Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Piranesi 4 stars

Via Del Babuino, 196, Spagna, 00187 Rome, Italy

#434 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 289 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed cover and cushions on the bed Very dated Nobody came to prepare the room for the night Breakfast quality, to be in Italy, avarege Bed sheets very poor quality

    Location the best Staff very kind

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiters at breakfast took away my dish before I went away. It was like they wanted I leave the breakfast room as soon as possible. Everything else was good!

    Very central location, staff kindness, gym in the hotel. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the room. I realize I’m in Europe and certainly wasn’t expecting a suite but with suitcases taking up space it was difficult moving around. It had all the amenities though.

    The staff were outstanding-very helpful and friendly. Location of the hotel was superb-we walked everywhere. Rooms were small but well maintained. Breakfast was good - fresh and very efficiently run.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was not cleaned for two days !!! If it were not for this - we would have ranked the hotel much higher.

    The location is super. The front-desk staff is very friendly, polite, helpful and efficient. They are a highlight !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    Very nice hotel of this class.....great location, kept nicely & clean. Front desk staff is very friendly and welcoming. The rest of the staff was also friendly and helpful throughout the stay. I would book there again. Overall this is a great recommendable place.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was dirty, the bathroom straight out of a military camp, especially the shower, and the size of the room - more like a maid's quarter from a 19th century horror movie

    Location only - the rest - sub standard

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows were like sleeping on cement bags. Bathroom could have done with a little "tidying" up, i.e. paintwork peeling in places. One of the reasons for booking this hotel was the rooftop balcony however although the lights were lit each night it was never in use which was a shame.

    Lovely old palazzo tastefully furnished in fantastic location for seeing Rome'sattractions. Staff very friendly. Small but comfortable rooms with balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very poor facility. I am shocked at the rating they have. The hotel needs to be majorly upgraded in terms of rooms , bathroom, everything really. Horrible beginning to our anniversary trip to Italy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and outdated rooms and the first 5 pictures on line are of a beautiful renovated room which they only have one of!

    Perfect location near Spanish Steps and shopping

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great, staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We would stay again for sure! Great location close to everything. We were on our honeymoon and it was perfect for us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the best Hotels I have been in in the last years , and I travel a lot both business and leisure .Staff education , ongoing attention and care stands apart .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like. Excellent hotel!

    The hotel was beautiful and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean and felt very safe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are quite small and the one we have been in had no view and facing an interior courtyard.

    Location is great, right next to the Piazza del Popolo and 5 minutes to the Spanish Steps. Lots of restaurants and shops around. Breakfast was really good, as well as service generally. They have an amazing roof top terrace, with excellent views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A coffee machine in the room would have been a bonus , and the quality of the Pillows needs drastic improvement .

    Primarily , the location is superb - I especially liked the old world charm, & décor that is intelligently melded to incorporate modern amenities. The Staff is supremely polite, helpful , multilingual , and being a single women traveller , took special care of me , which was enormously appreciated.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is painfully slow!

    David - the king of the front desk as well as the breakfast staff make the visit like being at home!!! I have previously stayed at this hotel and will go back again!! You could not be more centrally located for visiting Rome yet you feel like you are staying at someone's home.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities (beds, bathroom, etc.) are pretty basic, and I found the bed uncomfortable. But given the price point and location, still a good value.

    Outstanding location - near the Spanish Steps and Piazza del Popolo - and very kind, attentive staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -tiny, small room in the corner -AC not working -very small shower with the door that didn't close fully so ended up having all the water on the floor -NO IRON when had an important meeting couldn't even have my clothes ironed -NO flip-flops and shower because the room was too standard for that. -poor view in the corner, because have been told by housekeeping that the main streets view are for exclusive rooms. -VERY POOR breakfast, no vegetables, not tasty bread, no fruits, just poor choice of hams and cheese and croissants with SUGAR LAYER on the top. Didn't like.

    -location is fair enough as its located on nice shopping street between Piazza Spagna and Piazza Poppolo

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If anything, the wifi connection was fairly weak in the room.

    This was a lovely small boutique hotel where you were greeted each time you entered and left the hotel. The rooms were very clean and staff were attentive, for instance they remembered how to make your coffee. A great location yet quiet and peaceful setting.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very much really, but the hard boiled eggs at breakfast were overdone. Yet, the breakfast buffet and coffee service were very good.

    The hotel location allowed us to do quite a bit of sightseeing. The junior suite that we had was cozy, efficient, quiet and clean. The hotel has a lot of old world charm. The taxi stand was right up the street, and there were plenty of places to eat within walking distance. I really liked the place and wouldn't hesitate recommending the hotel to others or staying there again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is tired and in need of repairs. The rooftop terrace and bar appear permanently closed and the bar in the hotel is also closed.

    Excellent location steps away from Piazza del Popolo and via del Corso and short walk to Spanish Steps. Rooms are quite spacious for Rome, free wifi works well and staff are friendly and helpful. As a bonus - allowed late check out.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We didn't like the croissants to have sugar on them for breakfast.. How horrible is that????

    The staff, David......was wonderful! Couldn't have asked for more! There was nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was unconfortable

    Location and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrace and Location :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    AC wasn't work

    the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    oldish bathroom and small room- property needs to be modernized

    location-friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very very dusty. Needs a better cleaning.

    Polite and Helpful Staff Nice Breakfast Great Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dust on the floor/housewares in the room

    Location, personal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, fantastic roof terrace where one can see whole Rome historic center,very beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    would of liked a better view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a balcony room as my partner smokes and we didn’t get one but they were helpful and polite

    Location location location perfect

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is beautiful!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small. The shower is tiny.

    The staff are great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great place! really friendly and helpful stuff, perfect location!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No resturant and the decor is a bit tired

    The central licayion

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Good hard bed with very good housekeeping

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it's too small for DUS room and there is not much wall socket to use

    location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was great. Concierge was wonderful--and entire staff. Some rooms are just so-so, but our suite was really cute.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    if you can find another hotel, just do it.

    location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very clean. Old

    Location was great

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows really uncomfortable.

    Upgrade to suite when issues with initial room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The place and the street view are execellent 😜

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location n interior

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very hard Poor breakfast Breads sweet not plain

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    room too small

    location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was tiny, but perfect for me.

    Loved my little balcony with table and chairs for my morning coffee.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would suggest improving the pillows and mattress. Need new carpet in hallway and stairs

    Staff was excellent and very good. Location is perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar did not open during stay, pricey for accommodations, breakfast was marginal

    Location is great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, clean and comfortable room, friendly and knowledgeable staff and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The closer train station is Flaminia and not spagna. This should be noted in hotel description

    It is very central. Easy access to other landmarks.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff, beautiful, well preserved older hotel, with modern fitness room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More soap. Beds too small for a suite

    Breakfast ok. But could be better

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator slow very old Bed not comfortable Simple thing not aviliable ironing electrical adapters

    Staff helpfull

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small Rooms Thin Walls Breakfast just so so

    Nice Staff and good location Good AC

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was all great. Maybe breakfast look just average from the displaying and the breakfast room is in the basement. But is not a negative point is just to point out some differences from previous Hotel I have been

    Pretty good hotel. Location is great. Breakfast is average, nothing special however I don't eat breakfast me so... Clean room.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was a bit firm for my liking, but I've found this in a lot of Italian hotels!

    Staff were excellent. Great location and would definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The double room booked through you was too small for two people.

    Everything, especially after we changed rooms. I probably should have upgraded with you before departure.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For the price the room was very small. Bathroom shower was hard for a tall man to use. Breakfast was okay.

    Location was great. Shopping, food, and subway were all within a short walk. . Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms are extremely small and really only large enough to sleep in. We had two days of rain and could not stay in our room as there is no sitting area at all to relax so had to spend time in the lobby whenever we were not out in the city

    The location of the hotel is excellent with easy walking to all major sites and shopping.and the staff are extremely nice and accomodating

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The behavior and treatment of the staff is bad .as I have problem in the room caused by water leak from the toilet and they charge me 1000 euro.Customer has no right in this hotel. I will not go their again and do not recommend it .in addition the breakfast is not good.

    Only location is good

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is tired - even the bed covers looked tired and ver dated. Bathroom tiny, no benches. Worse pillows I have ever had

    Staff were very helpful. Location was good.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Their breakfast wasn't great and the rooms need some refurbishing for sure.

    The location was lovely and the receptionist was so very helpful with bookings and recommendations.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Probably not worth paying extra for balcony unless you smoke. It's a bit enclosed and the roof terrace is much better.

    Excellent location. 10 mins from Spanish Steps. 5 mins from a Metro station. In a smart end of town. Fantastic free roof terrace.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I don't know why we couldn't receive the good room at the beginning of our stay( there were lots of room which were absolutely free for that moment) it's a secret . May be because we are Russian ;)

    Location, breakfast, nice old hotel with its history and spirit, good street room for last night which I received only after accident with air con and after short bad conversation with hotel receptionist

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I cannot think of anything, maybe except of the small breakfast room, but selection of the breakfast was very good anyway and we always found a table to sit at.

    We spent three nights in Hotel Piranesi in mid-July, we were on honeymoon. The hotel granted us the Piranesi Suit which is the best suit with rooftop private terrace which really made our days. Staff were very welcoming, always helpful and smiling. Location is excellent, in the very middle of the best shopping area with every attractions in max 10 minutes walking distance.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Single room is tiny, almost claustophobic, no value for money. They advertise having a gym - and when you ask for it they say they're actually doing some refurbishment and it's not open. This was the case 2.5 years ago as well when I last stayed at this hotel! They should take it off their description as it's not true they have a gym.

    Fabulous location. Lovely breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No coffee making facilities in the rooms.

    Excellent and very helpful staff. Location of the hotel is superb for those who want to stay by the shopping streets.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    They are used to have for breakfast just a coffee and a croisant , and they look at you contemptuosly, ofended and distrurbed if you eat more than that! The breakfast service is strange! They look at you and move the head and say omg ! And the room looks clean! But the bathroom was full of hair!

    The location deserve all money

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was very small and very hot, no AC thus it was diffucult to sleep.

    I liked the location and room, which was really quite, though it was rather small.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was a little bit too hard for me. Breakfast could have had more variety.

    Fantastic location. Easy to get to all the sites of Rome by foot. Hotel is very clean and staff are courteous and polite.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Double booking but still it was resolved very well

    They overbooked my family arranged a fantastic hotel and took care of everything. We left our luggage the whole day came different times and the potter was kind enough to entertain our requests.

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the only thing i didn't find perfect is the room size: few room for luggages.

    a few steps away from piazza del popolo and piazza di spagna, a great hotel under all points of view: stunning historical building with awesome terrace, staff is ultra friendly and helpful and rooms are clean and comfortable. breakfast is good with fresh bakery and good coffee too. absolutely recommended.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was not rich but It was quite enough.

    The location was perfect, free wifi in the rooms, room was cleaned everyday, staff was very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Staff at the reception and the great location!

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Piranesi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: