Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Picchio 3 stars

Via Giovanni Salvatori, 05019 Orvieto, Italy

#15 of 34 hotels in Orvieto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 888 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Hotel Picchio is run by a lovely Italian grandmother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Hotel Picchio is run by a lovely Italian grandmother. She is a bundle of energy and takes great pride in her hotel. Her home baked cakes for breakfast made me feel right at home. The location is convenient for the train and funicular station.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    6.3
    Hard to communicate with the owner ( an elder lady)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their air condition is not always open, the temperature is also controlled by the owner. Therefore, the room was really hot when I stayed in the middle June.

    The design and decorations of the room are both nice. It’s a pretty room with poor facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave. We will try to schedule more time next year in this magical place.

    Very important to have access to their garage when traveling with excess luggage. Breakfast is stupendous with homemade cakes, not the store bought kind You get in most places. Easy to get to right off the highway, and easy to get to the ancient center. Staff goes out of their way to assist and ensure your stay is perfect. We stop every year on our trip north thru Tuscany.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Cute hotel with friendly hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and helpful hosts (even parked the car for me because it was a steep hill), easy access to the cable car up to Orvieto, and walking distance to good restaurants. Delicious cakes for breakfast and fresh cherries. Would stay there again!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    A wonderful two days in Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfectly situated at the foot of the high old town a short walk from the funicular. A spotless room with balcony in the new wing. Helpful staff and the charming ‘nona’ who made such amazing cakes for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    An absolute bargain for Orvieto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was satisfied, no negatives.

    A very good location: close to train station and funicular and right on the footpath to the city if you wished to climb which I did. A steep one! My room was in a house next to the hotel, clean, well equipped. Their English is limited so I practiced my just as limited Italian which was very welcomed by the friendly elderly couple who runs the place. She used to be an Italian language teacher so I received some instant instructions concerning Italian grammar.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have control of the air conditioner in our room. It was not on when we got there (which was fine, but there was no type of note/sign about going to the front desk to have them turn it on....) We had to go to the front desk to ask about the air conditioner, and only by doing that did we get the information about it. And the front desk is not attended to after 8pm, so there was no one to ask if you had a question about it at that point. When we got back to our room at approx. 8:30pm it was off again!!! So we did not have it for our night/overnight, and the room was quite muggy. So..... more details about this would be helpful.

    The breakfast was awesome. The lady who owns/runs the place bakes all sorts of cakes, and they were fabulous! They make various coffees (espresso, cappuccino, Americana) at your request. Juices, fruit, cold cuts, breads. Nice setting for eating. Very attentive to the guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Suited our needs for a one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very firm/too firm mattress (as they all have been on our Italian travels so far).

    Fantastic breakfast with an extensive range of home baking. Helpful, personable staff. Nice wee balcony to sit out on. Walking distance (20 - 30 mins) to the old town albeit via a VERY steep hill.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.2
    Large Room with Veranda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large Room with Veranda. Just over the road from the main hotel but with good private parking and decent wifi. Fantastic welcome with lots of info on the local area and maps of Orvieto. We would certainly stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we could possibly fault was the amount of cake on the breakfast buffet - more choice of bread or cereals would be a bit healthier, but apart from that it’s a great little place.

    Good location -easy to find, close to both the railway station and the funicular up to the old town and in a quiet residential area. It’s possible to park on the street, or there is a garage available for an extra charge. Very clean and comfortable- we were in a building across the street from the main hotel and had our own balcony. The owners and staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Breakfast was plentiful, with fruit, ham, cheese, eggs, cereal and lots of cake. We’d definitely stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.9
    While not close to the historic city center on the top of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was somewhat dated, but it was clean, comfortable and functional.

    While not close to the historic city center on the top of the hill, The location was ideal for our early train departure the next morning. The hotel is only a few blocks from the train station and our rental car return. The owner was very friendly, attentive and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    The most amazing home made breakfast, Dannielle was a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ok, so you are in Tuscany and in my opinion is better to have a car (rented or owned) so you can’t park inside the main town and thus you will get in a downhill area and need to be skilled to drive and park.

    The most amazing home made breakfast, Dannielle was a great host and his mom is very sweet and kind, a nice family owned business.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Everything was Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The onwer of the apartment was very kind and hospitality. Because the apartment is located a little bit longer distance from rail station, the onwer picked up us to the apartment without extra charge. It was very nice for us to be able to stay short time in this very beautiful and historic city and also lovely apartment(house).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    This was the perfect start to our week long trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of a thing I would have changed.

    The owner was so friendly and accommodating and her hotel was the first on our journey thru the Hill Towns. It was so close to the furnicular and we had a private garage to park our rental car in. The shower was new and had several water outlets for the best shower ever. The bed was also new and very comfortable. A perfect choice that I would repeat in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Orvieto!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Very close to the train station and funicular for going up to the old town, super clean and the breakfast-wow- delicious homemade pastries by the lovely signora Picchio....I loved this place and want to go back!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location: very close walking distance to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location: very close walking distance to the railway station and to the funiculore. Exceptionally kind staff. Delicious homemade cakes baked by the owner are served at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable hotel. We got room in the new building with parking (additional pay of 5 euro). The breakfast was good. From the hotel is 7 minutes to the old city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    The hosts are very friendly, and the breakfast is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hosts are very friendly, and the breakfast is great. I especially love the cakes that handmade by them. The room is clean and tidy, and the bed is very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    9.6
    Liked size of room assigned to our family of 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Liked size of room assigned to our family of 4. Delicious breakfast home made cakes. Nice and helpful personnel. We stopped during winter and room was warm and clear. Great hotel to stop by with family.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    4.6
    We do not recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having given arrival time, we were surprised that the room was freezing, as the heating was not on. It took a long time to heat up, not good after a long journey. We were put in the “new” part of the hotel. Sadly this lacked any kind of character. The room itself felt unloved and drab.

    Young person on reception was nice and spoke good english Homemade cakes

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Great option to enjoy Orvieto, problably best price-quality ratio
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient hotel right in front of the funiculare to the old town, very clean and comfortable room, excellent breakfast with home-made cakes!!! Amazing price-quality ratio.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Stayed in the annex building in a good sized room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in the annex building in a good sized room and bathroom with a large walk-out patio/balcony with a great view of the valley. The owners were very pleasant and made our stay most enjoyable. There were restaurants within easy walking distance. The garage parking was a bonus as it made access to the luggage very convenient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    A wonderful place to start your trip through Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was NOTHING we didn't like about our stay in Orvieto.

    Gorgeous place, wonderful breakfasts with homemade pastries, fantastic town and the most gracious hosts imaginable. Our first stop in Italy and a wonderful. relaxing place to sightsee while recovering from jet lag. SO glad we started here rather than in a bigger, more crowded city. Orvieto should not be missed if you want to see the real Italy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall a pleasant, comfortable place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient to both train station and historical centre, although some steep hill climbing involved. Spacious clean room. Good homemade cakes as well as usual cereal, yoghurt and fruit for included breakfast. Person actually makes coffee of your choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Excellent value in this well situated hotel at the foot of beautiful Orvieto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was a short walking distance from the railway station for trains, bus and the funicular, making visiting old Orvieto and Bagnoregio very easy. The stafff at the hotel were friendly and helpful, everything worked in the room and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Good Orvieto base..
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle provided but no tea or coffee.

    Large comfortable room with a sunny balcony and space in a locked garage. Close to the Funicular for Orvieto old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Real gem
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Located at the base of the city wall - path down from Municipal Gardens is a nice stroll, leads to the hotel door. Furnicular across the street runs every 10 minutes and is a cheap ride up. Friendly staff, hot breakfast options, comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toiletries were rationed and not enough for the very hot day when you need to shower two to three times. Breakfast was all cold items and it would have been nice if they could offer choice of omelettes or fried eggs than just having stone cold boiled eggs. Also, there are not many choices of restaurants near by except one owned by an Egyptian couple, which served as a life line and which had a very friendly and helpful staff and owners.

    Clean and cozy place with a nice view and very convenient access to the cable car to the old town as well as the main train station. The bathroom was nice and spacious. The staff was nice, especially the older lady owner is quite adorable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    Excellent boutique hotel experience in Umbria at the bottom of magical Orvieto
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was on the 2nd floor (which is equal to 3rd) and no elevator. Thus if you have mobility issues - check in advance. If you park underground it'll add one more set of stairs. This is certainly not an issue if you're fit. At any rate visiting sites in Italy requires a lot of stairs - so 3rd floor of your apartment should not be a problem :-)

    The hotel is located at the bottom of the rock that tops with the old city of Orvieto - in the "new" part of the city. It's very close to the rail station (connection to Rome/Florence) and funicular going to old city center at the top. Parking is underground and cost EU5/day which is reasonable. It's quite easy to get to the old city by car - 10 min drive on mountain road, by bus or by funicular. The owner - retired teacher - a very nice lady and other staff members gave us all directions and explanations. The breakfast was good - especially if you like cakes - there was a whole gallery of them :-). But also yogurt, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, bread, eggs, juices - really for all tastes. The room was spacious, bathroom excellent, towels - many and excellent quality, beds great. The hotel has definitely a boutique feeling about it. We also spent a magical evening in Civita di Bagnoreggio which is about 30 min drive. The old town Orvieto is just a magical place to explore. Don't miss the underground tour - absolutely amazing. The nearby restaurant Da Valerio is great, or if you dine in the old town - just ask the staff, they'll direct you to good places. There's a balcony overlooking Umbria hills and the high speed train line. We couldn't enjoy the balcony as this was the time of heatwave with up to 37C in the shade.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Love this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location......close to train station and funicular. Staff loves to accommodate. Breakfast selection of pastries is amazing! We have stayed here twice, and both times were outstanding!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    Loved our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful room that fit our family of four perfectly. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. One got up very early to bake amazing cakes for breakfast in the morning. It has been our favorite hotel to stay at so far. The location is great and only a short walk from the funicular. We left our bags at the hotel and then took the funicular up to the top portion of Orvieto for the day. The underground tour is a fun activity! If you want more adventure, you can walk back down from the upper part of Orvieto instead taking the funicular. I heard it was about 300m and all downhill. Bolsena is a lake town only 30 minutes from Orvieto by car that is a great place to visit if you have time. The town is beautiful when flowers are in bloom and has well manicured lawn by the walkways. There is a public beach with a great swimming area, which was definitely a highlight of our trip since it was 90 degrees all week. Overall, I highly recommend staying at The Hotel Picchio.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.6
    Home Away from Home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A.

    The comfortable beds, roomy bathroom, balcony and quiet street provided top facilities for an excellent stay. Breakfast was the best in our entire stay with cereals, savoury options of cheese and cold meat slices and a large variety of freshly home cooked pastry cakes with delicious coffee.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.5
    Recommended in Orvieto.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a fairly steep climb up the street to the hotel.

    Hotel Picchio in Orvieto is very conveniently located near the train station. It was a good base to travel to Assisi for a day trip. The breakfast offered is generous and has variety.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Picchio-the place to go.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small family owned hotel with traditional good honest values and a warm & welcoming environment. Comfortable accommodation with all the necessities. Giovanna, the owner & receptionist creates a fresh batch of interesting pastries for your indulgence at breakfast. Paolo makes a great coffee or 2 & can advise on the best historic sights, must see places, restaurants in Orvieto & surrounding areas. Short walk to funicular to the old city, shops, sites etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel for an Orvietto visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    almost nothing

    Excellent breakfast, very comfortable room and bed. Location is great, near the train station in Orvieto Scalo and easy walk to the funicular up to the town. Wonderful breakfast and kind staff. If you do the Percorso Annulare di Rupe walk around the town (recommended) and decide to walk down, you will come down into town on the street that takes you right past the hotel. Perfect for an Orvieto visit either by car or train. The little restaurant/pizzeria (Comte something or other) next to the funicular station has good pizza.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.2
    Great little place to stay town with character
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good. Had booked a family room but he had given it to someone else so meant we had 2 separate rooms but it was and price so ok.

    The place has lots of character up a little steep hill with the church bells ringing often. Right near funicular up to the old town and the train station. Also on the road you walk down told walking down from old town. Breakfast cakes made by the owner and she went out of her way to get us croissants the next day too as we said we couldn't eat too much cake for breakfast! Also salami ham cheese bread. Left bags here too when checked out as had couple of hours before train. Good places to eat on main street opposite funicular exit in old town. We visited Civita Bagnorea. Bus outside station 8am v.cheap. 35 mins there. Got 10.10 bus back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    8.3
    Very close to train , bus and furnicular stations !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit of noisy of the in-room heater , but it functioned good

    Very close to train , bus and furnicular stations ! but the road to the hotel is hilly , pack light is my advice .The hotel owner is very kind and helpful . Rooms are clean though basic .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    6.3
    Nice place for short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I expected the room with a view, but got the one overlooking the street. this disappointed me the most. The rest was fine.

    hand made breakfast was good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    A great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A great place to stay. Close to the train station and easy access to the main town. The staff are friendly and helpful. The home cooked cakes for breakfast were wonderful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    9.6
    Excellent service, homey accommodations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This a delightful little place off the beaten path but within walking distance to the funiculare (trolley car) that takes you up the hill to the medieval town of Orvieto. The room was basic but clean and in a nicely kept building across the street. They offered secure, garaged parking. The breakfast was outstanding with a wonderful assortment of fresh, homemade cakes, tortes, cereal, yogurt, etc. We do not speak Italian, but the mother and daughter who own & operate the hotel did their best to guide us and they were very friendly and accommodating. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    We would like to thank the owner again that she was so kind...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    We would like to thank the owner again that she was so kind as collecting us when we were lost! Everything was really good - location near to the train station and close to the monuments, the comfortable room, the delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    10
    A room with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were wonderful, breakfast delicious. We had a balcony room which overlooked the castle and for us it was perfect. Clean large room with tea, coffee. We stayed a extra night we were so happy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    10
    Ottimo!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Niente!

    The personal service was great as well as the room and the continental breakfast. Location is superb, very close (3 minute walk) to the funicolare which takes you to the historical centre in two minutes.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Easy acess to Orvieto old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location to train station, easy access to Orvieto old town, near cable car, Great family run hotel , value for money , good breakfast many choices

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.5
    Nice Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The couldn't care less attitude to where we ate or if we found hospital etc. The proprietor seemed more concerned I wouldn't give her a bad review. I don't think I have.

    We were given a room across the road from the Hotel Reception with secure parking right under the building, all of which was excellent. I wouldn't say the staff were particularly helpful or friendly. On checking in we observed there was a large group eating and we asked if we could eat now or later in the evening (it was mid afternoon) ... the reply was Non! No eat. We asked where we could eat and they gestured down the hill and turn right or left. After depositing our luggage in the room we went to explore the eateries down the hill left or right. There was one 'bar' opened with frozen food. If this is all Orvieto has to offer I must say I was extremely disappointed. I, unfortunately took unwell and had to enquire about nearest hospital, my husband was informed, down the hill turn right follow signs....we didn't get back to hotel until almost midnight from the hospital. Thankfully my husband managed to get a bottle of water from a woman at main hotel entrance. No one seemed to bother or care about our hospital experience or how I was or try to direct us to an open Pharmacy. It's things like this that can make a stay so unpleasant in a place that promised so much but failed to deliver. Nothing wrong with hotel or room or wi fi or parking facilities, they just seemed a little cold and uncaring is all. Doesn't pay to be unwell while staying here I suppose.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    Location was handy to train station, very friendly staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was handy to train station, very friendly staff, especially Nona who was in charge of breakfast, beautiful lady and her home baking was devine..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family run business with a lot of love. Friendly and welcoming. Comfortable clean rooms with a balcony that looked over classic Italian village. Amazing breakfast with a mouthwatering array of homemade cakes. Overall as our first stop in Italy if fulfilled all our imaginings of what our trip would be like.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    Peach Picchio
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My chronic complaint is lack of ONE English tv channel. At night i would like to unwind with some program, even besides the news, in English.

    Location, friendliness of staff and their willingness to help.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    9.6
    Amazing small hotel just outside the walled city close to the station!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Good location to the train station, very easy to find and walk to with our luggage, room was very spacious and clean. The hotel staff was super nice and friendly! We arrived pretty early and we were planning to just drop off our bags, but surprisingly they had the room ready and let us check in right away. Breakfast consisted of a LARGE variety of baked breads, tarts, pies and cold meats + cheeses. Very great stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi strength was very poor.

    Good location to the train station. Friendly family run hotel. The manager recommended a restaurant for dinner which was a excellent choice.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    9.2
    Large two-bedroom suite for a family with a nice terrace and a full breakfast in the morning
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Economy Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was hard to use the old-fashioned room key, but we figured it out. (The hotel is very well located. Just be aware that staying here means climbing a steep hill--not too surprising given that Orvieto is a hill town.)

    The terrace was large and lovely with a nice view. The apartment was spacious. The beds were comfortable. Breakfast was very nice, especially the cakes. My son rated the cappucino made for him there as the best (of dozens) of coffees he had in Italy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    5.0
    laughable almost.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged for a triple when i booked, on arrival i was given a double. They would not give me a different room or a discount. the lady said they did not have any triple rooms! at breakfast everything the lady was unfriendly and questioned the fact that i had paid the night before.

    the location was convenient for the station.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff and beautiful breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and beautiful breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.5
    Clean and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic breakfast

    Clean and good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    The terrace and the wonderful breakfast with cakes handmade.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The terrace and the wonderful breakfast with cakes handmade.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    It was good to stop before the flight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was good to stop before the flight!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.5
    Large room and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Large room and bathroom. Had a nice patio. Close to train and bus stops.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    I would recommend this value for money, friendly, well located hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast Warm welcome Helpful staff Great location for visiting town and travel to rail station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Very close to train station, friendly staff and love the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to train station, friendly staff and love the handmade cake..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Homely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Alrhough we checked out in the early morring, the onwer kindly prepared the breakfast for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    very good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    The shower cubicle!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cubicle!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Extra care was taken in the design of the doors and locks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Extra care was taken in the design of the doors and locks. Breakfeast was filled with an array of homemade pies and cakes!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Nice location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location! And Pichhio's family very kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.1
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is on top of a hill. It is difficult to go there with suitcases.

    Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    A reasonably priced hotel in a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is amazing!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very kind staff; proximity to funicular and train

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.3
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent breakfast, cakes were amazing. Great restaurants recommended by the host. The hostess was so helpful and such a lovely person

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    be prepared for the best cakes at breakfast, strange for many europeans but were they good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The owner and her team were great. The location near the funicular railway is fantastic. Orvieto is a great place to visit

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    It was clean and neat
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff wasn't very helpful

    It was clean and neat

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homemade cakes were delicious

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Excellent authentic iold italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness of the owner and flowers as well as. Breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Comfortable and excellent location. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to car rental drop off, funicular and train station. Low cost of room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.8
    Great staff, great location to train station & funicular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great staff, great location to train station & funicular. The balcony was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Picchio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: