Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Poggio Hotel 4 stars

Via Di Francia 24, 16011 Arenzano, Italy

#3 of 10 hotels in Arenzano

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1157 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 72

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    Good for 1 night stay in the Genova region
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was ok, but it can be surely improved. It consisted mostly of many types of croissants.

    The staff was friendly. Good hotel to stay for 1 night near the highway, if you want to visit Genoa.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.8
    Easy access to the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the restaurant is not run by the hotel it is still part of the building and was recommended by the reception staff, unfortunately the meal we had was very poor and certainly not good value for money.

    Easy access to the motorway. Garage parking. Large , comfortable room . Everywhere in the hotel was very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    For a newer motel, quite a few things wrong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a newer hotel, the place was very noisy. There is no soundproofing and the sounds of the very noisy doors up and down the hall plus dogs barking are very disturbing. The second bed was inadequate and merely a camp bed. Certainly not worth the 60€ from a double room. The fridge hardly works. The car park is extremely difficult to drive in and out of and even the rented Mercedes had trouble finding traction going up the ramp

    The main bed was good and the room clean and new.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is poor. The aliments were not fresh. Not a 4 stars hotel,we couldn'tuse the indoor pool or the Jacuzzi, yes it's summer yet but it was indoor!

    Big rooms and bathroom. Well equiped.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.2
    I really enjoyed our stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was almost finished before 10:00 am. But the staff kindly prepared more for us.

    The hotel is pretty clean and the staff are so kind and willing to help. The breakfast quality could be better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    5.4
    Altogether it is just around average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small breakfast room with less variety and lacking menu specially for the children. The front room staffs are very casual in service offering. Room a/c was found inoperative.

    Breakfast with less variety and lacking menu specially for the children. Even service personnel not found around to ask. The front room staffs are very casual in service offering.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    A pleasant experience to be repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really, but the shower power could be improved: it is acceptable but a bit more pressure would be nice. Bear in mind, the between brackets () is a very subjective matter - I relay it for info & reasonable evaluation. (Personally I found mattress & pillows very firm - to be honest, once you experiment a proper memory foam nothing else seems to match-. Being a last minute arrangement I didn't get round to specifying requirements that I'm pretty sure options would have been available.) For info: the inside pool isn't "swimmable" in winter.

    Due to nature's conformity, the Ligurian cost is well known for it's tightness (& abruptness that characterize it to beautifully charismatic ;)). Well, this structure has logistically optimized the variety of services offered nullifying the space lacking enviroment feeling to one of pleasantly cosy; great job. Although the pool isn't swimmable in winter, it is accessible & included in the lounging zone - sweet ;)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Big and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is not so convinient from sea side and railway station. Not easy to reach by walking, needing more than 15 minutes.

    Big and clean room. Beautiful open balcony with sea's view, and stars' in evening. Fantastic swimming and massagi pools. Friendly and helpful staffs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.6
    This hotel was a really pleasant surprise at a good price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was spotty. I am not sure why. Maybe my laptop didn't like the security protocols and automatically kicked me off the wifi from time to time.

    They have an underground parking garage which is really awesome considering that the town is small and crowded. It gives you peace of mind leaving the car there while discovering the town by foot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Great relaxing holiday great hotel and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the fact that i had to go home back to london, wish i could have stayed longer.😊

    Staff were very friendly, spoke english very well. Nice pool and juccuzzi room was comfy clean and nice to stay in. Very happy thank you.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.2
    A nice motel style hotel, with service better than more expensive rivals.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Female staff members were very good, male staff were not at helpful especially during the night. The onsite restaurant is ridiculously expensive for what you get, I would avoid it at all costs walk into town. Keep in mind late at night you will have trouble finding a taxi - something we weren't told by the staff.

    Cozy, clean and comfortable. A 15mi walk into town (17Mins to coast) with a few local shops along the way. Most Staff went out of the way to help all of time. Very impressed with levels of service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    8.3
    Bello bello bello !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is not in the centre, but in 15 minuts walking yuo can arrive to the see. So maby is not the perfect place for a family with children.

    The room was very very nice and super cleen. Very nice the staff and the swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    Perfect for stopover
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains a bit thin when facing east and would be good to have tea/coffee in room

    Easy to find. Secure parking for large car. Good facilities at a good price. Restaurant OK. GooD for a stop over

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.9
    - Free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - reaching this Hotel without Auto is not easy. - The breakfast was very very very very basic and simple, and for a 4 star hotel is... - It was not possible to use swimming pool, while the water was cold. I think they should provide warm water or mention in the website that this is only with cold water.

    - Free parking - Clean equiped room -Frendly personal

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    2.9
    HORRIBLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has made a horrible impression. It does not really correspond to the stars it has. It was too cold in a room and there was a terrible draught coming from the windows which were itself shaking to the wind. The conditioner could not deal with its functions and worked too noisy, it was not able to sleep quietly. Stuff is unfriendly. The request to bring heater was not satisfied and instead of it they brought 2 little batteries (finger size). It is ambiguity of language but still. Also they rejected the request to change the room. Moreover, Internet was not working properly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    9.2
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a very strong wind. Outer window rollets (you cannot manage them) were loudly knocking into the window all the night. But wind was really very strong

    Just perfect spacious room with all new facilities! 2 mins drive from highway Very good breakfast for free...this is was a surprise after France

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.6
    Very smart and well equipped accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super, recently renovated room full of little extras. Whole place looked new and attractive. Easy to find and a good place to stop on the way to Italy - much easier than going into Genoa.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.2
    Fun in the Sun in Arenzano
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi could have been much better as I wasn't able to get a consistent strong signal. However, it was adequate.

    I've stayed at the Poggio Hotel several times over the past years and found it only getting better. My room was beautiful, very comfortable, and exceptionally clean. I didn't partake of the breakfast buffet due to my early morning departures, but it looked very good with plenty of selections. While the swimming pool is quite small it's still nice to take a refreshing dip, and the Hot Tub is also nearby. Staff is very efficient and speak multiple languages. Parking is adequate!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Offers peaceful preparation for a business day
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower is not detachable, which is a bit tricky if one does not want to wash a hair

    Staff was really nice and helpful: provided extension cord, extra blanket and sheet. WiFi is excellent, parking for a vehicle safe. Very peaceful, nice walking distance to downtown

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    pillows and mattresses!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - water flow is very weak - towels smells no good

    pillows and mattresses!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.2
    Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk down the road to the town

    The staff are lovely and caring :0)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    Good location for transit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room for 4 people needs repairs. Smell of smoke in the room. Roof was leaking from rain. Not value for 160 EUR

    Good location for transit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    the room and the equipment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the cleanless in the bathroom the dirty douche

    the room and the equipment

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast choices Old cakes

    Comfortable bed Big rom Very clean Close to beach Ok staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfekt for a stopover!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - bed was a little bit too hard - breakfast

    - located directly at the Highway - Clean and modern rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Definitely will stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was massiv and we had an amazing view from our 2 balconies!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.2
    bed location
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the swimming pool was close bed location old furniture

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Arenzano
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Like the driving room, you can park right front of your room. Close walk to the city center and beach.Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Good. Cozy. Silent. Kind staff. Perfect for rest.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking path is narrow.

    Near to the center. Easy access. Good parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.1
    Location isnot so good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location isnot so good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant (which does NOT belong to the hotel, was not good value for money at all.

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel any time of year. very clean and very accomdating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only regret is that we could not stay longer.

    We were met on arrival by excellent service and room and reception area was nothing short of stunning.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    You can add some fresh fruits to the breakfast so that it...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can add some fresh fruits to the breakfast so that it becomes perfect.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    The restaurant was very poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was very poor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    Enjoi my stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Alles gut!!

    Alles in Ordung!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    very comfortable. We will stay there again
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extras such as a choice of pillows

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    nice small hotel, near highway and near town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice small hotel, near highway and near town. I reccomend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    10
    A pleasant hotel close to the motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Excellent position close to the motorway.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    Good, location for motorway, lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Good, location for motorway, lovely hotel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    5.0
    Worst restaurant ever, should try the other one cross the...
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worst restaurant ever, should try the other one cross the street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.2
    Good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good price. very clean and well-decorated room. cant expect more.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.5
    Was OK for a night's stay, nothing much else around....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All ok but the restaurant menu wasn't for European visitors, no pasta on the menu apart from with fish...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Big and modern room, clean bathroom, underground parking,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big and modern room, clean bathroom, underground parking, air conditioning, close to supermarket and road.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.8
    Big room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without bar

    Big room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    You can park your car next to the door of the rooms, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can park your car next to the door of the rooms, the access to the rooms is in exterior.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.2
    Nice modern hotel with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice modern hotel with parking. Took about 20 minutes to walk into town using the back streets, but that was fine. Would recommend.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location outside the city town (anyway within walking distance)

    Staff friendness, overall comfort

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly up grade the television

    Perfect position staff very helpful parking space right outside my room rooms clean tidy and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.2
    Lovely modern hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi was slow

    Recently renovated, nice modern room, felt like it was brand new! Impressed with the indoor pool and hot tub. Good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    10
    Beautyful Arenzano
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stupendo!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location - just a minuet drive from the main highway! Great staff with remarkable welcome from staff! No charge for our little pet.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    6.7
    smokers only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    only smoker rooms

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great stay. Lovely pool after a hot day's ride.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great value for money and only 15 mins walk from the town

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    9.2
    We only stayed one night, but we found the hotel very easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    We only stayed one night, but we found the hotel very easy to find, very helpful staff, and very comfortable room and bed. Beautiful swimming pool. Breakfast is served by the pool.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    10
    The motel concept is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bread we had for breakfast was very dry and obviously from the day before.

    The motel concept is great. Good price/value ratio. Clean and spacious rooms. Bathroom was well equipped with accessoires.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.6
    Good location for autostrada.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As mentioned by others, location is a pain for getting to a restaurant other than the one on site which is Michelin starred. It's about a €7-10 taxi ride into town though and I highly recommend Lago Tana if you like Pizza. Parking is fine but I'm not sure there are spaces for every room if they had a car.

    Good location for autostrada. Very well appointed rooms. Very plush. Parking

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    9.2
    Location is on a main road with no pavement for 100 mts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location is on a main road with no pavement for 100 mts. Its great if you have a car. but we travelled by public transport so had to walk on the very busy main road.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    8.3
    very comfortable beds;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    very comfortable beds; your park place is next to the room; excellent breakfast; very close to the motorway ideal for one night stay but also for a longer one

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    10
    Great hotel recently renovated and it shows, the room and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

    Great hotel recently renovated and it shows, the room and facilities were excellent, staff pleasant although they need more staff at breakfast as only one girl and she could not keep up so we didn't get coffee.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    10
    We liked the fact that we could park our car right outside...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the fact that we could park our car right outside our room, as it is a motel style property. The location suited us as we were only staying one night on our journey to Tuscany. We have no idea about whether it is handy for the beach, as we didn't go. We were very grateful for a swim in the pool after hours in the car.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2015

    7.5
    new refurbished room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location at narrow car road - impossible to walk to the town you always need to take a car. smooking allowed in all rooms

    new refurbished room motel style parking

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    10
    Right off the highway, just what we wanted, as we had our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Right off the highway, just what we wanted, as we had our car filled to the brim with belongings. Parking right in front of the room. Excellent wifi connection. We would stay again. This is not a place to stay for people who want to be walking distance to the seafront. It serves an entirely different purpose, and very well.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2016

    10
    Helpful staff, secure parking, everything provided, good...
    • Couple

    Nothing...all good

    Helpful staff, secure parking, everything provided, good food in restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    10
    close to the marina
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    close to the marina

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    8.8
    perfect location for business travelers;
    • Business trip
    • Group

    perfect location for business travelers; parking provided;very spacey and clean room

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    8.3
    Breakfast offered came as a surprise and very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast offered came as a surprise and very friendly staff. After a long journey, the kids loved the pool and jaccuzzi!

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.1
    Pool and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was horrible and restaurant staff not very nice

    Pool and staff

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    4.6
    the brakfast is un fresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the brakfast is un fresh the rooms are an old fashion the swimming pool place is uncomfortable )near the reception and the business hall.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    3.3
    Large room which was clean, fair price/quality ratio,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Large room which was clean, fair price/quality ratio, friendly staff, close to the motorway exit

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 72

Guests also reviewed these properties: