful. The room may be small but functional so you don't feel cramp. They have a lovely garden, great for coffee or drink.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs - no lift - good thing the view is so good from the third floor!!

    Wonderful staff- very accommodating and helpful. View from room (sea) was fantastic! The location was exceptional - only a block from the Main Street of Taormina (the place where everything is) and the cable car to the beach area. Nice facilities - especially the lounging areas - both inside & out on the patio.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No elevator. We visited Taormina before a 2 week cruise out of Civetteveccia; so we had big luggage. The staff helped us; and it became opportunity for good work-out.

    Breakfast was great. Entire staff was friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double with Sea View and Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls aren't soundproof so you can sometimes hear neighboring guests.

    The hotel is well located, close to the bus station, near the gondola, and a short walk into the historic town and its Greek theater. The staff is very professional and breakfast is superb. Happy hour and tea time are nice in the afternoon.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Located just outside the main tourist area, no need for car, staff were very helpful - suggested two of best restaurants of our whole Sicilian tour, breakfast was varied and in a lovely room overlooking the coastline; afternoon tea a delight after walking all day; our room was quiet and had a nice terrace off the bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View - Attic
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we didn't like! There were a lot of stairs if that is an issue for travellers, however the vies were worth it!

    Location and views were fantastic! Staff were helpful and the morning breakfast and coffee was lovely. Rooms were fine with everything we needed for a few nights. Great to be close to the lift to get to the beach and close to the town Main Street entrance and not far from the bus to the airport too!

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse La Pensione Svizzera traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: