Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Plaza Hotel Catania 4 stars

Viale Ruggero Di Lauria 43, 95127 Catania, Italy

#16 of 56 hotels in Catania

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1006 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Maybe, only one more person in the breakfast when the hotel is full.

    The location, the sea in front of the room, the coffee in a wonderful place, the people so nice. In particular, in the front office desk (check in) Miss MICHELLA, an wonderful person, all my family think the same way. Thanks to Michella's sugestions of local trips and restaurants.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower cabin was leaking, each time after the shower the floor was wet

    Comfy beds, nice sea view from the balcony, breakfast on the terrace, cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditon was the biggest let down! It was 24 degree on our room and yet they will say they can’t change it as it’s centralized control! They said because the weather outside is cold.🙈 we tried opening the window but as it’s along the road, it’s incredibly noisy! That was the worst 4 nights of sleeping in a hotel where you supposed to relax after a long day of adventure!. The room is so dusty, if you look under the bed, it’s ridiculously dusty! I don’t think they check the standard of cleanliness! No coffee or tea in the room, no iron, and no welcome bottle of water at least! Duvet haven’t got a cover, instead it was just layered with a flat sheet on top of it! That’s not appropriate at all!!

    Staff are friendly specially the guy in reception Fabio, he’s very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unexpected charges for parking (expensive), no room service menu in room, Catania is a waste of time for holidays.

    Decent but boring breakfast. Decent room, nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little too far away from Catania center to just go for a walk....

    Very friendly stuff. Chef made individual dishes which were not on the menu. Delicious food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep ramp and turns in car park. Plastic cups for coffee at breakfast. No coffee making facility in room.

    Close to airport and Mount Etna, easy drive to Mount Etna, Taormina, Syracuse and Messina. Good sea view and area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Litte far from train station and center but good bus connections are available

    Clean near the sea good for rest from the city rush, the room was clean, first night we slept on the first floor and it was noisy, then the hotel moved us to nice room on the third floor

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great reception staff very efficient, extremely helpful and friendly, superb breakfast and a really nice sea view room. Airport transfers excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing special problem. Maybe furniture should be re-painted and there is no table on the balcony.

    Friendly staff, nice see view, very good breakfast, minibar in the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hetel is located at very bussy street, which in the night becomes a highway - really, really impossible to sleep.

    Personell was good, however in the evening suggested for dinner hotels restaurant which is really poor. Place far away from any place which is worth to see, however area seemed to be safe.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have a small problem with a noise level. My room was at the third floor (the hotel is 4 floor high) with windows facing the sea and a very busy road. Windows of rooms are soundproof but some traffic noise can be heard. This is a bit annoying in the night. But with the windows shades closed, the level of noise is almost OK. Nevertheless, ask for rooms at high floors.

    Good selection of food at the breakfast. The canteen is located at the fourth floor with a beautiful sea view. Some tables are located at an open terrace. Location - very close to the sea (but distant from the city center). Very friendly stuff. Free underground parking for Genius level visitors (otherwise it costs 10 Euro per night). Beautiful sea view from the room window (windows of rooms not facing the sea face the Etna volcano, which is also a beautiful scenery).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We traveled with 2small children and got the room under the restaurant/bar...it was a little bit noisy, we heard people walking, slamming doors,...if we could choose again we would choose room on other floor or oposite from restaurant.

    Everything was ok and very nice. Helpful staff, very clean rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good selection at breakfast and lovely views from the roof terrace. We also enjoyed an evening meal there although the signs say breakfast room and not restaurant. Bus and train station is a 20 minute walk away. The bus station for out of town journeys is to the right of the new metro station and not outside the station itself. Tickets can be bought in the offices in the side road by the buses. Go to the desk that says regional.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was small with no shelves.

    Good location but the sea but accessible from airport. Good breakfast for Italy. Room equipped with fridge and safe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refill of white bread, salami, prosecco at breakfast. If you are coming later than 10, you can’t find. I dont like the idea they change the soap and all towels every day even though i did not request. Its absolutely unnecesarry and eco-friendly. Anyway the hotel is very far from the centrer.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location.. ...not a nice area. Hotel is on a terribly busy, noisy all day and night. Our room was below the restaurant ...tables and chairs were dragging on the floor in the morning, afternoon and night! Beds and pillows uncomfortable.....bed make grinding sounds when ever you moved. The room is generic ....not worth the money. No where to eat....breakfast was good, thankfully....dinner a huge disappointment ....food was awful.

    Nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sanitary installation were in a bad shape, in particular the shower leaked.

    The concierge and front desk personnel were very friendly, helpful, professional.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Cleanliness was outstanding, and breakfast was very good. It would have been nice to have a TV channel guide available and in English.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything at the Plaza Hotel was perfect! The staff was very friendly and helpful get us our room quickly and booking us a MT Etna tour! The room was big and spacious and the bed was comfortable. The shower was excellent with good water pressure! The bathroom was also big! There are quite a few restaurants nearby and you can get to downtown in about 20 mins walking. The car parking was great with quite a lot of space. The breakfast was awesome because it is on the top top with a great view of the port and the food was also good with a variety of options! Overall I can recommend this place to anyone!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms in my opinion weren't 4 star holiday style rooms. They were conference rooms.

    Location was good, not in the city centre but near the sea. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The nearby "beach" is not very beautiful, it's just a wooden fixation on big rocks. The real beach is further away. Generally, you have to walk or drive a bit to see the nice spots in Catania. Also, I don't understand where the 4 stars come from. Without any stars I would have been happy with the room, but as such I just find it okay. It was not really extraordinary, nor especially bad. Also, we had no shampoo or soap in our bathroom. And the blinds stopped working for a short time when we wanted to see the sunrise in the morning. But maybe it was our fault since we noticed later that it worked again as soon as we turned on the light.

    Breakfast was great with a beautiful view, close to the sea, the room was clean and okay looking. I think it's a good place for a business travel but not the best choice for couples or families. Also, with a car everything is better in Sicily.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy. We had the balcony over the restaurant/bar and they were preatty loud even after midnight. Also there in a lot of traffic on the road below.

    Parking garage is connected to the hotel, easily accessed with an elevator. WiFi worked great and was fast. Staff at the reception were really friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One night impossible to sleep due to problem with lights in room flashing on every few mins! Noise from furniture being moved in adjoining room.

    Good bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy at night, Sat night with a lot of people outside and Sunday night there was a live concert on there too but only until about 11. Otherwise the location was great.

    Great location across from the waterfront. There is a seawall along the waterfront as well as restaurants so we enjoyed that, over staying in the busy city. They also put on a great breakfast on a lovely inside and outside terrace over looking the Sea.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use some better cleaning. Toilet has not been cleaned properly for months judging by the brown scale at the bottom and don't bother with the dinner restaurant. They don't want people who can't speak Italian and the English menu is either very old or they just had none of the dishes available.

    Great rooms and new hotel. Staff at breakfast and reception were so friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad service at the bar and expensive beers. Had to stay here overnight as our plane came in late.

    Good breakfast, average service. Felt unsafe - not a nice area, far from town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi was practically non existent, could not keep a signal at all. Of the 2 rooms we booked, one was fine, but the other was very small, but as it was only for one night not a problem.

    The staff were excellent, very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was pretty good, we opted for an evening meal and the chef came out and had a chat and helped us chose our food, turned out to be the best meal of the holiday at a reasonable price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room did not get serviced until the afternoon (when we wanted to take a siesta), and we had to ask for it to be done.

    Nice view of the sea from the front rooms and the large rooftop terrace (where breakfast is served). There is a nice restaurant directly in front of the hotel and some more casual restaurants a short walk away, down towards the water.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately to say it, it lacked a perfect cleanliness since it is a four star hotel, I have expected more.

    What I have liked most is the views it has offered to us the room was sea view it was fantastic. And also the place where you take the breakfast is spectacular since from one side to see open ocean and from the other side Mount Etna. The staff we're very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small, just fits a queen sized bed but struggle to walk around it. We only needed a day room as my partner wasn't feeling well and needed to rest before our flight and for the price we paid for the room (even if we did overnight) was definitely not worth it. All our other accommodation in Sicily has been far better and cheaper.

    The staff were really friendly at check in. Hotel looks really lovely from when we walk through the lobby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jets in the bath weren't operational unfortunately. Located a little far from the centre of Catania, with little in the way of public transport to take you in.

    Cleaning staff were very discreet and flexible. Doughnuts were fantastic at breakfast! Room was very comfortable. The bathroom was excellent overall. Nice rock beach 200m from the front door with decent selection of restaurants. The rooftop restaurant was exactly as advertised- beautiful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road in front of the hotel is very busy and noisy. There was an event on the roof terrace playing loud music until midnight on a Thursday night.

    Nice room, large comfortable bed, good breakfast, roof terrace

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too much street noise. Water temperature in shower uncontrollable; went from hot to cold, hot to cold. Did not stay constant. Too difficult to get into tub for a shower. The room was too hot. The hotel air conditioning system was completely turned off. I had to close doors due to excessive street noise which meant no air flow, no coldness. Insufficient lighting in the main room, unable to see well.

    The staff was exceptionally accommodating. The food was good. The location was pleasant next to the ocean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Disappointments: 1. Location was described on website & in reception hall as being 10 mins walk to town centre & train station. First thing receptionist told us was that town centre was an hour's walk! So had to order shuttle or taxi to go anywhere. 2. There is a Spa sign on website, but spa had been closed; no exercise room. 3. Had asked for quiet room when booking & called to get confirmation day before we arrived. During first night found it was not a quiet room (noisy traffic), but were able to change to room at back of hotel with view of Mt Etna. Much better!

    We liked the spacious roof terrace with views of Mt Etna and the Sea. Very good breakfast, pleasant and helpful staff. Evening dinner or snacks available. Shuttle service (on payment) available to town centre, rail station & other towns.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. We are very happy.

    Staff were very approachable, friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for anything better. We would highly recommend this hotel. It is a little further out than other hotels but this was made up for by the beautiful sea views and walks every day. Ernesto's restaurant nearby was great for affordable food and for meeting interesting & friendly people.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not used to the type of mattress. Not the most comfortable, but not horrible.

    Amazing breakfast buffet. The take away breakfast was unbelievable. We had to leave at 4 am and therest was everything we could possibly want and more. Wonderful!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was dreadful. So much so, we went out to eat after the first morning. Very poor quality food. Overcooked, dried up eggs...juices were not fresh...very very poor.

    Comfortable, clean Hotel and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only thing that I can mention is that we would love a kettle in the room. Maybe it will be provided next time.

    Can't complain. This was our third visit so obviously we love it. Very good location and good standard hotel. Breakfast is good too. You can park easily very near the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because our flight was cancelled we arrived one day late. The hotel charged us for the full first day as well as the booked transfer from the airport. They were in their full right of course but still we will find another hotel next time.

    Clean hotel located at a cozy boulevard but far from the city center. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think twice before getting the sea view room. There is a main road between the hotel and the sea, which is really noisy and you end up closing the shutters anyway to let you sleep.

    Nice spacious shower cabin Restaurant on the roof has a great view and delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. clarification on booking that airport shuttle meant a taxi with a higher price for early morning than the usual 25 euros 2. service for something to eat at 6pm had to be hunted down at the rooftop restaurant

    1. clean and comfortable and an excellent place to spend one night before flying out the next morning 2. attentive and friendly staff ... english was very good

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were pleasant but could provide better information, for instance the route to town and the availability of a nice swimming platform 10 minutes walk away.

    Nice view, nice breakfast terrace, decent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lights in the bedroom were not strong enough to read by, but the bathroom lights were fine.

    The breakfasts on the roof terrace with views out to sea were wonderful - the food, especially the fruit, delicious. There was no proper restaurant for dinner, but that didn't matter at all as there were excellent restaurants very nearby. Our car was taken care of every time we arrived or departed and put in their garage, a great plus. The decor was very pleasant indeed and there was a really nice atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel staff is exceptionally helpful and accommodating. We arrived late afternoon after >30 hrs of travel (x3 airports). Their room service did not have a lot of vegetarian items on the menu but the staff cooked a vegetarian pasta for us. We can't thank them enough for being so accommodating. The staff was nice, friendly and accommodating during our stay. We will definitely stay at Hotel Plaza on our next trip :-) Note: The photos attached were taken from the hotel terrace using iPhone 6.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Is the first thing that comes to mind with Catania Plaza Hotel. Really, all those people working there made our staying-in a pleasant one. Thank you! Then goes service. An almost immediate response to a request left us not only satisfied, but also astounded with the speed and quality of how it was resolved. Different omelets for breakfast were great. Yeah, also remembered, as well as the fourth floor, cappuccino, view to the see - and the day begins.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, from outside and inside hotel. The rooms were not sound isolated and made it difficult to sleep well at night

    Very friendly staff in terms of their communications and support. Location and view of the room towards the sea was perfect. Breakfast on the roof terrace was an amazing feeling.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Excellent customer service! Beautiful hotel and very well presented. I stayed with my 2 children and mother, there are local stores and resturants near by. I cannot applaud the hotel staff enough for their amazing services, their attention to detail, patience and ambience. The breakfast was also fantastic, fresh fruits and passteries was a highlight for us. I would definetely recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car parking was in basement - very tricky driving in and out - very steep slope - car brakes need to be in very good order.

    Excellent buffet breakfast. Very nice breakfast room on top floor, in the morning sun, unrestricted views of sea. Very helpful Reception Desk staff. Good location for driving outside Catania to get to other destinations (but make sure directions are very clear).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The main road outside was a little noisy.

    A lovely room with views out to sea and a great bathroom with very spacious shower. The staff were absolutely fantastic and couldn't do enough for us - including booking us a restaurant for dinner. Breakfast was good, with lots of choice, and it was lovely to be able to eat outside on the terrace on top of the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was clean, but could do with a detailed wash, once in a while. Second has nothing to do with the hotel, but the distance until the sandy beach is a pretty long journey.

    You cannot fault any of the services offered, really. Trully nice and helpful personel.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were not friendly and seemed hesitant to help or be proactive. No one checked up so we waited for instance for 30 mins to get a cab to the center that takes 10 mins. The room was quite small for the price we paid and also in comparison to other 4 star hotels we have stayed at. Facilities were ok at best, though again nothing to remember. It is difficult to get to the center from the hotel's location and the taxi seems to be the only option. They mention shuttle in the brochure but upon asking only call a taxi. I can't recommend this hotel to anyone in the future, there are surely much better other options and better, nicer cities in Sicily to stay in.

    The breakfast is good on the terrace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far away from the city centre and work going on in hotel so very noisy which also created cockroaches and other bugs! Had I know about this I wouldn't have stayed.

    Staff were incredibly helpful and room was huge.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If a person has to depend on the Catania bus transportation (non existent) then you can walk to the nice shopping areas [perhaps 20 mins walk]

    I liked everything be it the location, the hotel but especially the lovely ladies at Reception. They all have a sincere smile and always very helpful especially Michela. Their breakfast on the terrace with such a lovely sea view is a great way to start the day. The rooms are lovely and being solo I paid for a double room so that I get the sea view - worth it! I will definitely return and return again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really. Just be aware that if you are looking to go for swims, the hotel is not really in a beachy area (obviously nothing to do with the hotel per se)

    The rooms were nice, clean and spacious and there is a beautiful view form the roof terrace for breakfast. Also a plus is the free garage if you have a car. There are a lot of nice little restaurants at walking distance down by the sea to have dinner if you do not want to head back into town. Great place as a base if you want to explore around Catania.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. No pool 2. Room cleaning was poor : toiletries never replenished, used glasses not replaced. 3. Whirlpool bath didn't function. The control was extremely complicated. 4. The shower was the worst I have ever experienced in any hotel.......water too slow and impossible to control temperature. 5. Street noise very evident throughout night. 6. Noise during night from other guests banging doors.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast quality was poor.. Service quality when one had a problem was lackadaisical Service at 4th floor bar/breakfast indicative of poor service for woman client

    Exceptional terrace with room bath was nice but there was no true shower just a handheld.. not best for summer weather Staff was friendly at the desk Senior staff at the 4th floor bar/breakfast was not attentive to service

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would say it was my fault that I did not realize that the property is quite far from the city centre. The "sea view" room is not worth the effort. Having got that out of the way, I would say that the staff was very "clinical" and not really friendly or helpful. Getting to the parking lot of the property is tricky and if you don't speak Italian, it is hard to understand the directions provided on the phone. The property was mostly empty when I was there.

    The roof-top location of the breakfast room is nice.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though the hotel was on the beach, there was a lot of traffic noise. Luckily, if you close the window, it's quiet. I had never been to a room where the key turns on electricity. This should be communicated by the staff, to save us from phone calls down below.

    Right by the beach, this hotel was very affordable. It included breakfast overlooking the ocean. The room was beautiful! I would definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel itself is very basic. Location is dreadful: directly in front of a busy road and opposite a car park which looks on to the sea. No beach, just cliffs. Next to a Burger King and a sex bar. Too remote from city centre, with no reliable bus service available, no city centre shuttle, only taxis costing €15 each way. Hotel could provide added value to it's guests by providing a free shuttle service to the centre of Catania. It's only 2km away. Rooftop terrace is used only for breakfast by hotel guests, and is used for private functions during the evening. Hotel is primarily a conference/ events venue. Guest bedrooms facing the sea suffer the noise of traffic day and night. Rear bedrooms face apartment blocks and are exposed to the noisy extraction/ air conditioning plant. Guest rooms are very simply furnished, and are not welcoming nor comfortable.

    Good breakfast selection. Reasonably comfortable beds. Responsive staff. Parking available.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    as previously intimated "poor" bus service to town but if wishing to get away from "the madding crowd" and enjoy a delightful beach holiday in Catania, this is the place to tat

    Reception staff could not have been more helpful - nice location (across the road from beach) though having said that with "poor" public transport to CBD it's a "bit of a hike" into town (supposedly only 2 to 3 kms but suggest it may be somewhat longer!!) - room facilities spacious with sea view and would definitely recommend - lovely breakfast on delightful terrace (4th floor) - popular restaurant at hotel, as well as numerous cafes and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pepe Nero hotel restaurant. Service is appalling.

    Loved the upgrade into superior suite which was very comfortable and the late check out. Beautiful view and very easy convenient parking which is rare in Sicily.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was told local bus service 534 was every hour. Definatly not. Reception staff not helpful with information on bus.

    Friendly staff. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed are bad. The mattress is hard. The pillows are flat.

    The sea view from the rooms are amazing. The breakfast on the 4th floor are tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too nosy at night. Could hardly sleep even when the shutter was down .

    Great location. Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from outside and the distance from the see (see sight yes but poor and hotel was empty: price is excessive

    The offer in the breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A large variety of breakfast items + possibility of squeezing oranges for juice on your own

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little too big for the room.

    Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could do with more variety, e.g. fried eggs etc.

    Excellent location. Free genius parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location very good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A chore to drive from airport esp in traffic even w gps Need to be instructed in advance where to park

    Food good Rooms quiet

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were two in the room and had one set of towels. There was no tray where to put shampoos ect in the shower

    Safe parking

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to eat between 4 pm and 7.30 pm

    Nice comfortable room. Nice view. Very kind and helfull staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View to the sea and to etna

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room equipment is old, poor soundproofing, balcony chair is bad.

    Good location, near many nice restaurants

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Best hotel every.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Plaza Hotel Catania traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: