Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Petra Segreta Resort & Spa 5 stars

Strada di Buddeo cp 130, 07026 San Pantaleo, Italy

#5 of 20 hotels in San Pantaleo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 166 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Boat trip too expensive, driver only spoke Italian and was not organized to show tourists around although it is the most beautiful island ever! Lack of communication prevented us from seeing and knowing what we saw.. For that price they did not bring us to the harbour (had to find out ourselves how to get there) although they had a car of the hotel. It should be all inclusive, it was only 11 km but not easy to find as the boat driver was not there in time. The one sink in the room did not function properly, nothing was done about it. Pitty that the person at reception asked us specific time of departure more then 30 hours beforehand. Felt not great!

    Great breakfast with an unbelievable view! Stunning hotel with very friendly staff!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.8
    I booked a king size bed and at the end they gave me a twin...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a king size bed and at the end they gave me a twin bed together; I complained several times but no action was taken. Several reservations I have requested the concierge but they were not very friendly, the restaurant is fantastic however the last day which was my last meal I found hairs ( many) in my food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful setting for romance and relaxation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Petra Segreta Resort & Spa is located in a beautiful setting in the mountains, close to a view beautiful small village. The pool is very nice and calm. The restaurants for lunch and dinner are top class. The hotel staff are very helpful and also booked us a lovely day long sailing trip to the Islands which was amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Beautifully designed accommodation with breathtaking views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxis into San Pantaleo are expensive, I feel there could be a shuttle a couple of times per day. The equipment in the gym is very old. They serve the red wine very cold, make sure you order it early to get it to room temperature!

    Beautifully designed accommodation with breathtaking views. Lots of privacy in the rooms and terraces. Excellent service and delicious food. Exceptional breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    beautiful location and amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom too small but immaculate. Sliding screen door configuration that served mini bar and bedroom as closure was really annoying as you had to keep sliding it across bedroom to make a cup of tea and then back again to get into bedroom. Sounds very picky but hotel is expensive. The suites (rooms) in the garden are in blocks of two so could be noisy if you got inconsiderate guest next door. The pools abutt with stone wall seperating but can hear clearly next door guests when they are talking in the garden and inside. We were charged for ice and ice bucket to room. We contested and it was removed from bill.

    The staff were very helpful and the location was stunning. Lovely comfortable bed with excellent pillows and bed linen. Great private terrace. The restaurant was good. The service impeccable. There were other more casual eateries in the village. Peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    In the middle of nature without being able to enjoy it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sitting in an overheated tent with no chance of eating outside. Quality of the food not up to Relais and Chateaux standards, tasteless bread and tinned fruit for breakfast. We also tried a pizza in the Osteria and it was drenched in oil - we decided to not book a table for dinner in the main restaurant after these 2 let downs. Room was heavily 'scented' with mosquito repellent, despite all efforts of getting it out it lingered on our clothes until departure. A real shame - this place could be very nice.

    Great location, very remote on the top of a hill. Beautiful design with rooms in little huts scattered around the area. Good quality bed linen and modern bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay in the mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The address is misleading via GPS, the hotel should have said something ahead of time. Always follow the signs on the street, not your google gps or you have an adventure ride you wont forget

    This resort is simply perfect, it is lush and wonderful, great service and excellent food in the restaurant. The attention to detail is great and worth it. Definitely worth to at least stay one night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Peaceful and relaxing with great views and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the hotel is in a quiet place means that you need to take a taxi to get anywhere, so just beware of that in case you want to be in the village every day. The description of the junior suite amenities stated that there is a coffee machine in the room but we didn’t find any, however, the staff provided one when we asked for it, so it wasn’t a problem.

    The hotel is very peaceful in a quiet location up on the hills with very beautiful panoramic views of the sea and the nearby village. The restaurant is excellent with romantic ambiance, friendly staff and delicious food. The wifi is great, the bed in the junior suite was very comfortable and the terrace very lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location to visit the Emerald coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fresh juice at breakfast or tea and coffee-making supplies in some rooms.

    The location, with its view of the Magdalena islands, was divine. The rooms were private and comfortable. Near a lovely village, San Pantaleo, it has beautiful facilities, a good restaurant, and professional staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Do not believe google map if you drive from the Olbia. If you face the petit unpaved road without any signs, it is not the road. You’d better call the hotel to check the road.

    Everything was perfect. Atmosphere, the view, and the dinner.. magnificent. I wish I could stay longer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no privacy. Even in the most expensive room in which we stayed the first 2 days and has a private swimming pool is full open sight of next door neighbors and staff doesn’t seem to mind to jump in from outside to do the cleaning even when passengers are in the room. Additionally, there is not real value for money. On the 2nd day we moved to the next best room and we went from bath tub to shower, and from coffee machine to nothing; from a€1,000+ room to a €600 room the difference felt to be from a 3 star hotel to a very nice located private room in a hostel. Hotel staff was not very kind and had a bad attitude at times. Being on our honeymoon the last thing we wanted was arguing so we left without making any comments so it is great to have this chance. Finally, after eating in many restaurants in Sardinia I would not recommend at all the restaurant of this hotel, not only because of the prices but the food is far from good standards in Sardinia. Staff at the hotel was very nice and that is sadly the only good remark we can provide.

    Landscape is nice and it is isolated from the urban noise

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Amazing views and location but poor service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Majority of staff were terrible (excluding the brilliant cleaners). Found many of the staff quite rude and felt like any request was just a great burden to their day.

    Fantastic locations, amazing views, great food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Should be wonderful but disappointed in the end
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay was spoilt by a very noisy party in nearby villa that went on till early hours. Hotel management shrugged this off as not in their control, no compensation and no real sympathy

    Wonderful location, relaxing atmosphere. Generally very good. Restaurant was good food but relatively expensive compared to other restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.8
    waiting for the big bucks to arrive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I sense staff are all on tender-hooks - no chance of initiative, is there a management ego I wonder?( we did listen to a 15 minute staff disciplinary rant as our room backed onto the kitchen.) Poor training rather than inadequate staff I think.

    The place was designer not functional - small quirky shaped pool not a lot of good for swimming as it has an island that you can't swim around. Lovely room but simple things like a soap dish and hook for towel have not been considered. would recommend just one meal here, minimalist and expensive for lunch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing stay at the Petra Segreta with fine views and fine dining
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in the countryside so if you want to enjoy the fine views outside while dining you need to be ok with the insects!

    The Petra Segrata Hotel was the perfect in land choice for our exploration of the Costa Smeralda with lovely room designs, beautiful views of the bay and high quality dinner dining experience. We did not use the Spa facilities fully as they were new and hope they meet the standard of the rest of the Hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    8.3
    Beautifully maintained hotel and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a wifi problem for the duration of our stay, and I think they could have done a little more to apologise for/explain the problem , or provide a temporary solution, given it is a 5* hotel. I also think the staff could have made the experience a little more familiar/informal. Was very quiet and peaceful, which was appreciated, but also rather quiet in a formal sense. Very expensive hotel which could have been full of charm, which was marginally dampened by being prt of huge hotel chain.

    Beautifully maintained hotel and grounds. Incredible setting and view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for relaxing holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderfully located in the mountains with beautiful view on the sea and the countryside. Very quiet (only 24 rooms and never crowded) so it is a perfect place to relax.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    7.5
    Great location, very picturesque.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, very picturesque. Charming and very relaxing atmosphere. Restaurant staff was impeccable and truly lovely. While some front desk staff were very welcoming and helpful, some left much to be desired. Not a deal killer though -- the location and restaurant staff made it a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Secluded resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little too far from the beaches.

    Secluded resort. Ideal for relaxation.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Peaceful, beautiful location with amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room didn’t have a covered outdoor area like most of the other rooms.

    Peaceful, beautiful location with amazing staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was excellent

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely Luxe products in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely Luxe products in the room. Amazing breakfast. Staff very professional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    High end very good quality hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great pity that one can't have breakfast or dinner out doors.

    Room and amenities were great. Location is just beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Superb hotel Location and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness was minimal, in open area.

    Superb Location and lovely rooms. Restaurant very very good. Ok, should be for this price...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fabulous. Great location in the mountains. Super staff and great restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    9.6
    A superb hotel in a beautiful and tranquil location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    A superb hotel in a beautiful and tranquil location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous, romantic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was pretty basic.

    We had a room with a pool overlooking the mountains and the bay. Stunning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Helpful personnel at reception and waiters at the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helpful personnel at reception and waiters at the restaurant, nice pool area, quietness.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.0
    Overall we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    see above.

    Friendly people. We would prefer having breakfast outside in the nice garden and not inside the building. The atmosphere is a bit rigid.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Special relaxation resort
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    View

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Delicious food, wonderful massages, relaxing atmosphere...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delicious food, wonderful massages, relaxing atmosphere lovely staff!!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.2
    Great place for a peaceful break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool could have been bigger Massage v expensive

    Room 305 Breakfasts Dinners

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.9
    Very chic & classy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Gourmet restaurant expensive, with minimal portions. Some staff a bit snooty, especially towards the Brits! Maids insisted upon putting our stuff where they wanted it instead of leaving it where we wanted it! Very much style over substance. Junior suite had private verandah but barely enough space to walk round the bed! All very stylish though. Single track, twisty road up to the resort - probably not good for nervous drivers. No good without a car, as isolated position means nowhere to walk to!

    Very chic & classy. Beautiful style and decor. Perfect location for peace, quiet and relaxation. Reception staff wonderful. Good breakfast included. Never felt crowded except by the small pool. Perfect location to explore the Costa Smerelda - 20/30 minutes gets you anywhere.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    8.8
    Amazing location, extremely relaxing, very quiet, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    poor breakfast, it is between 7,30-10,30h, we arrived at 10 and it was almost empty and they did not replace anything. One night the front door did not open and we had to jump the fence because nobody answered us. They just say sorry next morning. Very dark room.

    Amazing location, extremely relaxing, very quiet, good restaurant for dinner

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    6.7
    Restaurant staff : the professional maitre and waitress,...
    • Couple

    Rude receptionist on arrival made us feel unwelcome but he changed attitude afterwards.the biggest problem is the poor quality of the overpriced food in the Fuoco Sacro restaurant,the more since there are no other dinner options nearby without taking the car and risking your life at night.The non sound proof bathrooms. It is like your neighbour takes a shower in your room. The Airco needs cleaning.

    Restaurant staff : the professional maitre and waitress, architecture of the complex. Best beds ever! We took a picture of the matrass to buy the same at home.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    7.5
    A beautiful place immaculately kept and offering lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very dark and located behind the kitchen. The wifi connection rarely worked

    A beautiful place immaculately kept and offering lots of privacy

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    5.8
    Beware even though the hotels policy is no children they do...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The obnoxious manager! Musty smell in the room. A charge of €25 to use the sauna!!!!!! Madness!!!!

    Beware even though the hotels policy is no children they do accept children as there were a few there during my stay. When I asked the obnoxious manager "why do they have this policy in place if it clearly is not the case (having left our kids at home) he responded by saying " have you been disturbed at all by children during your stay"? That was really not the point at all. If a hotel takes children then great if their policy is no children then that's what it should be. Lastly A large marquee was erected in the beautiful front lawn of the small hotel a day before we departed ( Thank goodness!)All hotel guests were banned from using the lawn for 2 days. Albeit not an issue in a large hotel complex , I did in this case being a small boutique hotel,find it absurd that the guests were told "sorry you can't go onto the front lawn as we have a function in a few days that we are setting up for!" Slightly cheeky when paying €400 a night!!!!

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    9.6
    We had a deluxe room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is supplied by third party and was useless.

    We had a deluxe room. Private pool and a great view. Signage from nearby town helped a lot to find the place.

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    8.8
    amazing views, beautiful hotel, suites are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast was average. we had to ask for butter every day (as did most other couples), they could really do with varying the options. there are two restaurants - the cheaper of the two needs more options.

    amazing views, beautiful hotel, suites are great. not far from the local village which has pizzerias and restaurants

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    8.3
    Friendliness/helpfulness of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No proper hotel bar (there is a bar area but never saw a bartender). Menu choices in bistro could be more varied (a daily special or two)

    Friendliness/helpfulness of staff. Excellent service. Design style and hill top setting. Delightful pool area. Massage treatments.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    9.6
    We totally enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's a pity that in such a beautiful and comfortable hotel I have to write about the things we didn't like... First of all, wi-fi is a total joke... it's free but you need to log in with your username and password each 5 minutes!!! Seriously, no joke... I understand it's a policy, but I've never seen anywhere that you have to log in each 5 minutes! Second, the restaurant is way overpriced, as well as massages. Not bad though. I would recommend to explore restaurants around in the evenings.

    We totally enjoyed our stay! it's very close to the airport and to all the nice places around. The warm swimming pool was amazing! The staff is really friendly and helpful! The views are breathtaking. I also enjoyed the running belt in the small fitness room with amazing views and open doors. I think we'll be back sometime!

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful location and relaxed and peaceful surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful location and relaxed and peaceful surroundings. Very friendly and helpful staff reflecting the exclusive nature of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    10
    we very did like the quiet and peace that you feel as soon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we very did like the quiet and peace that you feel as soon as you come in the resort .. priceless

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    10
    Great location, spectacular view, peaceful setting, relaxing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, spectacular view, peaceful setting, relaxing atmosphere...

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lack of charm

    Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    9.6
    The view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view. The food. The service.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Guests also reviewed these properties: