Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Petriolo Spa Resort 5 stars

Località Bagni di Petriolo, 58045 Bagni di Petriolo, Italy

#2 of 2 hotels in Bagni di Petriolo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 776 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    2.9
    Very disappointing, cannot recommend at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa was nothing like on the photos. It was run down, dirty and at times even posed a health hazard (see my photos). The hotel is located directly at a motorway exit and in our room it was correspondingly noisy (especially as we couldn’t close the balcony door). The restaurant is very much overpriced (we paid 16 EUR for two shots of Limoncello) and far from a 5 star cuisine (my pasta was lukewarm and looked like it came directly from a Heinz tin). We complained with Booking.com on our first evening just after visiting the spa. I was asked to send in some photos (which I did) and told that they would deal with it appropriately and while we were still there. This was exactly a month ago now (we’re back home) and we have still not heard anything back! We are very disappointed and can only advise not to book this place. Please look at my photos, as these will speak for themselves (that is if Booking.com has allowed for them to be posted of course).

    The rooms were clean and looked more or less like on the photos, only that we couldn’t close the balcony door (the handle was broken).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    4.6
    The best of it is in the med. Of interest of Place Seinna..Florenze..the Wein and Olive production
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well the Dinner Service was not best with so many Chefs...we drank Good wine and food they was no Service we had to Server our Wein ourself...a Flop... Wellness area could go for a better maintaince... Hotel is Not soo Easy to find becoz of the Highway..

    The breakfast was good...the view for breakfast Perfect..the Hotelbarman was Perfect and freindly...in the Wohle its a beautiful view..bedroom is always clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Very clean room, welcome drink, friendly staff, use terme...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room facing to high way will be a little noisy. Not so convenient to find even follow google map navigation.

    Very clean room, welcome drink, friendly staff, use terme after check out, very good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location, facilities were fantastic and stunning views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food and drinks were very expensive. You were limited to the spa resort due to its remote location. Would have been good to have a cheaper option for lunch.

    Great location, facilities were fantastic and stunning views of the Tuscan countryside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    6.3
    Rooms were tidy spacious and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find along side a new motorway. Have to keep going back on yourself to get into the hotel. Should vary the menu for a 5 star property. Max stay 2/3 days no more.

    Rooms were tidy spacious and clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing , quite, great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wifi in the room doesn't work but the receptionist told us from the begining that there is an issue with the coverage. In the lobby, restaurant, outside pool the signal was great .

    The room was exactly as in the pictures. Very clean, excellent facilities, balcony , great sleep ; The staff from the reception came in the room to explain everything. Great spa, pools , sauna . We choose Petriolo Spa Resort because we wanted to relax and to recharge our batteries. The thermal water is great and we felt the benefits. Also the food in the restaurant is great, acceptable prices.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.5
    Stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices outrageous for where it is. €5 for a soda. €12 for a gin and tonic. $8 for a glass of prosecco. Staff are extremely inconsistent. €6 for a tiny bowl of fries.

    Stunning views. Good facilities. Rooms are lovely and spacious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed the stay a lot -- it was very relaxing and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The dinner at the restaurant did not meet our expectations and the service was lousy. The internet in the room was slow (and the staff knows about it).

    The pools were excellent, the room was very comfortable with a nice terrace and a great bed. The breakfast was decent. The front desk staff was very friendly and went out of their way to help us with a booking of the private wine tastings and travel tips. Siena and surrounding cities are accessible the a car, but the roads (SS 223 and others) are VERY narrow without shoulders most of the time -- so the drives are not pleasant unless you know the roads very well. We come from California and we are used to mountain roads.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, it's just on the highway. Good news - all rooms are faced to another side with fantastic views.

    Nice hotel, pretty old, but looks nice with big rooms, wonderful views and nice spa area. Perfect place for 1-2 nights stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You really need to search for disadvantages.

    Literally a 10 of 10! Great hotel! Professional staff, we got a room upgrade and a welcome drink. Everything that you would expect from a 5 star hotel. SPA area is great, except the sauna which was not hot enough (maybe because of the low season)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.4
    Fell below expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disorganised service in restaurant Location - right alongside motorway (not pictured) Food was not what we would expect from 5* Welcome drink - very limited choice (no alcohol) Poor information given at check in

    Spacious bathroom Large, comfortable bed Views from one side of hotel are beautiful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    Not a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Breakfast like in a cheap two star hotel. Only sweat stuff and no vegetables. BTW you have to pay extra for e.g. one boiled egg 5 euro and for one fresh orange juice 6 euro. Furthermore I found it quite susturbing that there were people in the bathrobe at the breakfast. - ‎Super slow WiFi connection in the room. - ‎The Spa area and pools were just disappointing: mould, broken tiles, steambath without steam, no relaxing atmosphere at all. - ‎The entire hotel smells like sulphur due to the spa area. - ‎Overall no 5 star niveau.

    Pro - Nice Room (Junior Suite) - ‎Cappucciono at the breakfast was good - ‎Free parking in front of the hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Thermal baths were fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location off of the highway was surprising, but the views were terrific and it didn't matter at the end of the day.

    We loved the thermal baths; staff was helpful and the property was immaculate. The hotel rooms were lavish and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was incredible.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    5th stay, 5* treatment everytime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As we did not pay attention that the "do not disturb" doorhanger card has no "please make up room" sign on the backside but same text, room was not cleaned one evening although we had told at reception we wanted the room cleaned. As mentioned in "+" misunderstanding was solved professionaly. Due to road-construction access to hotel has changed versus previous years, but apparently hotel has not got permission to place necessary sign. Check upfront how to drive.

    Special preferences taken into account. Pools. Courtesy of the staff, our favourite waiter, Marco, has made sure we always felt treated very personally. Although dining quality is still at too low level, breakfast is excellent and service has generally improved versus previous years. Professional attitude and problem solving of night receptionist and reception management when something went wrong one evening.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.7
    Good accommodation and staff. Poor room service options
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we tried to order room service. We were told that we could only have pizza and this was frozen. You would expect being in Italy and a five star hotel that it would be fresh and also that you could order more than one item ! The breakfast in my opinion was also not to a good standard

    Staff friendly and the room very good. Very nice spa

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Great SPA resort in Tuscan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road was changed without signs even google map couldn't find. It took us quite a long time to find.

    SPA is nice and with local hot spring. Dinner is also very good with reasonable prices. Staffs are very friendly. A good spot for relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    room is big with a huge bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SPA is cute but not big. The main problem is that there are children, sometimes they are noisy and it's not possible to relax

    room is big with a huge bathroom. the bed is the most confortable I ever tried. Breakfast is various with a lot of things and you can enjoy it on a wonderful terrace. Also the restaurant is qualitative and not too expensive (1 entrée, 2 main dishes, 2 dessert, 1 bottle of wine =80€)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Really nice hotel for a day to relax and enjoy the thermal...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice hotel for a day to relax and enjoy the thermal pools inside and outside. All facilities fresh and very clean. Lots of towels and 2 sets of bathrobes. Loved everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I didn't book for longer.

    Everything. Bed is awesome, room is spacious and clean, breakfast was great, staff were lovely and to top it off the pools and views were amazing. Zero complaints. Some people on reviews have mentioned the rooms looking at the highway are noisy but we didn't find that at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.0
    Tuscan stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt, the steam room didn't work for a week, many of the sun beds were broken and there weren't enough, the food was very poor.

    Very clean rooms, nice staff, perfect temperature pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful resort but pricey and lots of ants!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The access to the hotel was horrible!!!! The hotel was very pricey. It was also a fair distance from any other city or store. We really didn't like the fact that our room was crawling with ants! Definitely a bug problem.

    The resort was very nice. Loved the thermal Baths. Great place to get away from everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.6
    The views are amazing ,,, gorgeous preoperty and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Highway in front makes it hard to find ,,, google maps takes you to the spa pools but the entry is up on Highway SS223 between Siena and Grossetta

    The views are amazing ,,, gorgeous preoperty and facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.8
    Room fine but road noise at pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were major road works directly outside the hotel but it was advertised as highly tranquil location. The huge jack-hammer sent shudders around the hotel and was very disturbing when trying to relax at the pool. We asked to cancel the last two days of our three day stay. However the reception manager refused to allow this without a charge of one night's stay. We asked to soeak to her senior as this was grossly unfair given the terrible noise at the horel. She did not allow this and said she had to take instructions from her head office only, we asked to call them and she wouldn't allow that either. It was only by chance a man walked passed and overheard our discussions and it turned he was her superior and he allowed us to leave without charge. The front desk also lied to us when we first arrived about the noise around the pool saying the hotel building shielded the roadworks noise entirely it was complete rubbish. They were in complete denial as to their situation with regard to roadworks noise. Lying with a smile is highly disprestful and insults the customer's intelligence.

    The room was nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.9
    Food was really under acceptance criteria, the dinner was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was really under acceptance criteria, the dinner was really hillarious, better food, culinary experience granted in case of any trattoria in Italy:(

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    6.3
    Quiet stay in the hills with lots of beautiful places to visit nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Its sad to see but the hotel is having a hard time to keep up their standards. The air conditioning in the rooms is set at 20 degrees when the outside temp was 33 degrees..it was so hot one cannot sleep. The a/c is the gym is also closed.

    The hotel has the most spectacular view of the Tuscan Hills. The pool and thermal baths are really good. The front desk staff is extremely knowledgable and friendly. Their restaurant reccomendations were superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Excellent place to sunbath, look at views & relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road is a little close but most of the time you can't hear it. That is all.

    Simply one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Views are stunning. Food is amazing. Staff are so helpful & rooms are out of this world.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor communication. I would expect a brochure in the room with attractive pictures of the facilities at the hotel (which are many and good) and a nice map with directions (the building is very big and difficult to navigate because it is spread over many levels). And maybe also some indications of what to do nearby (there are nature trails, restaurants, scenic places etc.) They just write few very basic lines on a welcome letter and that is all.

    Good location in the nature, old structure but renovated with style and good attention even to small details. Good breakfast but exactly the same every day. While we were there, no noise from the road construction nearby (looks like almost completed). The restaurant is very good, the chef has a magic touch with vegetables.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    7.1
    A good place to stay put and enjoy the spa. Do not used it as base to explore Tuscany.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is worse than I expected. I know that it is in country side, not close to the Montalcino where I am planning to go. The worse is that it is by a major road without appropriate sign. All the cars are in more than 60 KM/per hour. When GPS said "turn right", we already pass the entrance to the hotel and need to drive another few miles to find the place to turn back. When go with another direction, I need to make a left turn into entrance of the hotel, with the Italian's way of driving, it is a challenge. Good thing that I drive to hotel in daytime and after that, I scheduled myself to drive back to hotel before dark for any following activities.

    The cleanliness and the spa facility are very nice. The breakfast is very good. The restaurant setting nicely and has good view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous location and great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pools were diverse and excellent and the entire resort was relaxing. The staff was attentive and courteous. The rooms were spacious and comfortable and the dining was excellent. The waitstaff (especially Daniel) spoke English and was very helpful in explaining the menu. First class experience overall!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    8.8
    A 5 Star Spa in far location, but Yulia and staff saved the day
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and hotel taxi arrangement, all taxi are coming from Sienna, so no way to go anywhere nearby places, will not recommend for people without car .

    Yulia and staff saved the day, thanks to her, we enjoyed our stay in far location 5 Star Spa hotel, All 6 pools were amazing, best one was Open Hot Spring pool, plus the breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location with thermal spa resort, friedly staff, breakfasts should be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfasts - poor selection, absolutely not adequate to 5* hotel

    Excellent location, friendly staff, beautiful thermal spa resort, cleanest of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.8
    Nice room, excellent bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in restaurant for dinner was expensive and the food was average. No air conditioning as this was broken.

    Nice room, excellent bathroom. Largest and best spa baths ever experienced and included in room price. Good breakfast. Great guy behind the bar - Antonio!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    7.9
    Great spa resort for kicking back and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The restaurant was nice, though I am a big fan of simple Italian cooking, the menu here was a little bit more fancy. Though the resort is great for relaxing, you cannot walk to any of the nearby villages, you have to drive. There some fantastic local restaurants that within 5-10 minutes drive. Unfortunately Taxis are expensive as they have to come from Grossetto or Siena, each around 30 mins away. So the only real downside is the location for me.

    The indoor spa was delightful, really clean and had a great range of different pools and rooms to use. The Junior Suite was comfortable, roomy and had a lovely view of the hills. The staff were friendly and accomodating, and the pool area was kept clean and had a good choice of sunbeds, sofas and beds. Great location for visiting nearby places like Siene, Florence, Grossetto and the coast, all accessible by motorway directly from the resort.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    6.3
    Not for me
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was too spread out. For a spa , there should have been many areas to recieve free water and also a area in lobby to have a fresh coffee if you like with some cookies and fruit. The websites failed also to tell you the hotel itself , is situated directly on a freeway with years of construction ahead. If you are going only to use spa , which is very outdated, it's ok. Otherwise I would not go again.

    Most of staff very friendly Rooms were very comfy .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    2.5
    Health hazard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is at a very busy, highway-like road with a HUGE construction site currently operating right next to it (and for the foreseeable future). The spa facilities are poorly maintained with mildew everywhere, broken tiles and dead insects. All in all more of a health hazard than a spa retreat. The famed thermal water is highly sulphuric, i.e. stinks of rotten eggs. The rooms are outdated with discolored water coming out the tap. Stay away.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    6.7
    Splendid hotel, unfortunately bad-mannered personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Last year we loved this hotel and decided to come again this summer but unfortunately this time the personnel was different and it was not at all welcoming or friendly... Upon arrival a lady at the reception instead of welcoming us and helping to our room ask me to email her my confirmation even though she has already found it in her computer but because I used my married name instead of maiden name she wanted me to actually email her back the confirmation!! I was shocked by such an unwelcoming reception of a 5 star resort! Then the next evening a maid came knocking on our door rushing us to go to dinner because she needed to prepare the room for the night! and the only thing she did was to put back the covers, which was absolutely non needed, left all the dirty cups and did not add any tea bags and sugar since it was all finished. Also the last day before check out a maid came knocking on our door around 10.30 AM to tell us that she needed to clean the room... we've never encountered such unbelievable rudeness in a 5 star hotel!!! in any hotel for that matter.... During the breakfast the personnel was incredibly slow and nobody was coming to offer tea or coffee and since there was no possibility of doing it yourself you had to sit there and wait for half an hour....and in the end go and call somebody just to be told to sit at the table and the waiter will come to you. The only pleasant exception among the restaurant personnel was Marco, he tried to be attentive and helpful, thank you again.

    The hotel itself is fantastic... splendid location, beautiful scenery, large comfortable rooms, terraces and great choice of indoor and outdoor pools

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    8.8
    Great spa & wellness hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of hotel near motorway, but rooms are very quiet. No room service between 2.30pm and 7.30pm. Wifi poor in rooms but ok in public (restaurant, swimming) areas.

    New 5* star hotel with excellent spa&wellness center, 4 swimming pools and 3 restaurants. Overall all is great. We got upgrade to junior suite, very nicely decorated, 180cm very comfy doublebeds, big bathroom, terrasse, wardrobe room, aircon working good. Siena is 40min drive.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    The pool is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could do better as 5 star hotel. The entrace of the hotel beside the high way lack of clear direction board.

    The pool is great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location, very good spa with various pools inside and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, very good spa with various pools inside and outside. Perfect for a romantic get away

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Food was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was excellent Staff very attentive Facilities were great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    SPA could stay open at least until 9pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    SPA could stay open at least until 9pm.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.8
    Lovely location service needs improvment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tv channel for kids Understaffed for breakfast Lack of variety for hot breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.8
    BEL WEEKEND
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    LE TERME

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    i would return there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very difficult to reach because of new roads construction no indications received

    location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    All is perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All is perfect!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.9
    The spa is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The limited choice on the food menu at lunch and dinner.

    The spa is amazing!.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.8
    Would likely choose another
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not suitable for children. The ambience was a little cold and rigid. Lots of rules and regulations. Felt like I was a child on school camp.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place for unwinding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very isolated - we stayed for 4 nights and were confined to eating in the hotel each night

    All the pool areas and the food was excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Comfortable rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfortable rooms. Nice outdoor pool with sulfuric thermal water.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.6
    perfect- great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place. Relaxing. Excellent facilities. Junior suite is fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Looking forward to visiting again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa facilities lovely and clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    10
    Spacious junior suite with terrace, calming view, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious junior suite with terrace, calming view, good spa-zone, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful Jr, Suite which had lovely view of trees and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Should have had special request room to begin with, instead I spent 40 minutes looking at other rooms before we were upgraded.

    Beautiful Jr, Suite which had lovely view of trees and partial vineyards view

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    A great spot for a relaxing getaway with a wide range of spa...
    • Business trip
    • Group

    I wish there had been hiking paths available.

    A great spot for a relaxing getaway with a wide range of spa facilities- mineral hot springs, steam bath, sauna, cold plunge...some of which is outdoors! And a beautiful spa with a full range of treatments on offer. The multilingual staff is accommodating and discreet.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    8.8
    The personnel is well trained, not arrogant, always ready to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wi-fi was not available at all during the stay. The spa lacks ambience - it requires renovation in line with modern standards and should be cleaner (i.e. with no flies in the internal pool). Strangely enough but the spa area is the main downside of this spa hotel. Although it's extensive.

    The personnel is well trained, not arrogant, always ready to help. The rooms are with 5* feel, spacious and spotlessly clean. Overall you get very good value for money. Please note that some rooms face a highway (it's not small countryside road anymore) and I would recommend to avoid those.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.2
    Great rooms, spa facilities, amazing breakfast with the view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is not exciting, kind of in the middle of nowhere on the road, but good facilities compensated it

    Great rooms, spa facilities, amazing breakfast with the view, very nice friendly staff. Enjoy the dinner in the village near by in small local restaurant called " Da Siro" - pure Italian experience, one of best meals we had in Italy.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    9.6
    Amazing service, fantastic food in restaurant, lots of pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa experience wasn't great. Had manicure and pedicure and it was bad job and very expensive.

    Amazing service, fantastic food in restaurant, lots of pool areas and great location for rest and relaxation with fantastic access to local regions

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    7.9
    - Very clean and spacious room, looked as on the pictures
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - Spa doctor was a joke, couldnt take him serious, bad english - few parts of the Spa bit have been out of order - massages not worth money, bad english - Breakfast and restaurant dishes good quality but very repetitive after 2 days

    - Very clean and spacious room, looked as on the pictures - friendly and very helpful staff - outdoor pool was really nice, especially sulfur pool - great views

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.6
    Great location, hotel is set in beautiful hills of Toscany...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location, hotel is set in beautiful hills of Toscany near Siena around 20 miles away. We had a junior suit with private balcony overlooking breathtaking green mountains. Hotel is very clean but housekeeping did not change bed sheets every day. Spa facilities are great for relaxing after full day of sightseeing with 4 pools and few different saunas. Meals are a real experience in the restaurants but comes a little pricy too as you could expect from fine dining restaurant. We had a really great and relaxing time at Petriolo Spa Resort and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    4.6
    - Generous size and cleanliness of rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    - Spa area opening hours limited to 9am-7pm. Which made recreational swimming impossible when we were out for the day (surely it should be open from 7am-9pm). - Very poor wifi speed (measured on speedtest.net at only 500kbps), which, for a supposed 5 star hotel is simply not good enough - TV with only a few channels and which kept on losing signal. - Breakfast, whilst seeming to provide a lot of choice, was actually all of poor/cheap quality produce (scrambled eggs were absolutely disgusting and no other style of eggs on offer, poor quality ham, cheapest sliced cheese, cheapest white bread for toast (no choice of any other bread). Ridiculous, heavy, metal teapots, which were very difficult to lift and poor and transferred heat to handle. - General internal decor is of 1980s over the top, tasteless "Dynasty" style. Cheap furniture and finishes made to give a rich look, but make the place feel cheap and tacky. - Not worthy of a 5 star rating. we've been in better, more stylishly furnished 3 star hotels. Felt like a big of a rip-off. - Our advice: AVOID THIS HOTEL

    - Generous size and cleanliness of rooms - Spa area

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    8.8
    Beautiful, large indoor pool, which we could often have to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful, large indoor pool, which we could often have to ourselves as most people use the outdoor pools. A very relaxing environment. We used it as a base from which to visit nearby Siena and Grosseto. Lovely views from the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.6
    The staff in the hotel were excellent but especially at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff in the hotel were excellent but especially at the front desk. Those people were fantastic. The room was large, the bed excellent and the bathroom well conceived. Great water pressure in the shower. Try the massages at the SPA.... you will get out as a new person. The therms with it's hot water and cold water exterior pools were the cherry on the cake. I strongly recommend this property. You will not find in Tuscany a better quality price.

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.2
    Very comfortable from the first secnd you walk in the door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our dinner experience was not very good. We were hung up on trying to order room service so went up to the restaurant and were treated very poorly. Small menu selection and when we saw another page we were told we could not order from it. Then 20 min later another couple asked the same thing and they were given to option to order off of it. Everything else at the hotel was great but the restaurant and restaurant manager were not.

    Very comfortable from the first secnd you walk in the door. Staff was very friendly and we were relaxed immediately.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    9.6
    Wonderfull stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderfull stay!! Thank you Diego for making our stay so nice. Lovely staff and good spa

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    9.2
    Perfect location and brilliant facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    Perfect location and brilliant facilities. Very polite staff. Good place for relax.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    The beautiful room, spa facilities, restaurant and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The beautiful room, spa facilities, restaurant and the healing experience of being in a natural hot spring

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    10
    lovely junior suite with spectacular views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    lovely junior suite with spectacular views Great staff

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    6.3
    It's difficult to find the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's difficult to find the hotel

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    10
    Beautiful breakfast on the terrace - nice view
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Beautiful breakfast on the terrace - nice view Everything fine

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.6
    Room, relaxing atmosphere, spa experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Far from touristic points, Need a car to get there

    Room, relaxing atmosphere, spa experience

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    7.9
    Spacious hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor choice of bar food No draught beer and over priced bar

    Spacious hotel

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    Airco too poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Airco too poor

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.1
    View
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast Dinner WiFi was not working for 3 days after storm

    View

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    9.2
    Personnel at the information desk is always ready to help !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Personnel at the information desk is always ready to help !!

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Browse Petriolo Spa Resort traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: