Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Porta Romana 3 stars

Via Enea Silvio Piccolomini 35, 53100 Siena, Italy

#22 of 51 hotels in Siena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1210 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn’t consistent in our room, breakfast was alright but options were very limited, room wasn’t really as pictured (more dated) but adequate

    Stunning views, friendly staff who kindly made reservations for us and provided useful tips, free parking at the doorstep of our room

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is a good place to stay. Well located. Stuff couldn't be more helpful. Rooms were clean and tidy. Beds comfortable. We didn't regret that booked it. Good breakfast and coffee. The view was magnificent. if I come back in this area again, I would definitely stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first room we were given was on the ground floor but the view over the valley was blocked by the cars parked right in front of our window and the furniture and lights were cheap and not nice at all. Not at all like the photos on their site. The bathroom was very small and had no window so the whole room became hot and humid. There was quite a lot of mould in the bathroom because of this and it was starting in the bedroom too. We changed our room after 2 nights (we were there for 4 in total) and got a smaller room on the 1st floor where we had a bit of a view and the bathroom had a window. The only problem was the toilet was so close to the shower cabinet that you had to sit sideways on the toilet as there was otherwise no room for your legs! The cleanliness could have been better but the rooms are nice (apart from Room T!)

    The view from the hotel is beautiful and it is not far from the attractions. It is an uphill walk though so if you are older or not so fit, you need to take the bus, but the stop is near the property and it runs regularly. The staff are very nice and helpful, they speak good English as well. The lady who does the breakfast in the morning is especially sweet. The free parking on the premises was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'shower' or should I say the cold trickle! The shower in room L is situated in the door way of a small room. One of the doors of the corner cubicle comes off if touched. The shower control also drops off when used. Mouldy and grubby in desperate need of refurbishment. No way that management were not aware how bad it was. We were also unfortunate with inconsiderate guests. After a 3 night stay couldn't wait to moved on to our next hotel.

    Lovely location and outlook away from the bustle of Sienna Breakfast was good although inconsistent fresh fruit salad on one day only. One cup of coffee only -charged extra if you'd like another cup.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Apartment came with a fully equipped kitchen however after making enquiries, we were informed that because we were upgraded, it would cost €20 to turn on the electric cooker (would be nice if they informed us before we bought €30 worth of groceries)

    Spacious apartment , large balcony overlooking the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels did not need to be cleaned each day. Better if they inform and clean them only if we put them on the floor. Instead it would be nice to be able to have another cup of coffee for free by breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was very small, just enough room to walk around the bed. It was also very noisy on the bottom floor. We were located on the bottom floor and the creaky front door to the building woke us many times both nights we were there. We made a mistake and didn't plug in 2 people for the room, while booking. The manager explained this at checkout. Our mistake, but we don't quite understand the additional fees that a room would require for a second guest.

    The hotel was in very close proximity to one of Siena's entrance gates. This was very convenient. However it was a steady incline, so if you are not physical fit to make a walk like that, we could see that it would be difficult for some. The views from the property were amazing!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold at times. Shutters didn't latch correctly and banged all night. Walls are thin. Heard neighbor coughing all night

    The location was great. Larissa, the receptionist, was extraordinary!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was basic. The so called bar meant asking for a bottle of wine or a can of beer which you could drink just off the foyer or take back to your room.

    Booked a superior double room to ensure I got a decent sized shower - was not disappointed. Got what was basically a suite with a large bathroom and a separate lounge. Each room had spectacular views of the Tuscan countryside which was the reason I booked at this location just outside the city wall. Easy 15 minute walk to the town centre or use the regular bus service virtually at the door.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was small- more B&B style than anything. The bathroom was split into 2 rooms- which I prefer; however the “shower room” was awkwardly small with a stand up shower installed with only 4-6 inches surrounding the outside the shower doors. It seemed like the whole room should have just been a shower with a drain in the floor.

    The location is really spot on, right down the street from the Rome gate to Siena. The parking was free and the view from outside was amazing!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is actually no WiFi in my room. I have to use my own Tim Card. When I told the receptionist about the issue, she seemed she could not believe my words, and said she would check it. But nothing changed.

    The view from the room is very nice, typical Tuscany.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - cold shower - check in and reception not 24 hours - ground floor room was noisy due to communal area and door slamming

    - excellent view - great location - nice breakfast - friendly staff - characterful property

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little cold at times but it was very cold when I first got there

    Friendly helpful staff. Nothing was a problem. When my window shutters were slamming all night it was immediately fixed the next morning

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit hard bed and phillows, and a bit noicy in the morning from other travellers departing.

    Good value for money. Good secure parking. Walking distance to the town center. Good information from the ladies at the front desk. Beautiful view in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating/cooling is controlled by the management. The room was much cooler than we would have liked.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. The view from the property is excellent, if only you are also lucky enough to have a room that overlooks that view (we unfortunately had a ground floor and somewhat dark room). Great location if you are arriving by car! 20 mins to the city center on foot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a long climb to the town center. But this is solved by taking the bus not far from the hotel. It would help if the receptionist infirm guests at check in

    Rooms facing outside have fantastic view of the Tuscany landscape especially at sunrise

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    could hear others coming or going during the night

    great location for entry to the city. Parking was easy, bed and pillow could be softer. you may hear some of you neighbors as walls seem thin

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should consider this place as basic room , there is nothing in the room , no tea kettle ,no plate , no tissue , very old tv just showing Italian Chanel , it could get very cold in September because they don’t open heater till end of autumn as they said , we feel very cold in room , no slipper no fridge

    Location is good just behind the city wall ,for people like us free parking and location were really good ,they got amazing view over Tuscany ,staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have better free WIFI, was reeaallyy slow.

    Perfect location when traveling with a car. Wonderful views from the property and if you are lucky enough from your room 😉

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room Size was ok but it was freezing cold during day and night. To turn on the heating was promised but never happend. The only offer was finally an additional blanket which barely helps at the low room temperature. In addition the room was right next to the entrance door and everytime someone came in the room door vibrated. Sleeping was only possible with earpax. At the breakfast buffet only a minimum of variety was available to even consider it as Breakfast.

    The Lady at the Reception in our Arrival day was Really nice and explained the was to all relevant sites including a map.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the view from the room was amazing, the separate seating area was a plus , lovely bathroom. Parking easy, friendly reception. Walking distance to all attractions

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not being able to spend more time there

    the veiw was spectacular from the car park and the town is only 500metres away.The recomended resturaunt was very good and with good atmosphre

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very helpful staff. Unfortunately the AC in the room wasn't working and it got pretty uncomfortable. If we were there more than one night I'm sure the staff would have done something but we had just the one night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower is out side of the toilet Shower door is broken Wi fi connection have a lot of interruptions King size Bed is separated

    Decoration Parking area Amazing view Lorenzo is amazing, give us very nice tips

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was not enough parking space. We were assigned a room which looks not as good as the one shown on Booking.com.

    The view from the breakfast room was fantastic. The hotel is within 5 minutes' walk from the old city.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and corridors are all tiled, therefore a little noisy, you can hear other residents using the bathroom facilities, did not spoil our stay.

    Nice breakfast area, pleasant helpful informative staff, safe and secure parking, easy walking distance to historic centre of Siena.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities need a bit of updating. We had several things that were broken or on their last leg and the ladies in the reception were rather helpless, so it was a bit frustrating. We had a room directly next to the reception with a lovely (public and well-frequented) sitting area directly in front of our ground floor window, which left us with little privacy and we had to keep the blinds shut whenever we were inside.

    The view was great and the location is quite good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower: low water pressure, terribly slow drain, and shower wall was half-broken.

    Easy access if traveling by car, just outside city walls of Siena. Friendly staff, nice views on the hillside. Good breakfast out in the garden.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was really small and bathroom requires some refreshment, especially shower cabin.

    Beautiful views. Breakfast served at sunny patio. After check-out we could leave car at hotel parking and visit Historic Centre of Siena - without extra charges :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have been a little better, and the Wi-Fi reception in the room was not very good.

    Easy to find, beautiful view and walking distance to historic centre. The room was large with a comfortable bed, and it was nice having breakfast outside at the garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The view from the first floor room south over countryside was lovely. A bedroom and a second room with a TV in each for those who need it. Air con was needed and worked well. Breakfast on the patio was very nice. All in all a good choice of hotel with proximity to walk into Siena.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for a weekend. The location is perfect, especially if you come by car. Short (and nice) walk to city centre (15 minutes). Very safe walk. Amazing views from the terrace, we spent an afternoon having a wine there which was absolutely perfect. Also a good spacious room, friendly hosts and a good breakfast with a nice coffee. Would recommend this place!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of ants in the room. Got served whole wheat biscuits for gluten free breakfast, be careful and read before eating.

    We got room T which was very private and nice. Fresh bathroom. Location was very good, 10-15 minute walk to the piaza. Got good restaurant recommendations from staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Was quite expensive costing 50% more than some 4 star hotels available on the same dates. The room we were allocated was extremely small and up 4 flights of stairs. So anybody who has claustrophobia or has an aversion to climbing stairs should avoid rooms P and Q at all costs.

    The property is set in a lovely location, was very clean , nice breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room​ did not have a wardrobe which I found annoying as it is a basic necessity. I know from other people who have stayed there that this is not true for all rooms

    Loved the location and the building itself. The staff were so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble for them

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not soundproof doors and windows - the neighbour guests woke us up really early when leaving. You can hear anything behind you room's doors. Overall the location is quite quiet though (no noise from the streets).

    Nice terrace to have a breakfast. Great view to surrounding landscapes. Walking distance to the city centre + convenient parking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The promised spa/jacuzzi wasn't working which was part of the reason we booked this property and they didn't seem interested in fixing this! Disappointed

    The view was very relaxing and the location was quiet but still walking distance to town

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The jacuzzi was not working for the 3 days I was there !!!!that was disappointing as it is one of the features of the hotel !but I loved being there so much .

    The quietness .the veiws .very good wine .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room in the morning got the sun and was so hot and bright since very early morning .

    Great location and friendly staff, the guy at reception recommended us places to go for drinks and food. Room was clean and practical.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    Fabulous hotel, 10 mins walk from the city itself. It's outside the walls of the city so the views are fabulous! Room was lovely and spacious, very clean and wifi was strong both inside and outside of the hotel. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendly and helpful staff with good restaurant recommendations. Large comfy rooms, great views from patio and really good breakfast on the garden patio.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location might be a bit challenging if you are a backpacker. And yet it is offset by pleasing Tuscan views, which made me choose this hotel.

    Best breakfast during my trip in Italy. Decent facilities and awesome views. Very kind staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast lady was very pleasant and cheerful. Hotel manager was helpful but unprofessional in not advising the slight damp problem and smell in our room. When we highlighted it he acknowledged it and gave a feeble excuse that there was a problem with the wall.. so why not fix it and at least offer a small compensation for the problem. Also during the night, a cat woke us up when he jumped on our bed! Yes we could have kept the window open but the smell would have been awful! Keep your windows closed here?.. never had this experience before. A shrug of the shoulders was the reaction to this one albeit a smiling one!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only sad thing is sound proof - every sound is just like echoing.

    If you want to have the best view - you need to stay here. Very nice place with great location if you travel by car. Also with a great parking. In the evening you can enjoy wine on the terrace - simply amasing view! Bathroom was pretty big and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was uncomfortable and it was a little bit of a drive to get food.

    The gentleman at the office was very well spoken, knowledgeable and willing to converse.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Where shall I start... Really don't understand all these great reviews about this hotel. At arrival there was just 1 little spot for our car; glad I rented a small car. The towels in the rooms don't dry you properly and afterwards you're covered with white residu on your body and in your hair. Toiletpaper is usually something I don't mind, but at Romana you will encounter the thinnest paper ever. Breakfast was a disaster! The couple of slices of bread were old, all cakes, sweets, etc, all old and really really bad supermarket crap. This was by far our worst breakfast ever on a holiday. Did not eat a thing. First thing they ask is your room-number, I still wonder why? Is it because that very ‘costly' breakfast could be eaten by outsiders? Wish it would :) Even worse was the number of slices of bread, cheese, ham etc. it was like 1 or 2 and when we first came in, there was no bread and cheese at all, why? Is it to keep those low costs even lower? Then there is no coffee or tea to get yourself. They don't come and ask and if they do, they bring it after you've finished your breakfast. When we were checking out, I wanted to pay cash, but there was no money, just a few cents. The only way to get it done was part cash, part credit card. Over all, not really a good experience there!

    When we arrived there was a young man at the reception who was very helpful. Gave us a map, pointed out some nice sightseeing locations and restaurants. Helped us with our luggage. Old city is not that far from the hotel and can be reached on foot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little smaller than I was expecting

    Very friendly staff..nice and clean..good continental breakfast..bathroom clean and modern.. good shower...close to lots of shops and eateries.. overall a great place to stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just ok for money. A fridge in the room (or at least shared) and a kettle would add last touches to the comfort!

    Excellent view over the valley, perfect location just outside old city walls - feels like you are at your own Tuscan villa. Room was very lovely and clean, too.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was new but small (not much room for luggage) and problem with the toilette (no room to sit)

    . Great location outside of the old city and lovely premises. Superb breakfast and service.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only serious deficiency was location - a long walk from the city and no bus service coming back in the evening

    Real coffee at breakfast (rare in Italian hotels which usually have undrinkable rubbish from nasty self service machines)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for the view on the valley and it was absolutely amazing. Thank you so much for this! The staff was great - very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was awesome - little bit of everything and very colourful. I highly recommend this accomodation. Centre is only 10-15 min walk away through Porta Romana. Siena is definitely a city worth exploring.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Beautiful panorama views of the valley, deers watching experience, just 10 mins walk to the histirical center. Parking on the hotels's gated property. Service, breakfast. Everything! Thank you so much for making our memory great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the building where the rooms were was a large door to open and seems everyone slammed it and made a loud noice

    Was a great friendly place you felt like you were in the country was beautiful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent! Price, service, location, delicious breakfast, quiet, and faces the fiels where you can apreciate the countryside and wild life. The other side faces the main street to Porta Romana. If you don't have too heavy luggage, a very enjoyable walk in the middle of the old town will lead you to the hotel. It's 1,5km, but bear in mind that when you leave the train station look for the shopping center and use the escalators inside to go uphill.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bathroom in our room was very bad. the shower was in a small room and toilet on another room .. besides that the room was cool and nice. its a shame the view of our room was to the reception and not the outside.

    Staff is very nice and welcoming Brekfest is lovlely. location is amazing!! to wake up in the morning and see the view was outstanding. good location walking distance from center

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit far from the city center (15 mints on foot) but it is worth staying there for the Tuscony scenery.

    The scenery is great. clean room. free parking. Nice breakfast. great staff. Very friendly cat.would be a good chice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative was that the WiFi signal was pretty weak.

    The hotel was outside the gates of the city of Siena, but only two blocks. That meant it was cheaper and very convenient. If we had a place in the city, we would have had to take a taxi or a bus to get our luggage to the hotel. The Hotel Porta Roma is easy to find and the gated free parking is a nice bonus. We had a two room suite for half what we payed for a standard room in an airport hotel in Newark, NJ! The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom modern. All was clean and freshened every day. The view of the valley from our room was quite pretty. The breakfast was served on an enclosed porch with a lovely view and was substantial. The staff was lovely to us and especially helpful, even calling for a restaurant reservation for us when we arrived relatively late on the first evening. Their restaurant suggestions were spot on. We ate at the Fori Porta, (just a block and a half away) on two nights, the food was so exceptional. The building is very picturesque once you are inside the gates. Beautifully renovated with extensive gardens. I would definitely recommend Hotel Porta Roma.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location. We could drive there with our rental car and parking was free and the location was still very close to the central old city where cars are not allowed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    15-20 mins walk to Siena nice panoramic view for Tuscan hills we paid for the 6€ breakfast and it was good we stayed here for 1N to see Siena and as a stopover to continue our Tuscan drive

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms variable - one was good; the other not so good; leaky shower, poor bed. Breakfast was below standard. Save yourself 6 euros and have breakfast at the deli 50 m down the road

    Great location, about 15 minutes walk from Campo(main square) God parking, for those with cars

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked a little more choice for breakfast

    Great location on the edge of town. My room had magnificent views over the countryside, yet only 15-20 minute walk to town centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We just stayed one night and had easy access to our car when we departed. Staff was very helpful - allowed us to check in early. Nice breakfast - eat in a patio area in the sun.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Setting is wonderful with a "nature preserve" all along the back. It was great to see deer each evening. Location on the edge of town is great to have quiet nights but be able to walk to some main attractions. Free parking was an added bonus!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The family run business was very very friendly The walks in the ground were fantastic & it seemed very cosy & very Italian. The room was clean & I felt of a good standard. If you want a really upmarket hotel this is not for you if you want to experience really Italian hospitality this is it

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WOW! What an amazing place to stay. The people were so great. Morning breakfast provided on a lovely outdoor patio. Beautiful views, quiet and great location to easily walk to the center of town. They were so helpful with area restaurants as well as activities. Thank you so much for a beautiful stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is not until 8 am so if you have to leave early for a tour you may miss it-selection at breakfast could be better- one day asked for tea and never got it. Beds as they seem to be in Italy are not very soft- quite hard but was way better than most I have slept on. Thought place had room safe in room but they do not- ask at reception though and they will put any valuables in their safe.

    What is not to like? This property is fantastic- wonderful views of Tuscan country side, only a 5 minute walk to the old city wall, and about 20 minutes to the main square which is fabulous; less than 5 minute walk to fantastic pizza place down the road and the pastry shop is also only a couple of minutes away! Yum! Free parking space if you need one, friendly staff. Husband is an early riser and we had some instant coffee with us so he was able to use the kettle in reception to have an early cup before breakfast! Also have a fabulous patio area with large umbrellas that you can sit on and enjoy the views and have a glass of wine or even eat your take out meal- which we did most nights! This is a great property for viewing Siena or as a base for day trips in Tuscany region. We initially had planned to rent a car but it fell through because the rental agency wanted to charge us exorbitant prices for 4 days. We ended up taking a couple of tours- walked into town and booked them there in order to see some of the fantastic hill towns like San Giminago, Montelcino, Pienza and wonderful wine tastings too. We hope to return to Siena and this property as it was so relaxing and so beautiful- you can not go wrong if you stay here!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All tile floors, so noisy guests are just that.

    The location was easy to find and a short walk from the centre of Siena. The view from the room across Tuscany was outstanding. The staff member on reception was brilliant!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small fridge in room would have been appreciated. Shower in Room R needs refurbishing and is not representative of room and hotel in general.

    Parking. Location, 15 mins gentle walk to the main square. Location, you're in a city but the hotel overlooks a valley. Location, you can be out of the city and on major roads in 10 mins. Staff, check-in took 5 to 10 minutes which covered the usual formalities AND marking a local map with suggested sites and recommended restaurants AND suggesting destinations to visit from Siena and when travelling to our next hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A shame there wasn't a fridge in the room, though the reception staff let us use their fridge when we asked.

    Lovely surroundings, with the garden areas and fantastic view over the Tuscan countryside. Comfortable rooms and excellent service from friendly helpful staff. Just beyond the old city walls so a 15 minute walk into the historic centre of Siena, with a frequent bus service if you don't fancy walking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location we used the hot tub each morning and it was heavenly. THank you Vincent for your help in arranging our tickets for the Palio it was an experience we will never forget.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is great, 10 min walk to historic center. Breakfast was really good and the ambient is just perfect. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, especially when you have a car. You are right outside the zone for limited traffic (and where tourists can't drive with their car), and only a short walk to the city centre. Free parking at the hotel which was great. We enjoyed the outside surroundings at the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from the very center of Siena is about 20 minutes regular walking, but if it s not very hot you can enjoy a nice view while going there. Although breakfast is consisted of about 15 different types of food and 2 types of juice, the quantity of each kind is small and refill doesn't happen very often.

    Very clean and spacious room.Very nice view from almost all rooms and very peaceful area outside the city walls. Very helpful and happy personnel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi was not very reliable in the room and sometimes I needed to go outside closer to the office but considering the great location and view this was not really a big problem.

    The hotel is just outside the city gates and almost as close as you can get to the old city with a car. On site parking was very convenient and they went out of their way to allow our son to park his car there for a small fee. Breakfast on the terrace was great. We attended iL Palio horse race and pageant and were lucky to find the comfortable hotel at relatively short notice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was a bit unreliable.

    Short walk to the historic centre. The breakfast was served on a very nice patio. Very quiet and enjoyable location without being too remote. Great view from the front lot.

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Porta Romana traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: