Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Plaza 4 stars

Località Fanaletto, 57036 Porto Azzurro, Italy

#4 of 36 hotels in Porto Azzurro

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 677 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Soundproofing isn't great - and noise from the corridor leaks in a bit. It's not a massive issue and probably something you'd find anywhere, but if you're really noise sensistive ask for an end of corridor room.

    Some of the best breakfast views I've ever had, and the breakfast is also excellent with superb coffees! Staff are attentive and friendly, rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel is a 5 minute walk out of town which means it's nice and quiet. There's lots of tours and activites on offer which the staff are happy to help with.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is very tight and we were travelling by motorcycle!

    Really good breakfast, plenty of choice, both hot and cold to suit most European tastes (not just coffee and cake which is not a breakfast, other Italian hotels please take note). Bedrooms with their own large terrace are worth the extra cost, view was lovely. Small spa is actually very pleasant. Overall the staff were friendly and very helpful. Location a few minutes walk (no pavement) from Porto Azurro was ideal; we even had a ringside view of the Elba car rally, bonus!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy (we could hear furniture being dragged across the floor of the restaurant upstairs, as well as staff doing maintenance work at 8am).

    Beautiful marine scenery. Friendly and helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking lot adjacent to the hotel is small. We rented a small car and had no problem. But if you have something large, that could be a problem.

    We have been traveling throughout Italy practically every year since 2006, and this is one of the best hotels we have ever encountered. Get a room overlooking the harbor; the view is astounding. (See attached photo.) Plaza also has absolutely the best breakfast we have encountered in Italy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 7 nights

    They have a pool but it's very small. I don't mind since there are plenty of beaches around.

    Location is perfekt with a view over the yacht harbour with the hills of the island in the background. The hotel is very neat och clean and rooms are beautifully decorated in a marine style. Most of the staff speaks english and those who doesn't try so hard that it works anyway :) Good parking possibilities! Breakfast with options even for the pickiest ones :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in swimming pool

    Friendly staff, nice views both from room and restaurant. The swimming pool though small was very well conditioned. In all a very good price for value. Highly recommended

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent view from all rooms..some rooms had a balcony which if afforded would make experience extra special. Beautiful dining room with all round panaramo of the sea & harbour into porto Azzurro. Staff were very friendly & helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from restaurant and rooms is very beautiful, good food, quiet place. We want to say a big thank you for all the team especially for Frederico from restaurant and Marco from reception, they made our holiday very pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was excellent from every part of the hotel. The food in the restaurant was beautiful. The dinner was amazing and incredible value for money 10-10.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A little bland not much character although a lovely hotel. slightly overpriced.

    fabulous balcony and view and breakfast was lovley. Marco at reception was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Love the place too much to nitpick.

    I can't even count anymore how many times I was coming back to this hotel. Magic of Porto Azzurro from the hill...

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My previous 2 reviews had rate of 9.6 because the bed is a tad to hard for me. Now I get used to it and therefore a pure 10 ... :)

    My 3rd week in Hotel Plaza, what else to say. This is pure magic I will be coming back to for years to come.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows very hard and thin, but hotel willingly provide four extra pillows.

    Paid three times the price for a superior sea view balcony room, which had a great balcony but otherwise very similar to the standard sea view room we also booked and was good value. Didn't feel balcony room was good value out of season. View excellent and short walk from town and six foot beds comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Food choice for non fish eater was limited

    Room 207 with the fantastic view from the huge balcony. It really has the "wow" factor. Just a short walk down to Porto Azurro.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I got food poisoning by the restaurants desert. This fluffy egg stuff tasted great, but was presented for hours without cooling, nor covering. Luckily there are plenty well priced restaurants in the nearby town. On booking we interpreted the hotels facilities, mainly the pool, to be available to hotel guests. Unfortunately they are part of the Spa package and are charged extra. This ruins the value for money proposition and makes the hotel unsuited for children. No on premise parking when arriving late.

    Great staff, large outside restaurant with a perfect view.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Expensive but super nice and comfortable!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very picturesque view from the hotel window. Helpful personal. The hotel have small parking. Good location. Very cozy city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard rooms had hard beds.

    Location of hotel gave us easy access to the Iland of Elba. Superior rooms with balconies are worth the upgrade.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the room

    everything except the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Food and service were outstanding. Location great. Everything was wonderful. We didn't use the pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms had been occupied by smokers. Both my wife and I are non-smokers.

    The view was magnificent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's just a short walk to the centre but on the main road with no pavement

    Fantastic breakfast and the view from our large terrace was amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We liked everything

    fresh honeycombe all good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overlooking Porto Azzurro it gives you a piece of magic.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This place made me happy.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No outdoor pool

    Free upgrade , fab staff and ideal location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear every noice. The bathroom was not practical.

    The breakfast was really good. The terrace at the room was amazing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs an outside pool

    Great location and generally very good !

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great and friendly staff, excellent service, amazing location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the hotel is a bit old dated and it needs some maintenance here and there (specially the SPA), the furnitures are old fashion but it is clear from the pictures and I knew that before I did book so this is NOT a complaint, just an heads up to the management. The rooms are totally missing noise insulation (I could hear everything was going on everywhere); the room had 2 single bed put together and sorry but for a couple that is the worse thing ever. Wi-Fi is available and free but the signal in the room we had is non-existent.

    The hotel's SPA is very nice and luckily when we did use it there was no one else. The location is beautiful for it's view of the bay and is fairly close to the beach too just 5min walk. The hotel has a very nice restaurant, we did not eat there but the menu looks really good, it is different every day (catch of the day) and the price is fair. The staff is amazing, very welcome and informative, I was very impressed.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Restaurant food was very average with slow service.

    Beautiful Views. Very handy for Porto Azzuro which is a beautiful place. Free parking was great too!

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's not far to the town but difficult with no pavements (sidewalks) on the road.

    Beautiful views of the harbour. A lovely spa. Very friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is great due to view and really bad considering getting to town which is close but a very difficult walk either up steep hill and down many, many steps, or walking along a highway with an 18 inch edge. Toilet ran, and staff said they all did. Doors to balcony which is open to other rooms in our two rooms broken. Staff said they were all that way, "no problem." Room safe fas sitting on closet shelf and could be picked up and carried away. Staff did not care -- all that way. Dinner was really poor, worst in our weeks in Italy. Problems with shower, and no soap dish or ledge. Nice enough, but too many negatives and bad attitude will keep these two couples away.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    If your room is downstairs, you need to carry your luggage down. The restaurant is only accessible from outside.

    Perfect location, beautiful view from the restaurant and rooms, excellent food, first-class service, high comfort, free parking, free WiFi, very good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Corner terrace closest to the road was a little noisy because of the traffic, spa facilities were quite limited and can only take a handful of guests at a time

    Friendly staff, excellent terrace overlooking Port Azzuro

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic hotell in the charming village of porto azzurro. We stayed at the hotell for 2 nights and had an wonderfull stay. 2 days in Azzurro, considering its size, felt just about right. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I love a hard bed but found this a bit too hard but soon got used to it.

    Great hotel in a fantastic location. Good food and very friendly staff. had a great terrace complete with sun beds and table and chairs. Had a great holiday here.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed to hard to point of like sleeping a slab of concrete

    The hotel was really very good, we were upgraded to a room with a view from our private balcony, for 50% of the price of the room after what we were paying, but the bed was as hard as a rock, I think these people who run accommodation should think very carefully about the comfort of the beds

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner at the hotel restaurant was nothing special and just a few choices on the menu.

    Room with a very nice view. Staff very friendly. Location was great, 2min walk to porto azzurro center. Good breakfast!

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed is not very comfortable. Rooms are very (!) noisy. You will get to know your neighbors, whether you like it or not...

    The location is good, short walk to the town and harbour (even though you have to walk on a busy street). Views from the hotel are great. Personell is extremely friendly and service-oriented

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The 500 meter walk from hotel to the really quaint town is on a narrow 2 lane road with no real shoulder. Drivers varied from courteous to crazy. Use caution.

    Rooms upstairs have large terrace overlooking the bay. Nice furnishings, very creative nautical themes. Breakfast on upper deck sit inside or out. Actually has superior dining in evening. Staff amazing, Simone and Francesco.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Exactly as promised. I booked this hotel because of the amazing pictures of the deck views. They were very true to life. The roof top bar was also a big plus. We weren't crazy about Elba altogether, but the hotel was definitely a highlight.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ACCESIBILITY FOR DISABLED PEOPLE

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed was very hard

    location

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Le local Douche !

    Situation géographique

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very nice hotel, amazing view!!!

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I rumori la mattina e la vicinanza alla strada.

    La location.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location Staff

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing, all was good

    Small Hotel, very clean, friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    • Couple

    Noise from adjoining rooms

    Dining room and terrace excellent views

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room was great, view was terrific, Christina was great and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All rooms are on the road, we like to sleep with the window open, so we were woken by traffic

    Location

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: