Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Piero Della Francesca 3 stars

Viale Comandino 53, 61029 Urbino, Italy

#11 of 14 hotels in Urbino

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1094 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.6
    Hotel in walking distance to the historic centre of Urbino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was quite inattentive (particularly comparing to other experience with other hotel staff in other places in Italy who is generally cordial). Fortunately, breakfast staff was nice, so she improved overall impression regarding hotel staff to 50%. Hotel is definitely outdated and it looks like there were really merely minor investments since 1970s. It is a pity because the place can have great potential. The room was dusty. The A/C is noisy. Really noisy. The bathroom was extremely smelly. The obvious reason for it is that there is no possible ventilation of the bathroom, so you can expect some mould...

    Hotel in walking distance to the historic centre of Urbino. Easy accessible by car and easy free parking in the street in a calm residential area. Quite comfortable bed. Good WiFi connection.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay!
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception forgot about a shipping package that was previously arranged, so it got sent back to the sender.

    Great breakfast, clean and tidy rooms, staff very friendly. I recommend totally.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing. Not a three star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfasts were very poor quality, limited selection. Bathroom very cramped and awkward to use. Limited view from windows. Parking limited and insecure.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.3
    Helpful housekeeping staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too hard and some pillows had stains in them. Towels outworn and not fresh. Got the feeling of hostel for young people which dont show on Booking.com.

    Helpful housekeeping staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    It is very close to the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced the street and it is a busy area therefore noisy. There is parking at the side and back of hotel but if it is full you are out of luck.

    It is very close to the old city. It is about a 15 min. walk. Hotel was Clean and staff was friendly and helpful. Locals will give good suggestions as to places to eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building Smell of food on the hallway Windows not sealed properly Wi-Fi signal in the room

    Cleanliness Kind staff Proximity to city center Air conditioning Cable TV Price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    5.4
    The room is very big, with a balcony and a very nice view on...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is not of good quality, the room is outdated, and the price definitely too high and not competitive.

    The room is very big, with a balcony and a very nice view on the hills surrounding Urbino.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    The staff was very gently and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The public transportation during the day is very good and the bus stop is exactly outside the hotel but the night the public transportation becomes a bit weird. The bus routes are rare and the timetables generally are not reliable. You should check the electronic timetables to see when a bus is coming. For example the indication 3, 45 means that bus n.3 will arrive in 45 minytes. We didn't know that and we lost our bus. Then we tried to take a taxi from a central square. The taxi was there but not the taxi driver!!! so we had to go back on foot and we walk for 20 minytes in a slow pace. So if you have intetion to stay out till late be sure to find the way back

    The staff was very gently and helpful. The everyday room cleaning was excellent and the breakfast was very good,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.1
    Cleaning was ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel, not refurbished but (almost) well maintained; Tricky and narrow, old fashioned elevators (); Breakfast needs an improvement...

    Cleaning was ok! Not far away from the citadel, only 10 min walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.1
    Lovely modern lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was ok. Not much variety, mostly sweet cakes. Good coffee Expensive tourist tax 3 euro per person. Room was a bit tired, small bathroom.

    Lovely modern lobby. Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.8
    Great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was 15 mins on foot from the city and opposite from the hospital where there is a bus stop. The room was very big and comfortable and it had a great view of the trees and mountains. Even though we didn't eat breakfast it seemed very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    Good service and location, but hotel rooms need renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Common parts of the hotel were nice, but the room and bathroom (although big enough for three) need definitely renovation.

    Location was strategic and handy: just out of the very centre of Urbino (hence, better when travelling by car) and parking was free just around the corner, although Hotel did not have a parking lot of its own.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    5.8
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and bathroom are outdated, there is a specific "old" smell. I needed an iron, but the receptionist told me that they don't have it, and that was quite bad as I was attending a wedding and needed to iron my dress. Please, get at least one iron which can be used by guests!

    Air conditioning in the room, not far from city center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast. Nice staff Room with balcony

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    4.2
    late check in possible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    noisy doors, bad soundproofing, cramped bathroom layout, bad breakfast

    late check in possible

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Very clean, friendly personel, view from the balcony on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I m not one to fuss

    Very clean, friendly personel, view from the balcony on surrounding hills

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    near city center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Urbino is beautifull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Eggs for breakfast

    A room was with balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not good. Stale bread and very little choice.

    Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What eggs?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    10
    Neat and well equipped
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neat and well equipped

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location, great if you have a car .Comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.5
    bang for the buck
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sometimes there was no hot water.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    We felt like we were home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt like we were home!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.3
    The room was basic but clean and had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was disappointing as it was mostly just different types of cakes, but I understand this is not uncommon in Italy!

    The room was basic but clean and had everything we needed. Check-in and check-out were straightforward.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    5.0
    Such a kind staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I knew that the location was not in the historic city, and I will not complain for the 20+ minute walk that indeed is lovely. I also expected basic facilities, in fact the PDF Hotel looks like those rundown accommodations designated by school's trips in which the scope of furniture is to resist any kids' vandalism. What I did not expect was to find such an accumulation of dust, others' hair, etc. in a 3*** hotel.

    Such a kind staff! I arrived too early and the room was not ready, but I was allowed to leave my luggage at the hotel. As it was urgent for me to get some documents printed, they offered me to use their own printer.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.5
    It's a clean hotel and the backside has amazing view on...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The personell' s English is very poor which led to some misunderstings. The airco wasn't working in the room.

    It's a clean hotel and the backside has amazing view on the surrounding hills. Also, there was a bath in my double bedroom which is definitely a plus.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    7.9
    Bus into centre of town is right at the door.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee making facilities, but not unusual in this type of hotel.

    Bus into centre of town is right at the door. Walking from the centre is also pleasant. WiFi fast and reliable.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    7.9
    Not a high ranking hotel, but the staff was really kind and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a high ranking hotel, but the staff was really kind and helpful, it has a good quality/price relation and the room was clean. We had a nice stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    4.2
    It was a convenient place to stopover on our journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Woman on reception didn't even look at us. She tried to charge us more than was stated on Booking.com. The room was dingy and overlooked a derelict building site. The restaurant was closed and when asked for local restaurant, receptionist just pointed down the street. The area is very run down and does not feel safe, and the parking space and hotel are not secure. When went out for food later there was no one staffing the front desk - anyone could have walked in! The shower head was broken and sprayed water in the wrong direction soaking the floor, the carpet was filthy and the bed wasn't made when we arrived. The quilt was a single ( on a double bed) and had no cover. The breakfast was adequate but uninspiring and the breakfast room door led onto the street and was left open allowing flies in. Overall, it was a horrible experience and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    It was a convenient place to stopover on our journey

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    6.3
    Location was ok because we had a car-parking is tight though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No soap or toiletries in the bathroom, leaky shower, no view from balcony, very uncomfortable bed.

    Location was ok because we had a car-parking is tight though. Free WiFi.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    7.9
    Much better than the reviews suggested.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit worn around the edges, no charm.

    Much better than the reviews suggested. About a 20 minute walk from the town center but mostly flat, sidewalk. Boring but perfectly safe and way better than trying to arrange parking or paying for a garage. Pleasant view from little terrace if you get a room in the back.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small bed (not even enough for two adults) dirty shower (silicone was applied very rough and dirty), over all the building looked like it needed a facelift and dated back from the industrial seventies . Not so friendly staff at the reception. Breakfast was poor.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    5.0
    Good customer service, the staff was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Overall, the hotel is a bit shabby. Rooms are rather cheap so I wasn't expecting too much, yet my room was smelly and a bit run down.

    Good customer service, the staff was really nice.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    8.8
    Straightforward practical, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi only in reception, despite being advertised as in every room. Not in "romantic" city centre (15 min. walk), but as a compensation, free parking available

    Straightforward practical, good value for money

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    5.8
    Staff are generally helpful and put the small things we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a leak in the bathroom and the metal external shutter that kept the room dark didn't work. The WiFi didn't reach our room on the edge of the hotel.

    Staff are generally helpful and put the small things we reported right immediately, (cigarette butts in plastic cup left on balcony, no refuse bin in bathroom).

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    7.5
    Nice view from the window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check out time different that declared in the offer.

    Nice view from the window. Rooms and toilets oldfashioned but clean and pretty spacious. Short walk from the old city.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    7.5
    ok location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noisy room, because of the traffic breakfast was a bit poor (there were cornflakes but no milk, only toast bread, and sweet pastries)

    ok location

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    This hotel is very easy to access for a one night stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Found the double bed to be smaller than what you would expect for a double bed.

    This hotel is very easy to access for a one night stay,

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    6.3
    I liked the fact that I had a view for a change.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The fact that there is not even one channel in English on the whole television network!

    I liked the fact that I had a view for a change.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    7.5
    Wanderful view to the sunrise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    there is not adapter for my laptop and I coudn`t use it

    Wanderful view to the sunrise.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    8.8
    Cordialità efficienza
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Cordialità efficienza

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    5.8
    OK for en overnatning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    OK for en overnatning

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    5.8
    Was within walking distance to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was within walking distance to town. Nice view of the sunset from the room.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.5
    Perfect location,good value for the price ,clean,comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free parking...not really clear,

    Perfect location,good value for the price ,clean,comfortable

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.8
    WiFi could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi could be better. POS apparently not working, although I paid with the same card in 7 countries. Maybe they prefer cash.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    8.3
    Clean room;
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Clean room; helpful staff; good value

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.2
    Spacious room and the free internet computer in lobby was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious room and the free internet computer in lobby was very helpful for us. Nice pizza place nearby for dinner - Mystic Pizza.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/a

    Very friendly people. Architectural and cultural overload, superb.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    7.5
    A fair hotel for a fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing in particular.

    A fair hotel for a fair price. The closeness of Urbino centre is pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    7.9
    The hotel was good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was good value for money. It was clean and comfortable. It is just a short walk to the historic town which is very pretty and interesting.

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    7.5
    Helpful staff and reasonably clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fine

    Helpful staff and reasonably clean

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    7.1
    The double bed was too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The double bed was too small.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Hotel Piero Della Francesca traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: