Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Plaza 3 stars

Piazza Vittorio Veneto (P.zza Ferrovia), 42, 84123 Salerno, Italy

#3 of 13 hotels in Salerno

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1667 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Loved this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had some difficulty with wifi. The manager was aware of some difficulties under some circumstances and was actively investigating (6 Oct 2018). I anticipate that the issue will be resolved soon. But great hotel.

    Loved this hotel. Location close to railway (without the noise). Jumping off spot to Pompei and Amalfi for us. Professional staff and a great breakfast. Very clean. Lifts. Salerno was a beautiful visit for us. Such a relaxed city compared to the big and tourist-popular cities up north.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and clean room, helpful and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more expensive than expected

    There was someone at reception to receive me and let me check in very late at night, arriving later than expected, after my flight was delayed

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Salerno nice spot to start Amalfi coast tour
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and room were a little small but not a huge problem. Bathroom needed somewhere to put toiletries, but again not a huge problem

    Very close to railway station and bus stop. Short walk to cafes and restaurants. Rooms were clean and tidy and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    LOVED IT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I hate shower curtains. In this instance, however, the shower was so large that this did not cause a problem.

    The hotel reception was very welcoming. Our room was clean, airy and comfortable. Good air conditioning. Lovely breakfast room with excellent breakfast. Great staff. Ideal location for the train station and ferry port for the Amalfi coast. Good base for visiting Pompeii, Vesuvius Herculaneum etc., Restaurants and seafront nearby. Situated in the modern area, but within walking distance of the picturesque old town, with everywhere flat making it ideal for strolling.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms either on the piazza or courtyard are noisy but don’t let this detract from booking as it was minor .

    The rooms are basic but comfortable. No tea / coffee facilities in the rooms. Breakfast is basic but adequate. Wifi was good. Location was great for the train and ferry.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    8.8
    Great and convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hard to say. It is not new luxury hotel, but for its price it was very good

    Great and convenient location Quick check-in Big room, nothing special, but clean Good air conditioner Decent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Just in front of the railway station - just what I needed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just in front of the railway station - just what I needed, but also at the beginning of the town's corso. Spacious room, comfortable bed, good enough breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    Clean Hotel, recently remodeled (?), excellent breakfast and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Initially given a smoking room - don't understand why. It was a very strong odor. The view was terrible as well - but was told at front desk one of the "best" rooms. They did accommodate a room change immediately, which was good.

    Clean Hotel, recently remodeled (?), excellent breakfast and breakfast room. Pleasant staff. Spacious room. The slender young woman on afternoon/evening shift amazingly pleasant and helpful to us - fantastic attitude.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.8
    Wi Fi, nice staff and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a decent size but very old-fashioned and quite dark and I could hardly read my book in the room even with all the lights on! Bed was small and not particularly comfortable. The breakfast was adequate but no more although quite tasty. Staff were very nice, friendly and helpful though. Wi Fi was fine 😌

    Wi Fi, nice staff and good location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Overall, we were happy, and would say it was good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh! Definitely they need some soft pillows, the ones on our bed were like heavy rubbery bricks.

    The friendliness of the staff, and the nice breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Superior location and great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to really dislike.

    Just a few places from the main railway station and the car free shopping street this hotel is discrete and quiet Great breakfast with simply the best coffee ever!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.5
    Staff was very friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little confusing at checkout. I thought I’d paid through booking.com and the charge had appeared on my credit card.

    Staff was very friendly & helpful. Location was excellent. Very easy to take boat trips to Amalfi Coast and train travel. Charming town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Close to the station and a good place to set out from for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was fine - the shops and restaurants in the area are poor as it’s not really a tourist place - the little takeawaypizza / cake shop charges double for tourists . And the ladies are miserable !

    Close to the station and a good place to set out from for the train and Amalfi ferry

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    Comfortable and Convenient!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we didn't like here. We enjoyed our one night stay as we were stopping over prior to heading out to a family reunion in Roscigno.

    This was our second stay at The Hotel Plaza . . . we loved it again! It is so convenient to the Salerno train station and walking distance to the waterfront, the ferry, St. Matthew’s Cathedral! All great and important places in Salerno! Our room was very comfortable, clean, and cool! The breakfast that is included is delightful! Plenty of wonderful bread, cheese, meat, pastries, and eggs cooked to order if you want! The orange juice and everything else was fresh, and the coffee was delicious! The concierge was very friendly and helpful. I highly recommend The Hotel Plaza!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Hotel informed us before visit that the parking would be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel informed us before visit that the parking would be covered by hotel but on checkout they denied ever saying that. Then hotel manager emailed to say it was their error and they would refund the money but it hasn’t been received

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Great Area, laid back town, worth a visit. The Plaza did it well.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a bit hard but who cares when everything else was great.

    The property was 2 blocks from the harbour and a stones throw from the train station. So easy. They held my luggage for the day when I went to Pompeii. Fantastic seafood in the town. The staff were amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    The breakfast staff kept tables clean with new tablecloths...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast staff kept tables clean with new tablecloths after each guest. Also food was replaced promptly and staff was very friendly and helpful. The owner was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel in great location. Salerno is a lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. We were unfortunate to stay only one night, Monday, when nearly all restaurants seemed to be closed.

    Hotel was better inside than first impressions, nicely furbished. Breakfast good, in rather elegant room - I would not call it small or quaint. Great for all transport, near green and tree-lined promenade, entrance to duomo is via a lovely old portal and courtyard. Excellent for transport, we arrived by train, visited Paestum and took bus for our stay in Cetara.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    exceptional accommodation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We dont have ANY complaints regarding the facilities and staff and food, we had a wonderful stay and want to go back.

    The reception staff were fabulous, such a polite and helpful group of lovely people. they were always helpful and smiling and sweet! the room was lovely and the breakfast was really good with gluten free items provided for my wife who has Coeliac disease. we would use this hotel if we ever return to the Salerno area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.2
    Staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows could be comfier.

    Staff is very friendly and helpful. Room was spacious. Nice breakfast. Location is perfect. Right next to train and bus station so it was very easy for us to arrive Salerno from Rome and then going to Amalfi. Also the hotel is at the beginning of the main shopping street. There are many cafes and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Convenient location, solid hotel service provides value for money. Great breakfast coffee!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower curtain was about an inch too short while never letting the water onto the floor, and the lift is snug.

    The Plaza is a good solid hotel, conveniently located in the station piazza providing value for money facilities and a smart breakfast. The best pre-made coffee I have ever had. Rooms were comfortable, well maintained and the bathrooms clean and modern.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location just across the train station and walking distance from the ferry to go to Positano and Amalfi. The bus station is just across the street as well. Staff is very friendly. Angelo at the front desk was very helpful. Coffee in the morning was one of the best of our trip and they had boiled egg for breakfast on top of the regular Italien breakfast spread (croissant, cheese, cured meats, etc).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Great place to base yourself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place has a great location to stay and do day trips to Amalfi, Positano, Pompeii etc. location is great next to buses trains and ferries. The manager was fantastic with helping us plan a day trip when a tour guide to Amalfi did not show up for us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Location, location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are pretty bare.

    Wonderful staff, really awesome breakfast, and perfect location. Lots of great meal options within a 10 minute walk. And it's in the same plaza as the train station, so catching our morning train was a breeze.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.5
    Large clean and simple no frills room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stepbrother wanted to see the room. The evening receptionist tightly informed that he would have 30min or he would be charged a reqular room fee for staying. Key needed everytime to be left at reception when out of room. Too much interaction with staff with this system. A fan in the ceiling that didn't always help during hot nights.

    Large clean and simple no frills room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice stuff, yummy breakfasts, good internet, convenient...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit higher price comparing with other hotels in the city

    Very nice stuff, yummy breakfasts, good internet, convenient location, close to the beach and to the city center, very delicious cappuccino at the bar and quiet rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    9.2
    The location across from the station was quiet and also the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location across from the station was quiet and also the beginning of the main shopping street. Excellent service from all the staff. The breakfast buffet was good featuring artisan cheeses, capocollo, crostate sweets as well as the usual cereals, yoghurt, breads, pastries & fresh fruit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location good value for money very lovely staff with exceptional service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon was ok with fan but if we were staying longer would prefer somewhere with air con also breakfast was a little disappointing compared to other hotels

    The staff were absolutely amazing they really went out of their way to help we had wet washing and they found us somewhere to hang even though it was late at night! Very professional nothing was to much trouble beautiful family and good position value for money would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Excellent, very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    Excellent location, bus line to Amalfi, train station, taxis across the street as well train tickets and bus cards. Ferries to Amalfi and Positano, two blocks away Breaksfast with fresh fruits from the area (very tasteful), hard boil eggs, cereals, homemade pie, cold cut and cheeses all first quality Coffe with hot or cold milk and cappuccino Crispy, clean premises. Staff beyond excellence. I stayed in the hotel 4 nights and another one returning from south of Italy I will return to this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Couldn't get a better location right next to the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't get a better location right next to the train station which is handy after a long day traveling. Rooms are small which we expected but had the basics. The breakfast selection was fantastic in a small but quaint room. Really close to the main shopping streets in Salerno too and a great base for cruising the Amalfi Coast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Andrew and Alex at the reception were excellent helping us with everything we need to know. Location of this hotel is perfect in front of the train station, very near the port for ferries to Amalfi coast towns and shopping street. Also near to rental car companies like Avis and Europcar.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    The best place for a short stay in Salerno.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for two nights and the only issue we faced was thst the Wi-Fi was really weak in the rooms and kept failing. I had to go down to the lounge whenever I wanted to use the internet. Breakfast choices were not bad but some variety would be nice. And some of the staff acted indifferently, though this was not generally the case.

    The location is simply fantastic, being right across the square to the train station and the port only five minutes walk away. Pharmacies, restaurants and shopping all very close by and the neighbourhood felt very safe and peaceful. It's simply the best value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't fault

    Location excellent. Straight across road from train station. Plus you are right in town for access to shops and restaurants. Very short walk to ferry to Amalfi. Hotel felt quite luxurious in an understated way. Breakfast very good and room quiet. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Explore south east Italy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English language news on the tv channels, only Italian.

    The staff are so friendly but still professional. The location is superb, 30 metres walk to the train station and 10 minutes walk to the ferry.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.1
    Good location. No internet in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in the room. I had to go down to the reception area. No real efforts were made to fix this problem. I was told the walls of the hotel were to thick or too many people were using the internet or my iPad was just not working.(It worked everywhere else.)

    The location was great for us. We arrived by train, the hotel is just across the train station.We choose Salerno as a base , Pompei and Herculaneum are about 1 hour by train, Paestum half an hour by train and the ferry to get to Amalfi and Positano only 10 walking minutes from the hotel. We continued our trip by car and the rental car office was in the building next to the hotel .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Our stay was very enjoyable especially since the hotel is located so close to the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We would have preferred softer pillows.

    We liked the location which was close to the train station and the ferries to Positano and Amalfi. 15 minute walk to the Salerno Cathedral which was amazing. The room we had was very quiet. Everything worked. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Looking forward to staying at the Hotel Plaza Salerno, again in the near future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Absolutely nothing to dislike.

    The Plaza Hotel Salerno was fantastic. Location was in the heart of everything. The owner and manager Gaetano was brilliant. He was very helpful, welcoming and could not do any more to make your stay as comfortable as possible. His staff were always ready to help and were very courteous. This was our first time at this wonderful hotel and my wife and I look forward to staying there again, in the future. Thank you Gaetano and Staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Exelent location, friendly staff and spacious rooms. Would recommend to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel exceeded expectations! it is in a great location, next to the station and few minutes walk to the marina, where you can reach ferry connection with Amalfi Coast. Room was spacious - the biggest room we ever had in Italy ! Room was light and simple but nice decorated. Staff is very friendly and helpful - even helped to my husband to buy football tickets! Breakfast was fresh and well presented. Would recommend to stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Run down and in need of a refresh (this didn't outweigh the location though).

    We booked this property because of it's proximity to trains and boats more than anything else, and it exceeded expectations on that point. The interior in the common areas as well as the actual room was run down and in need of a freshen up. When we arrived in the room, it smelt stale and reminded me of a room that had been closed up for an extended period. The furnishings were basic and bed was a little on the hard side. The room was huge and clean though. The breakfast was pretty good. I would probably stay here again if there was nothing else within 500 metres, because the location was pretty good and we only really needed a place to shower and sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Excellent location for a quick stopover, but dated facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel told me my booking was for only 1 person and charged me extra for my wife. The bed and bathroom were not unto standard

    Close proximity to the station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Located across from Salerno rail station for train travel to Paestum and Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overdue for modern upgrade if not for lack of competition. Room safe is big enough for iPads not for MacBook Air (11").

    Well located next to train station, ideal for our 6:30 train. We took Sita bus from Ravello, about five minutes walking distance from bus stop to hotel. We visit only the Duomo in Salerno with remarkable similarity to that of Amalfi but Salerno would be ideal for Paestum day trip, not much to see locally. Although Salerno has ferry and bus connections to Amalfi, Ravello, Positano, Sorrento, Capri, Pompeii etc, we would recommend this hotel for stopover stay only, not for an extended Amalfi coast vacation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    the hotel served our purpose in making salerno our home base for Positano, Amalfi, Sorrento & Capri.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    lady on the front desk/reception speaks English but doesn't understand English well which is very dangerous. I requested to borrow three wine glasses only but she came up with three wines glasses with wine inside the glasses. Good thing a guest paid for it. Later according to the lady, they don't provide wine glasses only to their guest. Lift was also small good for two people only with luggage. same kind of food was served during breakfast for 4 days. rooms look old and needs improvement.

    Hotel location was best, just across train station. breakfast was average. bed was comfy. room was quite/sound proof. extra pillows was provided. hotel payment was collected upon check-out.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    Walking distance from the pier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioner’s kept turning off. I had rented 3 rooms for 3 nights. Same problem in all 3 rooms on all 3 days. Someone would then have to be called to fix it. Staff at reception is friendly. I would skip Salerno altogether & recommend staying at Sorrento.

    Walking distance from the pier.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Best location for travel to - or from Salerno by Train. Not far from sea front or shopping street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A kettle in the room with tea or coffee making facilities -

    Nice airy room but what sets the place apart is the enthusiasm of the staff at all levels. Pleasant smiles and greetings -

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    Great value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little firm,pillows hard but I did not say anything, they probably would have tried to please me..

    The staff was so helpful, the room very large with bathtub. Close to train station.Breakfast good enough . Convent to take bus toAmafi coast and only 5 dollars round trip.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Good stay unless you need WiFi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to get logged in and stay logged in On their WiFi. After inputting the password, I was initially rejected. Then after a few attempts, accepted. Soon afterI was kicked off, then rejected, then briefly accepted, then kicked off again, and cycle repeated. All told, WiFi was worthless, and should not be listed as an available service until fixed.

    Everything I expect of a hotel, except WiFi very poor. Location is great, breakfast was nice, in a pleasant setting, large room. Location easy for travelers. Would stay again, except I probably won’t because I do need good WiFi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel in excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was spartan (small and with old covers) but clean and confortable

    breakfast was free and luxurious, with a different range of natural fruits every morning!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    2.5
    Terrible. I would never recommend the hotel to anyone. It was was gross.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was creepy and dingy. I was uncomfortable being there and felt unsafe. If I was going to be there longer, I would have left and found a new hotel. I couldn't even sleep at night or shower because of how creeped out I was by the hotel. The hotel also insisted on keeping my passport over night which made me very comfortable. They didn't even have it in a secure place. It could have been stolen because it was sitting out. If I would give the hotel zero stars I would.

    nothing about the hotel was good except for how close it was to the train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Central location friendly staff and an all-round enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    The friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff, the location, the quality of the breakfast. There was nothing that was too much trouble for the staff to do for us. The level of customer service was excellent throughout our stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Great choice would stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was great. Close to the ferries from the Amalfi Coast and next door to the train. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very good. We had a room for three of us and it was very large. Would definitely recommend this place given location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.8
    Recommended hotel close to Salerno main station
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall, the hotel leaves a slightly time-worn impression. A/c seemed to be disfunctional (we didn't ask, though, so it might be that we didn't operate it correctly).

    Clean, rather well equipped room, comfortable bed, funtional bath room. Good, stable WiFi. Reasonably calm, even if sleeping with the windows open. Friendly, supportive staff. Fast access to public transport. Various restaurants in walking distance, one of them ("Il Maestro del Gusto") excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    The location, right across from the station;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, right across from the station; the speedy registration; the spacious, comfortable lobby where you could sit and wait for the train. All areas were light and bright and sparkling clean. The beds were very comfortable, with high quality linens. A delightful find!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.3
    Great weekend but the hotel was only good for sleeping in. Easy access for railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was simply dull and a little depressing! Little natural light and no outlook. The hotel did not have a bar so no real communal area to relax in

    Adequate gluten free breakfast was provided and the staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Great location, everything you need for a short stop over!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't think of anything!

    Lovely room for breakfast, croissants were delicious, fresh and crispy! My room was a good size, I loved the linen towels in the bathroom. Really happy to find I had a balcony which overlooked the pedestrian area, a real plus!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    6.7
    Alright but the hotel could do better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed is not comfortable or long enough for anyone 5’8’’ or taller. The pillow is uncomfortable (yes, only one in the room!) The younger staff need to learn to be more genuinely friendly and less serious.

    Close proximity to the train station. The older reception staff’s were helpful and friendly. Cleanliness of the room. Breakfast OK. The Christmas lights in Salerno are spectacular

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    A lovely place to spend Christmas week!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No problems.

    It is so easy to get around by train. Breakfast starts at 7.00 a.m. so can be enjoyed before catching an early train. Always something new to see in Salerno. This time I saw the terraced gardens full of medicinal plants as in the old monasteries. Also some lovely ivory panels at the museum near the cathedral. Lovely Christmas lights in the evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    10
    breakfast is included, wifi worked well, perfect location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like having to pay at the end of the stay

    breakfast is included, wifi worked well, perfect location next to the train station, had a balcony in the room which was nice to get a view of the city

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.7
    Located right by the train station and regional bus stop,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi is so slow as to be useless.

    Located right by the train station and regional bus stop, the Plaza is also at the head of the Corso, the main pedestrian shopping street in Salerno.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    Ideal base for exploring the area from Naples to the North down to Maratea
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Just one (eventually found) English-speaking TV station (CNN News). Could probably do with some information in the rooms about the hotel and facilities in the area.

    Went with my 86 year-old father-in-law. A really ideal location for touring the whole area including the Amalfi Coast (bus goes from outside the front door!), Pompeii (station faces the hotel), Paestrum (station faces hotel), the Cliento coast (station faces hotel) and the seafront and ferries (5 minute walk). We had spacious and simply furnished rooms on the 4th and 5th floor facing onto the Station Plaza (and the start of the long pedestrianised shopping street). The hotel has been in the same family for decades and retains a relaxed and pleasant old-world character. It feels very safe. Went in November and had glorious weather. The Christmas lights were really beautiful, especially in the old town (easy walk). There didn't appear to be anyone English (or from anywhere else other than Italy) staying at the hotel over the 6-night stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location to travel around the surrounding area, since...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wifi didn't work very well. Cut out every few minutes and didn't always come back. Made it awkward to plan some things.

    Great location to travel around the surrounding area, since the train station is just across the plaza.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Location location location for travelers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious enough by European standards. And very quiet!! The small balcony was very nice. The room is right across from the train station and easy walking distance to ferry terminal. It is located at the entrace to a pedestrian walking mall with shops, restaurants, bars etc. The room was clean, desk staff helpful, and breakfast was perfect. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Highly recommended hotel to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service. Staff very helpful and friendly Room well looked after. Breakfast excellent and plenty of food. Management and reception extremely helpful Will certainly be visiting again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    I stayed in this wonderful hotel for two weeks.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 15 nights

    I stayed in this wonderful hotel for two weeks. The location was perfect, next to the train station and on the main shopping and dining street in the historical center of Salerno. It was extremely quiet due to double pane windows. The rooms are very nice and the bathrooms beautiful and spacious, having all been remodeled. Best of all is the incredible service. The staff all speak English and are extremely efficient and kind. The breakfasts were delicious in a charming dining room overlooking the walking outdoor mall. The owner, Mr. Gaitano, was always present, interacting with guests and being very helpful. He moved us immediately to a room with a large handicapped shower when we explained the need for it. My husband became very ill and was hospitalized for one week during our stay. The kindness and compassion shown by Mr. Gaitano and the staff was something that I have never experienced in any hotel despite having traveled the world many times.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Extremely helpful owner, cozy lounge, very good variety at breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were too hard for our taste, could have used a light blanket.

    Easy access to train station and ferries to Amalfi Coast villages. Sited at start of main pedestrian shopping area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Good location, recommended hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi cut out a few times, other than that no other problems.

    Very convenient for the railway station, shops, restaurant and seafront. Very friendly front desk staff. Room overall was comfortable and clean. Bathroom in good condition. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Decent breakfast included in the price.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only small problem was the length of the bed. If you're taller than 180 cm, you'll have your feet hanging from the bed.

    Decent breakfast included in the price. Location is ideal for the commute to work (right across the train station). Location is also great if you're into shopping and would like to have all sort of boutiques within walking distance. Very friendly and helpful staff and clean rooms and public areas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    10
    Perfect ending for a trip along the Amalfi coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location - right next to the train station and in the very heart of Salerno. Nice and helpful staff. Clean and cosy room with a view over the square.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Great Personable Experience as well as Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints.

    Very efficient staff with great supervision and attention to details. Very personable owner who cares about his guests and workers. The renovated hotel is situated close to the train station and the most important points of interest.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Very comfortable hotel in a convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing

    Very clean & comfortable hotel in good location opposite the train station. Rooms, we had a large room on the top floor with a good view of the surrounding hills. Breakfast excellent, staff very friendly & helpful. We would defiantly stay there again if we went back to Salerno.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.8
    fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could be a little bigger

    The direttore who is a shareholder is an asset to this hotel ,he pays a lot attention to detail and always there to help,the hotel in well run. Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Perfect base of operations for Pompei, Naples, Salerno and the entire Amalfi Coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in the front can be a little loud if you're a light sleeper.

    Salerno is our favorite base of operations in the south, and the plaza is our favorite hotel in Salerno. Directly across from the train station, right on the start of the pedestrian merchant street, a short walk to the waterfront and the ferries that take you along the Amalfi coast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This property was close to station which helped with our luggage. The owner was very friendly even sat down in the evening to have a glass of red wine with us . They were very helpful in telling us where and what to eat and see. Our room was small but very clean and comfortable. We would recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    Excellent Value and great Shower in the large bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nicest bathroom and shower so far in Italy. Great location directly across the street from the Salerno train station. Comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast. Best value so far on our trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    10
    Fantastico!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location, clean. Larger room than most rooms in Italy. Owner was on site everyday, which makes for a well run facility. Located right on piazza, main area. Shops and restaurants abound. Walk to Marina and walkway along oceanfront. Lovely!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.5
    It was ok for a stop over but I wouldn't recommend it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found half a bottle of open beer in the fridge from the previous guest, spoke to the staff but nothing was done. the bathroom drainage was smelly and took ages for the water flow to go down from the shower- looked like a bath!

    The coffee

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: