Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Piero Della Francesca This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Viale Comandino 53, 61029 Urbino, Italy

#14 of 18 hotels in Urbino

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1059 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    6.3
    Helpful housekeeping staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds too hard and some pillows had stains in them. Towels outworn and not fresh. Got the feeling of hostel for young people which dont show on Booking.com.

    Helpful housekeeping staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.3
    It is very close to the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room faced the street and it is a busy area therefore noisy. There is parking at the side and back of hotel but if it is full you are out of luck.

    It is very close to the old city. It is about a 15 min. walk. Hotel was Clean and staff was friendly and helpful. Locals will give good suggestions as to places to eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    7.9
    Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old building Smell of food on the hallway Windows not sealed properly Wi-Fi signal in the room

    Cleanliness Kind staff Proximity to city center Air conditioning Cable TV Price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    5.4
    The room is very big, with a balcony and a very nice view on...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is not of good quality, the room is outdated, and the price definitely too high and not competitive.

    The room is very big, with a balcony and a very nice view on the hills surrounding Urbino.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2017

    9.6
    The staff was very gently and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The public transportation during the day is very good and the bus stop is exactly outside the hotel but the night the public transportation becomes a bit weird. The bus routes are rare and the timetables generally are not reliable. You should check the electronic timetables to see when a bus is coming. For example the indication 3, 45 means that bus n.3 will arrive in 45 minytes. We didn't know that and we lost our bus. Then we tried to take a taxi from a central square. The taxi was there but not the taxi driver!!! so we had to go back on foot and we walk for 20 minytes in a slow pace. So if you have intetion to stay out till late be sure to find the way back

    The staff was very gently and helpful. The everyday room cleaning was excellent and the breakfast was very good,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    7.1
    Cleaning was ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old hotel, not refurbished but (almost) well maintained; Tricky and narrow, old fashioned elevators (); Breakfast needs an improvement...

    Cleaning was ok! Not far away from the citadel, only 10 min walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    7.1
    Lovely modern lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was ok. Not much variety, mostly sweet cakes. Good coffee Expensive tourist tax 3 euro per person. Room was a bit tired, small bathroom.

    Lovely modern lobby. Free parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2017

    8.8
    Great choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was 15 mins on foot from the city and opposite from the hospital where there is a bus stop. The room was very big and comfortable and it had a great view of the trees and mountains. Even though we didn't eat breakfast it seemed very nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    6.7
    Good service and location, but hotel rooms need renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Common parts of the hotel were nice, but the room and bathroom (although big enough for three) need definitely renovation.

    Location was strategic and handy: just out of the very centre of Urbino (hence, better when travelling by car) and parking was free just around the corner, although Hotel did not have a parking lot of its own.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    5.8
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room and bathroom are outdated, there is a specific "old" smell. I needed an iron, but the receptionist told me that they don't have it, and that was quite bad as I was attending a wedding and needed to iron my dress. Please, get at least one iron which can be used by guests!

    Air conditioning in the room, not far from city center

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2016

    7.1
    Basic, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is very basic, WIFI doesn't work in the wing of the hotel we were in, breakfast is a bit plain.

    The room is big, the bed is comfortable, the bathroom is large and functional, the location is quiet and close enough to the center of town, the staff is nice and helpful. Parking easy to find.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2016

    6.7
    hotel was clean and close to the centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had explicitly asked for a room not facing the busy road because I know Urbino, but they gave us a room facing the noisy road anyway. They told us that the type of room we had booked only gave out on the road. there had not been any comunication about this before. They didn't offer to change the room.

    hotel was clean and close to the centre

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2016

    7.5
    Fine for a short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite the fact that we asked the non-smoking room, the smell in the room we received was very strong! No fridge in the room (also a small one) The shower was fixed on top (old version)

    Good value for these money, we stayed there 1 night and that was fine. Location is ok, bus stop is just below the hotel or else 10-15 min walk to the old town. Breakfast was fair and the room was ok. Staff also was quite helpful! Internet is free and the parking was also free by the way! Comfortable bed and the flat TV in the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2016

    7.1
    Clean and friendly staff
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The place isn't beautiful, maybe they could think about a little redesign of the rooms and the hall. Breakfast can also be improved!

    The hotel was clean and so were the bed sheets, and that for me is the most important thing!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    near city center

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    7.9
    Urbino is beautifull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Eggs for breakfast

    A room was with balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was not good. Stale bread and very little choice.

    Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    8.8
    Good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    What eggs?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    10
    Neat and well equipped
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Neat and well equipped

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2017

    8.3
    Great location, great if you have a car .Comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast could have been better.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2016

    7.5
    bang for the buck
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sometimes there was no hot water.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2016

    10
    We felt like we were home!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt like we were home!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2016

    5.4
    Simple, neat hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was cheap and that's what it was...

    Simple, neat hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2016

    10
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    The very friendly staff, the clean air-conditioned rooms, ample car parking, close to bus line into centre of Urbino.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2015

    8.3
    The room was basic but clean and had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was disappointing as it was mostly just different types of cakes, but I understand this is not uncommon in Italy!

    The room was basic but clean and had everything we needed. Check-in and check-out were straightforward.

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2015

    5.0
    Such a kind staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    I knew that the location was not in the historic city, and I will not complain for the 20+ minute walk that indeed is lovely. I also expected basic facilities, in fact the PDF Hotel looks like those rundown accommodations designated by school's trips in which the scope of furniture is to resist any kids' vandalism. What I did not expect was to find such an accumulation of dust, others' hair, etc. in a 3*** hotel.

    Such a kind staff! I arrived too early and the room was not ready, but I was allowed to leave my luggage at the hotel. As it was urgent for me to get some documents printed, they offered me to use their own printer.

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2015

    7.5
    It's a clean hotel and the backside has amazing view on...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The personell' s English is very poor which led to some misunderstings. The airco wasn't working in the room.

    It's a clean hotel and the backside has amazing view on the surrounding hills. Also, there was a bath in my double bedroom which is definitely a plus.

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2015

    7.9
    Bus into centre of town is right at the door.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No tea/coffee making facilities, but not unusual in this type of hotel.

    Bus into centre of town is right at the door. Walking from the centre is also pleasant. WiFi fast and reliable.

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2015

    7.9
    Not a high ranking hotel, but the staff was really kind and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not a high ranking hotel, but the staff was really kind and helpful, it has a good quality/price relation and the room was clean. We had a nice stay.

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2015

    4.2
    It was a convenient place to stopover on our journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Woman on reception didn't even look at us. She tried to charge us more than was stated on Booking.com. The room was dingy and overlooked a derelict building site. The restaurant was closed and when asked for local restaurant, receptionist just pointed down the street. The area is very run down and does not feel safe, and the parking space and hotel are not secure. When went out for food later there was no one staffing the front desk - anyone could have walked in! The shower head was broken and sprayed water in the wrong direction soaking the floor, the carpet was filthy and the bed wasn't made when we arrived. The quilt was a single ( on a double bed) and had no cover. The breakfast was adequate but uninspiring and the breakfast room door led onto the street and was left open allowing flies in. Overall, it was a horrible experience and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

    It was a convenient place to stopover on our journey

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2015

    6.3
    Location was ok because we had a car-parking is tight though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No soap or toiletries in the bathroom, leaky shower, no view from balcony, very uncomfortable bed.

    Location was ok because we had a car-parking is tight though. Free WiFi.

  • Reviewed: August 4, 2015

    7.9
    Much better than the reviews suggested.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit worn around the edges, no charm.

    Much better than the reviews suggested. About a 20 minute walk from the town center but mostly flat, sidewalk. Boring but perfectly safe and way better than trying to arrange parking or paying for a garage. Pleasant view from little terrace if you get a room in the back.

  • Reviewed: July 27, 2015

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small bed (not even enough for two adults) dirty shower (silicone was applied very rough and dirty), over all the building looked like it needed a facelift and dated back from the industrial seventies . Not so friendly staff at the reception. Breakfast was poor.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2015

    5.0
    Good customer service, the staff was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Overall, the hotel is a bit shabby. Rooms are rather cheap so I wasn't expecting too much, yet my room was smelly and a bit run down.

    Good customer service, the staff was really nice.

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2015

    8.8
    Straightforward practical, good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi only in reception, despite being advertised as in every room. Not in "romantic" city centre (15 min. walk), but as a compensation, free parking available

    Straightforward practical, good value for money

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2015

    5.8
    Staff are generally helpful and put the small things we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a leak in the bathroom and the metal external shutter that kept the room dark didn't work. The WiFi didn't reach our room on the edge of the hotel.

    Staff are generally helpful and put the small things we reported right immediately, (cigarette butts in plastic cup left on balcony, no refuse bin in bathroom).

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2015

    7.5
    Nice view from the window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check out time different that declared in the offer.

    Nice view from the window. Rooms and toilets oldfashioned but clean and pretty spacious. Short walk from the old city.

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2016

    7.5
    ok location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noisy room, because of the traffic breakfast was a bit poor (there were cornflakes but no milk, only toast bread, and sweet pastries)

    ok location

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2016

    9.2
    This hotel is very easy to access for a one night stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Found the double bed to be smaller than what you would expect for a double bed.

    This hotel is very easy to access for a one night stay,

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2015

    6.3
    I liked the fact that I had a view for a change.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The fact that there is not even one channel in English on the whole television network!

    I liked the fact that I had a view for a change.

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    7.5
    Wanderful view to the sunrise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    there is not adapter for my laptop and I coudn`t use it

    Wanderful view to the sunrise.

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2015

    8.8
    Cordialità efficienza
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Cordialità efficienza

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    5.8
    OK for en overnatning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    OK for en overnatning

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2015

    5.8
    Was within walking distance to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was within walking distance to town. Nice view of the sunset from the room.

  • Reviewed: August 16, 2015

    7.5
    Perfect location,good value for the price ,clean,comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Free parking...not really clear,

    Perfect location,good value for the price ,clean,comfortable

  • Reviewed: August 8, 2015

    8.8
    WiFi could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi could be better. POS apparently not working, although I paid with the same card in 7 countries. Maybe they prefer cash.

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2015

    8.3
    Clean room;
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Clean room; helpful staff; good value

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2015

    9.2
    Spacious room and the free internet computer in lobby was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious room and the free internet computer in lobby was very helpful for us. Nice pizza place nearby for dinner - Mystic Pizza.

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/a

    Very friendly people. Architectural and cultural overload, superb.

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2015

    7.5
    A fair hotel for a fair price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing in particular.

    A fair hotel for a fair price. The closeness of Urbino centre is pleasant.

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2015

    7.9
    The hotel was good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was good value for money. It was clean and comfortable. It is just a short walk to the historic town which is very pretty and interesting.

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2015

    7.5
    Helpful staff and reasonably clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was fine

    Helpful staff and reasonably clean

  • Reviewed: June 4, 2015

    7.1
    The double bed was too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The double bed was too small.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Browse Hotel Piero Della Francesca Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: