Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Principe Torlonia 4 stars

Via Carlo Fea 5, Nomentano, 00161 Rome, Italy

#337 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 466 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Would certainly stay again, next time in Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been a bit better, but coffee was fantastic.

    The room was comfortable with great bed linens and staff were extremely helpful. If you want a quiet hotel just outside of the city centre, it's a great choice with the Metro 5 minutes walk away and 10 minutes to central Rome. 10 euros in a cab will get you to a choice of great restaurants... try Mama Angela's, it's superb and great value.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.3
    First impressions good but actually isn’t good at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in a basement room which on first appearances was lovely. We quickly realised a few problems for example the shower drain was blocked and didn’t drain and the bathroom was in need of repair, silly things like mirror was broke.. we also noticed that our room had previously had some sort of leak/damp issue as you could see the water marks and peeling paint on the walls and ceiling. We didn’t think much more of this until the next morning until the smell of damp was pretty strong, even the bed felt damp along with clothes etc. This was mentioned to the reception who did not seem interested and we was met with a response of “sorry about that”. Not exactly the answer you want when you are about to pay out a lot of money for the service! Overall the hotel initially seems lovely but it seems they have tried to cover the faults with paint and quick fixes instead of fixing the initial problems.

    Pretty building, nice area

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.1
    Good place at the right price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was not working and when I asked for clarification it was told me that the problem was with Apple products. The service person during breakfast was not a master of kindness.

    Hotel is nice and renovated. Nice room and nice location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    The room had an cute and spacious terrace and was...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had an cute and spacious terrace and was comfortable and big enough for three people. Clean and very various breakfast. I really enjoyed stayed here. Also close to the metro and it has a parking as well

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    It met our needs because we needed an hotel near embassies, but is overpriced.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are a bit old. Our room had a television standing over a drawer located right in front of the bed, and there were some cable tied together with tape coming up straight from a weird and badly cut hole in the wooden floor. The garden rooftop was in total disarray. Entering the hotel with a stroller is a bit hard, we had to lift it all the time cause there aren't other more comfortable entrances. The air conditioner flow hits straightly the bed, some people might not like it.

    The position is very nice if you have any business regarding the embassies that surround the hotel area. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Principe Torlonia is an extremely hospitable boutique hotel, but not central to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some rooms are not so well lit so request light and bright if that is what you want.

    The staff at the front desk were very polite and hospitable and helpful with all requests including for taxis etc. The gentleman who runs the breakfast room was very cheerful and a real character. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    3.8
    Unexpected negative occurrences in a very nice old typical...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unexpected negative occurrences in a very nice old typical Italian villa!!! Τhe triple economy room we had booked, had no window!!! Or rather to be exact there was a window that when you opened it you saw a wall, something that does not appear in any photo in the booking!!! He mentioned a single bed but instead he had a divan something like a cot bed!!! The room was at the (-1) basement where the mold smelled and the fungus was evident on the ceiling of the room!!! We asked for an upgrade, we paid the difference on the spot and after we had returned from our walk, they informed us that there is no room available at all!!! Because of our tiredness we decide to stay. While the area is very quiet the noise of an electric machine make us upset early in the morning!!! When we asked for yogurt and orange juice at breakfast they have answered that it was over!!! This happens Sunday 9:30 in the morning!!! We decided to leave one day earlier than our schedule was and compelled us to pay in full!!! Unprofessional behavior of the staff, while the manager only communicated with text messages and did not appear at the hotel, while we called her continuously!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location with close proximity to city centre if you use...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Refused to take payment so that you had to ask about 3-4 times (usually, payment is taken on arrival). Could have said right from the beginning that the payment shall be made upon departure and that would be no ask, but constant refuses seemed suspicious Room itself was quite small (€112 p/n) so bear in mind when book “standard” but overall - decent in all respects Poor sound isolation so that you can literally hear your neighbours Breakfast was good on day 1 but you can only have one coffee each (versus unlimited tea...) and no variety throughout the stay. If you are lucky enough to wake up early and have breakfast at 7:00-7:30, that’s your best bet, otherwise - no top up will probably be offerred The most polite and smiley staff were the cleaners so thank you :) but the rest of the hotel’s staff were quite reserved and have never been asked if everything is ok or nobody did check how was our stay on departure. Similarly, when I finally had a chance to pay, it looked like I had to apologise I am paying :) maybe next time I won’t be insisting on being a proper hotel guest? The bartender who was serving breakfast was not attentive enough even when we were the only ones having brekfast and kept chatting to the receptionist one morning so we had to come and ask for a hot drink ourselves. In general, it looked like Italian speaking guests recieved greater attention...

    Good location with close proximity to city centre if you use tube (2 stops to Termini/4 to Colesseo) Nice garden where you can sit outside and enjoy a drink Relatively secure parking (gates close at nigth & 24h Reception) but you have to pay €15 p/n for this and also reception keeps the keys all the time Pets stay free :) Nice lounge and nice atmosphere in general

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.0
    Below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clearly lacking proper maintenance and all the facilities looked “tired”. When we were using the iron the electrical relay was cutting power to the flat. Rooms were not cleaned until 17:00 hours in some occasions

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel. Good value for money. Will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room was a little dark as it was on the ground floor. The water tab made some noise when turning the water on, but not big deal.

    We stayed there 4 nights. The location is very nice. Close to public transportation and to Villa Torlonia garden. Nice family type hotel with personality. Beautiful garden and very friendly receptionists. Room was also nice and spacious. The room was cleaned daily.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable hotel with basic necessities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of my room was not great. Breakfast very simple and no variety but sufficient if you are not fussy and not staying too long.

    It was clean and comfortable. Location of room was next to bar so was a bit noisy sometimes. Staff was polite and if you just looking for a comfortable place to rest after touring Rome then this is perfect!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Very very happy. Excellent...I will be back again 100% !
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As I said, the lack of a Restaurant in the Hotel. But not a big deal. There are different Options around and the reception staff has great tips about it.

    Very very good staying. Great Attention to Details by the Hotel management and staff. Elegant room and fast Wi-Fi. I really liked the inner garden, where I could work in peace and quiet. Being in Italy (and I am from there) I could not have had any doubt about the Quality of breakfast, but the variety of the food was worth of a Standing Ovation ! The only downside is there is no Restaurant (however the reception gave me excellent tips on where to eat outside). Highly professional staff and excellent care of the customers in this Hotel. I will be back for sure !

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    2.9
    LOCATION.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    LOCATION. This property is WAY too far from central Rome for the price. If you plan to do things in central Rome and see all of the main tourist attractions, STAY AWAY FROM THIS PROPERTY. The taxi's you will take into town and back + to the airport will amount to MUCH more than just spending a little more to stay in the city. The free breakfast in the morning is NOT worth it. They served cold burned scrambled eggs... Room was extremely small and dated. NOT WORTH IT.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Everything was just fantastic!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The beds were not that comfortable as I was thinking.

    The building was just fantastic. Like an old typical Italian villa with magnificent trees in the back yard. So close to the Bologna Metro station (line B). There is a supermarket (Carrefour) 24h open, which is really convenient. The staff was really helpful. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. My overall score is just excellent!!! :)))) The best stay ever!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    6.3
    it was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Grampy man on my last day, when we wanted to have cappuccino, he made us understand that we kind of bothering him, Then i point him out , that we actulally paid the money for the service here, few hours later he appologised and took of the coffe off the bill. So forgiven :) Personally i would improve the breakfast , it was a bit poor.

    it was fine. On arrival , the One of the Staff member was super friendly he helped me with all my needs, and listen carefully my wishes about the room. So i had to check 2 rooms before i liked one. Some of them do not have a deck to work. But he made it sure i have everything. ( Contrary to the other member, see in negative points) The room with the Balcony was nice. Generally quite place, good if you a light sleeper.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.3
    Hotel facilities are very nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi wasn't working at the time of my stay. The hotel doesn't offer dinner.

    Hotel facilities are very nice. Beautiful garden. Very comfortable room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Delightful Boutique hotel with great customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was a little further out of the centre of Rome than we had expected.

    When we arrived we had a seamless check in with detail provided about the services offered. We decided to have a drink at the bar and were offered free of charge a smorgasbord of appetizers. They were excellent! Service from the staff was both responsive and most helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    The hotel and decoration villa style, the rooms with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast in such a beautiful hotel could be alot better with minimum additional effort. The street in front had garbage, and the metro station mas a bit far away.

    The hotel and decoration villa style, the rooms with terraces and comfortable beds, everything very well kept, the gardens and outdoor lounge areas, having a relaxing and quiet place to return to at the end of the day far away from the city center and tourist areas.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.9
    A nice hotel which was excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast could have varied a little more but was perfectly ok. The bedroom was a good size but very hot even in February with the heating turned off. They do not allow the air conditioning to operate out of the summer months.

    Good location for the Bologna Metro - only three short stops to Roma Termini. We booked an economy room and found it to be good value for money and a good size. Nice large bed and good shower. Friendly staff. Lovely building.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    3.3
    Unreasonable expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They try to charge me more for parking but there is enough space to park outside the hotel. I was agreed for a special price about parking when I have arrived they tried to change the charge. The breakfast is very poor and some foods was freeze. The breakfast's space was very small and cold. Reservation staff isn't so polite.

    Good location to park your car around The hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    7.1
    The property was exceptionally clean, in beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so threadbare we slept on springs. There were few guests at the hotel but when we complained about the bed we were told there were no beds available. We suspect financial problems. If a hotel cannot afford to replace beds it must be almost bankrupt. We took the sheets off and the bed was ancient and dirty. The manager was not very nice.

    The property was exceptionally clean, in beautiful grounds. The hotel is located in a nice suburb with a supermarket close by, a laundry 10 minutes away, and close to a post office, banks and metro straight to Termini and the Colosseum. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    10
    Superb hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit too hot, couldn't turn the heater down.

    This is my second stay here and I absolutely loved it. It's a converted Roman Villa with lots of characters, great facilities and lovely staffs. And the price is simply unbelievable. Absolute gem!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.6
    great stay, away from the the crowd place but easy bus access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights

    basement room nice but ac shutdwon for the season and room was warm, open windows fixed the problem

    great stay, away from the the crowd place but easy bus access

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    5.0
    I came here more than 5 times.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came here more than 5 times. I was awarded with a room with an embarassing shower: few water. Very few water. Probably in a Sub Saharian village you get a powerful shower

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    Nice hotel in leafy calm location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is not easily accessible because there is an unnecessary right hand door. (I work for a building company...bad design!)

    Beautiful old villa tastefully furnished in quiet embassy district friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    I would stay there again, as it was a nice quiet area and easy to get into the city by metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    far too small tables to eat ones breakfast on. very little space between other diners. Too few staff in attendance at breakfast ( only one) most mornings

    friendly reception stall. good breakfast. nice room and bathroom. got a room upgrade for free.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    Great stay! Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were extremely small. I got the upgraded room which was bigger than the basic room. My room was very small; i cant even imagine how small the basic rooms are. There is no space to walk in the room. The size of the bathroom was nice but the shower itself was tiny. There was no room to turn around. You get in and out in the same position.

    Great place. The staff was extremely nice and friendly especially Jonida. The location was great for us; it was not in the city center but it was in a quiet location in a very nice neighborhood. The brrakfastt was great with both sweet and savory items.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Very quiet location short taxi ride to centre of Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very quiet location short taxi ride to centre of Rome.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    3.8
    Lack of staff, poor breakfast, pretty rundown, management...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Triple Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of staff, poor breakfast, pretty rundown, management needs to change urgently.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Best hotel in area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed facial tissues instead of toilet paper.

    Room was clean and quiet. Breakfast had wonderful coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    Staff were super helpful and property was so clean and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was out of town, but it was so easy to get to by the metro or bus.

    Staff were super helpful and property was so clean and well kept

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Very nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all fine.

    Phone To use around town.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    5.4
    It was a bit off the beaten path and we had to Uber...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit off the beaten path and we had to Uber everywhere was actually off the city map

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    6.7
    Some staff was not friendly but apologize later
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff was not friendly but apologize later

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location a bit far out however only a Metro ride away from main attractions

    Staff very friendly and helpful also bed was comfy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelent hotel in a quite and central location. Warm hospitality. Friendly employees. To be honest - perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast room out of order.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room out of order. Not any compensation!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice and cosy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from the center

    Great staff, nice hotel with a wonderful lounge area in the garden

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.6
    Well recommended if looking for relaxed stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Refurbishing works during a day and compromised access to garden. All handled professionally though.

    Cleanliness, Staff, Security

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    7.9
    Elegant-looking place and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No facial tissues in room, and room was small.

    Elegant-looking place and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    7.5
    Is ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is ok

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Excellent welcoming and politeness of staff.
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent welcoming and politeness of staff. A special tankyou to Francesca!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    10
    Highly recomend this property
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything! From staff up to breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    8.8
    YES
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE BREKFAST AREA MUST BE REARANGED TO BE MORE SPACIOUS AND COMFORDABLE.

    YES

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    5.0
    Roma
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room - Basement
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Accommodations lovely

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    9.6
    Clean, perfect
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, perfect

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    5.0
    Room was clean ,nice decor ,nice setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    B. Housekeeping was very poor eg. toiletries not replaced on a daily basis,cracked plastic glasses for the duration of our stay. While there was a bar in our room { which could not be accessed properly} there were no glass glasses available unless reception was approached . Coffee was not replenished in room on a daily basis Cups not washed . C Language was a problem D Local information was not adequately supplied . E. We were not informed of garden snack as mentioned in our agreement .. F Satellite TV only had local channels ,no english speaking channels available G Italy prides itself in its food but in our experience Hotel Principe Torlonias fell far short of this . H Air Conditioning was a disaster ,I asked on the first day to sort this out to no avail again I asked on the second day to no avail ,it was not available till the third day of our trip. Air conditioning is part of our agreement hence this is a breach of contract and I take this very serious. Our room was in the basement window could not be opened as it was below ground and very accessible and no protection grill for safety. I approached reception the evening before departure to sort out account as we had an early start the following morning and they could not facilitate our request.I detailed all the issues and asked that morning staff be aware.of this.issue This was not done and I had to start all over again {despite the fact that we were under pressure to catch a plane} The man I dealt with kept saying Rome puts air conditioning on from May every year so I was should feel privileged that it was on in April { you should sort this out for customers sake} Why were we so misinformed ?.

    Room was clean ,nice decor ,nice setting

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    9.6
    The staff very friendly and helpful, also spotlessly clean ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds not overly comfy, but not too much of a problem.

    The staff very friendly and helpful, also spotlessly clean ,and presented us with a bottle prossecco on arrival, as it was my husbands birthday,

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    7.5
    Rooms were very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The air conditioning was not working when we arrived. There was other people traveling with us and it took us all to complain about the lack of air conditioning before they turned it on. They said they didn't usually turn it on until the end of April even though it was unseasonably hot at the time we were there at the start of April. There seemed to be a lack of tourist information and the staff didn't really communicate to us what was in the area. Language barrier was difficult as well at times.

    Rooms were very clean. Bathrooms well equipped with disposable razors, shower caps, nail file, toothbrush, toothpaste etc. nice quality shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Our room had a beautiful view. Location was quiet, no noise from the street. Decor was stunning marble floors, wooden bedroom floors, modern colours and soft furnishings. Staff were good organise taxis and book dinner reservations when we asked.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    9.2
    Carla, our hostess was very helpful and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location isn't close to the main attractions in Rome, but the traffic is not as bad either. Bathroom floors could have been cleaner.

    Carla, our hostess was very helpful and friendly! Very cool hotel property. Beautiful setting, updated, contemporary styling.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    4.6
    There was horrible smell from the shower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was horrible smell from the shower. Room 202 was extremely small. After 2 days we got new room without the awful smell and bigger(106). Breakfasts were quite poor in terms of variety (mostly sweets).

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    7.1
    Location was good, with public transport easy to reach the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    PAY ATTENTION that economy rooms are REALLY in a basemant. We didn't see that at first, when we booked. Staff was friendly and afterall found an option to change our room to another. And the Hotel needs a renovation. Breakfast was not tasty and rather low quality.

    Location was good, with public transport easy to reach the center

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    9.6
    The bed in our room was excellent (I slept like a baby) and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were no power sockets in the room, only one in the toilet.

    The bed in our room was excellent (I slept like a baby) and the breakfast pretty good too! It was also fairly central which was good. Most importantly, the staff was really really helpful and friendly. It was a very pleasant stay

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    5.8
    It was only 5 min to the metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very thinn walls you could hear the couple in the other room( we had the junior suit) They promised us a big jacuzzi but we got a small one that only one person can fit in it. Our flight went early inte morning and no busses or metro goes during the night so we took a cab which cost 60 euro to the city airport.

    It was only 5 min to the metro. The breakfast was good, the rooms where clean.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    5.8
    Elegant property with a lovely garden.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Room was very small for 2 people. Bad smell from drainage. Room not cleaned properly & small things like shower gel or towels were not attended to everyday. Breakfast was very basic.

    Elegant property with a lovely garden. Nicely refurbished. Easy to travel to & from town centre. Friendly reception team.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    9.6
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean, airy and spacious with the added bonus of Sky TV. Breakfast had stacks of choice to suit all our varied tastes.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    7.9
    Good, friendly, good English speaking staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can ignore the location of the basement room and the poor natural light but it is smaller and less comfy than a regular room. Lack of food facilities after breakfast.

    Good, friendly, good English speaking staff. Good breakfast. Clean room. Good wi-fi.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    8.8
    Our view was out of this world!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Getting to the hotel by car was an absolute nightmare, not sure you can actually do it without breaking a few laws...

    Our view was out of this world! Room was huge too.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    9.6
    Staff was absolutely stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Staff was absolutely stunning. They sorted out for us every single ticket, journey or meal we requested. They were lovely, warm and extremely kind and patient.

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    9.2
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. They arranged airport transfers, had Metro tickets available for sale. Very extensive breakfast buffet, including eggs. The "economy" rooms are in the basement, but ours was very comfortable and well equipped, with a small window (just the faintest hint of a damp odor that was immediately dispelled by the ventilation system). We thought it a very good value. Location near embassies, not in a major tourist area, but quiet and uncrowded compared to most of Rome.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    5.4
    On website complimentary nibbles & drinks offered each...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On website complimentary nibbles & drinks offered each evening in garden, on arrival had been ceased, no compensation offered. Room tiny unable to get to one side of bed at all, not enough room for 2 suitcases on floor!

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    8.8
    Parking available on property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Long "puddled" drapes took up floor space and were difficult to open and close.

    Parking available on property. Quiet side street location with pretty grounds and garden. Easy walk to Metro (when transit workers weren't on strike). Ample breakfast choices.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    7.5
    Liked relaxed atmosphere, lovely helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Maybe one small disappointment, that after a hard day sightseeing, you had to go back out to find somewhere to eat.

    Liked relaxed atmosphere, lovely helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    7.5
    Great staff helpful with taxis or any problems and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No big problems because it was not needed for are holiday but some people might find the wifi slow and if you have never stay at the hotel i would get a taxi

    Great staff helpful with taxis or any problems and the breakfast is amazing to start the day looking around.This was are second time staying and I'm sure will be go back for a 3rd we love the hotel

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.2
    General ambience was very relaxing;
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    It would helpful if management installed shelves in the showers for shampoo, razors, etc. Some rubber mats for the showers would also help as the floor tiles are slippery. There is no business center for printing but the wifi is good.

    General ambience was very relaxing; superb staff; good transport links; beautiful garden; happy hour with free drinks and pizza; very peaceful neighborhood "far from the madding crowds." Great breakfast. Very good air conditioning.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    8.8
    Great hotel far from the noise and crowded tourist zone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything related with the hotel accomodation was great, except the attitude from the guy at the front desk, he was quite cocky and didn't seem to be willing to help the guests.

    Great hotel far from the noise and crowded tourist zone. Close to metro and from local restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    Large room with terrace, lovely garden at rear of hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large room with terrace, lovely garden at rear of hotel, interesting residential area of Rome. close to Tiburtina train and bus station. Very suitable if you have been to Rome before and are not trying to see all the major tourist sites. Wonderful place to relax in

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    7.1
    Hotel is in a very quiet area with only a few minutes walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was small (even though bathroom had good size), breakfast selection very poor.

    Hotel is in a very quiet area with only a few minutes walk to the metro and even shorter walk to a bus stop.Nice garden to relax.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    9.2
    Location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location of the hotel. Staff. Room with terrace:)) Beautiful garden:)). We've had fabulous time in the hotel. Highly recommended:)) Definitely would go back again:))

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    9.2
    The garden was a peaceful place to relax.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The one drawback was the location was about 8 blocks from the Metro, which was not bad until the Metro went on strike.

    The garden was a peaceful place to relax.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    5.8
    We've stayed 3 days/nights at the Torlonia Hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We've stayed 3 days/nights at the Torlonia Hotel without hot water. They couldn't fix the problem. At our arrival we were not told about the problem. After a freezing shower reception (male guy) said us that we are free to leave without any penalty ... The second day (still without hot water), they agreed to give a discount to all Hotel guests. At check-out reception (the male guy) said to us, that, as we had paid the whole bill in advance, he couldn't grant us the discount, this would be illegal !!! By the way, avoid the room on the ground floor next to reception, otherwise you might be disturbed during night by light and noise ...

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    7.9
    The reaction of the manager when knowing the shower water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cold water for 2 days

    The reaction of the manager when knowing the shower water was cold for 2 days in a row. He spontaniously offered 20% discount on the 2 days and drinks on his behalf of the complete stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    8.3
    we mostly enjoyed coming back 'home' and sit in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we mostly enjoyed coming back 'home' and sit in the garden after a long but amazingly day in Rome. In the garden we could have a nice glass of wine and reflect back on the day.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    10
    Friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely quiet location. Easy access to the city centre and good restaurants nearby. Lovely facilities and no complaints at all.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    10
    This hotel was a very pleasant surprise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This hotel was a very pleasant surprise. The staff was extremely welcoming, giving us the feeling of being part of the family. Coffee upon arrival, free aperitif organised in the evenings...truly exceptional. The room was very cosy and the hotel has a lovely garden and rooftop terrasse. It is situated in a beautiful and quiet part of the city. The metro is about a 10 minutes walk and brings you into the center in 10 minutes. I highly recommend the place!

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Principe Torlonia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: