Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ristorante Piccolo Chianti 3 stars

Strada Di Castellina In Chianti 20 - Loc. Fontebecci, 53100 Siena, Italy

#19 of 51 hotels in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 524 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice hotel with parking at location, we received a rear room (triple, 3 adults) which was quiet. The hosts are really kind, friendly and helpful, you even receive free bottles of water which is vital in the summer. The breakfast was nice with a variety of pastries made by our male host who is a baker and has recently opened his own bakery, we feel his bakery would be worth a visit. There are a variety of restaurants, cafes and even a McDonald's just 2-3 minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Street view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were fabulous. Very friendly, helpful, kind and the breakfast homemade by the owner was the best we had on our trip!!! Everything absolutely wonderful !!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Street view
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had the room near the road, which was a bit noisy, but we had ear plugs so was not a big problem.

    Great hotel for citytripping. Staff is very friendly, breakfast was way better then other hotels. Taxi from hotel to city center costs about 12 euro. Great coffee!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Street view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit far out to comfortably walk although there were regular buses into and out of town. It's located on a really busy corner and road noise was a problem in the rooms right on the road (I asked to be moved which helped a little bit)

    The staff were really friendly, helpful and accommodating. The room was a good size. Being further out of town meant it was more affordable and there was a good bus service that ran regularly into town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Street view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Finding the property might be a little bit tricky because the address is not recognised by the majority of the GPS. Also, at the beginning of our stay, one of the double bedrooms was at the ground floor with a little nice garden just in the front. However, we did find some ants in the floor and in the bed. The owners apologised and they immediately changed our bedroom with one in the first floor. Apart from this little "accident", we had a fantastic stay.

    The double rooms are comfortable enough for two people. The presence of air conditioning, and a mini bar might be really useful when outside is really hot in summer. The garden around the property is really nice and there is the possibility to have dinner outside weather permitting. The staff is super nice and friendly, always available to satisfy any needs, or to give advise about the places to visit in the area. Breakfast is really good, offering a wide choice of sweet and savoury products.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Silent
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our stay at the Hotel Ristorante Piccolo Chianti was very pleasant. The room was nice. Rather quiet, very clean (cleaning lady came daily), safe surroundings / neighborhood and great connection to major roads and public transportation (e.g. bus stop for 1hour-8€ ride to Florence or 10min-1.20€ ride to Siena was 1 min away by foot). The hotel staff was always super-friendly and helpful and really made you feel appreciated as a guest. Communication in English was never a problem. Breakfast was typical Italian, i.e. apart from some slices of nice white bread and some tasty cheese and salami, everything was sweet - cake, croissants, cookies and some more cake. Not what I usually prefer, but if one is in Italy, he might as well adapt to the local cuisine, I guess. And the quality of the food on offer was great – most of it (including the cakes) was self-made, which you could really taste. Coffee was great, too! Furthermore, we had dinner twice in the hotel restaurant and we absolutely regret that we haven’t been able to go more often. The food (we picked local Tuscan dishes) was amazing and, without any exaggeration, some of the best I’ve ever eaten in my life – yes, it was that good. Prices were modest (we paid only around 15€ per person for an evening). If you stay at the Piccolo Chianti (or in the vicinity), you owe it to yourself to try their Pici cacio e pepe, Pappa al Pomodoro et. al. Overall, we wholeheartedly recommend this accommodation and if we ever decide to go back to beautiful Tuscany, we will go out of our way to stay at the Piccolo Chianti again. Thank you so much for our great stay!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a nice boutique type hotel with private parking right out front. They had nice seating areas all around the property. It was close to downtown old Siena but far enough away to be able to park. It wouldn't be close enough to walk and not easy with a bus, but unlike most cities, Siena has good free public parking outside of the old town. They had a nice breakfast in the morning. We would return to stay here.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Street view
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite a long way from the centre of Sienna - buses every 30 mins took 30 mins, or you could drive but parking space is difficult and there is a long walk from any of the car parks. We stayed here to avoid driving into the ZTL. The hotel suffered from traffic noise.

    Nice garden at rear of the hotel. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Street view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We selected the quietest room offered, but it was smaller than the other two. The location is on a very busy roundabout.

    Our GPS could not locate the address--we stopped at two places to ask for it. Other than that, we like the 3 room options that were shown to us. The staff person was congenial and very helpful, especially when we asked for a local grocery store.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just great

    Staff just wonderful, location great and the amenities incredible. Especially the craddle in the garden. Exceptional value for money

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Street view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was missing the heather, it seems was only in the bath

    Amazing home made breakfast with salty and sweet food... suitable for all type of taste

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Silent
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain about. Enjoyed our stay.

    Location just outside downtown Siena, but with a country setting, like olive trees and other plants in the back yard. Loved the outdoor seating areas, had our meals outside. Good breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff. Rooms were clean Good WiFi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    old furniture poor breakfast we rented this place far from the city center because they advertised their own restaurant with terrace but we were not able to eat there in the first night because they had a group in all restaurant. second evening we asked to have dinner on the terrace in this was not possible... there are only two restaurants nearby but very busy in the evening, so you have to wait to get a table after 20:30 or you are simply refused.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Street view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place to stay,close to town centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Street view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free parking on site, nice breakfast, good value for mine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff great coffee

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Street view
    • Stayed 1 night

    very noisy place

    breakfest

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Street view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impossible to get a park close to centre of city.

    Accommodation once we were able to find it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Street view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fitting in a Tuscany experience. Lovely staff, fresh and homemade food and cosy atmosphere!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Street view
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great homemade food for breakfast and super friendly, hospitable staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traffic makes it very tricky to get out off the carpark

    Great little hotel, great staff fabulous food!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice welcome at arrival, restaurant available in the hotel, very good breakfest!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely very well kept small hotel with super friendly personnel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Street view
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was great and abundant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Street view
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect for a night's stay in Siena.

    Staff were friendly and room was nice, fresh and had a small courtyard.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit noisy, parking limited, getting into the old town could be tortuous. Nearby roads very busy at times.

    Easy to find and convenient to reaching main roads to other places.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the bad communication with the staff in English. but noise insulation

    the location. the nice hotel with the garden outside

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nice small, family hotel. Very friendly and cozy atmosphere.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: