Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Porta Pia 3 stars

Via Messina 25, Nomentano, 00198 Rome, Italy

#375 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 312 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge to keep water cold, which in the climate was very important. No tea or coffee making facilities in the room. Hotel room safe was very small. Walls are thin so could occasionally hear other guests.

    The room was comfy if small. Bed was firm which lead to really good night sleep during our stay. Lift up to the hotel was cute and novel and a throw back to older generation lifts. Staff were very helpful on arrival and explained best way to get to the sights and offered to help with tickets for tours etc. There was three supermarkets very close by and a wonderful restaurant on the corner across the street.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was very small and only a trickle of water!

    The hotel was unique clean and comfortable. A short walk to the public bus to get to the city centre. Close to café and restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Large Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is close to the centre and the room was really comfortable. For this price, I think it's the best place that you can find in Rome. We really enjoyed it, also the staff was very friendly and helpful. Thanks for everything.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Small room Twin beds are not comfortable No refrigerator

    Nice staff Lot of restaurants in the near of hotel Great breakfast for the price U can reach everything by bus nr 62 City center and any other important points of the city are 1,5-2 km to walk

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very friendly personel. Happy to help you with any query. The hotel is very close to bus stop, which was very convenient. A beautiful neighbourhood, with a lot of restaurants around. The room was very clean and comfortable in all ways. I would highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hairdryer didn't work so well.

    The staff was very friendly and really informed about the touristic programs, ways to arrive to the sites, etc... Overall, they could really give us good recommendations. The streets around the hotel are very quiet at night, which helps to sleep better.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very small douche cabin. Lack of power sockets. One of receptionist had poor english and it took a while to explain him that we need a taxi to the airport at 3am with credit card payment method. Luckily another receptionist told us that it is all possible.

    Food market very close to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There are 2 garbage containers right in front of the hotel and one of them is used for glass. Every morning at cca 5AM the garbage truck arrived and made enormous amount of noise. It woke me up every night even with the windows closed. So we had to sleep with windows closed. This was a problem because our air conditioning was not working. The bathroom was not maintained for a very long time because there was water leaking when we flushed the toilet. The shower was in an even worse state with its wonky faucet, dismantled soap holder and broken doors (as shown at the attached photos). The wallpaper was damaged in several places. It's a pity that there was no refrigerator in the room.

    The location of the hotel is great because there are 3 shops within 1 minute walk distance where you can buy everything from deodorant to fresh bread. Also 2 good restaurants are in the same street as the hotel. On you way to the bus station (cca 2 minute walk) you can buy bus/subway tickets in a nearby papershop but you don't have to use public transport because after 30 minutes of walking you are at the city center. The hotel reception is open until 0:00 but if you are leaving at night, they will offer you keys from the main entrance. Our room was cleaned every day and we recieved clean towels every day.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room is not huge, however plenty for a couple. Standard for this part of Europe. Also no fridge, but hosts are happy to let you store a few things in their fridge

    Nice little hotel located in a quiet but pretty part of Rome with nice bars and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Large Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic and the bed uncomfortable. The breakfast did not have many options.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location was very good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible mattress, sleeping on metal springs. Wall paper peeling off walls in many places. Mould on some bathroom tiles. Worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

    Not much. Worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had no view and had no kettle (or complimentary coffee)

    Room had a fridge, shower was good, great neighborhood, small coffee shops and bars are near

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find on the street. It is on the 2nd floor in an apartment block and not much in the way of signage outside.

    Clean and good price. Not too far to main attractions - we walked to the pantheon no problem.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only problem was in the refurbished bathroom, that the position of the bidet was so close to the toilet, that it was almost impossible to use.

    The guys at the reception were very kind and helpful. Only 2 stops from Termini by bus 90, but even walking to the centre is ok. Nice restaurants and cafes in the neighbourhood, and shops too. Room was clean, refurbished bathroom. Would stay here again next time :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not find the mattress the most comfortable. The room was recently refurbished with a compact and bijou bathroom. Being British, tea, coffee and a kettle in the room would have been welcomed. The continental breakfast was ok, but would benefit from a selection of cereals, perhaps some yoghurts and fresh fruit. Overall, the accommodation was good for a budget hotel. It's a good 25minute walk from the main Termini, as long as you don't follow the suggested route on Google maps, it took an hour (with suit cases), but the staff gave a much shorter alternative!

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel accommodation very clean. We twice ate at the neighbouring Tribeca Café. Good food, lovely atmosphere and good value for money, especially the buffet and cocktail/mocktail for 10 euro's.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No way to prevent someone knocking for room clean up (although it was almost noon when it happened).

    Hotel is in a nice location, next to a market, a few supermarkets, and lots of restaurants around. Staff was very friendly, and gave direction to near by places.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The ceiling light in our room didn't work but did have bedside light and could get plenty light during the day from the big window.

    Great location, near by central Rome and Termini station. Elevator was a plus especially that the hotel was on the second floor. Fan and air conditioning helped immensely in the very hot weather. Info about local tours and helped me out printing documents. Very friendly and welcoming staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was kind of small, but was doing its job.

    The staff was amazingly friendly, the room was clean and the location absolutely beautiful. If we needed anything, the staff would help us immediately.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect and great location, bus stop only a few minutes walk, you can also choose to walk, there are nice cafes and markets around, it's a nice and safe location, I especially liked the hotel's typical Italian architecture and elevator ;) and very kind and nice people, especially Luca and Matteo, and all of them, thank you guys for all your help, kindness and friendship😚 Especially Luca's very detailed street by street directions and his sense of humor and his friendship are one of a kind :)) and Matteo, thank you for your great friendship and kindness, and making that great visit to Villa Borghese possible. Next time I'm in Rome, I'd love to stay here again. Luca and Matteo, take good care of you guys, and "ci vediamo dopo" :)) Love from Izmir, Turkey.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited facilities. Old hairdryer. The hotel was in the 2nd & 3rd floor in a building which was weird for us as a 1st impression but then it was ok and didn't matter.

    All the staff was very friendly specially "matteo" helped us. Very good location near to the bus stop and the center of the city. We checked in a room we didn't like was very old and had a broken shutter but we requested to change the room & they changed it immediately with no problems

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower is slightly small and the room could be a tad cleaner (such as *under* the beds). Check out should be 2pm and never before noon for obvious logistical reasons: people want to spend as much time in the city as possible and thus they would tend to book later flights. And early check out time may deter them from booking again at that place. The elevator is too small and the hotel is on the 2nd floor: could be troublesome if one has a large suitcase.

    The staff is super friendly and welcoming, the location is perfectly central and allows easy access if you want to explore the city. It is at the same time a very quiet spot where one can relax at night.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, lots of local restaurants in the area. Beautiful neighborhood, quiet and clean, great for a long walk, much better than in the touristic area. Very helpful staff with a good attitude. You can walk from the hotel to the historical center, much better than by bus, which arrives at a 30-40 min range.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms somewhat rundown. No fridge or ironing board

    Nice staff, beautiful old property. Very clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is good in the center but a little bit hard to find. Everything is fine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is small

    Excellent service very helpful staff... Very happy 😊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in the bathroom was really small,otherwise everything else was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it’s great value for money

    Great find not to far from the centre just a short bus journey, staff really helpful and made us feel welcome!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean Very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff were really nice. It was an excellent price, the room was small but very clean and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would like a fridge

    Helpful staff, a clean and not a run down hotel. Did not hear any of the other guests.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the reception was extremely nice n helpful giving us information n recommendations on visits n food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant location and very good staff who were hugely helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower could be better but is not bad

    Great staff very helpful, clean hotel, rooms and toilets, close to public transport

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You meet all the neighbours on the way to second floor.

    It was a central location but very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from city center

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Single room a bit small, but not a real problem at the end.

    Friendly personnel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge noise from breakfast area.

    Cleanliness, staff, IndustrialEat restaurant near by

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not looking like in picture

    Hotel staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is great! They are kind, friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Small bathroom.

    The staff is super friendly and welcoming, the location is near a bus stop. We felt safe in that location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stay here the second time and very glad with this.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice hotel, friendly staff and eager to help with tourist attractions and rides. Good feedback on how to get to the airport for travelers that are for the first time in Rome. A bit tricky to find the location but once you get to Porta Pia it's not that hard to find it. The room gets cleaned every day. I would stay here again the next time I am in Rome. There is a bus that covers most of the Tourist attractions of leave you in walking distance from the buss stop.

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At first we checked in a room with old furniture and non-functioning heating system. The staff tried hardly to fix it but he failed, so we were moved to another rennovated room, however it was very small

    Clean Near the center

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing was that bathroom could do with some refurbishment but it didn't bother us at all, we had loads of towels and we were very well looked after.

    Great stuff always for us in reception, extra high quality breakfast and coffee, worth every penny, spacious nicely decorated room with fool lenth mirror, hairdryer, iron, quite close to metro and bus stations ideal for walk. Nice and save neighbourhood with great restaurants around, supermarkets and shoe shops as well;)! Room cleaned daily, practical toiletries included. Great value for money, 100% happy.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Well the most disturbing thing was that I asked for one double bed when I arrived I found out that they just put two single beds together. Asked them to fix it, they said they would change the bed. In the end nothing changed they just put a single sheet over two beds so the whole time I ended up sleeping in the hole between the beds which was very disturbing. If I knew that it was going to be this way would have booked another hotel. Because I was traveling with a small baby, I needed one big bed for us and I specifically asked them for that.

    The good thing about this hotel is the staff. They are very friendly and smiling all the time ( which was so unusual for an italian service). And the cleaning ladies were nice as well. Since I was traveling with a small baby they were adapting their schedule so as not to bother us and to clean the room when we were out which I appreciated a lot.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    When we were booking we spacified no smoking room. But all the time it was a smell of cigarettes present. The owner even sometimes smoke in the hotel. They are not giving a good example.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    very clean, safe and quiet neighborhood, plenty of opportunities to eat around the hotel, near bus station and markets, only 10 minutes walk to metrou station, close enough to Rome center (30 minutes walk)

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Staff were great and helped us out with getting football tickets and finding the best way to get around the city as well as the best times to do things. The location is good to. Not too close to the center and not too far away. Great location for restaurants and cafes.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel doesnt have a name on the outside of the building so its difficult to find.

    Very good style in the room. Clean toilet and very kind people in the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The tear and wear is really quite big, but it doesn't irritate, except for the window that is not closing properly (we were in summer, but in winter it might be cold)

    The personnel was really nice, funny and helpful The place itself is in the apartment building with old elevator which is an interesting experience All rooms were clean and tidy It's walkable to all touristic places - 1 hour walk max Below there's a perfect place for breakfast - Materiaprima

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    At last, we had to be charged extra fee for 8€per night, I suppose that's Italian rule

    It's not far away from the Termini,everything is just fine

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    One of the shutters was a little damaged and let some light in in the morning.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and tidy room. Very Comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Internet

    Location Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A little bit noisy.

    The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Clean room. Good location. Great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, large room very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not very prominent

    Well maintained

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very Nice. We stay during one night et the localisation was perfect in Roma.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Absence of a mini fridge in the room. Old TV and a bit expensive.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Hotel Porta Pia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: