Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Potenza 3 stars

Piazza Garibaldi 120, Central Station, 80142 Naples, Italy

#111 of 158 hotels in Naples

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 416 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Despite several urgencies the minibar / fridge didn´t work properly. Staff was correct, but not overwhelming. Safe was closed.

    Room was newly renovated. For that category the breakfast really was great, including yoghurt, cornetti, piccolini and expresso. Very friendly staff at breakfast and the room service. Large room and bathroom. WIFI very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We are maltese and we take tea for breakfast. The first day, we were given 2 teabags english tea and been told that they were the last. The second day we asked for another 2 tea but we were given one :( :( Our last breakfast we asked again for tea but they told us that they only have green tea that we dont like. We were very disappointed cos they know that we were taking english tea so they should bought at least a packet of english tea.

    Friendly staff and very helpfull

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was very basic: dry bread in small plastic bags, jam in small plastic jars and some warmed biscuits.

    The hotel has good connectivity because it is next to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast very poor. No fridge in the room - we booked two bigger rooms with fridge but got the smaller rooms without fridge. Hotel didn`t give us another rooms and didn`t bringe the fridge into the room.

    Location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sewage smell when the toilet was left open but I think that’s a problem in major Italian cities because it happened in Rome too.

    Nice, clean large room right on the Main Street 2 mins walk from Naples train station. Many restaurants and cafes next to it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet may have been "available in all areas" but in the rooms we found it was almost non-existent - even in the little "terrace and couch" area at the top of the stairs the internet was intermittent. Eventually logged onto the restaurant Wi-Fi and it was better on the last night of our stay. Breakfast was only breadrolls, cereals and yoghurt, plus coffee. Bed was metal springs (like spare sofa bed) and pillows so uncomfortable.

    Brilliant location to train station and for walking generally around Naples. The restaurant attached to the hotel served really good soup, some other meals not of the same standard we had enjoyed in Amalfi (obviously separate to the hotel accommodation).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WIFI reception was inconsistent. Breakfast could have been more varied.

    The location of the Hotel was excellent. Cleanliness of Hotel. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - check-in needed to hold my passport whilst they processed it (it was going to take time to process, so it was made obvious for us to go to our room and come back for them later) - no water one evening and next morning. When we checked in the morning (around 830, they had only 'just' reset the water (whatever that means). no apologies - on checkout, they tried to charge me for the full amount, when on check-in they charged me 1/3 of the stay 'per hotel policy'. Thankfully I had kept my cc receipt to prove that I had been charged. - room was only refreshed on the second day (we were there 3 days) - wifi was ok-ish when you were able to hook onto it, in specific areas of the room - poor in other areas of the room - no tea/coffee making facilities in room - keys are required to be left with reception when leaving the hotel for the day, which gave the opportunity for us to be given the wrong key on check-in, and when we opened the room door realising the room had already been given to somebody else

    - Location ok - Room size ok - Beds were ok - Close to metro and mainline train station - Was able to leave our luggage at the hotel on the last day (but the room used for this is not locked, and it is a 'self-service' approach - in other words, anybody could go into the room (it's right by the entrance to the hotel) and take their pick of luggage)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator was difficult, when I arrived gentleman had to leave front desk to help me with my luggage.

    Everything was fine, it was clean and people pleasant especially in the breakfast room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is pretty basic. No elevator (not a problem for me but it is for some).

    Location was good for my needs, reasonably sized room by European measures. Good 3 pieces washroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast spread was one of the worst Ive seen compared to other three star hotels ive been to. The only thing I liked was the freshly baked warm mini croissants. The bed was squeaky, room furniture and bathroom fixtures are noticeably old. the bedsheets are not changed everyday. Airconditioning doesnt seem to work. Wifi also gets disconnected always.

    The hotel is very accessible from the train station. There is a restaurant next door with which the hotel gave me 10percent off of the bill. The room is absolutely bigger than typical hotels in italy. 2 out of three receptionists were nice and accommodating - The graveyard receptionist seemed a bit cranky.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Expected a balcony, but really did not need it with the heat and the noice from the piazza

    Fun location being right on Piazza Garibaldi. Easy access to metro and trains.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air-con was a blessing given the outside temperature in July. At the booking stage we had the option for a quiet room. It was quiet thanks to the sound proofing. During our 3 nights stay, the room was cleaned, towels were changed, soap/toilet paper replenished every day. The breakfast included fruit juice, cereal, yogurt, ham, cheese, bread rolls and croissants, tea, coffee - providing all the energy needed to go off sightseeing for the day. The hotel has an arrangement offering 10% discount with the IRIS restaurant next door that do excellent pizzas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walls were a bit thin, so could hear people's footsteps and conversations as they came past the room

    Nice room, comfortable bed, clean, staff very friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfest was very poor

    Good value for money, metro station is just next to hotel. Very friendly staff, answers to all the questions about places to visit and how to get around.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Air conditioner filters need to be cleaned, I felt like sneezing every time I turned it on - Breakfast not very diverse (only some croissants, cheese, ham, cereal and different bread spreads) - The two types of juice (orange and red orange) at breakfast are basically colored water, they don't have any taste

    - Location is right next to the central train station, in the newly renovated part of Piazza Garibaldi. Good for catching trains to different places around Napoli like Sorrento, Pompei, Salerno and very convenient for the Airport bus (Alibus). - Bed was confortable, quiet and clean room, staff was helpfull - Very good WiFi - Fresh espresso and croissants at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the guys running the hotel were a little more welcoming. It's not a big deal but it would have been nice. Maybe it's just Naples.

    This hotel was close to the train station. The area around this hotel seemed safe. The location was really good. This hotel was the perfect place to come back to every night. A few blocks away looked a little rough but I didn't have a problem.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Cleanliness (refer to pictures) - lots of flies in the toilet and room. On towels, on wall, wherever you turn you can see it. Even got lavare crawling along the tiles on the toliet floor. It was like a school science trip for me to study the life cycle of the fly.

    1. The location - near to the main station

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was just ok.

    Perfect location, you dont even has to cross a street from central station and the bus from the airport stops in the same square. The room and the hotel has a cozy feeling. My room had a big enough bathroom and while it was not a mansion it had room to walk. The shower was warm and the towel always clean. Nice and helpfull staff, one of them knowing it was my first time gave me the highlights places and how to go. Great city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Filthy room, doubt it has ever been cleaned since built. Old and needs modernising. Strange smell in room, dodgy electrics. Breakfast poor, staff not very helpful.

    Location good for using the trains / circumvesuviana

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was unhelpful and passports were kept for entire stay but in full view. We had to ask for extra sheets and make up the 'put me up bed'. Breakfast was awful, nothing was chilled, tables not set, you had to ask the man for every spoon, fork, plate and coffee. He stood behind a 'bar' on his phone, I know b/f was included but it more effort should have been made to keep food fresh.

    Great location, central for train and Metro. Wifi was good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    small room (single), poor breakfast

    excellent location - 3 min. walk from Napoli main train station, airport bus stops just across the square, very helpful and pleasant staff, very clean in general

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is at train station area. Soroundings near hotel were messy. As hotel is on walking street cannot get there by car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast sketchy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I love Napoli

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor breakfast

    Location of hotel: closed to main Railway station Daily cleanining

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is renovated with its own charm. The hot croissants with coffee for breakfast were so tasty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is central, very close to Naples Central Station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horario checkout. Wifi debil

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is basic and dated

    The staff are very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast

    Nice and quiet room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioner did not work and bed was rock hard. We had a king bed and my feet went over the end!

    Close to airport and train terminal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    b/fast was poor (did not see water - just fruit drink & coffee)

    bed ok bathroom large room very big

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location is convenient.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Large room with a balcony and close to public transport

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    aircon not working, room beside breakfast room, staff should wear soft shoes all in all not bad for the price

    the location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Near train safe walk around easy and have restaurant .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast,

    Its location was good just a few steps from train station and Garibaldi metro station. Its a good place for a short stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, the room, everything

    Nothing. It's just awful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Ham is always dry

    A bit of an effort with the breakfast

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lean breakfast.

    Clean bath. Everything worked. Good hot shower and fluffy bath towels. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The area near the train station is a bit dodgy, nothing too dangerous or scary though. Just a bunch of black guys selling fake stuff - watches, purses, bags, umbrellas, shades, etc. If your room overlooks the square, you might find it a bit loud.

    Bed was OK, large room, good-sized TV, not a bad bathroom. Cleanliness was not an issue. Helpful and polite staff. Good location - right next to Garibaldi central station, centro storico is within a 15-minute walk away and so are pretty much all other attractions. Many restaurants nearby. Breakfast was quite all right for that kind of reasonably priced hotel.

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No way of regulating the heating system, it was definitely too warm in the room. Then the room are not really noise proof since we could hear the doors clapping, the people talking loudly in the corridor etc...

    I really appreciated the location of the hotel, and the cheap price of the room.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast menu choice limited and not of the quality or presentation previously experienced here on 2 previous stays since Xmas 2008.

    Close to Naples train station and newly completed shopping precinct in Piazza Garibaldi just in front of this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No mini bar as stated. But gave us free wifi instead. But 97c. So hot. Little shop outside sold cold water at 50 cents. So ok

    On check in. Outstanding service. Full of info and very friendly. Gave lots of advice. (Bald man ).other man very unfriendly and just grunted

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    L'albergo è più moderno di quelli che sembra: porte con apertura elettrica, bottone "non disturbare" e così via. Ottimo buffet colazione, ricco e di buona qualità. E infine la località è ottima, vicino al centro, ma non NEL centro, perfetto!

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When we asked for assistance for our faulty air con we were told someone would come up in five minutes, after 30 minutes we asked again but still no one appeared. The advertised breakfast was basically non existent, the bed wasn't great, plus the wifi wasn't working. Fortunately we were only there as we had an early flight.

    Location was vey convenient to central station and City

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet didn t work on my room, I asked twice but there were not able to help me. The radiator didn t work as a heating

    People staff helpful and handsome.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent position near metro & main station with good food onsite

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bathroom was not so clean, I found some cigarette ashes on the floor.

    Close to the central train station

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hard to find parking, but staff helped find nearest cheap garage.

    Good location. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Excellent staff !

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Really nice location and room!

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    need to wait a while for breakfast bread.

    great location to train st. and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi didn't reach my room No lift.

    Staff were friendly and helped me find a pharmacy for my sick mother. Comfortable room!

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse Hotel Potenza traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: