Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Plinius 3 stars

Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 33, 22100 Como, Italy

#16 of 29 hotels in Como

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1405 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay in the centre of Como.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tip for the hotel: Seats in de breakfast-room are really in need of replacement.

    Location is good. Just 5-10 minutes walk form the trains. And 5min walk to the lake. Lots of nice restaurants and shops just around the corner. Room was OK en quiet. With airco. Big bathroom. Breakfast basic, but enough to choose from. Staff was friendly. I had a nice stay! Would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Thought the staff were so helpful and they allowed us to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge area where you can wait before departing is not air conditioned which is not great with such hot weather outside.

    Thought the staff were so helpful and they allowed us to have early check-in which was amazing after a 12 hour flight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Not a high end property, but centrally located and overall it was a pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a little small, but it was adequate.

    The location of the property is excellent and the staff was very friendly. I arrived late, but they were still manning the reception desk, and the receptionist was very welcoming. The staff at breakfast was likewise very friendly. The air conditioning kept the room cool and I slept very well. I would definitely consider staying here again if I passed through Como in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Good for its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's bad smell in the room when we first arrived. Only 1 lift which is so small and so slow.

    Good location, easy to find and not far from the train station and tourist attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay in a comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More choice of food at breakfast would have been good. But in general no complaints at all.

    Location convenient to both of Como’s railway stations and to the lake. Town centre and shops immediately behind the hotel. Bedroom and hotel in general very clean and tidy. Breakfast was adequate and served in pleasant surroundings with helpful and jovial staff. Reception staff very helpful and eager to help us make the most of our time in Como.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.3
    Convenient, reasonable value for money insofar as Como allows
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Have to give an e-mail address to connect to the WiFi, although it does not seem it is checked so I guess you may easily give a fake one.

    Very well located. Breakfast is good, especially the cakes/croissant, not very varied in terms of ham, cheese and the rest, but globally OK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Good as it is
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy central air conditioning system. I could hear it thru the night. I took single room: bed was so&so.

    Very nice personnel. Lovely and helpful people. Great localization.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    5.0
    Would not returnI
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a power outage through out the hotel and no one to help us with luggage as it was dark and the elevators were not working. No bar no restaurant

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    A perfectly comfort place.
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None.

    We received a warm welcome from the receptionist upon arrival. We had a slight problem with the room but it was sorted very quickly. The breakfast were delicious. The breakfast staff (2 female staff) were the gem of this hotel; they were friendly, helpful and made the breakfast more enjoy able. Something the hotel does right here, I found the staff are happy to work there. They love, and take pride of their job. Well done to all the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    We had an amazing time and would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra pillows were needed as one wasn’t enough. Heating was on full even on 3 very warm days.

    staff were very helpful & moved us after uncomfortable night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    The room had a carpet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet for breakfast was quite small. Coffee was not served. Coffe of the coffemachine was not what we expected.

    The room had a carpet. I booked the room because of the showed pictures on booking.com. Didn’t meet my expectations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    We had a great time at Hotel Plinius. Very comfortable and a great price for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some extra choice for breakfast. Some warm food maybe?

    The room was lovely, spacious with a lovely view (floor 5) Fantastic location, 1 minute from the lake. Plenty of lovely restaurants/cafes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. The hotel is walking distance from the train station. The hotel is also in the town center and just a short walk from the lake. Bathroom is very spacious for a single room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    10
    Definitely coming back if in Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personel was really great, always smiling and ready to help. Localization right in the center but still very quiet. Definitely worthy to recommend for someone who's looking for a really nice place, with great price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    Excellent quiet central position close to lake, restaurants,...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room - small single bed too short for comfort for my moderate height.

    Excellent quiet central position close to lake, restaurants, Christmas market. Friendly reception.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.1
    perfectly adequate for a business trip and well located in the resort.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They were repairing door locks at 1am across the hallway from me and were constantly opening and shutting the door to test it. It went on for 20 mins and woke me up more than once. I had to get out of bed to ask them to be quiet.

    Helpful staff (apart from repair work at 1am). close to the centre of the town and the accommodation was clean and well presented. Breakfast was good for the hotel rating and the 24 hour check in is helpful for business people working around flights in and out of Milan. I have used this hotel twice now and would do so again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.1
    Mediocre at best, Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very very hot when we arrived, took forever to cool down! Only two very flat pillows. Staff was not very friendly when we arrived.

    The location was good, but very difficult parking if you are driving

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    A well run small hotel that is well located to make the most of Como and lakeside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, we would stay here again given the opportunity.

    Very convenient location just back from the busy waterfront. Breakfast service was excellent as was reception and housekeeping.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    6.3
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's a few steps up to the lobby so be prepared to carry your luggage. Elevator slow or malfunctioning at that time. Facilities are a little old already.

    They allowed us to check in early

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    A relaxed and enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was very good.

    Room was comfortable with windows onto the street. Very clean and functional bathroom. Quiet and relaxing place. Very central; close to train station and lake and in middle of Como.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Great Location with a Perfect Staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It’s just an older place which is what you should expect for the price.

    The staff was wonderful. The place is exactly what it claims to be. An older hotel for a decent price in a great spot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    My wife lost some very expensive and sentimental jewellery...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My wife lost some very expensive and sentimental jewellery our our room. Despite ringing and asking if the jewellery had been found the result was negative.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    8.8
    A pretty basic hotel but the location is excellent and the staff were super helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are a little dated and could do with some modernising perhaps but they were clean and comfortable

    The staff in the hotel were excellent and helped make the stay really enjoyable, it was a great base to explore Como from.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Short and sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reasons for our stay being so short.

    Because of circumstances the stay was unexpected and sudden.we were grateful to secure a room at such short notice.The stay in Como was fear to short,so we need to plan for the future and the Plinius Hotel will be considered.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful trip to Como arranged at short notice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Very comfortable hotel, Central location 5minutes walk from railway station and lake.Plenty of restaurants close by, offering a range of menus and prices.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    8.3
    A good standard of hotel for a good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a good standard of hotel for a reasonable price. The bed was comfortable and the facilities are good. The breakfast was goo too - better than the average in Italy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    A very comfortable and friendly place to stay, in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room was smallish, but adequate. BYO basin plug!

    Wonderful friendly and helpful staff, great breakfast, great location, very warm. Helpful with advice and local tips. Would stay at Hotel Plinius again if in Como.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    I like it. If I go to Como again, I will try to book a room at this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like room-service lady coming during time of breakfast. It was surprising. It was not even 9am when they tried to clean the room. Also fire sensor blinks blue. It can be annoying at night. It can be noisy during evening. But during night it is ok.

    Hotel is located close to center and to all public transport nodes. Very comfortable. Easy to find. It is cozzy and charming. Breakfast is good. There is a small variety. If you are for small breakfast with cake or croissant this will be excellent place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.4
    Luckily we didn't spend much time in the room. So it was just adequate for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was very small and I am not a big person. Room was dark and small and the window looked out on an alleyway with windows of the adjacent building almost in touching distance. Expensive for what it was.

    Close to town centre, both stations in Como were a short walk away. Staff on the front desk were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    We had a great stay! Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing!

    We received a room on the 5th floor and were absolutely thrilled with the updated accommodations. The view was fantastic, location is perfect and the coffee at breakfast was the best we had on our trip. We highly recommend Hotel Plinius and hope to stay here again in the future.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room very sterile and bland food

    Location was very good for transport links more if a business hotel than a cosy place to stay on holiday. Did the job for the 2 nights we were there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    if you want to go to the italian grand prix avoid milan like the plague and stay in como
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    great location near to the station to get the train to the Monza grand prix hotel was spotless the ladies doing the breakfast couldn't do enough for you making endless coffee of your choice and when they weren't doing that they were in tidying the room brilliant place and numerous bars close by and high quality restaurants notably the captain drake and the numerous pizza places

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no tea and coffee kit in the room.

    Quit room The women is very nice who served the breakfast. The people in the reception are very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Best location in heart of all activities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no business center, a small computer with an internet connection would be very helpful to assist the customer with airline booking changes.

    I have no complains, i went for relaxation and i enjoyed my trip. The girl on the reception is very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    7.1
    Great location for one night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom of the room is dirty compared to what i have to pay for other hotels in the same area

    The location is great. Very close to the train station. Convenience for one night stay

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Great location at a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If I am going to be super picky the bed was so hard that I ended up with a backache, but it was great value for money so I am not complaining.

    The staff were super friendly and the location was great. This hotel is great for affordability and it is very close to the waters edge, great restaurants and the train station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    10
    A lovely pleasant surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good

    Wonderful surprise. I feared noise, heat, small room.. was lovely spacious pleasant quite modern room. Good breakfast and friendly cooperative staff. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded and our room was the best of our trip so far. Big and balcony all around. Bathroom was fantastic! Area was perfect. Easy walk from train station. Close to river and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Spacious, clean, nicely remodeled and close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice big room, perfect size for me my husband and 14 yr old son! There was a twin bed for my son, no pullout sofa bed which was much appreciated. The room was clean, nicely remodeled, had A/C and plenty of space.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    8.8
    A very welcoming and pleasant hotel. All that you need for a brilliant stay in Lake Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no plugs in the sinks and no ironing facilites, apart from this not too much to really worry about.

    The hotel staff were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble and always ready to help.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    Well located Modern hotel needing front desk folks to be more proactive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No safe printed instructions for the Italian safe were available on arrival so unable to use it. When asked at reception I was given printed I nstructions in English which were incorrect. Next day I asked the front deck for help. Both guys from reception came to test it when I was out. Long story! They claimed it was working & I decided to continue to keep my locked belongings in my suitcase!

    Bed good, the executive room which I paid more for was modern & located on the top story of the building. This section had been added onto the older part below. Although new the finish was showing early signs of cracks in both bedroom & bathroom it was light, quiet and private.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Well-situated, clean, comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing about this hotel that I would term 'a dislike'. The only downside, shared with many hotels in older town or city centres, is that if you arrive by car there is no on-site parking. The hotel is located in a restricted traffic area; if you want to unload your luggage there you can drive to the hotel but you need to give your car registration number to the receptionist who informs the police to avoid your being fined. The receptionist will direct you to a local underground parking garage about 5-8 minutes walk away (depending on your pace) and will provide the necessary tickets. You pay the hotel for the parking which was €15 per day in July 2017. I knew all this beforehand and accepted it.

    We stayed 3 nights in July 2017. The staff were pleasant, friendly and helpful. Our room on the fifth floor was clean, spacious, light, air-conditioned and provided with a refrigerator mini-bar. It was equipped with roller blinds outside which served to reduce any street noise at night (not that we noticed any). The bathroom was equally spacious and well-equipped. The room also had a balcony and views over the rooftops to the Cathedral and a part of Lake Como. The buffet-style breakfast was very good and comprised croissants, bread rolls, a choice of conserves etc., fresh fruit, cold meats, cheese, boiled eggs, torta (cake), fruit juices, and a selection of cereals. Cappucino and other coffee freshly made, or a choice of teas, served with a smile. The location was good, an easy walk to the main areas of interest and a wide selection of restaurants, gelateria etc. We would stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Great value in Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and hotel are a bit generic in decoration.

    Excellent location - a short walk from the train station and right in the center of Como, close to restaurants, shopping and most importantly Lake Como. Staff was nice and the room was clean. This was a great value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.9
    Good location, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Key had to be slotted into the wall to give the room power. No chance of leaving something charging and heading out for a few minutes.

    Only stayed here for one night os didn't have too much experience with the Hotel. However the staff were friendly, the location was good (5 minute walk to train and in the town centre) Room was fairly comfortable, wifi was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.8
    Great location to wander Como from!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dated.

    Staff were pleasant and helpful. Location was excellent- easy walk to train station. Breakfast, although not a great range, was plentiful and the croissants were the best ones on this trip.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    A great Hotel to stay at.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    My wife and I can not think of any improvements.

    This Hotel was very clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff were very helpful, friendly and went out of their way to see that our stay was as good as possible. It is close to the lake, both railway stations and a lot of restaurants / cafe's.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic location to walk everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony was nice but couldnt see out over structure

    Fantastic location to walk everywhere Staff very helpful Breakfast staff very attentive to detail

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    The central location allows easy acces to the train, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The central location allows easy acces to the train, and ferry around Lake Como. It is walking distance to great shopping and a good range of restaurants. Highly recommend this boutique hotel!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Como Sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms have double glazing which kept out most of the exterior noise but there was intrusive noise from other rooms above and besides, also noise from below when breakfast was being set up.

    The room was comfortable and well serviced. Breakfast was fresh and had adequate choices with excellent service from staff. The hotel is ideally located to the centre of Como and the lake and a 5 - 10 minute walk from Como San Giovani station. Throughout our stay the staff were welcoming friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    6.7
    location near town center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were bit by unkonw bug or other small worm, caused sever skin allergy. We found several those balck bugs or worms on the bed second morning. It was horriable. We went to pharmacy twice afterwards for this.

    location near town center

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.7
    Hotel stay spoiled by small room, noise and lack of air-conditioning
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The single rooms were very small and cramped. There was noise both from the street (especially at the weekend) and from adjoining rooms, which woke us during the night. The hotel was sold to us as having air-conditioning but it seemed that the air-conditioning was broken and, in any event, it did not work for the 7-night duration of our stay. This was extremely problematic as the weather was very hot and remained hot during the night, making it virtually impossible to sleep. After 2 days, the hotel provided us with fans, which helped a bit but in no way compensated for the lack of air-conditioning. I have lived in Italy for two years and would never have booked a city centre hotel without air-conditioning for the end of May. We very much enjoyed being in Como but could not recommend this hotel.

    The hotel is excellently located, close to the city centre and ferry terminal. The staff were friendly and mostly helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    7.9
    Convenient Location - very good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy at night, but to be expected being right in the heart of town.

    The young man athe desk when we first arrived was welcoming and extremely helpful. Service at breakfast was very good. Centrally located Location was exactly what we wanted.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    9.6
    I have only good thing to say about my stay in plinius hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't know really, everything I needed was in place, so yes no cons for me

    The staff very efficient,professional and ready to help all the time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    4.6
    Extremely disappointed, Photos misleading, Would never stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel photos extremely misleading. Accommodations are extremely outdated, uncomfortable, dingy and dark. Light bulbs in our room were out. The bed was terrible. We requested ice since there are no ice machines and we're told "We have no ice." Drab decor and dark bathroom. Carpet was peeling. Way to expensive for what is provided. We were extremely disappointed.

    Good location, better than average breakfast included.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    Nice location in the city center, but not far from the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I don't know why cleaning stuff begin turn on vacuuum cleaner at 8 am just behind your door. So even if you don't want to wake up, you must. And you can hear everything your neigbours talking about..

    Nice location in the city center, but not far from the train station. Clean small rooms, but a bit old. For short staying it's a good choice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.8
    Lovely Como, disappointing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Trains from airport took longer than expected. Did not get the superior room we booked. However a reduction was given for alternative standard room. Room was hot - could not be controlled. Noise of trickling water at all times from somewhere. Staff could not help. Breakfast was only ok. Taxi back to airport was expensive at 120 euro.

    location, cleanliness, good double glazing kept out street noise effectively. not much noise from guests in other rooms.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Good Location, Friendly Staff, Thin Walls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only issue we had was noise. Conversations in adjoining rooms could be clearly heard as could every toilet flush!

    Staff were extremely friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    7.5
    Adequate. Good location hotel Como.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were way too hot and noisy from the bars outside. They had facilities for air con but don't turn it on until the summer despite rooms being advertised as having air conditioning. No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.

    Location. Staff. They provided extra pillows and a fan when asked. Breakfast was good. No fuss check in and check out. The staff had good local knowledge and were helpful when planning trips.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.9
    Extremely good location and nice hotel, but thin walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very thin walls, you could literally hear every conversation in the next room. Strangely, the door and the windows seemed pretty well insulated. I actually heard the people in the next room more than I heard people on the street, even though there was quite a lot of partying going on one night. You could also hear toilets flushing all over the place.

    Extremely good location, very near the center of town and the water, but on a quiet side street and near the railway station. Lots of restaurants and cafés nearby. Staff was friendly and helpful, and breakfast was ok. Very good value if you can live with the thin walls.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    10
    Two thumbs up!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast hours. Ends at 9:30 am. Would be better if at least ended at 10:00 am.

    Fantastic location short walking distance to S. Giovanni train station. Centrally located near Piazza Cavour and Navigazione Lago di Como (docks for transport around lake) and many restaurants, bars and shops. Price is extremely reasonable and staff is very attentive, friendly and helpful. Very clean. Booked a double room and at check in was offered two single rooms, which was a nice perk. Breakfast is typical and good. Great coffee. Highly recommend if you are traveling alone or with someone.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.2
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed cover was different what we like but this is not a problem

    Very friendly staff.the hotel close to the lake and the trainstation as well.breakfast was ok.lovely place highly recommended.we enjoy every moment

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, value, value, value!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was great, we really enjoyed cappuccinos that were NOT from the machine, location was central close to everything, very helpful staff, excellent service. Maybe the only hotel I have no disadvantage to describe.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    8.8
    Nice hotel in Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was very easy to find and great location in Como. Staff really nice as well and good selection of food at breakfast. Wifi was working fine in all areas of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.5
    Convenient location in Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better instructions to access wifi would be appreciated.

    Great location in town centre (10 minutes walk from main train station). Welcoming and helpful staff at breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is perfect, you can reach every sights in a few minutes. The staff is very helpful and nice. A hungarian woman works in the hotel called Klara, who was very kind to us and whenever we had some questions, she always helped. :) The breakfast was okay, the croissant is delicious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    8.3
    Perfect location to explore the centre of Como
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only weird thing (cannot really be considered negative): the light in the bathroom left the shower in the dark.

    The location is just amazing, a few steps away from the Cathedral, from the two stations, from the lake, you can practically walk everywhere. The staff is nice and helpful (even let me make a few photocopies free of charge). The breakfast buffet is quite good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a touch pricy for the quality of the rooms.

    Great location right next to duomo. The guy at the reception gave me a double bed when I asked. He was cool.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    9.2
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets need upgrading. Lighting in bathroom was poor.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Located 2 blocks from Lake and from Duomo. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.6
    Great location, clean , as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the doubles was a little small for 2 people with full size suitcases No bread heater/ toaster for breakfast

    Excellent location, very friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.2
    A nice, quiet getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location near the station is handy. Very close to the lake and associated attractions. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom with heated towel racks was a winner. Staff were helpful and assisted us to print tickets etc. Decent breakfast too!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast selection could have been better. Room was dated and in need of some repair.

    Location was great. Elenia at reception was always friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    8.8
    Plenty to do in Como, lovely restaurants and you must visit The Cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is central in Como, Staff pretty good. Plenty of walks, boat trips and you must take the cable car up the mountain. Journey only lasts 7 minutes, views are tremendous over Como.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.5
    The staff were extremely accommodating.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was overpriced, in my opinion, and did not resemble the photo for a single room as advertised on their website. The noise from neighbouring rooms was all too evident too.

    The staff were extremely accommodating. Excellent location. Although the decor is somewhat dated, the bed was made daily and was immaculate.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    2.5
    The amount booked prior to checking in is still reserved on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The amount booked prior to checking in is still reserved on the acccount 3 days after the cancellation on their side. The staff advised to wait until next week maybe then the amount will be unbooked. I did not like the superficial way the staff handle other peoples real money. Breakfast: no vegies for all 4 days, fresh fruits:apples,1 type of cheese, 2 types of salami, only boiled eggs (you have to put them in a machine and wait for them to get done). It can be ok if your stay is short. Mold in the bathroom wall. Cigarette smell in a non smoking room. After a long day of sightseeing when arriving at the hotel in the evening we found the room door opened (anyone could have entered anytime for the entire period we were gone).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    We were provided an executive room on the top floor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were provided an executive room on the top floor. Which appears to have been renovated. Good location as a base for exploring Como and the lake, friendly staff. Parking was easy.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Plinius traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: