Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Porto Roca 4 stars

Via Corone 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy

#8 of 15 hotels in Monterosso al Mare

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 194 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Spectacular location and views. Great facility. Love it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked later pool or hot tub access in the evening. All of the staff needs to be as friendly and helpful as Luca - he was great!

    Spectacular location and views. Great facility. Love it!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Breathtaking views and wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not like the food at the restaurant for dinner. It was mediocre. It would not keep me from returning. I would just eat out instead.

    The staff was great. The location is breath-taking. The rooms are comfortable. The pool is beautiful. The transport is really convenient. Everyone is attentive. Breakfast buffet is great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    I felt like I had died & gone to heaven...except for the endless flights of stairs up to Corniglia!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu said Minestrone, but it was that other vegetable soup. :(

    Ruth at the front desk was exceptional...kind, professional & knowledgeable. I had asked every person I met when the Lemon Festival was (even the people in the lemon shops) & no one knew...but Ruth knew! The restaurant was run like a finely tuned orchestra...amazing! Desserts were a sight to behold! Breakfast was GRAND!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was Small, could have been little bigger. But if you are planning just to crash at night, room size won't be big issue.

    Location was perfect Staff was great and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    A magic holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing .could not fault a thing

    Everything was wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble for staff. Appreciated the shuttle taxi into town, the view magnificent, the room spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    This was a break that we had so looked forward to and it exceeded our expectations in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was all perfect!

    Outstanding service ! Delightful staff ... so polite, so gracious, so friendly. I'd definitely return. Wonderful views over the sea ... it was great to go to sleep to the sound of crashing waves. Heaven! Breakfast was always delicious ... lots of choice ... beautifully presented ... delicious and all topped off with delightful staff who could not have been more friendly. Gorgeous table linen was the cherry on top of the cake!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Not 4*, but great views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff members are so helpful and kind and others are properly rude. The decor and general feel of the the hotel needs a serious upgrade... The rooms and facility is not 4* by far.

    The location and views are phenomenal... And we had an amazing breakfast! Great variety!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.5
    Fabulous location and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Uncomfortable beds/pillows.

    Fabulous location and view. Nice patio, lounge chairs, pool, good bar--all taking advantage of the view. Very clean, modern bathrooms. Nice breakfast buffet in dining room over looking ocean. Located right at the start of trail to Vernazza. Close to train station, pier and picturesque town. A shuttle up & down steep hill to hotel site.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.5
    Very good! Hope we get to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved the view from our balcony of the bay. Beautiful and it added to our relaxation. The breakfast buffet was beautiful, extensive and very, very tasty! Also nice, even though the hotel is up on a hill, they offer a ride up or down the hill anytime. From the bottom of the hill, it is an easy walk to the train station or to the charming "old town."

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Very relaxing in beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is very dated.

    We liked the peace and quiet of the location, away from the hustle of tourists in town centre, and of course the view! The restaurant was an added bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel with stunning seaviews , cliff top garden and pool surround by terraced vines. Frie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was firm but they fixed that with an overlay on request.

    Location of the hotel is spectacular. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were on the 3rd floor and had a large private balcony. Compared to other hotels that we saw in Cinque Terre and their locations- we felt it was money well spent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    A peaceful spot with gorgeous views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A peaceful spot with gorgeous views. The pool and outdoor patios were nice features. Breakfast was very good. The staff was very helpful with organizing a couple shuttles and taxis for us. It is a wonderful choice for a stay in the Cinque terre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Simply fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricey, but worth it.

    This is a very special hotel. One of our favourites which we keep coming back to. Chill by the pool with a fabulous view and Aperol Spritz on tap or take a hike south across the Cinque Terre

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Good location i.e. Out the main town so during the day was relaxing & not full of people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was not free & was at a premium. The hotel itself was very expensive & therefore should have at least subsidised the parking. Random lights in the room (circuit board, another bright green light) made the room very light at night Maid service started very early around 8am which was loud

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Great stay with an awesome view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location - away from the masses of tourists but still close enough to enjoy Monterosso. Close enough to walk to the town and the train station to visit the other villages in Cinque Terre. Beautiful pool overlooking the ocean. Staff are very friendly and welcoming and always happy to help with booking tours or offering advice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely place...and a great traditional hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Mosquitos..especially by the pool. If there was a way to manage this issue in this area, that would be great as it made the pool a no go area which was a real pity. The beach is a pebel beach and not a sandy beach so neither were ideal really.

    The staff were fantastic..all of them..especially Simona in the restaurant, a real professional. The sunbeds were included as were the towels. The view from the balcony was worth the every cent. A boat hire from Oscar for 80€ for 2 hours was a lovely treat that reception arranged.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Don't miss a chance to stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location of the Porto Roca is hands down the best in Monterosso. Our room had a balcony that overlooked the water and rest of the town and was absolutely incredible. The entire staff is there for whatever you need and is extremely accommodating, warm and provided amazing service. The grounds are wonderful and between the infinity pool, the beautiful deck area and patio, you'll never run out of space to enjoy a bite and a beverage when you're done with exploring the towns. I will absolutely go back to the Porto Roca. A matter of fact, they were already booked for the time I wanted the following year!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Most spectacular hotel in the Cinque Terre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were OK with it - but be prepared for a steep walk up to the hotel from the town.

    The views from the balcony rooms, pool and restaurant were amazing. The staff at reception were very helpful and efficient. We liked the included taxi pickup from the station. The open terrace was a lovely location for meals. Plenty of nearby restaurants in Monterosso if you don't want to eat at the hotel. A very relaxing stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Best hotel on the Italian Riviera!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing!

    Amazing location and hotel. We saw all 5 villages and all agreed we would stay at hotel Porta Roca again. In fact one of our group already booked again for next year. Staff is friendly, very helpful and make you feel so pampered.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything about the hotel, but will add this for the sake of constructive criticism. Recommend that an upper level room be requested, otherwise view from terrace is of outdoor dining area, rather than vista of the bay. If driving to Monterosso Al Mar and following GPS, at top of hill several kms before the town, take the right-hand road, not left-hand road. Our GPS was confused and we ended up driving through restricted pedestrian area of town and being Easter, this was not a pleasant experience. People with limited mobility may find walk from hotel to town difficult.

    Loved this hotel. Very clean, comfortable room with terrace. Friendly helpful staff. Excellent wifi. Parking is at an open air parking site near the beach, approx 3 kms from hotel. Need to ring hotel and they send a taxi to collect you. Excellent breakfast with lots of variety and dishes were quickly replenished. Our room had a double shower with strong water pressure. Walking trail for 5 villages directly behind hotel. Not a cheap hotel, but being Easter, prices were at a premium. Plan to stay here again later in the year.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    6.7
    Not worth the money unless you pay for waterfront room at high price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    see above

    Although clean and the staff was hard working and friendly....Unless you book the pricey waterfront rooms it is sub par. Our "back" room faced a stone wall and with windows open kitchen noise was overwhelming. Plumbing is such that a flush or shower from above dropped by the bed head and was a sleep depriver......Rooms in the back are tiny. I"m used to European hotels but this was not worth the money paid. One bright note was the was the site itself.....beautiful! breakfast was plentiful also. wonder why we were charged what they asked when pool was drained? For the money, if you don't want to pay waterfront prices, you can find a much better accomodation in town......disappointed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    Stunning views from hotel in the Cinque Terre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room for the price. But you pay for the location and stunning views rather than the room.

    Stunning sea views from hotel terraces and restaurant. We upgraded to a cottage with private terrace and sea views. Good service in restaurant. Good variety and quality of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    Best hotel in cinque terre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    pool was closed off season, nothing was said about it during reservation.

    Dont expect vegas style hotels in cinque terre but this is the best hotel there. friendly staff, great view. highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Spectacular stay at Hotel Porta Roca
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is extremely friendly, informative and accommodating. The facilities are overall excellent. Food was superb and the breakfast buffet had a wide variety of selections. Location....well..it couldn't be more special in Cinque Terre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    10
    Ports Roca Rocks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The maitre'd had a wicked sense of humour as did Andrea the cheeky waiter in the hotel's excellent restaurant. All staff were beyond friendly. The location is hard to beat too. Rooms very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    7.5
    Enchanting stay in beautiful Monterosso
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All good. A bit old fashioned but personally I like that and it adds character I think.A steep walk up the hill from the village and beach wouldn't suit those with knee or walking problems or oldies when hot

    The atmosphere and position and the view and pool The staff were very helpful,attentive and friendly

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    9.6
    Spectacular views, beautiful setting, old world charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldn't stay longer.

    Location and views from this hotel are second to none. Beautiful grounds with lovely pool and a restaurant with a spectacular view and very good food. The staff are gracious and accomodating. Visited Venice, Florence, and The Cinque Terre on this trip and without doubt, the Hotel Porta Roca will hold our fondest memories.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    7.9
    The view from room which was a suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we booked faced a high grey wall so no view of anything but that whichvw my wife found immediately to be claustrophobic. We knew iour room would look at a wall but not one so close or large and dominating. We moved to the only seaviee room left which was a suite at nearly twice the price at 540 euros per night.

    The view from room which was a suite.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    9.6
    Idyllic location - perfect place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the hilly walk from and to the hotel from the village but I think the steep climb could be a bit much for some people.

    We could not fault the hotel. The view was amazing. The air conditioning was quiet. The bed was really comfortable. The room was spotless. The staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    8.8
    We stayed here because of the location and were not disappointed. We'll stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could've had a bit more variety considering what we were paying. Overall, food could've been a little better.

    View was amazing and facilities were perfect! Loved having a pool overlooking the sea. Beds were super comfy, shower was AMAZING, and rooms were spotless.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    The hotel had the most majestic views and the hotel staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a touch on the small side.

    The hotel had the most majestic views and the hotel staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    The view was breathtaking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was breathtaking!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Service and views were terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not great. Kept having to log back in every 30 minutes

    Service and views were terrific. Old school classic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room

    Views, service, location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Staff and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff and view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small

    Good location nice staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    It was a wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view was fabulous and the staff were wonderful and very helpful. The location is perfect for people who want to explore Cinque Terre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breath taking view. Breakfast was fabulous. Staff was friendly & helpful. Made our stay in Cinque Terra the best vacation ever!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Too costly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too costly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Pleasantly relaxing with friendly staff especially Ruth being accommodating and sharing her 5Terre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great breakfast. Friendly staff, great views from a perfect location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    Great views and a terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great views and a terrace

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.8
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    location, friendly staff,incredible views

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.1
    We thought the room was dated and uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small.

    We thought the room was dated and uncomfortable. The view is the best part of this property

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommend even with the steep walk up the hill. Stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard pillows.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Stunning views. Plenty of relaxation areas.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    super cleaning of the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    super cleaning of the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location and views

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    The pool was great & staff fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast toaster poor

    The pool was great & staff fantastic

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Cinque Terre
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved this Hotel and would return any day.

    It is the best Hotel in the village

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.2
    One of the best places I've ever stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room wasn't ready at the advertised time of 14:00 & the staff didn't offer any empathy that it wasn't

    The view was amazing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.2
    Great location, close to the town but far enough away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, close to the town but far enough away. Best view in Cinque Terre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.5
    Beds are ok and showers are good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is advertised to have a pool and hot tubs but it is all closed. The hotel is worn.

    Beds are ok and showers are good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    6.7
    5 star locatiob 2 star accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room with tiny bathroom. The owner was very rude to one of our friends.

    Great location and helpful front desk personal.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    7.9
    Great location and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and view...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    10
    Gorgeous views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What an incredible experience The views are breathtaking, truly left us speechless The staff is fantastic A jewel of Cinque Terre

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    10
    Location, view from the hotel, cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, view from the hotel, cleanliness

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    10
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect. 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.2
    Very good breakfast, pool with salt water, privat beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little expensive

    Very good breakfast, pool with salt water, privat beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    10
    That view ✔️
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this Hotel 👌 Would stay again in a heart beat ✔️

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    staff were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    staff were amazing! location was the best and was well worth the money!! would highly recommend!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    9.6
    LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They need to start breakfast earlier and replenish their food

    Location and pool amazing

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    9.6
    Sea View room with private terrace was simply amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms could stand a small update. But would not stop me from booking again.

    Sea View room with private terrace was simply amazing. The terrace was huge and very comfortable. The pool and pool bar are a huge benefit of the property.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.1
    Dinner at the restaurant was outstanding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Booking.com should mention on their site that the hotel provides taxi service to and from train station and parking lots in town to the hotel as you can't drive to hotel.

    Dinner at the restaurant was outstanding. Location was excellent. Sea views worth the extra price

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    10
    The location and view form this hotel is awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really. If you have to carry luggage to the hotel, it would be tough, but they offer a taxi to and from town or the train station, which we utilized to and from.

    The location and view form this hotel is awesome! That and just relaxing at the bar, outside with a cocktail and/or beer with nibbles is wonderful as well.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    8.3
    The surrounding of hotel and its structural set up like the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Trapped into booking a small suit room for two couples. This type of room not suitable for two couples but for small family.

    The surrounding of hotel and its structural set up like the swimming pools, resting area.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    8.3
    The staff was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very plainly decorated and quite small. Bedding was just ok. Some mood lighting would great in the bar area. Too bright.

    The staff was wonderful. Very attentive.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.6
    The view from our balcony was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning didn't work.

    The view from our balcony was amazing. The breakfast buffet provided a lot of choices. The free taxi service to and from the train station was helpful especially when we had lots of luggage.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    8.8
    The location was quiet and had beautiful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room location was at the back of the hotel down from the kitchen. We had no view and could not enjoy the fresh air due to kitchen smells (not bad...just the smell of cooking).

    The location was quiet and had beautiful views. They made good use of patio and pool areas for all guests. Also a nice place to begin the Cinque Terre hikes but also had trails to the north as an alternative.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    We wanted a relaxing 5 days after the craziness of a F1 race...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing we didn't like was the free beach chairs - as they are sit only & your can't lay down in them. I paid $10 Euro to get a lounge chair and it was fine.

    We wanted a relaxing 5 days after the craziness of a F1 race in Milan. Other reviewers didn't disappoint. We thought the location allowed privacy away from the tourist mobs in the towns. We sat on our balcony many nights & drank directly from our stocked wine fridge. We had room service dinner one night which was the same delicious menu from the restaurant. We enjoyed the pool, nestled between the sea & vineyards. We took advantage of the 1-day turnaround laundry service. We used the free hotel beach access, which was much more private than the public beach.

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    10
    The view from the hotel is spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really. We ate in the dining room for dinner one night and it was a bit expensive but that's all.

    The view from the hotel is spectacular. We had a sea view room and it was worth it.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.6
    Incredible, unbeatable outlook and position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Complimentary taxi ride provided by hotel from train station on arrival gives a disappointing first impression. Both taxis used by the hotel have drivers who are unfriendly and in an extreme hurry.

    Incredible, unbeatable outlook and position. Vintage sixties architecture and furnishings impeccably maintained. Breakfast, bar and restaurant very good. Impressive pool with relaxing surrounds and that awe inspiring view. We had a back room without a view but paid a reduced price. Front rooms have balconies and views. A wonderful experience for 4 days at the Cinque Terra.

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2015

    9.2
    location location location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Older people may find imthe hill up to the property difficult..free breakfast was average

    location location location!!!!! We were almost in tears with joy with the views. We had a superior double with no views and still loved it!! Such a clean & modern room. Great mini bar which is hard to come by..pool staff were great! The pool is the best infinity pool I have been in..honestly, you won't be disappointed...

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    9.2
    Convenience to the Cinque Terre hike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had paid for an ocean view room, which we did get but it was right about the hotel entrance so we could hear guests coming and going in the morning. Plus, the view was slightly obstructed by the roof of the hotel's entrance.

    Convenience to the Cinque Terre hike. Great pool. Fabulous views. Close to the main town, but away from the tourists. Clean room and bathroom with a shower with decent water pressure. Staff was friendly and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.6
    Loved the pool area and views on the hill.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was very average. All meals in the restaurant (dinner) was average. Service at breakfast was bad.

    Loved the pool area and views on the hill. Our room had nice balcony and great air conditioning as it was super hot. Lunch at pool was really nice - the best spaghetti bolognaise by bar at pool. Made friends with their cat @ lobby.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    7.1
    The location is excellent, stunning views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was of a very poor standard! It needs serious improvement...bread was awful, the fruit salad was terrible and very little choice all together! The food at the pool is also very average! The rooms are very small...tiny...two people can't fit around the bed but the balconies are very big...too big (!)...it should be the opposite really!

    The location is excellent, stunning views! The pool and its area is wonderful, gorgeous!

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    10
    After moving rooms after the first night this place is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    my only negative is we didn't have information about where to catch the free shuttle bus up upon arrival. But it was a stunning 32 degree day so we walked with 2 suitcases, and were greeted with a free water upon arrival. It's worthwhile checking before arrival, but the walk is doable if you forget...

    After moving rooms after the first night this place is heaven on earth. The hotel was wonderful, the walk up and down to the town easy, the pool and staff at the pool were wonderful. Food at the restaurant was good, reception staff especially the lady with short hair was wonderful and went out of her way to assist with the room change (sorry we did not catch her name, but thank you). All in all this place is A+++

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Porto Roca traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: