Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Porta Felice & Spa 4 stars

Via Butera, 35/47, La Kalsa, 90133 Palermo, Italy

#11 of 72 hotels in Palermo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 293 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wi-fi in the room did not work upon arrival and had to insist to get this solved which took them a while to identify the issue (hidden router in the room had to be restarted...). The hotel is located on the eastern side of the city centre (near the sea) and a bit of a walk to the main tourist sights but still ok.

    Good sized room with nice interior design. Room was facing the quiet back of the hotel on the third floor and high enough to get a view. Good Italian breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was too hard (for me) and room was in need of a little maintenance. Aircon was not available as weather deemed not warm enough. Hotel was generally quiet all night but a bit noisy first thing in the morning (6am). Fine if you don't mind an early start and can keep the windows shut.

    Good breakfast - we particularly enjoyed the cakes! Great shower with nice big towels. Room was cleaned to a excellent standard daily. Excellent (!) location for main attractions, restaurants and relaxed bars.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed an armchair in the room. Bathroom was grey and slightly dated. Breakfast buffet had mostly items of average quality (thin juice, packaged toast bread, partly canned fruit, mediocre cake, sometimes from the day before ...). Location is in a slightly drab street about 20-25 minutes from the major sights by foot.

    My room, which was facing the backside, was quiet, clean and rather spacious. The bed was comfortable and had snow-white and smooth linen.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While it isn't far from the main drag, it isn't in the best neighborhood...a bit dodgy. Also, the spa was fully booked for each of the 3 days I was there, which was in the off season. The hotel was not crowded with spa guests, which says that either their facilities are inefficient or they have a staffing problem. The safe in the room didn't work. The staff were cold and unwelcoming.

    The rooms were spacious, tasteful, and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were in was righ over the main road, 1st floor. Very noisy due to traffic and generally people speaking loudly both outside and in the corridors.The bedroom's walls were dirty with few holes, not a great view. A larger TV with International channels could be fit it.

    The bed was very big and confortable! The breakfast is a great plus with a lot of selection of sweets, but less savoury selection.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rusty Bin in Bathroom. Light on Toiletries. Restaurant was quite anonymous. Happy hour in advertised in lift for bar didn't give us any savings on our round of drinks bought at 5:15.

    Great Price, Fairly good decor, though room was in need of a lick of paint. Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I paid fully on booking.com, and the hotel charged me again for the 2nd room. This is absolutely not acceptable.

    The bed was massive and very comfy, although I'm sure some people will think it a little hard.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast choice is basic and lacking of a good quality choice of savoury dishes. I thought breakfast is out of line with the hospitality quality of this Hotel

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was modern and comfortable, but with dark colours wall which made the room quite dark. Had to get another lamp to see properly.

    Very good food and good service at the restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff a bit fussy and contradictory. Really not that helpful. Rooftop lounge pretty average. And how do get a bad coffee in Italy?

    We had a suite so lots of room. The washroom was good with an excellent shower. Location seemed OK but not sure what would be an ideal spot in Palermo.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was quite cordial and helpful, except for one employee (Dario) who was perhaps new to his position on the front desk and needs more training in hospitality. When we raised a concern about a small leak in the bathroom, he was extremely rude, disrespectful and arrogant in his handling of the report and its resolution. His behavior was completely out of character with the rest of the staff. My only other complaint is that the coffee in the restaurant comes from an instant coffee machine and was not good. Real coffee would be lovely, since everything else is first class!

    Excellent little hotel with a wonderful full spa on the ground floor. Terrific after a long flight! Wonderful attentive staff, except for one employee. We took two meals in the hotel dining room. Both were excellent and served with friendliness and hospitality. The breakfast buffet was beautifully presented and delicious. We stayed four nights.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for walking to all the city attractions. A nice stylish hotel with very friendly staff and a useful gym facility.

    Good range of breakfast dishes and a stunning rooftop view

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel was tucked away from the main tourist drag while still being reasonably close to the sights and also close to the esplanade. Roof top restaurant bar and restaurant was a bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, being moved to an inferior hotel

    Nothing they put us in a far inferior hotel as they couldn't accomodate us and were rude and unwilling to understand why we were unhappy

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was just under the breakfast room / roof top terrace bar so there was quite a lot of noise early in the morning late in the evening... Parking service is not really flexible

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was lovely, but the floor could have been cleaner! Hard wood floors, but weren't cleaned often enough. It was hot as it's July and dusty.

    Location is fantastic, lovely and quiet even though in the centre of the historic area. Staff were lovely and accommodating!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Spacious, comfortable and quiet room. Friendly and efficient staff. Excellent breakfast on the terrasse upstairs. Terrific location to walk to the shops, or the marina, or to catch the free tourist bus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lighting in rooms was poor - almost impossible to read in bed.

    Hotel is in an excellent position. Rooms were pleasant but very poorly lit. Staff were helpful. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with the hot water when we were there that meant that our morning showers were tepid/cold. That was disappointing, especially on the second morning when we'd already mentioned it the day before. I'd have given it 10/10 otherwise.

    Fantastic quiet location near sea and nice little park, lots of interesting stuff in immediate neighbourhood, easy walk to main Palermo attractions. Staff very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was dark, paint was peeling off the paintwork, strange wooden mat in shower. Water not hot in shower. Problems with wifi which staff was not competent to fix.

    Big bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fault to anyone, but there is an area a few blocks away that has homeless living on sidewalks, so I was reluctant to walk around at night. On the other hand, nearby buildings are undergoing remodeling to improve the area.

    Absolutely incredible food,service,and hospitality by Paolo in hotel restaurant in the evening. Loved the octopus and Cacio e Pepe as well as other delicious items. Luciano and Eleanora were fabulous chefs and friendly servers for the morning meals. All employees we encountered in hotel were fabulous.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    In-house restaurant not as good as expected. No housekeeping available after midday = late check-out only at 50% supplement.

    Friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent, with a variety of home made pastry every day. Spa is small, but nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged for use of spa (not treatments) just for using pool and they did not tell you is was extra €15 each

    Location was ok and hotel is quite nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly, helpful staff and comfortable, clean rooms. The location is excellent for getting around the sights but not busy or noisy. Breakfasts on the roof terrace were very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front entrance didn't look very appealing - but once inside all looked fine. Entrance is on a one Way alley street...

    Room and bathroom spacious and very nice.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is for a city hotel quiet, especially in Palermo. Many sights, restaurants are in walking distance. Breakfast on the 4th floor with a great view. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise outside was very loud when trying to sleep. Cars and building work.

    Great staff, really helpful and pleasant. Spa was great, massage too. Lovely breakfast and dinner also. Great large suite room. Thoroughly enjoyed our honeymoon stay!! Great location, easy to get into town. Bars and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Beautiful and modern designed Boutique Hotel in a townhouse close the old town of Palermo. Nice terrace for breakfast and cocktail. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. Personell is helpful and very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have been better - the coffee machine was not great. Also lots of tea infusions but no English Breakfast, Assam or Peppermint tea available. The air conditioning unit was so noisy we couldn't sleep with it on. Had to open windows which meant we were woken by building work outside.

    Reception staff were super helpful and efficient getting us details of a bus we needed to catch & organising the taxi company to find an item we left in the cab by accident.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More light in the bedrooms

    I enjoyed the terrace/restaurant offering an excellent evening meal and a wonderful breakfast. We booked a standard bedroom but we were upgraded to a suite which was spacious and quiet. I am highly recommending this hotel for its focused on quality and discreet service which we like

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I love Italy. I have seen a lot of the country and Palermo is the first city that I intensely disliked. Avoid Palermo if you can. It is dirty, chaotic, crowded. Very unlike the rest of Sicily. This hotel is probably a so-so choice in Palermo. It is a modern facilty with not much of a soul. The staff is cordial but you feel that they don't really love what they do, not like what we have experienced elsewhere in Sicily. If you arrive by car, there is no parking. They recommend to park on the main street which does not feel very safe. For beach towels, they ask for a deposit of 10 Euro per towel which did not make me feel like a valued guest.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had the junior suite. Room was large, comfortable, and quiet. Great breakfast on deck overlooking Palermo. Staff very friendly and helpful, spoke English. Location good for walking Palermo with may top restaurants near by. Good wi fi.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was very poor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities not very well maintained

    Spacious rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside room from street.

    Food at breakfast and being able to eat outside good. Bed very comfortable. Shower good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s missing a lounge room or a bar/restaurant open 24h/day for people that just want to hang out in the hotel during the day

    Thé SPA

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, sufficent breakfast, spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a four star hotel it had poor facilities no tea coffee making no iron and located in a back street

    Staff tried to help

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern hotel up to N. American standards, helpful staff, good restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk could have been more informative

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and location were excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no English channels on the tv

    We liked the polite cleaning ladies and the polite staff of the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - wifi reception was not existant in the room

    - rooms were really big - great located, near the old city - very clean

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Clean, friendly staff, fantastic breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wi-fi was off and on.

    Location close to bus station and other sights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC was set too low and it seemed impossible to adjust.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was an effortless stay. Staff friendly and competent, facilities modern and nothing missing. A great place very close to Palermo centre.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift! It bounced violently when it reached the destination floor.

    Room decor, hotel location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although warned by the previous reviewers, the traffic noise was intrusive.

    The restaurant was excellent in the quality of food and service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there was no complimentary tea or coffee in room.

    breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little to dislike

    Clean, modern hotel with lovely rooftop breakfast and night bar

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room for Single Use
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was extreamly helpful and eager to help solve any problem from needing an extra blanket to checking wifi and calling on lost luggage.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The dark colour of the rooms - a dull grey!

    Great location. Also, the staff were helpful and spoke good English.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were very happy overall. Although entry is off a very narrow street the upside is that the hotel is located on the edge of the old town and thus within walking distance of what we came to see.

    We had booked a good room but we're pleased to then be 'upgraded' so we had a junior suite with plenty of space, comfy bed lovely bathroom etc. The breakfast was excellent, every thing was fine.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wrote it all above- the good & not so good. Think if we returned to Palermo we might stay in a more central hotel, but we also feel that the hotel's location brought us to parts of Palermo that we might not have seen otherwise. The Kalso neighborhood is terrific & worth exploring.

    Excellent staff both at front desk & at breakfast room. They more than any other Aspect reflected the best that this hotel has to offer. And we greatly appreciated the availability of our room very early in the day, & the room upgrade, particularly because of the ridiculous price charged for the first night of our stay for a standard room. Think if we had seen the breakdown by night on your site - which was not shown ( not the hotel's fault), we would have decided against staying on principle because the price for the other nights much more accurately reflected the value for the price paid. When it was averaged over the length of the stay we felt it quite high for this hotel. And we prefer to book directly with the hotel but this was not an option. The suite, was first rate in all respects, except dim lighting. Good shower & bathroom. And breakfast fine, though the packaged oil & vinegar & Nestle products/jams rather than better quality Sicilian products seemed unnecessary & more about efficiency than one would expect at a 'boutique' hotel. The view from the breakfast room lovely & created a wonderful atmosphere, providing fine views & lots of light in the AM. We greatly enjoyed the neighborhoods abutting the hotel, but the area directly around the hotel did feel rather deserted at night, & thus a bit uncomfortable. And we are travelers used to going out at night. ThIs, of course, has nothing to do with the hotel. But for some travelers this might be a consideration.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no directions for the safe and the staff didn't know either - and the porter was short with me and not helpful.

    the breakfast view and food were wonderful as was the staff there.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Four of us dined in the restaurant and agreed it was the WORST meal we have had in Sicily (we have lived here 2 years and dine out often). The hotel room was very dark, the staff varied from friendly to uncooperative. The final bill had to be corrected, but not until an unpleasant argument ensued over the aggressive/excess charges.

    The small spa is lovely - a wonderful treat for a traveler or visitor to Palermo. We had a suite, and it was spacious and quiet (this was in December).

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The "Wellness" facilities (sauna, etc) were always occupied by other guests.

    Staff was nice. We had dinner there once and it was a good experience.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was always happy to answer my many many questions about getting around Palermo. The terrace breakfast was a daily changing festival of Sicilian dessert tortes along with meats, eggs, fruits. Had a great afternoon massage to relax and later drinks up on the terrace with Aurelio and Paolo to guide us through the dinner menu and Sicilian wines. A plus in our (spacious) room: pinkish ? backlighting behind wood on two opposite walls to ease you into dreamtime or wake up slowly.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No pool, or terrace to sit out on

    Excellent location close to harbour and old town. Breakfast and evening meals were both excellent. We got an upgrade to a suite which was very nice.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast Full of sweet pastries. If you diabetc overweight or similar problems. Hotel restaurant just regular for italian standards I aked to charge in room and waiter bring bill without price ,just description. Overpriced c.

    Big confiortable quiet rooms. Good wifi and small but enough gym. Helpful staff Excellent location close to attractions and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bar / lounge separate from the restaurant would be nice but that was not a major problem for us.

    Very nice hotel in Palermo. Located on the edge of the Historical Centre in the Port. Staff were very friendly. We enjoyed our meal in the Restaurant very much and the staff were a great assistance in chosing and explaining the different choices, my wife being vegetarian this was very helpful. The hotel is located in a narrow street so do not expect amazing views but this was not a problem at all because our room was very comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You can only connect one device to the free wifi service.

    I loved how clean and modern the whole hotel was. The room was big and comfy too! The breakfast was delicious and it was served in a lovely room on the top floor, I really liked the freshly squeezed "red orange" juice and the espresso machine.

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only downside is the breakfast. We got up a bit late one day and felt that there was not much food left. There was also no hot food.

    The hotel is conveniently located for city sightseeing. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and we had a surprise free room upgrade!

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing..

    The room was very comfortable, location is very good, 10 min walk away from the heart of the city, also close to the port You will love the breakfast..

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Solo traveller

    A hotel's primary function is to provide the guest with a sound night's sleep, and, in that, PF failed. The air conditioner hummed disturbingly loudly in one room, costing me half a night's sleep. The other room to which I was changed had seen better days; the learher counter top was ratty, worn; and the window's view was obstructed by an alley wall. The manager genuinely loves her job; she exudes that. The staff, however, are stiff, frosty, and don't really seem to know or love what they do. I wouldn't expect a dead-end on a routine transportation question; Tripadviisor was much more helpful. The point is, at a hotel like Porta Felice, you'd expect more knowledgeable staff. Further, I was uneasy with one staffer because on my last visit, she gave me a room with two twin beds conjoined by a pad (to make a queen), and when I notified her of the discomfort, she grudgingly changed the room. With the other front-desk woman, I had arranged a trip to Mondello beach the day of my check-out and was charged accordingly. When I asked her if it would be possible to shower in the spa's shower upon my return, she initially denied the request, saying you will have already checked out. Personally, I think that's unaccommodating, if not unreasonable. I doubt I will return.

    The manager was a nice woman and the staff, at least, goes through the motions.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel was slightly let down by the Air Conditioning system which was controlled by the front desk. Overall the room was too hot, especially at night, when it didn`t give you in-room control of the temperature.

    A superb hotel, very efficient and ideally situated to explore Palermo. Staff were exceptional in all respects. Roof - top restaurant was excellent for beakfast and for an evening drink/meal.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Never a 4 star hotel, dark room which smelt badly. Not exactly out the way but not the nicest part of Palermo. The breakfast is basically cakes or rubberised eggs. Restaurant starters good, mains terrible.

    The trattorias nearby are amazing.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spacious room in boutique hotel in a quiet street. Lovely stylish decor. Extra large bathroom with full size deep bath. Breakfast on 4th floor terrace. Walking distance to station, sights, bars and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ubicación, un poco alejada del centro, pero con transporte público a 100 mts.

    Habitaciones comodas y bin equipadas. Muy buen desayuno y conexión wi-fi

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi/Internet appalling unless in lobby or top floor breakfast or restaurant. After 3-4 days of complaining, hotel provided us with our own booster in our room. Worked well then.

    Very reasonable price-wise and near some excellent eating at Al Covo de'I Beati Paoli Ristorante Pizzeria at Piazza Marina 50, our best buffalo pizza in Italy. A great little gelati/bar for our daily fix of Aperol spritz and gelati was nearby at Non Solo Gelato on opposite side of square.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    We were two friends and therefore asked for two beds. We booked two beds on the site, we added a special note to please make sure that it was two beds, and we called and said two beds please. Even after all of these measures they gave us a room with only one bed and told us there were no more rooms with 2 beds and nothing they could do about it. They offered an additional room at a small discounted rate which I don't think was reasonable - they should have given us the other room for free for the night until they could have remedied it - since it was their mistake. Once we did finally move into another room, the free hotel wifi didn't reach and we had to go to the hallway or somewhere else in the hotel to use it. Other than that, the hotel was nice, the staff mostly pleasant (other than how they dealt with bed situation) and it was centrally located.

    The hotel was close to the water and felt pretty centrally located to many of the sights of the city.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi reception. Stuffy room.

    Proximity to city centre and sites. Local choice of restaurants. Breakfast and breakfast room. Helpful staff. Quiet room.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We decided to stay a few more nights in palermo and out of politeness suggested we could book directly through the front desk. The woman tried to convince us that the price in booking.com was somehow false, with a truly false smile on her face. So i just clicked my iPhone and saved myself 25 a night. She could have given it to us for the price and saved the hotel a few euros. Instead she put us in a smaller room. I hate being lied to. Beyond that a certain foul smell came out of the sink (in both rooms). The smell of... Let's just say... Septic tank?

    Clean tasteful hotel. Good location.

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Porta Felice & Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: