Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Purple

Via Nuovo Rione Capuccini 11, 80067 Sant'Agnello, Italy

#16 of 18 B&Bs and Inns in Sant'Agnello

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 626 B&B reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    Good budget accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool and intermittent wifi. Without it, it’s just expensive budget accommodation. Still, you book late and it’s close to regular transport.

    Cleaning staff were delightful. The room was light and airy and the bus was close by. Also great views and there is a lift to the beach at a nearby hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.8
    Nice area.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Forget about getting any rest here. Outside below the room’s window there was a machine (no idea what is was. A huge air extractor perhaps?) that made an extremely loud noise all day (and night) long. That meant we needed to sleep with the window closed (and broken air conditioning). Luckily it wasn’t terribly hot. But that wasn’t the reason why we didn’t get any sleep. Next to our room there was a shared bathroom (that we didn’t use because we had a private one in our room). You could hear everything that happened inside that bathroom. On top of that, the rooms doors make a lot of noise when opened or closed! I don’t know how many people were staying in the hostel when we were there, but based on how many times I heard those doors closing and opening (at night) I would say 1000.

    Nice area. Don’t miss the sunset! Credit card payment allowed. Breakfast included (not great though, avoid the coffee).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    3.8
    Good thing was only location, which was near Sorrento city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception working only during day period, if you have any problems in the evening - it is your problem. Whole building is really old, building interior is also really old, furniture seems to be so old and not comfortable to use (unless you like real vintage) and beds are also not really comfortable. Towels were not changed during all stay.

    Good thing was only location, which was near Sorrento city. Also beautiful panoramic view outside the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.8
    No Swimming Pool, poor staff, and dirty facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool! I addressed this to the staff and they shouted at each other for 15 minutes in Italian. They then ignored me, and didn't offer any alternative options. The showers were also dirty. Seems to be a relatively new business but with customer service and standards so low they don't deserve any custom

    Morning breakfast was decent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    I was there with my children and we were really satisfied.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathroom in room :) but it is nothing what they can change.

    I was there with my children and we were really satisfied. Our room was clean and nice, location was absolutely amazing very near of the nicest beach in the world and with perfect breakfast. We can only recommend it. Enjoy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    - the stuff was very kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can imagine improvement regarding providing touristic information, (e.g. bus schedules - not only approximate..-, maybe a map? ) and detailed advices on how to get around effectively (in the city and also in the building after it is closed for night)

    - the stuff was very kind - very good breakfast and with real coffee :) - beautiful and relaxing garden - clean rooms Thank you very much for the wonderful stay :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.6
    A lot of fun with good people
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly further from Sorrento Centre than we thought - took around 20 mins but beautiful walk. Perhaps, locating a shuttle bus nearby would be better for some guests.

    Friendly staff - comfortable large rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    Good Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound travels through rooms and can be quite noisy Shower could have done with a clean and was blocked Mini Fridge would have been useful

    Good Breakfast Good Air Conditioning Nice Location close to Beach and Restaurants

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    5.4
    Only redeeming feature was the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were never around to speak to, on one occasion we waited for them while they talked on the phone for so long that we gave up. The aircon in the room didnt really work so it was cooler but there was no way of controlling it anjd it wasnt cool enough for how hot it was outside. There are no cooking facilities but i asked if i could use some plates etc for making sandwiches and the staff kitchen was in a real state, it concerned me that my breakfast was being prepared in such an unclean kitchen. the decor is really dated and the bathrooms are really damp and smelly. Our room backed on to a shared bathroom so we could hear every ones business through the night, there wasnt much soundproofing at all.

    It was lovely to have a pool with sun loungers to relax in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Clean and good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a bit far from the centre, about 20 minutes walk.

    Clean and good facilities. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Shared bathroom but i never saw anyone else there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    5.0
    Good location, poor accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not meet expectation. No bar, no restaurant. Very average breakfast. Rooms were as small as a broom cupboard and the beds were incredibly uncomfortable. Our bed was missing some of the slats that hold it up so the mattress would fall through to the floor. Aircon was almost non existent.

    Location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing. The place needs a coat of paint, it's past it's best date.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Clean towels once in a while. Extra toilet paper left in bathroom. More information from front desk re local transportation and local activities.

    No air conditioning but very cool inside the building because the walls were so thick.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.4
    It was close to the water- on top of the cliffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The photo on the website looks much nicer than the rooms or the property does in real life. Also my room neither had seaview nor air conditioning which is what I booked.

    It was close to the water- on top of the cliffs. To get to the water one had to decent a large number of stairs and then there was a small inlet to swim in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location for a budget price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were a little hard to track down but not a major issue.

    Purple is great value for money. It is in an amazing location and our room had a great view. The shared bathroom was clean. The breakfast was good. The staff were very nice and helpful but not always available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Good value stay in Sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast the is worst one I have ever tasted. Who could be an americano in Italy is the worst one I ever tasted? Was really dissapointing, everything tasted dry apart from the croissants.

    The staff welcomed us really well and immediately provided some tips on the area (where to eat, beaches, walks etc). The rooms are ok but very basic. With a little upgrade in the rooms, it could be much better. They also kept the car for us during the stay which is a bonus in Sorrento as parking is very expensive elsewhere. All in all also close to the Sorrento Centre by walk (around 1.5km).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    The location of the property was in a great spot, it...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It just needed a freshen up, the bathroom smelt mouldy and the entrance to the hotel did not give of a very good first impression. The pool was above ground and looked like it would be better of not being there, unless they got a in ground pool.

    The location of the property was in a great spot, it overlooked the ocean and was in great walking distance to train station and main shops/restaurants. The staff were very helpful and the rooms were very clean and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    It was clean a little far out. Not a lot of information on public transport. Bed very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Triple Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast coffee was left from the day before and reheated. Worst coffee I've ever had

    With the exception of Mariana the rest of the staff where unapproachable and unhelpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    3.3
    Poor faculty and they lied
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They lied. They promised they would send someone to fixed the air con but ended up doing nothing. I asked again and they said the guy came to fix it. I knew it was incorrect because my laundry on the air con was untouched.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.1
    Very good breakfast and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s a very uncomfortable smell everywhere, old beds, and not renovated interiors, etc. Looks like it’s converted from a convent or hospice...

    Very good breakfast and nice staff. Amazing view.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Breakfast was adequate to the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was adequate to the price. A lot of dolci (croissant, tiramisu, different cakes), yoghurt, juices, coffe and cereals and white toast. The room was clean and spacious. Bathroom was not in the same room. We used the accommodation just for the night, since we were sightseeing all over the day. For this purpose, purple is a good address to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    7.9
    easy start hotel to begin adventure at sorrento coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    aircon is standing there but they said its not working. should wrote it on the description.

    its cheap. its strategic location to go everywhere near sorrento area. spacious room. its more like B&B rather than a hotel. its in an old building converted to some accommodation purposes. good wifi, proper breakfast, it has small swimming pool and sunbathing area. lovely green space outside the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    We’d love to go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with beach view. It was an amazing experience. There are many restaurants near the hotel. The place was calm and quiet, perfect for a holiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.1
    Pleasent stay. Quality refelcts on price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    B&B could do with a general tidy up. Photos on website are very decieving. Pool does not have ladders to get into it and it was very cold.

    Beds were very comfy. Staff were hppy to help. Breakfast was basic but tasty. Location was perfect for all locations. Does have a pool but in the shade and very cold

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Good option, nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are clean and big. We had private bathroom outside the room and it was also clean and nice. The receptionist was very friendly, she waited for us a while after possible check in. Breakfast is average. There is a nice sea view outside the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    4.6
    Clean but basic. Difficult to get into!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can't even reach the reception without a key and when we arrived there was no one there and no one to answer the phone. Luckily another guest let us in after about 30mins and a member of staff turned up 15mins later. We had to let other guests in the next day, who were stuck on the road in a similar situation. Don't expect the rooms to match the photos on this site - we booked a triple room, which actually had bunk beds! When the description states 3 single beds you don't expect them to comprise of bunk beds, unless specifically stated. The rooms were also ridiculously hot and stuffy, considering it wasn't particularly warm, I wouldn't want to stay here during the summer.

    Clean. Quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    4.2
    Shabby and smelly. Would not recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had booked a room with a sea view, however, we were given a room without one, which smelled like cigarettes and bleach. After we complained, we were given another room, which only smelled of cigarettes. The smell was overpowering. Despite the fact that we left the windows open for a long time, the smell was still there when we came back from dinner. The room was quite shabby and we didn't sleep well due to the smell. Since it was after 10 p.m., there was no one at the reception so we couldn't do anything about it. There was also no toilet paper. The shower was quite dirty. The whole place needs major works. I guess it's OK if you want to stay at a hostel, but not if you think you are paying for a hotel.

    Not much to like, the place is a bit of a dump. It looks really nice on the photos, but it is quite worn out and has a hostel feeling about it. We thought it would be an actual hotel, but that was not the case.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely room with sea view and own bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar. 20-25 minutes into sorrent but a nice walk.

    Lovely room with sea view and own bathroom. Helpful staff at reception. Lovely breakfast, friendly service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    At any time again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    -

    In a calm but still central location, amazing view, shops and public transport are nearby. Accommodation clean and quiet. The breakfast is abundant and fresh. The staff are friendly and helpfull.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    Hotel was beautiful old building very close to sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Ifyou travel in Jan just be aware you will need to go into town or to Sorrento to find food.

    Hotel was beautiful old building very close to sea. As it was out of season it was very quiet. Breakfast was good and staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was very clean, staff smiling all the time and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very clean, staff smiling all the time and being very helpful. We've traveled out off season and it was impressive that they have offered breakfast every morning and it had a variety of choices. It was a really lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.9
    The property is quite hidden as compare to what you see on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and communication

    The property is quite hidden as compare to what you see on line ,the staff didn't understand English much. But the service was not too bad. Breakfast is not up to standard at all as its always the same thing and it's not optional at all when it came to breakfast. But it was a good stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Easy to get to the place which is near to st.agnello stesen and good view with very nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff have to improve english so it can be easy for international guest and maybe can add microvawe and ketle so its conveniant to everybody esspecially family with baby and backpacked guest

    The room was so comfy and good view,good breakfast and good location.the staff also good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.5
    Interesting experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite uncomfortable. Since the walls are so thick it was hard to get internet in the room, so we had to go to the window to use our phones. The bathroom is a bit far from the room. Despite of the bed I think the rest were minor details. Ah! But don't expect that the pictures will be like the reality. It looks a lot more old, but functional.

    The receptionist was really really kind, this was a big plus for this place. She gave us a lot of useful information about places to eat and see. My girlfriend also asked if they had gluten free options for the breakfast and they managed to prepare some options exclusively for her. Overall our experience was very good and I think the fact that it was a monastery makes it even more interesting. The price was the lowest we could find in Sorrento, so at the end the value for money was quite good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice place for one or few nights as headquarter for tours in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place, 20 minutes walking to Sorrento centre, quiet neighborhood. Large room with large bathroom. Comfortable beds. From room view to Sorrento port. Adequate self-service breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.7
    Better pay extra some 15eur and get other hotel in sorrento
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater didnt work and blowed cold air only, there wasnt light in corridor- those were things I told to lady at desk after first night and she told that will be fixed but none of these things was fixed. Additionally there was only cold water in shower next morning. Parking near hotel for addinal cost. Hotel needs refurbishment because feels like pansionate for elder people

    Average hotel in quite area, good breakfast, free wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    4.6
    smelly drains. Bad service very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities poor. Service poor. Private functions being held with loud music till midnight and guests not informed couldn’t even get in through normal entrance!! Also pool and sun loungers were dismantled and taken away even though we were using them?

    Towels and sheets clean. Ideal location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    3.8
    Very disappointing. Stay away from this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too many stairs to climb with the luggage. No lift. No parking place. The bathroom is dirty and stinking. Noises from other rooms disturb the night sleep.

    Nice people. Very helpful and cooperative.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    5.4
    Hotel Purple
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was very basic, the first night we were there there was no cold water available in our room so the toilet would not fill or flush the only alternative they could provide was the public toilet at reception (Not clean and quite smelly) but eventually after complaining that this was not acceptable we were given a key to a shared bathroom closer to our room. There were no facilities in the room and there was a notice on the door saying if we brought food or drink into the room we would be fined €100. The property was more like a hostel than a hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful but the actual property although reasonably clean was not value for money, we paid the equivalent of what we had paid for a wonderful property in Florence in one of the main tourist Piazza. We would not recommend this hotel to anyone and would never return there - it almost ruined my time in Sorrento.

    Closeness to the sea

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    5.0
    Strong smell of humidity, place was just sticky feeling -...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strong smell of humidity, place was just sticky feeling - needing a proper cleaning to agree with the 3 star - pictures online VS reality not accurate!!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful stay, excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of ventilation in the bathroom, mattress and pillows could be better

    Stunning location by the sea in Sant'Agnello, great coffee at breakfast, good service, information and facilities provided upon request

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    6.7
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are a bit noisy as you can hear everything happening on the corridors

    Very hard to find the way to the rooms when the door front door is closed (late night) as we did not get any info upon check in so we spent like 10 minutes out there until we saw a sign on the door explaining where to go

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    Staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy due to opening and closing doors to other rooms (echo in the corridor)

    Staff was very helpful. Bathroom and bedroom was cleaned every day. Nice breakfast. Walking distance from Sorrento.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    The hotel was just what we needed. Nice enough room/bathroom with lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed how the breakfast worked in the mornings. We didn't see te breakfast being set up until the last morning.

    Sea view room with private bathroom was lovely. Had an amazing view out the bedroom and bathroom. The staff were nice, cleanliness seemed fine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Wonderfully relaxing and most enjoyable! I will return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like.

    I loved the location! It is beautifully situated within walking distance to restaurants and a 30 minute walk along tree lined streets into the beautiful city of Sorrento! The staff, Lea in particular, was warm and friendly! Will definitely come back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Very nice staff and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff and good breakfast. Close to nice restaurants and easy to walk to from Sant Agnello train station. Don't go to Sorrento from Naples, get off at the station before Sorrento.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    4.2
    Miserable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are awful and not as described. There was black mould in bathroom, the shower was cellotaped together, and the bathroom smelled of damp. There is no bar as advertised. The place feels and looks like a hostel, which is fine, but they hold themselves out as some kind of funky hotel.

    Good coffee, nice sea view. That's all I'm afraid.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    The unique place with a history and view to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in the same room for three nights and did not get the refill of bathroom goods. Also, the towels were not changed even though they were cleary dirty (mascara is a filthy thing sometimes...).

    We have a view to the sea and the city from our room, it was amazing. Also, there is a small beach near the hotel. And the hotel is in the old monastery - how cool is that? The breakfast place was great because we could have our meal in the garden.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Relaxed, simple hotel in a lovely town, 20 mins walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Relaxed, simple hotel in a lovely town, 20 mins walk from Sorrento. We were originally booked into a room with no view, but the staff quickly and happily moved us on request of a change. Rooms and hotel areas are very clean. There is a lovely garden and small pool area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    3.8
    -The breakfast which was included, was alright.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    -The check-in (Front gate was locked and there was no way to contact property without a phone. Fortunately I had purchased a calling card and I could call the property. Some travelers may not have this. We were given the keys and no information was given to us by the staff about anything) -The room (door frame was broken, we could barely close the door properly) -The bathroom was dingy and had terrible circulation so most of the time it was damp causing some mold to grow in some places. -Wore sandals in our room due to the dirty floors. -The listing had listed beach access, however this is a paid/private beach owned by a restaurant 5 minute walk away down the cliffs.

    -The breakfast which was included, was alright. -The vending machines on site were nice to be able to get drinks or snacks if needed. -There was parking available on site, however it filled up pretty quickly and cars could only park behind one another making it difficult if people wanted to leave. Fortunately, we had a scooter. -The WiFi was acceptable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.1
    A very good hotel. The sea view is one building away. The people at the reception are very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room's AC was not working that great. Perfect for people who want to be on their own. Definitely not for solo travellers.

    We liked the openness with which we were welcomed. They even accepted an early check in request. Low interference hotel Personnel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    6.7
    Good location, limited comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall infrastructure and installations did not provide a minimally comfortable stay - not up to the price charged to the room

    Location, friendliness of staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    6.7
    You get what you pay for, if you are a family on a budget, well worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were hard, the property location was 2k out of Sorrento but it is good if you want a quiet scene

    Very spacious rooms, bathroom was big and water worked well. Aircon worked well except one night when the power went out. There was a pool to cool off at after the beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    2.9
    Hostel rather then hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To start with, we asked for a double bed and we received 2 single matresses. They changed it after I told them, but a day later. The room was meant to have a TV, we've got one 5 days later. The towels were supposed to be changed free every 3 days. They didn't throughout our stay, luckily we had ours.. The door had a crack in the wall, when I said that to the receptionist, she told me a previous guest did it. The girl from the reception, the morning shift, acted like she really hated her job. By the way of barely talking to us to trying to sort our problems.. The AC was working but only for 5 minutes when they were opening it. To be honest, booking.com should send people to check the hotels they are hosting on their website. We saw couple of guys from Thompsons checking facilities in sorrento area..very disappointed all in one..next time I'm not booking again from here.

    The view from the main window from the hallway towards the sea, not from our room. Our room had a view towards a roof..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    A good base for the area if you plan to be out all day every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was no tea/coffee in the room , these are pictured on the website photos so that's not good. Also no glasses and a warning of a fine if any food found in room, harsh when nothing available at all after breakfast. Other facilities a bit lacking, no pool ladder for a few days and disappointing that no drinks available once breakfast is finished. To be brutally honest the garden area needs a clean up & weeding etc.

    The staff couldn't have been more helpful with requests and information and the place has a nice ambiance , if a bit quirky, probably to do with the buildings history

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Good budget hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I felt that the pop art décor did not sync with the historical ambience of this former convent building and would have been better presented in simpler, more neutral tones and artwork. Also, some of the storage areas and cleaning equipment were not properly hidden from guests' view, I saw a jumbled cupboard full of bits and pieces including a toilet seat.

    The room was clean, serviceable and well aspected, with a much appreciated air conditioner. The staff were lovely, knowledgeable and helpful. The location was close to local restaurants, one of which had a lift to the beach. The walk to Sorrento centre was around 20 minutes, and you could walk to the Transvesuviana rail station in around 15minutes

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    7.9
    Perfect for the young
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -- No AC, no beach, shared bathroom.

    Alternative for very luxury and expensive hotels in neighbourhood. ++ Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, tasty italian breakfast, nice staff, beautiful view through windows.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Room with a view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our air-con was not strong enough to cool the room. We were surprised to hear that the pool was not available as it was off season even though we stayed at purple at the start of July.

    The view from room 1 was beautiful. It also had a very nice big bathroom. Everything was also very clean! There is a vending machine in the lobby and it was well priced. It was a lovely 15-20 min walk into the centre of Sorrento. Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Bargain hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately the wifi failed the second night and as it was over the weekend it wasn't fixed before we left. There isn't a bus that goes to the property so if you are travelling on public transport it is a small walk from Sant'Agnello.

    The location is excellent! A pretty view of the sea from our room, a 10 minute walk into the lovely Sant'Agnello town centre and a 20 minute walk to Sorrento centre. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. We could leave our bags as we had a late flight, the breakfast was plenty with tea and coffee, fresh fruit from their garden and the usual continental fare. The room was small but sufficient for our needs - plenty of plug sockets, comfy beds and a nice shower! Nearby are lovely restaurants and an old Roman pathway down to the sea. For the money we paid, it exceeded my expectations! Considering the hotel bang next to this cost at least three times more, we couldn't believe our luck! It's very easy to get to Naples, Pompeii and Herculaneum from Sant'Agnello train station (as long as there isn't a strike that day!), and also a boat from Sorrento to Capri, Naples or Ischia. There are sightseeing tourbuses to explore the area a little more that I would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.7
    the hotel is good for teenagers but not for bussiness trips or tourist trips of couples
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    our room was very noisy (coming from inside and outside of the facility!), the breakfast was rather poor, the ambient and atmosphere are strange as the facility used to be a monastery school.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    5.4
    A Glorified Hostel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Advertised a pool but there was no pool. Wifi was down and had to buy cleaning supplies myself to clean the bathroom as it wasn't clean.

    Cheapish and view was nice

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    2.5
    Bates Motel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that they moved all of out things after one night in the room to another. And the courteous way they told us, with a paper note on the door. I am absolutely disgusted. So my wife went to our first room after coming in one night, and there was another couple in our room - after being told they moved us because there was only 2 of us and it's a mistake. No sign of all of our belongings. She was hysterical and it was a traumatic experience - no idea where our money, clothes, passports, jewellery was etc.. We ended up leaving the hotel early as when we went to our 2nd room and the key did not let us in - we had to sleep in the lobby sofa with no idea what had just happened. We both thought it was a bad dream. Absolutely unbelievable and so unhumane. I want to make a formal complaint and want some reimbursement for the trauma and absolute poor service. This just was not right. We actually left a night early and checked in to maison Kalea nearby through the sheer despair and paid for a night that we should already had a room for.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.3
    Hostel, not hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor, limited choice, no actual bread (only biscuits) and one croissant per person. No hot water for majority of my stay. WiFi extremely slow - but who needs it there anyway? Very expensive for what it was (2 nights for one person - 90 euros)

    The staff were extremely helpful, brilliant location, en suite bathroom with power shower.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    2.5
    do not stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    this is a very rundown hostel not a hotel. we had no heat in our room (stayed in march) and no toilet seat. staff was not very helpful. they promised to reimburse us but didn't.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    5.0
    Run down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are terribly uncomfortable, you can feel each mattress spring; my husbands mattress was thicker than mine; the whole bed was wobbly and not at all good. The room has very old furniture with questionable cleanliness. Breakfast room looks much less attractive than on the photos and food isn't re-stocked after it runs out so there's a pretty good chance you will not get much to eat. General feeling of the place is very run down.

    There was plenty of parking and they didn't charge us for it. There are vending machines within the hotel which come in handy. Some rooms have great seaview but unfortunately ours didn't.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    Friendly staff, beautiful view and large room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could do with modernising and removing old shelves but they were clean with plenty of hot water

    Friendly staff, beautiful view and large room with comfortable bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    8.3
    The beach is wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There isn't common kitchen and if you bring some food to your room, you have to pay 100 €. It take 20 min to walk to city - for us it wasn't problem.

    The beach is wonderful. The view to the city by nearby sightseeing place is really beutiful and romantic especially at evening. I liked the breakfast, it was variable enough.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    4.6
    Old building that needs rennovation, ok for a short cheap stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dirty bathrooms and rusty soap-dishes there, squeaky old matrasses on beds

    Nice location and view from the room. Low price and good breakfast, helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    4.6
    okish stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    this is not a hotel so please do not advertise it as such, youth hostel is a better description, breakfast: too little + no real bread.

    room was not small

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water and coffee in the breakfast room was not hot on any day. Breakfast was ordinary.

    Location was good and quiet.Good restaurants close.Staff very helpfull with all bookings. Everything went well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.8
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in Purple for five nights, room was tidied up every day, but sheets were not changed over this period

    Very helpful staff, great location. Our room was upgraded to ensuite for no extra cost 😀

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.8
    Huge room, with a lovely view (room 10)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit of a trek to Sorrento, along the small roads, and felt a little out of the loop. Breakfast was basic - croissants, cereal and diluted juices..

    Huge room, with a lovely view (room 10) Very basic though, but you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    6.3
    There was no electricity, wifi, hot water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no electricity, wifi, hot water. The staff had no proper information on the public transport to and from Sorrento or on the taxi prices.The breakfast was very poor, the cheapest from everything.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.1
    Lack of wifi was a huge downside, otherwise good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room with External Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in the room or "in all areas" as stated in the ad. The wifi in the common areas hardly worked and when it did, it was slow. Also it is quite a walk (15mins) from the train station when carrying huge bags.

    Breakfast paid for in price (limited selection), courtyard to sit and relax in, right on the cliff beside the sea when you walk 10m outside.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Everything was pleasant, the staff was very friendly and the room met my expectations.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress too soft and the pillows too hard.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    Good location just out of Sorrento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location just out of Sorrento. Sea view was nice. Property was quiet and staff very helpful and accommodating

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Purple traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: