Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Politeama Palace Hotel 4 stars

Piazza Ruggiero Settimo, 15, Ruggero Settimo, 90100 Palermo, Italy

#10 of 72 hotels in Palermo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1758 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.1
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel elevation seems to be undergoing some maintenance work but the lorry parked outside is annoying especially if you arrive in horrendous weather and you do not know exactly where the hotel is!!

    The mattress was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very good, a lot to choose. Bed very comfortable. Very good location, easy to find. Shower was'nt comfortable, some water got on the floor. But otherwise everything was very nice, strongly recommended

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Comfort in the middle of History
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were fully satisfied with hotel services. Especially rich breakfest was attractive. Hope to visit again. On foot to everywhere. Over road fantastic streetfood. Disney shop, Sisley etc. just few meters.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Everything OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It is not complaint just no important ideas for improvement of existing. The TV on the room lacks any channel in world language. There're lot of channels but all of them Italian. Next, the breakfast is excellent and quite sufficient but still the same. We stayed for 7 nights and none change in breakfast composition all of days.

    Everything OK. The location, room, breakfast , lift, cleaning, bus access at the airport to and fro, WiFi, profesional staff and other aspects keep high standard. Thanks for your service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Good variety for breakfast - eggs, ham, cheese, fruits,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is currently in renovation. Scaffolding which blocks some of the light and makes it look like construction site from the outside

    Good variety for breakfast - eggs, ham, cheese, fruits, yogurt , cakes etc. Valet parking (13 eur per day) Big clean room Central location Friendly professional staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    When traveling in Italy you must have two ratings for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When traveling in Italy you must have two ratings for breakfast. The Italian and international breakfast. Both breakfasts are top class. For example, good sweet cakes on the Italian breakfast and for example bacon and scrable eggs on the international. The hotel is not the latest Italian "alessi" decorated hotel, more classic Italian with sixty-seventies charm. Excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    8.8
    Practical location Great breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby, not at all conducive to meeting friends. The scaffolding around the hotel is off putting. It looks like a bombed out building.

    The location. The

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was clean, quiet and super convenient location but a bit cold at night as they have not started the heating system yet. Thought they are still under renovation of exterior, we could see the Politeama Theater and the hills around from the balcony which was beautiful. Breakfast was wonderful, from Italian style sweets to bacon and egg and even Spumante. The staff at the breakfast hall was very attentive. Only concern was the glass partition at the bath tub which was not wide enough and the bathroom floor got wet every time we use the shower. Maybe slide partition or even shower curtain would help.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel in a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel during renovation- I wasn’t able to use a balcony. Old bathroom.

    Nice staff, great location, excellent breakfast: Sicilian cheeses, cakes, fresh orange juice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable quiet room in a city centre location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or cafe in hotel during the day or evening, a sign saying cafe but the lights off and closed.

    The room- big, sound proof, clean, satellite channels, comfy bed, low noise air conditioner, blackout curtains, big shower

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initially thought there was no wardrobe - found it behind a curtain which looked as if it was covering a window. Minor issue.

    Location excellent. Rooms a good size as was the bathroom. Elegant decoration of room. Breakfast had a good selection of food and you could get a cupuccino if you ask. Excellent wifi. Helpful staff with good English.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location for a Palermo visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We picked this hotel mainly because of the advertised valet-parking. Parking in Italian cities is a crime nowadays, and Palermo is no exception. Unfortunately just on the time of our arrival they had a problem with the valet service and i had to drive around for half an hour before I found a place. Later on in the evening this was resolved and the service worked again. Two days later, on our departure, we notified reception half an hour before that we would be checking out. After checking out we still had a 45 minutes wait on the street before the valet finally came...

    apart from the outside of the hotel being in scaffolding and under renovation we found the hotel to be exactly what we wanted on this Palermo visit. The room was overlooking the theater square, bed was comfortable, bathroom and wifi ok. Breakfast in the cellar was good, very complete both sweet and savoury. Staff friendly and helpful. For a visit to Palermo the location could not be better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Politeama location cannot be beat. Airport shuttle stops just outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel undergoes renovation, there is some construction debris on the balcony, views are obstructed because of scaffolding.

    Service, upgrade, daily fruit plate, period detail room, good breakfast (served from 7 I think).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.6
    A haven in busy Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Scaffolding surrounding the building impacted most room views, however, the hotel is wonderful inside.

    Outstanding breakfast buffet. Excellent location. It's a short walk to Teatro Massimo and Quatro Canti. The city bus (6.3 Euros per person) to Falcone Borsellini airport stops in front of the hotel--a huge convenience for easy departure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.8
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not worth the $200 a night we had to pay after booking.com cancelled our other Palermo hotel a few days ahead. A little bleach would remove all the bathroom tile mold in room 601.

    Location of hotel by airport shuttle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    8.8
    Well placed for viziting both the old and the modern Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy, including the windows and the internal walls. You can hear people snoring or going to the bath :( They are retrofitting right now (autumn 2017) so maybe they will fix that.

    Location is great, at one end of via Maqueda crossing all the historic area. It is also close to the modern shopping area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on the 2nd floor and I found the noise level of some of the other guests a bit loud during the early hours of the morning. Plus I could hear showers and taps being turned on and off. For the room price it should be more sound proof and private

    Great location. Good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Big room with hall ,toilets separated from shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was at renovation state, but only from the outside, so the was constructions outside our windows and the view was blocked. But at night it doesn't matter.

    Big room with hall ,toilets separated from shower. The stuff was very helpful and pleasing. Breakfast was reach for European standards. Located 5 minutes walking from center and in good neighborhood. There is a good value for money parking service for the night and day after.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Breakfast outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Breakfast outstanding. Staff extraordinarily nice. Location perfect, right in the centre of Palermo. Room very nice & clean. Parking with outside garage with whom hotel has an agreement (Euro 13 per 24 hours) - Car is picked up at hotel and brought back to hotel when you leave.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    Location: easy accessible from airport and close to the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilettes could have been more confortable. The hall could have been larger and better

    Location: easy accessible from airport and close to the hystoric center. Cleanliness

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Some things were nice. Not a 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/c did not work .

    The hotel was under restoration. The room was not 4 star. Molding coming off the wall. Breakfast exceptional. Location excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Right across from the theater!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Right across from the theater! We practically walked everywhere we needed to go to. When we wanted to take the bus, it was a block away! Rooms were perfect! Wish we had the breakfast but we slept in and missed it :( ...Next Time!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel with fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is under renovation so the window could not be opened. The A/C is very noisy and inefficient.

    Great location, fantastic breakfast, spacious room, comfortable beds. We've appreaciated the welcome sweets and fruit basket that was refilled the next day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    2.5
    Horrible!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    How I was welcomed by the staff. In addition the staff was dirty and the gentleman that greeted me was extremly rude

    The Hotel was filthy and the staff was extremly rude.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    4.6
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't get fooled by 4 stars. They are renovating the hotel right now but have still a lot to do. The room that we got was dirty, old and stinky. There was some mold growing in the ventilation vent. Additionally the walls are thin and you can hear all the neighbors around having shower and flushing the toilet.

    The stuff was nice, well located.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Great location and hospitality from staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is under renovation so not much of a view from inside the room.

    Great location and hospitality from staff. Excellent breakfast and comfortable room with abundant space. Clean and welcoming overall. Within walking distance to all major attractions including shopping and Opera. Parking available through nearby parking lot however there is valet service for a fee.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Excellent place to stay in Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent place to stay in Palermo. Near to the historical center and the shopping area.Helpful staff and delicious breakfast.I would surely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    Perfectly placed to make the most of a trip to Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is being updated and it does need it.

    Excellent location for all the major sights. Bus stop outside for airport and local buses. Fabulous breakfast. Enormous room with great view. Spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the length of our stay, which was not enough to enjoy faboulous Palermo :)

    An amazing hotel at an average price. Though the facade has been under reconstruction, that spoiled a view from the window, we have fully enjoyed our stay. The room was much larger than we expected, with a super-comfortable bed and everything you may need during your stay (not only shampoo and soap, bu tooth-pastem razors, etc). The laundry service was extra-fast, they have wached and returnes our clothes in 3 hours!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Recommended hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work on the outside resulted in scaffold. This made the inside very dark. This did not cause an issue

    Very central location. Staff where extremely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel with an A1 staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You Pay more for the rooms facing the piazza politeama, but I was not advised when I was booking the room on booking.com that they are undergoing renovations and the scaffolding was completely blocking the view of the piazza from my window....this type of information should be known at the time of booking....a little dissapointed....but....otherwise, an excellent staff and hotel.

    Great location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel with good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel exterior under repair so could not look out window. Feel we should have been informed of this work when booking.

    Generally good hotel with helpful staff. Some difficulties in understanding English but nothing serious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.8
    A great value with a wonderful breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside is that the lobby staff was less than welcoming. I would be hard-pressed to call them friendly. If you can overlook their unhelpful attitude, all will be well in this hotel.

    Wonderful breakfast! Such a treat not to have to worry about finding that in the morning. There was a huge selection of everything from cheese/meat/bread to eggs and fruit and juices. We loved that the bus to the airport was literally right outside the hotel door and it was less that 10 euros each. It made getting our flight home so painless. The hotel itself was lovely, with a big room, comfortable beds, lovely furnishings, and a huge bathroom with lots of amenities. It was a good value for the money and the location was perfect--so close to the city center and we were able to walk everywhere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    The location is perfect the breakfast is very good the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is under renovation a much needed one. Bathroom old and malfunctioning. Lifts temporary out of order...

    The location is perfect the breakfast is very good the staff very helpful and kind.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.7
    CO MUCH PROMISE, AND YET....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    HOTEL NEEDS RENOVATION URGENTLY, OBVIOUSLY NO INTERNAL STRUCTURAL INVESTMENT FOR C. 20 YEARS HOTEL LACKS LIFTS, INSUFFICIENT NUMBER FOR BUSY MORNING DEPARTURES.

    STAFF POLITE AND ALWAYS DISPONIBILE

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    8.3
    Staff very helpful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff very helpful . Room size very good general appearance, not too good but they are in the process of renovating . Well placed for transport, airport shuttle 20 meters away, taxi rank opposite. Buses on side of piazza

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    8.3
    This will be a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all OK - see above.

    The hotel is currently in mid-refurb - don't be put off by the scaffolding. Location v good. The airport shuttle bus leaves from in front of the Prada shop 20 yards from the front door. Only negatives - breakfast room down a long steep flight of stairs, and the elevator is up three big steps from the hall. But they provide room service for an extra 5 euros. I'd stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    Cannoli for breakfast!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was all good, an excellent value. I would stay here again.

    Location was perfect, on the square where the bus stopped, literally in front of the hotel. Staff was courteous and helpful. And Palermo was fabulous. And the breakfast buffet included squeeze your own OJ and make your own Cannoli for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    6.7
    Old fashion hotel with a great break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel might have been four stars back in the day, but it is now very old fashion from the room to the bathroom, it desperately needs a renovation, that seems that it is ongoing (at lest outside). Do not recommend for more than one day.

    Very good break, airport bus right around the corner. Bus to beach very close, 5 euros to go and return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.8
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the property was in the city center, easy to go to all the places that needs to be visited. Direct access to the shuttle service The staff were welcoming and helpful and for sure if i will comeback there and will book the same property .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    Fine but needs some updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel needs updating and especially the bathrooms but to be fair it would appear that they have started to do this. As it is at present I wouldn't say it's a 4 star hotel. If I return to Palermo in a year or two I would check out the Politeama Hotel first as we liked the location.

    The bedroom was spacious and we had two bathrooms which was more than we expected as we had just booked a double room. Breakfast was good and the staff helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.0
    A night in Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in dire need of renovation and double glass windows...as it's very central, it gets a lot of noise. We were staying on the 7th floor and were kept up by traffic until about 3:30am

    The location was great (walking distance from all the main Palermo sights) as was the staff! Very helpful. The parking service they work with (at a premium of EUR 13 a day) was also excellent and allowed us to enjoy our day in Palermo stress-free.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Very spacious room, with many extras, eg the welcome fruit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arriving by hire car at night, it is a difficult street to find, as most streets are one way traffic. If you make a wrong turn as we did, you seem to spend hours going in circles to find the hotel. Having the scaffolding in front of the hotel meant it did not look like a hotel, rather a building under construction.

    Very spacious room, with many extras, eg the welcome fruit bowl. First hotel in Italy we have struck with an electric jug and tea making facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff, even got my Navman set up. Nothing too much trouble. Excellent English speaking office staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    8.3
    Great location, excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs a little update. Reception area could be brighter. (there was scaffolding outside which didn't help) There is a good choice of things for breakfast, but too much of a scrum/queues for the fresh orange juicer!

    Excellent location for main attractions of Palermo. We had a really lovely, spacious room with a great view. The guest service, a week prior to arrival especially, was impressive. We were asked if we had any preferences or wishes, and everything was met with utmost efficiency and friendliness. A very pleasant welcome treat too from the room service team. Really recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Palermo.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    2.9
    ran down hotel with rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have severe insomnia and specifically aske din the booking for the quiet room. they did provide me with a room high up however it was facing the square and I wasn't able to sleep at all! thanks to that next morning I was completely ill which has spoiled the Sicily trip altogether... when we arrived and I kept asking to change out room staff refused claiming they are fully booked, yet 30 min after us a huge Asian group arrived. clearly there were room staff could have swapped around as apart from noise the room was ok. hotel altogether is extremely ran down and 2* at best.

    location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.9
    Great classic hotel with some problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Imagine you are visiting your dear and generous grandma, who was once a honourable and important lady in the old times, and lives still now in those memories. So is Politeama, great hotel in a great location, but you don't understand why there is a shower with curtain insted of glass, broken toilet bowl, moisture signs on some walls, unfit for a 4-star hotel. The hotel needs a refurbishment and they are doing it, now is a bit expensive for the services. If you don't mind such problems, and appreciate atmosphere and staff care, you will have a great stay.

    Excellent central location, convenient both for airport, city center, bus. Excellent breakfast with salad, egss, plenty of sweets (and mythical "cannoli"). Great staff, professional and helpful: I asked to have a room with a better bath and they managed to do so, even though the hotel was almost full.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel that's close to the city center and bus to airport. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast very nice touch with freshly made coffees. Wifi worked perfectly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    no complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    was led to believe you could avail of bar service but at 11 pm told by receptionest the bar wasw closed it was a pity the hotel was covered in netting due to renovations

    couldnt get a better location city buzzing on saturday night

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    3.8
    It ruined my vacation and the impression of the wonderful city of Palermo - shame!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. The hotel is simply dirty, smells like a public bathroom or worse. 2. It is undergoing some renovations and should not be operational at this point. 3. The rooms are sub standard - in the US this would not be rated as 1 star. It is a shame that it is rated on Boooking as 4 stars - it will make me reconsider choosing hotels on Booking in the future.

    The location is indeed in the center of the city - this is the only plus - the rest is just below any standard I ever experienced.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite renovations, it's a bit old and musty

    Great location. The airport shuttle stops directly in front, located on a beautiful square and right in the middle of great shopping (Prada is right next door). Big room, good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Perfect location in Palermo: spacious but cosy, friendly and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a classic older style hotel - very clean, spacious, very comfortable and unpretentious. The staff very helpful and extremely pleasant, the location perfect (and the airport shuttle arrives just across the piazza and departs literally outside the door of the hotel - so convenient and cost-effective). We would definitely return.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.9
    For the money I paid (which was on the level of a nicer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit dark, interior renovations should be done soon, bathroom was small

    For the money I paid (which was on the level of a nicer b&b) it was an excellent choice. Yes it is old and worn, but a worn out 4 star hotel with great service for the price of a b&b is still pretty awesome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Very nice place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building with construction project outside but no problem.

    Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff. Room spacious, comfortable. Breakfast amazing!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    Attentive staff, convenient location, large lobby, excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding surrounding the building was a distraction but did not compromise the guest experience. The number 108 bus to local monuments was impossibly late but that's not the hotels fault!

    Staff helped locate a doctor to assist with diagnosis and treatment of my wife's cough. The room was good sized with large bathroom, excellent 9th floor location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    I liked the location and with a nice room within walking distance of all the most important sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have a kettle and tea/coffee and milk. The scaffolds on the outside as mentioned

    A nice confortable room, a bottle of drinking water and bowl of fruit at my arrival. The corner room allowed a lot of light although the scaffolds did not allow the very nice view of the Politeama to be fully appreciated. At breakfast the nice staff, when propted, brought me an expresso which was much appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    5.0
    The breakfast was average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was scaffolding on the building so the balcony was unusable. The rooms were musty, worn looking, and overly warm.

    The breakfast was average. The location was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    9.2
    A good choice, if you dont need to be very close to the centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only time that I needed to ask the staff a question on bus timetables, they got it badly wrong. Hence the restriction on how I found the staff. The bus route was only 100 metres from the hotel, so it should have been common knowledge. Unfortunately the hotel is completely covered in scaffolding and netting, so there are no views from the rooms.

    Excellent choice for breakfast - particularly liked the self-squeezed fresh orange juice. Room cleanliness was excellent with a pleasing touch of fresh fruit provided in the room each day. The location is not central but this was part of the reason for choosing. The pay-back is that the traffic and ambient noise is not unreasonable. More central hotels tend to be overpriced and airless, in the built-up area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    6.7
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs refurbishment (it seems it has started as all around was scaffolding, "nice" view from the room).

    Staff was very friendly; walking around neighbourhood was very nice with couple of good trattorias and bars near by. Room was pretty big and clean. Location is good and it is nice walk to the most of amenities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    6.7
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Assigned a single room, cramped bathroom, small bed, bathroom floor leaked water, horribly small shower......not pleased....got moved to another single.....just as bad except the bathroom didn't leak. Rooms totally need refurbishing. Scaffolding in front of building for the forseeable future.

    The location and breakfast were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    Very good location, within walking distance of main tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The outside of the hotel is currently undergoing renovation and scaffolding is covering the whole building. The inside is also in dire need of renovation.

    Very good location, within walking distance of main tourist attractions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.8
    Great stay in central Palermo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Large comfortable room overlooking Teatro Politeama & the Piazza. Very little traffic noise despite central location - & we were only on the 2nd floor. Walking distance to all the sites we wanted to visit but also several buses from very near the hotel to the sites further out such as La Zisa, & also the railway station & airport. Could not be easier to get to from the airport which was very useful with a late flight. Buses every half an hour. Breakfast is truly excellent with a huge range to choose from. Freshly squeezed orange juice is delicious. Found some good places to eat. Osteria Lo Blanco is friendly & reasonably priced on the road parallel. And we had a great meal at Il Mirto e La Rose (fabulous desserts) off Via Roma.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast and the staff kindness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was a strange noise coming from the mechanically controlled ventilation. Fortunately, the staff was kind and we moved from the room to another.

    Breakfast and the staff kindness.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.9
    The breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in evening, rooms not very well insulated. Also the hotel and rooms need a renovation, quite outdated.

    The breakfast! It was so delicious. Location was amazing, so close to city centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.0
    Very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A longer walk to the Cathedral and main sites than expected - but in a nice area.

    The staff were very helpful, and the valet parking was great - we managed to knock the wing mirror off our car in the Palermo traffic and the garage fixed it back on without being asked and without charge.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    8.8
    Five star hotel, six star location, six star breakfast, and three star service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It isn't clear that you can order coffee whenever you like - this is kept something of a mystery as there are normally no 'floor staff' around to 'cue' the request, no visual invitation to order coffee, tea or aperitif when you desired, and the only staff around and about to enquire, were those in reception working hard booking in and out their daily constant loading of visitors. As there are no outside bars operational in the Piazza this is something confusing, and a real missed opportunity to refresh the tourist/ visitor to Sicily - and needs to be thought through by the management. Secondly although we had the pleasure of a balcony, there was no seating available in the balcony area to enjoy a comfortable sit down and relax, even though the view was stunning - directly adjacent to the roof top of the Politeama theatre, Thirdly the mini bar had only a couple of bottles of water in it - which is a missed opportunity to supply some small bottles of wine or beer, or soft drinks for your visitors. Although if one rang and requested room service I am sure some refreshment would have arrived - an adequately stocked mini bar gives your customers that freedom to access without the effort and interruption of service personnel. Although there is SO MUCH to do and enjoy in Palermo - the hotel coffee tables and side tables did not adequately promoted what was around the hotel to be enjoyed for those visitors who were coming independently and NOT under the promotional eye of a tour company. The guide books were firmly in place behind the reception desk, and very little literature about the scores of opportunities to celebrate Palermo's cultural legacy was available. and finally, there seemed to be no video service for those of us who do not speak Italian fluently - and therefore a late night film or news service was unavailable through the flat screen TV in every room.

    Do not miss breakfast. Although in my opinion breakfast should remain open until 11.00am and not close serving at 10.00am particularly for those who are recovering from an air journey and a time - difference from their home countries. The breakfast is the most sumptuous continental breakfast which I have enjoyed in Sicily and ranks amongst the top across Europe I have ever encountered - brava! You are just in the midst of the Piazza Garibaldi - or the Politeama, with the people's theatre less than 50 metres away. Make sure you visit this during your stay and have a guided tour - you will not be disappointed although the Municipality should spend more money and get this Grade 1 listed building properly restored after 150 years of life!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scaffolding covering the front of the hotel meant we were unable to see what would have been a great view from our room.

    Perfect location, very pleasant and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.8
    The hotel was perfect for what we wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this hotel because we were arriving in Palermo on a late flight, and the airport bus stops right outside. The room was comfortable, and the breakfast was great

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    8.8
    Palermo - Politeama Palace Hotel - worth a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with City View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately the renovation of the phasade wasn't mentioned at time of booking the hotel. Now it came as a surprise, and I didn't enjoy such surprise. Hopefully some renovation inside the hotel are considered as well.

    Pre-mail with transport information was a positive bonus. Also the welcome drink and a bottle of water was enjoyed after a long trip

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Building work was being done at the time of our stay,so it was a little bit noisy in the mornings

    Very friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere very central location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.5
    Old fashioned and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is located at a very noisy place with a lot of traffic. In the night it is hard to sleep with open window because of the noise. If you close the windows, it was okay. You cannot park your car. You have to book over the reception a garage nearby, which costs you 16 Euros a day. Even overnight there was no possibiliy to park the car. The aircondition is not really working, so the room was too hot. There is a strange smell in the room. A scaffold is in front of the window, so you cannot leave the window open.

    The breakfast was good with salad and eggs and the waiters very friendly. The hotel is near the old center. So you can walk to some interessted places and restaurants are near by. The bus to the airport is just in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    7.5
    The breakfast was quite nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an unpleasant smell in the room, the lino on the floor had big air bubbles in it, making it a bit of a hazard and the hotel was having renovations and so was covered in scaffolding.

    The breakfast was quite nice.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    • It was not possible to regulate the temperature of the central heating (too hot at night). • A not adjustable and not removable shower head fastened to the top of the bathroom cubicle – not very comfortable for women.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    10
    Breakfast was excellent (truly home made Sicilian lemon jam...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The restaurant that the front desk adviced us to go (whose owners often come in for breakfast). It would have been very helpful to know in advance the transportation schedule for buses to Monreale: the reception probably doesn't know that these buses run approximately once every hour.

    Breakfast was excellent (truly home made Sicilian lemon jam which they also sell) We loved the view from our room on the seventh floor with a balcony; The bus stop to and from the airport couldn't be more convenient!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    9.2
    Champagne for breakfast, I love those old fashion 4 stars...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing:)

    Champagne for breakfast, I love those old fashion 4 stars hotels:) Breakfast was excellent by the way. Staff was really helpful and polite. Palace is very old, vintage, but I definitely like it:))

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    8.8
    The staff makes the difference
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel would benefit of a styles' update Can't fine tune the heating or room temperature Smoking smell in the stairs area from time to time

    Staff kindness and supportive Breakfast rich enough and tasty Bed comfortable Logistic perfect from/to airport by bus, major attractions are at walking distance

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Politeama Palace Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: