Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Grand Hotel Plaza 5 stars

Via del Corso 126, Spagna, 00186 Rome, Italy

#836 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2200 hotel reviews

7.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The historic building urgently needs some updating, if you look closer in certain corners (including the rooms), the general state can be quite bad. The air conditioning in the rooms is noisy and insufficient to cope with the climate and upstairs in the maisonette bedroom there's no circulation from the a/c. Noise insulation is insufficient, you do hear neighbours when they talk at normal levels (fortunately they weren't too noisy), but you could hear the fighting seagulls in early morning hours despite all windows closed like laying on the beach ... check-in wasn't ready until 90 minutes late (1630) abd they couldn't trace our baggage we left before check-in without us identifying it, not very safe). Roof terrace bar shows in part ridiculous prices (EUR 15 for a beer - buy a 15y Macallan, which is strangely the same price) and the cocktails are average

    The location is quite perfect close to the Spanish steps. It's an impressive historic building in parts and the suite we had had a good layout with a nice but not very private terrace (you see all your neighbours from the other suites)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all this hotel doesn’t deserve even 1 star. Everything is old and need refurbishment!! We get the room with a door a side from other room and we hear our neighbors very loud! When we change the room to other one it was also a disaster! At 2 am staff was cleaning facade which was a side of our room and they was very loud! Upon of that they were smoking cigarettes and all smoke came in our room! The breakfast 30 Euro per person not worth. If eggs or cheese finished you have to remain them to prepare new one and you have to wait 10 min for new staff. Eggplant was not fresh! My friend got a tummy pain after portion of scrumble egs :-( 5 stars ... yeah right! Internet connection very bad in our room. If you want to have nice memories stay a way from this place!

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Person at the front desk was very unfriendly, did not give us any information about the hotel, room, ect. For that kind of hotel actually not acceptable! This was the only thing to complain about, otherwise amazing visit!

    Great location, room very clean, nice rooftop restaurant with great view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is over priced and lacking facilities. There was no iron in the hotel and you have to pay €11 per shirt you want ironed. A pair of €200 headphones were taken from my room and the staff were not helpful at all.

    Location is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shabby old place, no fresh air, uncomfortable room, very noisy, old and not properly functioning sanitary equipment. Very bad cleaning service

    Comfortable location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No iron available No coffeemaker/kettle in rooms From time to time "old bathroom smell" A bit too expensive

    Staff very friendly and helpful Beds and room very comfortable Rooms and furniture in nice historical/traditional design We received nice welcoming fruit and water with our option Location is exceptional, but nevertheless the hotel and rooms are calm for a good sleep and to relax

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything good except the staff at the front desk. They need to smile a little bit. Its as if they do not receive their monthly pay check.

    Everything about this hotel is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is a little tired throughout and lacks modern 5* amenities. This is reflected in the price however.

    Fantastic location by the Spanish Steps and Via dei Condotti. Impressive interior décor. Our family room had a lovely balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service lacked attention to detail which let the five star rating down. For example, the tea and coffee supplies were not replenished automatically. Service in the bar was slow. Drinks on the lemon terrace were almost double the cost of the bar downstairs. No wonder there weren’t many people up there.

    Great location within walking distance of all major sights. Fantastic room and amenities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was our last stop on our two week Italy trip and two nights were included with the tour we took. We wanted to stay one additional night and had booked that separately. The hotel was very accommodating and allowed us to keep the same room, at the price we'd booked at, even though the room we got was much nicer. Very nice and helpful staff for EVERYTHING we needed. We were there to watch the Giro d"Italia (bike race) and the hotel was a perfect spot for viewing the race. The hotel itself is so historic and full of charm, especially the large sitting area downstairs, the breakfast ballroom and I can't say enough about the lovely marble staircase adorned at the bottom with the huge lion, the hotel's symbol. Our room was lovely as well, beautiful light fixtures, high ceilings, ornate radiators and lovely wooden doors. The linens were very comfortable and we enjoyed every minute of our stay there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked in advance for a room with a shower for an elderly couple but they were given a room with a very deep bath that they couldn't use. They had to wait until the 2nd day to move to another room. Extremely disappointing, especially that one of them was celebrating his 90th birthday that day. I would have expected more.

    Location location location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had no internet on 4th floor. Although I signaled several times to do smth with it, all were in vain. Especially I want to “highlight” the work of Andrea, their technician. I asked him directly (and politely) to fix this problem. First time he came with the internet speed checking device and made a measurement. The speed was appeared close to be perfect. He said that all is all right, claiming that I have something wrong with my iPhone. It was, softly speaking, either try to deceive me or he was just unqualified because I explained him before that I have an unstable connection inside my room and perfect one at any place outside. Second time he did do smth and internet appeared. But only for 15 min. Afterwords, regardless of a few requests to him directly and to the reception, internet hadn’t been appeared. Actually, I can hardly call myself as a great critic (I haven’t done this yet) but this case was a bit disturbing because of that Technician behavior. He was trying to ignore that somehow or he just wasn’t able to do anything with it particularly for my room. But, at whole, I can admit that all my stay was nice. Its pros are much more important than that internet issue. Looking forward they do smth with it. My room number was 402.

    Location, my room with the city view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Loft Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircondition didn’t work as it was way too old. I expect this to work or at least expect the staff to find a solution in this manner with such an expensive room fee. The room was more than 30 degrees hot all night long, therefore I can’t recommend anyone who like to sleep in a chilled room to book at this hotel, unfortunately.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our safe in the room was partially broken.

    The location is excellent: close enough so major attractions are within walking distances: e.g., the Spanish steps, Trevi Fountain, Pantheon, Vatican City, Colosseum. The hotel has a nice terrace on the fifty floor, with a nice view of the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Some of the rooms were already updated. Others needed doing. Management specifically the Manager went out of her way to find a remodeled room for us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms too old, need absolutely refurbishment.

    Excellent location. Very good breakfast. And I have to add that the house keeping personal was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in the bathroom was very small and not well suited for a family apartment. The pillows were not very comfortable and the AC did not work properly second night so room got quite hot and uncomfortable.

    Location was fantastic. Style and Atmosphere of the hotel was good and characterful and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have wished the room to be bigger and looking forward for the spa.oh and we asked for towel robes we didnt get any, its sad that not all rooms have some.

    We loved the breakfast and the shower. We were on our honeymoon that was a great experience and the staff very nice. We hope to revisit grand plaza hotel in a year!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noises downstairs were horrible!!! Stayed at room 234 for the 1st time and I couldn’t sleep bcz of the noises downstairs.

    The staff were super nice!! And the ambience was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was run down and the rooms were smelly. The showers backed up and did not drain. The floors were dirty and in need of repair. The carpets and basically everything else needed to be replaced. The hotel is desperately in need of renovation.

    Location was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very old hotel with run down rooms and you can hear ppl from other rooms loud and clear. Staff is not at all welcoming and looks at you as a burden if you ask a question. Once we needed an iron in the room, response from the staff was that its a PALACE and we can not provide iron in the rooms and can only provide services for a fee. It is outright ridiculous, one calling it a so called PALACE is just does not make sense and if you really cant provide iron in the room then have a courtesy to provide service complementary.

    Location is fantastic and the lobby is classy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included in the rate and very expensive, though served in a beautiful room. After having it once we went out and found much better coffee around the corner for E1.50. Terrace bar had had unfriendly opening and closing times.

    It's a very beautiful hotel in an excellent location. Free international newspapers at breakfast. Huge terrace off our suite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff members seemed to have no time for you and came across as very rude. Also the Wifi was awful, never worked. I think in this day and age that is unacceptable.

    Location was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small, short bed and absolutely unacceptable for that money, especially for a superior room!!! Pillows were not comfortable. Staff was great and doing everything to meet the guest's needs but facility definitely needs to be refreshed. Lobby and central salon is smelled as old people house. The hotel has potential but needs to be remodeled as soon as possible.

    Location is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The elevator clearly had a poop smell in the shaft which could be smelled every time you entered or left the first floor. The bed was extremely hard and the pillows were like sleeping on a wool blanket. The building was in extreme disrepair. The paint was peeling the tub did not work properly...

    Th building was very nice generally and the staff was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom furniture is old and needs renovation as the bed is uncomfortable

    the staff in front desk espically Mrs.patricia front desk manager &location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is too old and can be improved .. bed mattress is stiff and the lobby's toilets are not clean :(

    This hotel is by far the most classical hotel I've been to .. you feel like ypu are living in 1700s ! It's an old mansion ..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast buffet excellent. Rooms clean but somewhat dated. We were there in April, cool temperatures at night. Little air flow even with windows open a 60 degree nights. Wouldn not want to be there during summer heat...no air conditioning....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no renovation at all. Not even a minibar in the room. There was terrible noise coming from outside.I could not take a minute of sleep. At about 4 am, a truck came to collect laundry items, it stayed one hour loading, making a dreadful noise.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very old, dirty and seemed like nobody had stayed there for years. The interior of some floors is horific, havent seen anything like it at a 5 star hotel. Also no usb sockets to charge devices if you have another country plugs. The staff was totally unhelpful about any complaints and haven’t done anything to change our experience throughout the whole stay. It is totally overpriced and doesn’t appear to be Upto a 5 star standard, it is more like 3 stars.

    Nothing much, except the location, but wouldn’t recommend for families, very loud outside

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattresses were not comfortable.

    The location of the hotel is amazing! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are big & the view is lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't know how this hotel is a 5 stars hotel!! It's not possible. The lift stinks and bathroom stinks as well. The staff are not professional and there is no concierge desk. The room's furniture are worn out and the pillow is rock hard and gave me neck pain in the morning. There is no air conditioning in April and the room was hot we couldn't open the window because of the noises out side. We had to leave the hotel and we found a much better hotel.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor service. Had to ring multiple times to get replacement shower gel in the room. In the end gave up. We wanted ice bucket in the room they wanted to charge us for that. We wanted hot water in a mug. They refused. No kettle in the room this is a first for a 5 star hotel. Hotel service is worse than a 2 star.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinking water in the rooms

    I came there on my honeymoon, i booked a standard room, but they were generous and upgraded us to junior suite. The front desk were very kind and helpful. I loved every bit of the stay. Thanks grand hotel plaza

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms.

    Great location to see the sights of Rome. Wonderful views of the City from the roof top terrace. Clean and comfortable. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do i start? Bed was impossibly hard - mattress made from horse hair I suspect and on a flat piece of particle board. Also the pillows were like a bag of cement.May as well slept on the floor. In our two night stay probably had 4 hours sleep It also creeks every time you moved. We complained and were told they couldn’t fix it and weren’t offered an alternative. The do not disturb button was permanently on so our room wasn’t serviced until we called 3 times and only after 3 phone calls and a visit to the front desk that it was = 2 1/2 hours later and even then not fully serviced. The furniture is in disrepair - a metal tack protruding from a chair scratching my partners leg. No electric kettle in room to boil water .. we asked for one and had one delivered to our room €5 room service charge = never in the 40 years of travelling to thousands of hotels has this happened. Many other little things too but the final “straw” was I asked the duty manager for compensation and he replied he would discuss with the GM - on check out the next day the different duty manager said there was no record of this & all he could do was remove the €5 service charge that should never been there and pass on my request. He suggested I email the GM - which I will do & report back

    Really only the location. Perhaps the roof top terrace outlook too

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is old so rooms are not fully equipped with coffee, tea facility. Rooms without tissue boxes, furniture is old specially sofas were not clean with stains despite 5 star hotel. Standards are low. Staff not very courteous of the hotel and we were amazed as Italians are very cultured and hospitality is amazing where ever you go. When we arrived there wasn’t anyone to greet or help with the luggage. Seems the hotel is under staff. There wasn’t any welcome/complementary water in room when you arrive & one has to request. If you are family of 4 you can’t stay in one room as due to some policy you can’t stay. We have one infant and 8 year old son. Surprisingly they informed us to book another room which we did and asked us that one parent stay with one child and one with another. This was very stupid and I have come across situation like this for the very first time ever. I booked two rooms cuz I had no choice as staff of the hotel was not ready to listen! We stayed in Paris, Milan & Zurich all in one room. I guess this hotel has their own policies so plz plan accordingly and be ready for surprises. Bathroom shower were not proper and you just can’t enjoy a nice bath after full day of touring Rome! It was just a one time stay for us specially after enjoying the best in others places in Italy.

    Property location is perfect very close to all attractions and shopping. That’s the only best thing about this hotel. No doubt interior of the hotel and history of the hotel speaks for itself with the designs, architecture and beauty of art work inside.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel smells in most part of it, couldn’t understand why. The bed was not comfortable.

    It is true that the experience you’ll have is not that of a 5 stars hotel. Or, to say it better, it’s the expierience if a 5 stars hotel you would have 20 years ago. BUT, the value is good for money. I paid 190 euro/night for a Superior room, very spacious and very clean; yes it needs renovation, but well, I pay normally more than 300 euros/night in a renovated 5*... The hotel is very beautiful. It is old, but restaurant, bars and hall are quite something. The staff was very kind to me and very helpful. They forgot to call me back when I asked for something and had to wait for 40 min in my room for them to call... (actually I called back and reminded them) but at least they arranged what I asked for ;-) Location is top as well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I made a reservation in Rome. at the Grand Plaza Hotel. 1. I requested rooms adjacent to each other- and this had not been taken into account- though after waiting a long while, it was sorted; 2. On Friday we arrived late at 23:30hrs to find the door handle broken and I was unable to enter the room. The following events followed: a) I called reception and security came up 15 minutes later; b) He then noticed that he too could not open it! c) Security went back down and - by now 20 minutes with no access) - brought the master key, to allow me in. d) Receptionist on duty called to say it would be sorted in the morning- provided I let them know when I went to Breakfast; e) Personally told receptionist that I was going to breakfast and would like to access the room afterwards- I was assured that it would be sorted within the 30 minutes; f) After Breakfast, I went up and ... NO! Not able to get in again! g) Back down to Reception and spoke to the Manager. The manager in Charge, agreed to refund 1 night's cost, and I accepted the offer. However, when I checked out, the receptionists did not and were not able to do so as she was uncontactable. They said that she would refund the cost for 1 night's stay. I feel that the service received for a 5 star hotel was totally unaccepatble. I intend to contact my credit card company, and ask them to resolve this matter.

    Bruno the receptionist and Valentina!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    STAFF'S ATTITUDE AT RESTAURANT FOR BREAKFAST VERY DISTURBING NOISE FROM THE ACROSS BUILDING (H&M ) ROOF AT 06:30 AM IN THE MORNING FOR 2 HOURS.

    LOCATION AND THE SIZE OF THE ROOM

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is definitely far from being a 5 stars hotel: the heating was not working, the telephone was not working, there were no bathrobe in the room, the sound isolation was inexistant, in the lobby no one came to take an order. It was overall very poor quality

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was outdated, shower cabin had lots of options none of which actually worked. Room was “being cleaned” everyday although the only thing I noticed was touched was made up bed. Staff didn’t even bother picking up trash from the floor or cleaning water marks from the wet shoes. Hairdryer worked but after a minute felt like it’s burning. We heard all the laughs and moves made by guests from other rooms even at night, if I weren’t a heavy sleeper it’d be a nightmare. This hotel needs solid renovation and some new trained staff and then it might become one of the nicest places around.

    Nice location in the center of Rome, hotel with history and beautiful ceilings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most staff at reception and breakfast restaurant are cold, aloof, inattentive and careless with fake smile. Lack of willingness to provide any assistance when being requested. Only being nice to some customers they thought were more important. I, a female booked the room and pay the room fee with my credit card, but the reception change the booker of the room to my male partner for unknown reason. Really weird. We booked a room with twin beds, and was given a single big bed room at first. The room was very small, noisy and lack of many facilities they were supposed to provide according to the booking record. They finally move us to the room we booked after we called and argue with the reception for several times. Cleaning staff kept knocking door despite we had pressed the do not disturb button, even almost 9 at night while we were resting. There were several times that our things change their locations for no reason after room cleaning service, and were even dropped on the floor. Electricity sometimes disfunctioned. The reason this hotel can have a value of 4.0 or son is only because the position. Nothing else. Will never stay at this hotel again.

    Position

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During out stay we requested a private sightseeing tour with a guide. We specifically requested to have a large car with a permit for the center of the city (as all taxicabs have), as my husband had a problem with his knee and long-distance walking was not an option. The hotel representative confirmed our booking and assured us that we will have exactly what we requested. Unfortunately, it turned out that the car was small, the driver did not have a permit to drive in the center of the city, and after 30 min waiting it also turned out that there won’t be a guide for the sightseeing tour as that person decided to just not show up… After we realized that there won’t be any sightseeing tour, we went back to the hotel and the hotel representative was nowhere to be found. Also, they didn’t refund our money for the tour. On top of that, after we checked out from the hotel and had already paid for everything, another hotel representative ran after us to tell us that we haven’t paid. After a prolong and unnecessary wait she came back to apologize and tell us that everything was already paid for…we almost missed our flight because of her.

    I stayed at the hotel with my husband and son, and we had one apartment and one room for three nights. Me and my family loved it! Upon our arrival we were greeted by the hotel’s stuff who were all very polite and helpful. Our overall experience was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ants in the rooms (we’ve booked 4 rooms, all of them had them), old & shabby rooms, shower cabin with broken door and fungus, air-condition that doesn’t work, no baby cod available at the arrival (we asked for it in advance, the baby had to sleep with us), disgusting public toilets in the lobby (dirty, no toilet paper)

    Location, beautiful ceiling in the bar

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 5 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like : 1. No Kettle in room, so I have to pay Euro 20/day for Tea 7 Coffee Set ( for 5 start hotel this's little bit weird ) 2. Bus for 20 - 40 seat can not stop in front oh the hotel. little bit difficult to chek in and check out with many baggages.

    I like : 1. Location is the best, specially for shopping first and second brands 2. The style of traditional hotel 3. The room big enough 4. strong wifi 5. Staff 6. Full amenities for bath room 7. Warm room in the winter

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location, beautiful hotel and staff were very friendly. Rooms were clean, comfortable and the balconies provided an excellent view over Rome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom

    eggs amazing fresh orange juice all was so delicious , great location , friendly staff, if happens and I went again to ROME I WILL NEVER CHANGE THIS HOTEL I WILL B UR REGULAR GUEST

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awfully old room, without repair years 30. Leaking bath. The smell of mustiness and old age to the room and the corridors. Room service is 0 out of 10. The ordered tea was waited 1 hour. The only advantages: the location in the heart of Rome's lobby of the hotel. all the rest will lead to the hotel 1 star.

    Location in center of Rome

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was really cold and we were freezing while taking a shower. The croissant were dry as all the bread. The TV was bad quality, hard to operate and poor channel selection.

    The location was great. The bed was really good. The room was large.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our “Greeting” when arriving at the hotel was non existent. I had a VERY lumpy pillow. The rooms were boiling hot! Bathroom needs attention as it’s looking a bit tired. Pastry selection at breakfast was dry and disappointing. I’d expected a kettle in the room to be able to make a tea or coffee. The building is impressive but overall we found this 5 star rated hotel underwhelming.

    Generous sized rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1.Probably the rudest receptionist I have ever encountered...and I travel a lot ! 2. I was put on the top floor. The room was small and very worn / dirty, bathroom not the one advertised on your site. half the size. 3. When I looked on your site I was impressed with the large ornate room with the amazing ceiling and assumed that we would have the pleasure of resting in it and admiring. This is not the case, it is closed to the public and has conferences taking place all day. Also the roof terrace bar with the great view of the city was also closed ( seasonal ) I was told... NOT IN THE ADVERT.. 4. I sent a request via your site informing them that I was bringing my wife ON her birthday, I didn't expect fireworks but at least some recognition ( which normally goes without saying in most hotels I have ever stayed in) . they completely ignored this... 5.The only part of this hotel that deserves its star rating are the very parts which were closed to the public. I felt cheated , and along with the general unfriendliness left me disappointed and angry. 6 Breakfast not worth the extra cost. 7. I would not recommend everyone stay away from this hotel for the price , and am very dissatisfied with booking .com...I don't think I will be using your service again.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    this is definitely not a five star hotel as advertised.no five star facilities .it is more of a speciality historic boutique hotel with location as it's main advantage. They do not provide a kettle with tea or coffee facilities in the rooms ..as most hotels do..they will charge you extra for this..which is totally unacceptable .. although the rooms are good the beds are cheap metal spring beds that are totally unacceptable again for a hotel of this standard..some areas and facades of the hotel seem shabby and rundown. the breakfast selection can be improved .

    fabulous location ..old world charm... historic ...spacious rooms and clean bathrooms with fresh linen changed frequently ..polite .courteous kind helpful staff at reception concierge and breakfast service...this hotel has the best location..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very expensive hotel and no real value. Missing wood on the floor could have caused injury. Room was very hot and hoping windows only let cigarette smoke in from the street below. Only 2 glasses for a 4 person room. Room not properly cleaned during our stay and bathroom was not good. No shower wall so water went eveywhere.

    Lobby was beautiful. Staff was friendly. Hotel is in a great location for high end shopping.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel definitely doesn't deserve 5 stars, but stuff is very pleasant and cooperative. Room is clean, but it is noisy in it because windows are old and not soundproof. It has a huge potential after reconstruction.

    Location is the best possible if you are keen in shopping, as well as for sightseeing! Stuff is nice and cooperative. Room is clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once we'd checked in, it became apparent that it's overpriced. The building has poor ventilation. Air con was a fan at best.

    In the heart of the shopping district and close to all the tourist hot spots.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1-The elevators smells worse than street toilets ??? 2-The reception desk is so small and usually 2-3 employes are there doing evey thing,check in and out,concierge,,business office,accordingly every time I need some thing from them I need to stand in a line for long time. 3-Internet is a disastour ? it takes 25 minutes to reach them when I send work document to be printed. 4-Breakfast varieties is poor,they use lots of pork with no consideration to people don't eat it.

    ONLY the old building decoration and location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has two kinds of rooms, very old and most of the facilities unfunctional and others renovated rooms with all the modern facilities

    One of the staff allocated a very bad room, with bathtub that makes the water overflow, the electricity scouts does not work, and the phone in the room does not work, there was no complimentary water bottle and when we needed to ask for any thing we had to go down to the lobby, we communicated that to the receptionist, she offered to change the room, however the other one start saying if available and you can change the hotel !! Which was unheard of for a hotel considered to be 5 stars, and he kept arguing until the manger came and she said we will change the room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1- BAD SMELL AT THE LIFT ! 2- WE ORDERED DOUBLE BED AND WE GOT 2 SINGLES OF BAD QUALITY .

    1-LOCATION IS PERFECT FOR SHOPPING AND SITE SEEING . 2- THE STAFF IS SO SO FRIENDLY . 3- TAXI PARKING IS VERY CLOSE . 4- THE ROOMS ARE VERY CLEAN . 5- IT HAS BEAUTIFUL AND QUIET BIG LOUNGE WITH AN AMAZING CEILING

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1-The lifts smell stink ??? every day and time. 2-The small reception with 2-3 employers only does every thing,check inn and out,conceirge,business office ,I have to wait too long each time. 3-Breakfast variety very poor and only use ham,no consideration for others who don't eat it. 4-The TV channels is disastrous. 5-EMAILS TAKE 25 MINUTES TO REACH THE HOTEL ??????????????

    The location and decoration only.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room overlooked internal yard which is like a junk yard. An insult to your guests.

    TV stuck to the wall and doesn't swivel so can't watch from bed. An inconvenience when on holiday

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite old and had problems with the room and had to change twice. Terrace bar = 35$ for two drinks!! Yikes

    Location is absolutely perfect lots of great restaurants around and easy access to all landmarks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room for attractive price of about 200 euro per night. Nothing seemed strange as there was a note about the room which was supposed to be standard 5star-hotel-room. What I got was old, worn out, stained, falling apart, with hole in bathroom wall and noisy as hell. I could literally hear my neighbours peeing. As the location is great and I only slept there I thought I can live with that but unfortunately housekeeping stole my gucci belt and ofcourse I was told that I must have lost it. Business corner practically doesn't exist. They have old dirty PC next to the reception but to print anything you have to email it to the reception and wait 20min for your printouts. The only advantage of this overpriced place is the location. Not a 5star.

    The only advantage is location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The signage to the rooms could be improved. Had trouble initially trying to find our room.

    The rooms were beautiful and overlooked the busy Via del Corso. High ceilings, marbled bathrooms and golden bed posts. Loved it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are very old and badly decorated pillows like concrete pads. Breakfast needs less of but better quality. e.g: Fresh Juices not concentrated, Bean Coffee not Nescafe sachets. poor choice of breads. Basically get room only and eat out!

    The Hotel entrance & Breakfast areas very heritage. nice feel to the place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked the lady in the front desk to get us a cab but instead recommended that we just hail a cab right by Fendi Store. The taxi driver gave us a "joy ride" that amounted double in fare! I discussed this incident with the Manager in the Front Office. This was the only problem we had.

    If we had based our booking on the reviews on your site, we would've NOT gone through with the reservation! We're thankful we did as we definitely enjoyed our stay. The Front Desk Staff was very helpful, most especially Nabeer! We were upgraded to superior room which was an extra treat. The staff was efficient and helpful! The bed was comfy, linen was white and crisp and not only does it look clean, everything was sparkling clean!!! The location is just perfect, we enjoyed all the restaurants nearby, most especially Il Vero Alfredo, where one can find the original Fettucine alla Alfredo! All the restaurants Nabeer recommended were excellent - the DAMI bar where Luca serves the best coffee and all kinds of croissants, paninis and more; Toto where we had the best lamb and dessert! The major attractions are walking distance, Spanish Steps was 5 minutes away and Trevi Fountain was 10 minutes away. Not to mention all the beautiful trendy stores at Via Condotti and Via Del Corso!!! Will definitely stay in this hotel again! Thank you for making our vacation an enjoyable one!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was totally different unhelpful, stuffy, stuck up etc. our room wall was so thin that we could hear people talking all night, watching TV and so on. Should a luxury hotel have paper thin walls between rooms? The WiFi was very iffy on the second floor where we stayed. This is the first hotel I have stayed in that had no facial tissue.

    Excellent location for site seeing and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was terrible for the money. Basic basic, no safe in room no ambiance to room very sterile and beds we terrible not comfortable at all.

    Location lobby area and bar area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was dated. The bed was extremely uncomfortable, both my partner and I ended up with backaches. This hotel needs a total refurbishment.

    The location is the only thing going for it. The staff were quite friendly also.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were a family with two young children, my husband and I slept in separate rooms since they did not give us an interconnecting room, despite requesting for it. It made the evenings quite difficult neither of us could go our with friends on any night. The staff at the terrace bar (LEMON) especially one lady was very rude- in the lobby timings it mentions it opens at 6pm, but when we went up at 6.20pm they were still setting up. The lady curtly informed us it would take another 15-20 minutes. Bathrooms have no hooks to hang clothes nor is there enough space to put your toiletries.

    Location is absolutely amazing- right in the heart of the city. Great for those without young children. Very large room sizes and lovely bar on the ground floor. Concierge very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too small, toiletries looked and smelt cheap for such a hotel.

    The beds were extremely uncomfortable- too soft, lumpy and you could feel the springs

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    After having booked one king size bed, we were given two separate beds. We were moved on the second night to a room in which the water leaked when using the shower. The room was not very clean and amenities were poor. We booked the room with breakfast and we even had to queue every morning to be seated when it has never happened to us in any hotel before. The staff was overloaded cleaning so they could not pay attention to special requests. Very disappointing... Over priced.

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needed an upgrade. The roof top was tardy and therefore uninviting. The television needed renewing. The chest of drawers needed replacing (no handles). Didn't like the layout of the room with the bathroom the first thing you saw when you entered. No tea making facilities. The original ballroom lacked a purpose for present day use.

    Great location. Pleasant view of the gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have a charge on my card for 42 euro that is unaccounted for. I have emailed the property but have not heard back from them.

    Such a beautiful venue. Great location. Loved it and would stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you like coffee or tea in the morning, it is not a good location to stay if you are travelling out early, as there are no kettles or coffee making facilities in the rooms and no room service before 6.30 am. We phoned for room service, simply to get coffee before a tour and I was told this was not possible as there is no room service until 6.30. Given the rates, I found this disappointing.

    The hotel has great location and its foyers, salons and parlours downstairs are very opulent and of a previous era - palatial in red and gold.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Grand Hotel Plaza traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: