Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Portonuovo 4 stars

Lungomare Enrico Mattei Km 4, 71019 Vieste, Italy

#6 of 38 hotels in Vieste

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 106 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 13

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet connection was very poor. The bed was uncomfortably hard. The food was not very good, especially dinner, and the dining room closed early for Italian eating. Very few choices. The beach is too close to an island with birds, too many feathers on the shore. The worst part to me was the fact that in the morning when the cleaning crew arrived my hotel room door would be opened automatically while I was still sleeping in my bed, even with the "do not disturb" sign on the door. One day, I had to rise to close it three times. VERY annoying! This hotel has limited information on area activities, especially in English - it seems to cater to Germans.

    The property was quiet, alway from the chaos of Vieste, and very safe and secure. My room was very clean and I liked that TV was available in multiple languages. Staff was very polite and respectful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even when we put the do not disturb up the maid would still enter the rooms , everyday we put the sign up and we would come back with the room made , not the biggest deal but I've never seen that before

    Staff was wonderful , we had to leave at 430 am to catch our flights got in Rome and they opened the breakfast for us early (breakfast normally offered 745-915) very clean hotel and fabulously located . They offered free shuttles into town( only issue with this is they only gave you about an hour and a half so we opted to take the shuttle in and cab back to the hotel ) beach was wonderful , you had a private beach club so there was no hassle at the beach you had the same chairs and umbrella everyday :)! Also offered at the beach 10 euro per hour paddle boats that you could take across to the sea caves

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The swimming pool is closed in the middle of the day for 3 hours! That is unbelievable but it is true. First I thought it was for cleaning purposes but then I noticed that it was being cleaned in the morning when it was open and people were swimming in the pool. In addition, you are obliged to use swimming caps like on a municipal swimming pool in a big city. Other Italian hotels do not close the pool in the middle of the day and do not require caps so there is something peculiar about this hotel. Except for that, everything is fine so if the hotel changes those policies, it will get even better ratings.

    Great sea with excellent beach and crystal clear water make this hotel worth booking despite some drawbacks that could easily be eliminated but there is no will to do so.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    I would have liked tea/coffe making facilities in the bedroom but in common with most Italian hotels this is not done. Vieste is part of the Gargano peninsula, an area of outstanding beauty but difficult to negotiate for those of us who are a little challenged by heights and bends. Driving was a bit precarious if you are not used to the roads.

    Everything about the hotel was really great. But for me, the staff were the hotel's outstanding attribute. They were exceptional and provided a very efficient, professional sevice in the most friendly and courteous way. The dining room staff were particularly solicitous. The pool is magnificent, very large, spotlessly clean and laid out in lanes for the more serious swimmer. There is also a tennis court. The private beach across the road is stunning and the hotel provides beach towels, Sunbeds and a sunshade free of charge. The sea is warm and clean. Breakfast was included with crepes freshly made in front of you. We dined there several nights and the food was very good with pleanty of variety. Once a week they hold a themed night, a 'Cena Rusticana', an evening of food and entertainment around the pool. Really enjoyable and good value. The old town of Vieste is a maze of cobbled streets with restaurants tucked into cellars or providing oustanding views across the Aegean sea. Vieste, while popular with Italian tourists, is still relatively unfrequented by international travellers.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Very good breakfast, helpful staff, clean beach. Really excellent place for family with small children when you wont spend a holiday by the sea . The beach is safe for small children. Vieste is beautiful historical town. We was really satisfied.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No towels in apartments ( paid extra) In the middle of the week we have to change the bed sheets and pillow cases ourselves

    Nice beach & sea

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children playground

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was underwhelming and overpriced.

    Great little private beach with beach chairs and umbrella that is included. Nice pool facilities and wait staff is very polite.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Vieste is a delight, and the hotel is well situated on a beach outside it. The superb food of Puglia is found in the Vieste open market and makes self catering so easy. As is usual for Italian holiday accommodation designed for Italians, the kitchen is limited to gas burners - no microwave or oven and we brought our own coffee maker. And as usual the TV is tiny and mounted high. But in summer with the food so fresh and perfect, nothing else is needed. The beach is very safe and clean.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Direct avessi to the beach!Clean and quite.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Really comfortable service. Pool and beach facilities very nice for families.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    quiet place, very close to the sea, beautiful swimming pool, close to a small vibrant city of Vieste

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    maybe the apartment was a little bit old

    kindness of the staff

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 13

Browse Hotel Portonuovo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: