Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Plaza 3 stars

Via Anelli 24, 25015 Desenzano del Garda, Italy

#38 of 39 hotels in Desenzano del Garda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 366 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    6.6

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.8
    Location is unbeatable, just across the road from the lake...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was ok.

    Location is unbeatable, just across the road from the lake and a car park, and a few steps from the center of the town. A great place to stay for a few days to visit the area. Dog friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location for a budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place looked a bit outdated, however, they are in the process of refurbishments.

    Excellent location to shops, restaurants and port. Friendly staff, who made the stay even better..

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    The room rate was high for what we got.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room rate was high for what we got. We booked a lake view room, but could barely see the lake. The aircon barely worked, and the bathroom seemed to have been renovated half way. Cheekily, they had put a disclaimer that not all the rooms were fully renovated, but we still expected more from a hotel at lake-side. Staff was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Plaza staff is very nice and helpfull.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel Plaza staff is very nice and helpfull. Hotel location is perfect ,just in front of Garda lake and in the center of Desenzano.... I'd like to go and stay in same place again.... Hope I've a chance to be and stay in next time :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    7.9
    + Situated just on the quay, near ferry station and marina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Too much noise from the street at mornings. - very tight shower cabin. - safe was out of function.

    + Situated just on the quay, near ferry station and marina. + center of the town is nearby. + Astonishing view from the window. Window opens fully. + Fridge/minibar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.0
    Not a 3-star!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I originally made my booking, I reserved an apartment for four people, only to be told upon arrival that the apartments were in a different bulding and didn't have any A/C or wi-fi connectivity. Given that it was a particularly hot summer day, we decided to opt instead for a family room, which in hindsight was a mistake. The room was obviously not one of those that were recently redecorated, looked old and felt old. The single beds were practically army-style camp beds with just a metal frame and a mattress, and some appliances such as phone and hair drier were older than me. The A/C was also very weak. I was very disappointed as this was supposed to be a 3-star hotel, but the experience was more hostel standard-like. I wish I had gone for an AirBnB instead!

    Good location, helpful and friendly receptionist.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    3.3
    The room and staff were the worse I have ever seen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely rude! There was no Wi-Fi in the room even though it was in the room description and when I ask why is that the boss insulted and threatened us and said that we better not bother him again. The room was dirty and because it was raining the roof was leaking next to the toilet..

    It was close to the lake

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    5.4
    Staff are friendly and are ready to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small, air conditioning not working change the room 3 times Lights in bathroom not working near the mirror Bathrooms are small and ventilation is noisy

    Staff are friendly and are ready to help

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    Ideally situated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was ideally situated for travel either side of the lake. The room was comfortable and had everything we required. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. We would happily stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    2.9
    DISASTER
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no electricity all day in hotel. There was nothing offered as a compliment! Room was covered in bugs, when asked could we change room they would not let us just give us a bottle of raid! Horrible hotel!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel - a little bit out of the tourist part of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely nothing It was lovely!

    Lovely hotel - a little bit out of the tourist part of the city but not a long walk into it. Lovely to walk round the more residential parts of Venice. The bar was fab, with a lovely outside seating area.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.6
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners could have shown a bit more attention to detail

    Location, location, location. Could not believe our luck in finding this hotel in such a great location. Very good front desk staff, very helpful. Rooms were quiet and balcony was a bonus with a magnificent view. A wonderful place to stay, so close to restaurants, public transport, bars etc yet still nice and quiet of a night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    6.7
    Staff really nice and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No soundproofing in the rooms. Breakfast to be forgotten.

    Staff really nice and helpful. Nice shower but leaky.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    3.3
    Hell hole
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing the place was a hell hole dirty nothing worked and very run down close it down that’s what I say

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    Hotel near ferries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was just ok.

    Close to the ferries. In a lovely area.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    Hotel with Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was just ok.

    Clean hotel near the ferry to explore Lake Garda.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    Good location, friendly staff, breakfast reasonable, fairly basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could head neighbours opening and closing doors Mostly clean but could do with cleaning beneath beds

    Good location Room had balcony

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.3
    Location very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little but dated but has its iwn charm nonetheless.

    Location very good. Central to all amenities. Staff very friendly. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    6.7
    It was OK for what we paid but if I would have known what it looked like I would have paid more for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room, bathroom, lobby, breakfast

    Small room, smaller shower, fair breakfast, great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Very central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of room

    Very central

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Hotel at Lake Garda
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smaller room than expected. Parking was 16€

    Nice staff. Nice location. Nice Vespas in the lobby

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location, great staff, nice and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The air condition was a little unstable the last night.

    Great location, great staff, nice and clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    5.8
    Good position and staff. Hotel really need more love
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dark, small and old

    Staff were kind

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    7.9
    The staff was very friendly !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was very friendly !!!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    3.8
    The hotel located near the Old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No heaters integrated. Air vent blows heated air for some limited time in the night. vent is mounted in the most highest point in the room. Very poor bed linen. (over cover smells never been washed and no warm duvet on the bed) couldn't sleep due to the coldness. Very small shower-cabin

    The hotel located near the Old city. Lake front rooms (but very poor lake view)

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.1
    Superb Location, friendly and informative staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Air con might as well not have been switched on, FAR too warm in the height of summer. It's very green... Dated decor (which I normally don't mind but...)

    Superb Location, friendly and informative staff

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    7.9
    Very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No tea & coffee in the room Noise from bar next door till 3.30am

    Very helpful staff Nice beds Being right there where every thing happens was brilliant for us! Overlooking the marina

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The Air Conditioner did not work well and it was 100F. Also the refrigerator was not on and everything was hot.

    Location.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: