Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of SHG Hotel Portamaggiore 3 stars

Piazza Di Portamaggiore 25, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#702 of 970 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2071 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    7.1
    rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    needs some attention, bin in bathroom and loo brush both broken yet maid put back everyday, she should have reported and requested replacement or repair! tried to eat on terrace but terrible service staff seemed to have no idea waited 30mins for attention then almost an hour for meal which arrived wrong, waitress had no idea what vegetables were available and made no offer find out, also noticed 3 other tables got wrong order, staf were running around asking if it was your meal seems to be no table numbers and order relations. my own face cloth taken by maid and never returned yet kept separate from towels!!!

    rooms very clean,

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    3.8
    On our last morning we were woken just before 0800hrs by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On our last morning we were woken just before 0800hrs by work men working outside of our room. This is not acceptable. The hotel manager reprimanded the workmen however she should have advised them where guests were staying so as not to disturb them.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    7.1
    Location was ok for transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy area with ambulances buzzing past all the time and the rat race traffic hooting all the time. Our account was charged twice .Once in USD which we are waiting a credit for as we paid cash in AUS. dollars. Hotel said it is a merchant bank error

    Location was ok for transport. tram station across road from hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    5.8
    Rome Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked here as it provided full English breakfast. It did not. Smell from our bathroom. Drains/sewage smell. Staff unwelcoming. Barely acknowledged our existence. A smile is not difficult.

    Bed was super comfy. Slept well. Could walk to Colosseum.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    6.7
    Won't be back here
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff could have been nicer only a couple at reception were multilingual had no idea about their hotel had to wait for someone to find out if the air con worked in the room. Breakfast was mediocre and the restaurant was a fail.. staff couldn't tell you what was in the meal could not speak English the manager was a little better but still not much help... do not recommend stayimg here the only good thing was the veiw of the walls from your room if you booked a room with a view.

    The veiws from my room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.8
    Nice and characteristic at great location nearby center with very good tram connections
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sanitary a bit outdated. Rooms fairly noisy. At indoor breakfast buffet early for closure some products were "finished" without refill

    Breakfast at the outdoor terras was great. Location at Piazza Porta Maggiore very nice. Lots of tramlines stops to all places in the city center was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.2
    Good location, wonderful breakfast and extremely efficient and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room could have a fridge. And mosquitoes is a problem.

    the food and service were very good Especially Marco and Pablo at the front desk were extremely helpful and efficient. They helped with restaurant bookings and travel advise. Very professional. Please keep up the good work.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.1
    Good location in a beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room and bathroom was quite outdated and probably needs to be modernised.

    Breakfast served on the terrace every morning was nice and had plenty of choice. Good location as it is close to the train station, about 10-15 minute walk.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    6.7
    Okay for budget travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was squeaky.

    The property was okay but would only recommend it if one is looking for low budget option. The best highlight was their staff which were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    8.3
    The rooftop area is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very noisy and the AC didn’t seems to be working. I am a coffee lover but their coffee was not good. It tasted like instant coffee.

    The rooftop area is beautiful. We had breakfast there a couple times. The staff was very friendly and the room is clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel..... Only 1.5km walk to 2nd bus stop for Hop On Hop Off Bus!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was a little lagging in the room but still useable.... Just had to use the area downstairs for calling back home. All in all one of my favourites....

    LOVED our room.... Lucky enough to get a HUGE room with an awesome view from the fifth floor.... Massive king size bed which was very comfy... AMAZING shower and nice and hot after spending massive days out and about.... Definitely got our value for money with this motel... Staff very friendly and helpful. Will be back one day when we ever adventure again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    4.2
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the waiter that served us in the restaurant was extremely rude we was told we could not take our drinks into the restaurant that we had purchased from the hotel bar. there were no notice to indicate this fact and the meal was awful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.3
    A box of good and bad surprises
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit old. The rooms at the entrance have sofas and armchairs that are a little bit dirty and outdated, the reception bathrooms are very small and, in general, hotel's layout is a bit chaotic. The rooms are small, quite comfortable and so clean, useful if you go to the hotel to sleep. Don't ask for a double bed, they put individual beds. The outside noise is abundant, as there is a constant passage of cars and trams. The hotel's personal isn't 24 hours bilingual. Most of the time they only speak italian and with luck a little bit of english (I only found one man who spoke in Spanish and English). Beware of the hotel charges during checkin and checkout!!! They always ask you for the credit card but the same person does not alwayd attend you, so they don't explain themselves too well about this. I was charged on the first day the price of the hotel room and, on departure, again, the price of the room plus the tourist tax. That was 3 days ago, on September 28, and I'm stil waiting for more information (the man who managed my checkout only spoke in italian and I didn't understood most of his explanations) and the return of the first 541€ of supposed bail or security lock by the hotel.

    The breakfast was very good and tasty, well attended by many waiters. The terrace was so clean and nice, very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    2.5
    Rude , not friendly personnel, fire alarm in the evening
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personnel was rude, absolutely not friendly. There was a fire alarm in the late evening due to some problems in the kitchen. Nobody from hotel personnel assisted guests during the fire alarm. People left their rooms wet, some people had only towels. People on the reception told guests that next time we should call the reception by phone before leaving the rooms due to the fire alarm. (Because the problem in the kitchen was not dangerous) Poor breakfast, not comfartable location (far away from metro and major sightseeings) . The only advantsge of this hotel - it is easy to park a bus for large groups in front of the hotel. I do not recommend hotel portamaggiore.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    3.8
    Nothing exciting. Ok for somewhere to lay your head.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff explained ok arrival they only had to take my card for record they would not charge until morning. I asked because I wanted to pay with my travel money top up card without fees. As we check out in the morning a different member of staff explained that the bill was paid - so charged to my credit card. Very annoying. For the price I expected more TBH. The room we got was very small if I wasn’t staying for one night only I feel this would of been an issue. Toilet had a horrible smell from the drain and nearly fell off the toilet pan as it was faulty. Breakfast was very basic

    Had a old school Italian feel too it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, noisy from traffic at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room right on the road side, it was very noisy at night when trying to sleep. If possible request a room court side. The shower was very small, but all in working order.

    The staff were very helpful, the breakfast was great, the room was perfect with a big bed, all nice and clean with daily turn down service. Good location, only a few tram stops away from termini station or about 15/20 min walk. A few stops further on the tram and you’re right outside the colosseum. Tram station is literally outside the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.5
    The location is convenient if you are travelling from Rome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is convenient if you are travelling from Rome Termini, trams are available. The restaurant is good but inadequately staffed. Rooms are good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Softer beds - cheaper bar! It was a good 20 minute walk to the nearest metro (but we should have checked before deciding to book this hotel not their fault)

    Staff were very friendly and very helpful. The Breakfast was good and plenty of choice. We enjoyed sitting out at the roof bar. Rooms were perfectly adequate for the price we paid. Cleaned daily with fresh towels.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was good and the staff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was a bit far from the metro station and sightseeing places. It was right near a roundabout and there was too much noise from cars, ambulances and trams. The internet connection was not very good.

    The breakfast was good and the staff was nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Caters for coeliacs and is in a really good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon wasn't great. Room was still quite warm at night

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Very easy to get to the hotel and to the tourist attractions from the hotel. Provides a good range of gluten free food for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.9
    Staff were great and very helpful, location was close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get what you pay for and this property was great value for money

    Staff were great and very helpful, location was close to the metro and hop on and drop off points.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    Very good value, clean and comfortable, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was excellent. Small but cozy, very clean and comfortable. Beautiful roof lounge/ restaurant. The food was delicious, breakfast was grand. Transportation around the hotel very accessible. I would stay again, very good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    2.5
    Look elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared for slow and inadequate service. Be aware the reception staff giving out the wrong room key!! The location of this 'hotel' is very far from the train station. Don't be fooled by the pictures, this isn't a hotel and should be called low end hostel. The building is very old and the hygiene is disgraceful. Stained sofas in the waiting room and we had a broken bathroom tub and rusty taps. No hot food at breakfast.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    I like the location of the hotel. Breakfast didn't have many options for vegetarians.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First time the room was not good at all. The AC wasn't very poewerful. The beds were not comfortable.

    First time we did not get a good room. But when came back the second time on our way back, we got a great room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Good place in town, near metro and bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good place in town, near metro and bus stop. Really good breakfast and service on Hotel. Its almost in centrum and you can find minimarket right next to it. Free Wifi and we don't hear any sounds in our room, it was very quiet place.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel to be closed to the Termini train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms. They were clean but different than the USA standards.

    If you need to be closed to the Termini, this is a nice and inexpensive hotel to be. Of you are planning to do all tourist places in Rome center this hotel is 7 km away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    3.3
    The terrace and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 3 star hotel! The beds were pull up beds and very uncomfortable. Towels are so thin and dry that it is more like a exfoliation experience. The shower was in the middle of the bathroom and water was getting everywhere as doors of the cubicle didn't close properly, there is no antislipery floor mats and my son slipped twice. The room for 4 people was very small and extremely dusty. I asked the reception to have my room cleaned again. The staff is ok but not very friendly. The location at night is a bit scary. We didn't use the restaurant in the hotel but just around the corner was a lovely pizza place and worth the visit. The hotel charged us an extra €36 Euros for city taxes even though it said on my booking thay taxes were included. You can find better places in Rome for the price. Don't be fooled by their pictures ( like I was!). It is absolutely not worth the money!!

    The terrace and breakfast. Close to transport.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Hotel was lovely and clean
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot of trash about the place outside,only plug to charge the phone was either in the bathroom or you had to plug put the telly and the fridge

    Hotel was lovely and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Great value so let the price be your guide. Otherwise book 4 stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air con poor as hot days in summer! Reception computer seemd to be a problem and slow, not the staff fault. Furhter to walk from station that looks on map but not a big problem.

    Breakfast supplied was actually very good. Room Good value for money for a short stay. Location OK. 11am check out was helpful to us.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    3.8
    if you want to stay near the central station there are these nice suites, clean new value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the worst bed I ever slept, the pillows as well, strange structure we had to take an elevator and then cross a whole section and then take the stairs carrying suitcases. Very dark room towels were awful. I think for what we paid it wasn't what we got.

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    3.3
    SHG is a hotel or hostel?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    after just 2-3 minss check-in (room 400), i saw three cockroach on the ground and asked to reception change my room, she accepted it because of i took a photo of this animal and gave us another room which one 10 times worse than the worst hostel room, smelling bad, just bed inside, dirty room, not clean towels, not clean bathroom (room 504), i again called them and asked this room is not the same quality with the room which i was in with cockroach and they replied "nothing to do sir" and because of this room was really dirty, i asked them to clean the animal in another room and move back there, they accepted and we again moved back but the room was again same, nothing changed and they didnt clean it, we decided to stay there because it was better to stay with cockroachs inside of the room than the worst room in rome(room 504), and what happened in the end? we again faced with another cockroach in the room at the third day, OMG! and they were just "opppps, sorry" nothing more. In the end i paid for 3 nights a lot of money to sleep just with the fear of cockroachs and nice breakfast, thats all, shame on you..

    Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.8
    Not a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff unfriendly and had an invite to the renovation of rooftop opening but made us very unwelcome as tourists and gave us a makeshift table away from the buzz!! Needless to say we left.... very school group hotel ...poor facilities

    Not a lot

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    Love 💜 Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rubbish in the square opposite hotel and no care for the roses. Seen rats running around which frightened my sister

    Great value for money, very clean and tidy with helpful staff. All transport available on the doorstep, tram, taxi outside the door and metro just a 10 minute walk away. Loved the Piazza outside to sit, people watch and relax. However if the hotel cleaned the litter and watered the roses it would be even better. Also really useful having shop and restaurant next door. Definitely would stay again as loved the outdoor terrace to sit in the evening and enjoy a gin and tonic. Good breakfast too. Hi

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    The breakfast was super , very good and diverse , everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    All the pictures from the site are photoshopped , and the reality is far ,far from the pictures. The furniture was very old , the bathroom was not sow nice , all the batteries were working bad , in one of the rooms there was no shower , only a tube from the ceiling , only one electrical outlet in the room.

    The breakfast was super , very good and diverse , everything was very tasty , fresh juice , nice serving area . The room was big .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Good and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were not cleaned everyday. The bathroom door was also not shutting effortlessly. Bath room was a bit small.

    Liked breakfast. Didn't like the fact that rooms were not cleaned everyday.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    Reasonable choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - They called me the last day telling me I must check-out before 12:00 or I'll be charged late check-out fees! because check-out time is 11:00, while it was written clearly on booking.com that check-out time it 12:00!!! - Didn't notice the high tax (not included in the rate) but it was my mistake because it was written on booking.com I just didn't see it - the area around it very old and not so clean - metro station is a bit far by walking - Very bad smell from the bathroom

    - Good breakfast and was included in the rate - easy to find it - not far from the train station (20 minutes by walk) - can reach many famous places by bus (bus station is 10 minutes by walk) - Good price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is worth the money you spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of this hotel is a little far from the metro, about 7 minutes. So if you want to go to histories, you need to transfer at least once.

    The hotel is worth the money you spent. The breakfast is a little monotonous but delicious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Close metro and bus stations that connect you with all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close metro and bus stations that connect you with all points that you'll might be interested in. Bus and subway conection to Termini from 4:30 am. Incredibly great , friendly & helpful stuff!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Our room was lovely ( once we got the correct one).
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 1st night we had a terrible room. Not what we had booked. Some staff( dining areas) weren’t very friendly or helpful. Not many places to eat in the immediate area.

    Our room was lovely ( once we got the correct one). The Terrassa was lovely to sit out on. Close to lots of transport to get around.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    6.7
    The room was clean and beds were comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was old and taps were leaking. Our wash basin was blocked for two consecutive days and we had to follow up quite a few times to get it fixed.

    The room was clean and beds were comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.9
    Overall nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small showers were water ran out

    Price was reasonable and easy access to public transportation to get around Rome. The terraza/lounge was great to relax after a long day of sightseeing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Good bed and breakfast, very poor restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was very poor and overpriced. If I recall correctly, I paid 22€ for a few pieces of overcooked beef in mashed potatoes - no sauce or anything that your taste buds would enjoy. One or two of the waiters were also quite unpleasant. A little noisy during the night outside - it is Italy.

    The front desk staff was very helpful. The room was clean, there were enough pillows and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    I had 2 nights there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too far from Termini station, better to go by public transportation if you have some luggage.

    I had 2 nights there. Stuff was very helpful, breakfast was very good for 5 euros. Easy to find, there is a bus connection just near the Hotel, metro is 5-10 min by walking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is not the safest. Not much afound you.i wouldnt suggest you walk from termini to the hotel as you need to be carefull. Breakfast is not very good. Fridge is not very cold. The terrace restaurant should offer snacks during the day like burgers etc. The menu is small and the same throughout the day not much choice .

    The room is clean and nice and the bed is big and very comfortable. The pillows are also good. The bathroom is also nice and clean. Manzoni station is a close walk and you can reach piazza de spagna etc also the tram line outside the hotel takes you to colosseum so that's handy. Also the noisy road is no bother as u can hardly hear the traffic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money w/breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could be a bit abrupt at times especially when we requested another nights accomodation, but were overall quiet nice. There are two different breakfast rooms which we would not have noticed but by going next door one is better than the other which can be a bit annoying when you want to sit and people are fighting for a spot....

    Property was clean, good buffet breakfast every morning. We had a comfortable bed and spacious bathroom among Italy standards. The location is not as close to all the attractions as one would think, but are easily accessible by short trips on the tram across the street. Next door there are convenience stores, a pizza shop and a small Italian restaurant- the area has a very localised vibe which is nice& is not as busy when heading into the popular cites. (Not within walking distance) Staff aided in a quick and helpful check out, arranging the taxi for out next move. Wifi was pretty average for web browsing but not anything special.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    Housekeepers do not knock
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping is the worst. They open the door while we sleep at 8:15am without knocking. It is creepy. I took a shower and was undressed when he opened the door. We had to use Do Not Disturb sign every morning. Housekeepers did not clean our room only brought fresh towels, never left any shampoo or body wash (only when we checked in) and we had to purchase shampoo and soap at the supermarket. Shower is very small and had black mold, curtain doesnt cover anything and the water gets everywhere so we used at least 2 towels just to dry the floor. Room is very small as well and we ordered a room with king size bed but they used 2 twin beds together. Awfully loud noise everywhere starting 7:30am.

    Breakfast is good. Had watermelon and melon, hard boiled eggs, omelette, cheese, tomatoes, cereal and variety of coffee and tea.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in Roma!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are in a really good location, close to everything :) super tidy and clean! Restaurant and terrace bar on site! Plus the do the best breakfast ever!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable, good breackfast, location very good with regard access to public transport
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breackfast was very good, room very comfortable and location with regard access to public transport excellent and would certainly recommend to my friends

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast was really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More information on trams- large stop outside hotel and how to get to major sites.. we found it difficult getting around Rome. Our shower did not work for the first two days so had to have a bath! When it was fixed it still was not 100%.

    Breakfast was really good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    We liked everything about this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    We liked everything about this hotel. The tram stop outside takes you to Termini station from where the whole city plus both airports are accessible. The staff were professional and very friendly. The hotel has an open terrace where you can have a drink. There is also a very nice restaurant where you can have breakfast, you must book this at reception the night before. I think the restaurant could have a more varied menu, in the evening,which would attract more of the hotel guests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.3
    In general the hotel was adequate, final day spoilt the rest of the service with the towels supplied
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very basic, shower- poor water flow, towels given for last night were cloths had never been a towel. Front desk reply to our concerns poor.

    Good location for the terminus and walkable to transport.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel, helpful staff, amazing breakfasts,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower , sometimes there was not enough water but it does not metter, everything other was great . Thank u 🙏

    Very nice hotel, helpful staff, amazing breakfasts, comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is 7 minutes walk from the metro station and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - rooms are very small, though i booked triple room but the extra bed was added in the double bed size room - furniture was very old and in a bad shape - walls are not concrete and the noise was keep on disturbing the whole night - breakfast was limited and repetitive, further there was no room service. - lastly, no iron facility is available

    Hotel is 7 minutes walk from the metro station and the staff was also very supportive but there are few things which wasn’t worth the money i spent:

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location. As a solo traveller the location is extremely scary and made me feel very uncomfortable

    The staff were really friendly and the room was very tidy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Nice breakfast, good location public transport around the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice breakfast, good location public transport around the corner, kind of old fashioned but nice atmosphere at the hotel, some nice little restaurants down the street, approx. 20 minutes walk to train station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Everything the staff were fantastic the food was delicious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything the staff were fantastic the food was delicious in the rooftop restaurant and so reasonable and it was so easy to get to everything either by bus train or tram and it’s 5 mins away from Roma termini and 10 mins to the colosseum and roman forum. Room size was awesome and a balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is okay. Other food I cannot recommend. If you order a taxi - make the staff aware you wish a taxi not a driver. The prices are very different.

    Nice staff Clean Very central to tram

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    comfortable stay for a short duration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is located right near the tram station. If you are traveling from Roma Termini, a 10 min tram ride can directly take you to the hotel. The rooms are clean with proper air conditioning. The breakfast is not that good. The Juice and coffee were just okay. Overall a comfortable stay for a short duration.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Decor in common areas was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms were very outdated. Shower was so small it was difficult to enter. Toilet seat was broken and the hair dryer didnt work. Table lamp in the bedroom didn't work

    Decor in common areas was nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Not the best 3 stars hotel, but not the worst.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Delayed check-in because the room was not ready - which was upsetting in my case (I woke up at 2 AM on that day and I really needed to get some sleep). Rooms are not well soundproof protected. Breakfast can be improved.

    Clean rooms and large bathrooms. Location is fine enough, close to subway Manzoni (500 m) and nearby tram/bus stations. Breakfast very simple and basic but fine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent withall - would recomment Hotel Portamaggiore to anyone - families included
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bacon in pasta was indelibly gristly & tough :-( - previously pleasant staff not pleased that I pointed this out

    I had great trouble making phone connection to friends in Rome - reception staff were endlessly helpful; and helpful with directions. Bed etc so comfortable slept deeply despite traffic outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.3
    The footprints on the wall made you wonder if there was a crime committed by the last guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire experience was horrible. The room was awful, tiny and felt sketchy.

    Nothing. The hotel was awful. The location was horrible and didn’t feel safe, the photos on the website were deceiving. The mattress was just a bed on springs. I’ve never stayed at such a low quality hotel before and would never recommend it to anyone.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    Overall ok but would not return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfasts were poor and very disorganized. The bathroom was not great - in serious need of an up-grade.

    The bed was comfortable and it was easy to get to from the main railway station. The terrace bar was also nice for relaxing in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    If I decide to come again sure it will be there.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying extra for food at the restaurant. Ex:paying extra for side salad or chips not including in the price.

    The rooms very clean with great staff cleaners. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Perfect!
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect! We had great experience staying in this hotel. It was three of us, and we had real room for three, a lot of space for each of us. It is hard to find such a hotel room, since most triple rooms are acctually duble rooms with one more bed. Breakfast was great, stuff was great, location is great, near metro station, good restaurants and sypermarket. We really enjoy staying in this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    My experience of the HPM hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bath needs renovation. Orange tiles do not suit the classy style. Mable would have made to bathroom look better. Not many guest toilets downstairs near the corridors

    The location was good. We were near China Town of Italy. Restaurants were cheaper to eat in than Town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Optimum location. Nice Breakfast, but less than satisfactory room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Towels, Room decor and no charging point.

    Room was not up to the mark, with oldish decor. It was small for a triple room. Towels were wafer thin and there were no charging points in the room. Bathroom was Ok. Hotel Breakfast was the best part. Also the location was excellent and you could perhaps afford a taxi to all the major attractions and Roma Termini.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel ideal for commuting to Rome's attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rubbish around the streets immediately infront of the hotel, number of vagrants, two police raids during our short stay to catch illegal traders in the street.

    Friendly staff, clean hotel, clean rooms, plentiful breakfast lots of choice. Hotel on outskirts of the city but right by a hub for public transport to the city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice and clean hotel, I recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Little bit far from metro station. However it is very close to the tram lines which are usually crowded (I prefer metro lines) - Internet speed can be better.

    - Breakfast is very good with multi options and big seating area. - Hotel is very clean. Nice smell can be noticed the moment you open room’s door.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.0
    Friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from street, neighbours, water pipes. Shower old and with a defect so you drown the bathroom in water, very hard pillows. Air condition defect.

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    The location was relatively close to all touristy sites,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given had a strong smell and was not too spacious.

    The location was relatively close to all touristy sites, within feet of the tram and two blocks from the metro station. Rooms were spacious. Continental breakfast was good. The staff was helpful and accommodating when we needed to switch rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    First trip to Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Good value for money.

    Not far from Termini or nearest Metro station. Helpful staff. Clean rooms although could have done with air con on. Slept with window open but a fair bit of traffic during night. Easy walk to Collusseum.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Lovely staff. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only that the bath plug didn't work but when we informed staff they looked at it straight away but unfortunately couldn't be fixed till following day.

    Very clean. Great location. Service was excellent. Great choice for breakfast.staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Great location, clean comfortable rooms and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy from road traffic all night.

    The location was good and the hotel offered a great breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    It was fine, cost/ benefit ratio is ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or restaurant throughout the day. There was a rainy day when was not able to move out and can not eat or drink in hotel except the pre paid breakfast, only from 7pm opens the restaurant. No lounge or anything to pass the time, just sitting in the room.

    Room was clear and neat, but nothing fancy. Staff was nice. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse SHG Hotel Portamaggiore traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: