Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Madison Hotel 3 stars

Via Marsala 60, Central Station, 00185 Rome, Italy

#583 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1019 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    4.2
    When I initially booked it, it was mainly for the aircon due...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I initially booked it, it was mainly for the aircon due to the me bringing my family for a vacation in Rome. However, upon reaching it was totally down. No attempts to fix the aircon and the staff just outright told a blatant lie that a thunderstorm hit 2 days ago and everyone didn't have aircon. Went down to several hotels around the area and they all had aircon. The other hotels were all fully booked. I was told if I didn't like it i could leave but it was unrefundable. Ridiculous that no attempt to fix the aircon despite it being down 2 days before I check in( according to them) till I checked out which makes it 5 days. It was hot and unbearable during the day and its just frustrating that despite paying slightly more for an assurance of the facility(aircon), I am still met with such discomfort. The rooms itself were okay if it had aircon. One of the weirdest part is that the hotel didn't even provide hot water despite having it during breakfast. There was no kettle in the room and I was told by the reception to bring a cup to the shop beside to request hot water from them. To a certain degree i find this abit absurd. As a consequence of not having aircon, we had to keep the windows open which resulted in consistent unfiltered noise pollution from the traffic below and we were also victims of mosquitos attack. Due to all these unforeseen circumstances, the holiday was a far cry from what I had originally planned. IF it has happened 2 days from our check in, I would understand that the website needs time to change their facilities. However, the fact that they didn't and continue to state they provide airconditioning raise questions about their ethics/business ethics. Overall not worth the price i paid.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Great location and generous breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioners not working apparently due to recent lightening strike. Thankfully not too hot so replacement fan was adequate.

    Great location and generous breakfast. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.7
    Position
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with air conditioning not working, sink plug broken, safe broken, looks as if maintenance isn't kept up. Very hot and uncomfortable.

    Position

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    Close to trains & buses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy area & the bed wasn’t comfortable as it was 2 singles pushed together.

    Location was ideal for what we needed & hotel was clean & reasonably comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    4.2
    one of the worst hotel experiences
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff did not communicate the air conditioning was out of service, even though they knew it. we had to find out at 1am. staff should be honest with their guests from the first moment.

    good location if you need to be near the station

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Location , friendly staff, good breakfast , clean , safe!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My single room had no USB port to plug phone and was black n white tv?? ( didn’t know those still existed) Fridge didn’t work so I had bought some things couldn’t keep them cool. I didn’t say anything was too tired and not really a big deal

    Location , friendly staff, good breakfast , clean , safe! Good value € ! Very quiet!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Quiet room, comfortable beds, fantastic breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC only worked when key card was inserted to slot in room, so took a while to cool down. View was of the central area of gray walls and pipes (thus the quiet room!).

    Close to the Roma Termini so getting to train was fast! Our room was quiet with no street noises. Daily breakfast was really good and plentiful. 2 bottles of water in fridge was gratis. Staff was efficient and very accommodating when we were going to be late for our train.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    2.9
    What I liked about the property was the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As soon as I arrived the male receptionist said “ I need your passport and i need you to sign this paper so, we make sure you’re not Terrorist ”. I was shocked and I didn't respond for his provocations, because the booking was nonrefundable , and they took the money already. Horrible Attitude, Dirty sheets and Bathtub. There's no way on earth I'm staying there ever again.

    What I liked about the property was the location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    10
    Overnight stop in Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I could complain about

    Location fantastic for connections to airport and train Room was very good with comfy bed and excellent bathroom just what we needed after exhausting trip hiking around Amalfi and a day trip in Rome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    2.5
    The most unwelcoming hotel with rude staff, and dirty rooms. Worst experience ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the experience i had in this hotel was hugely disappointing. The staff were extremely racist rude and unfriendly. Its seems they have no consideration for the meaning of customer service. Everytime there was an issue, dirty room, missing towels, wifi not working, toilet dirty, safebox not working, they made it out that i was being rude for asking. If your paying to stay in a hotel these standards should be normal but this hotel and staff seem to think otherwise. I had a cousin who needed to pop in as he was feeling unwell i didnt think it would’ve been a huge issue as i was willing to sign him in at reception but was faced with a very aggressive No! Whilst i understand hotels have a security procedure this guest would be coming in as my guest and not left unattended therefore, again i can not highlight just how unhelpful the staff were and the lack of empathy i recieved during my whole stay. At checkout i was told they only excepted cash payments which i thought was confusing as i made the booking via credit card and also there is no mention of this on their website. i explained i did not have any cash at the time and wouid need to go to a cash machine to get some. As i was leaving i was chased by a receptionist to which they replied yes they would accept my credit card! So it just seems they make their own rules when it suits them! Great customer experience ey.. NOT!!!

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    It was excellently.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This problem I meet everywhere in Europe: the very complicated conditioners that is very difficult to switch off.

    Everytime when I visit Rome, I take only Madison Hotel predominantly because of it's location and the optimal combination of the price and comfort.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    3.8
    Location was good near SIT airport shuttle bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were unfriendly, communal areas were filthy, the chairs were ripped and had ground in dirt and stains, the floor looked like it hadn't been hoovered in months! Breakfast room was like something out of a haunted house. We ate breakfast out of the hotel on our second morning.

    Location was good near SIT airport shuttle bus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value in a very convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor quality towels.

    Deceptively large hotel in a very convenient postion close to main rail terminal (2 minutes away), and near to a good range of restaurants, cafes, shops especially in new terminal building. Rooms with dated fittings but comfortable beds with good quality sheets, and plenty of hot water. No English speaking TV channels. Hotel is popular with young tour parties which can place pressure on breakfast failities but hotel provides very adequate continental breakfast. Reception staff experienced and knowledgeable. Traffic noise did not appear to be an issue especially on higher floors

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Location to the train station was perfect especially if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was no too comfortable

    Location to the train station was perfect especially if you have heavy luggage. Breakfast was good. Hotel was clean. It was good for the tourist who spends little time in a hotel and most time sightseeing- which Iwas why I visited Rome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.1
    Location was absolutely perfect being right infront of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff wasn't courteous and don't expect them to greet you or show much courtesy unless you exhibit it first. The internet was terrible and useless. The drainage in the toilet was overflowing and barely fixed during our 3 days stay. Internet wasn't fixed till the end of our stay. Some breakfast items seemed stale and restaurant staff wasn't courteous either. Basically the facility has maintenance issues and their not able to resolve them promptly.

    Location was absolutely perfect being right infront of Termini giving access to transport, food and tourist facilities in the vicinity. Rooms were cleaned well and regularly by staff. The triple/quadruple rooms were impressive in size

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.4
    Location is good as it is just opposite the Roma Termini...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Big hotel with too many rooms but the lifts are only on one side of the hotel which makes it very inconvenient. Wifi is very poor!

    Location is good as it is just opposite the Roma Termini station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    A return trip to Roma included a return trip to a great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is connected to something that produce alot of dance type music that was heard through walls. Didn't keep me up but might be problematic for light sleepers

    Great value, perfect location (few steps from Roma Termini) and the included breakfast was very nice. Staff was extremely friendly and very accommodating.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location, staff friendly & helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi could be better

    Great location, staff friendly & helpful. Clean room, lovely breakfast (pastries). Overall good value for money, would recommend :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    It was perfect for me because I was passing through and needed to be by the train station.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was in the bath and the screen was not big enough and badly positioned; with the result that water went allover the bathroom floor. I spent some time clearing it up. BUT that happens occasionally

    location was great for me and what I was doing The staff were really helpful The room was surprisingly good for the price

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Convenient, clean, friendly, helpful. 12 noon checkout time was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No criticisms - everything was good.

    A good central place to stay. So easy to walk across from Termini station, but the hotel itself is much better than many of the others in the vicinity. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.7
    Expensive for what it is!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disgusting! Bacon was over cooked, cereal was stale, my boiled egg was green inside (rotten). Wish I took a photo but left my phone in the room. No aircon, was a warm night and all they had was a fan. Bathroom didn’t have screen or a curtain in tub, so water went ever where! Nearly slipped ! Would not stay here again

    Close to train station. Room was big

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    I liked the fact that it as close in distance to central...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like about the property was the fact you are not able to check in before 2:00 pm which is quite inconvenient.

    I liked the fact that it as close in distance to central Rome. It was right across from Termini station. It was an updated hotel and very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Based on the location and value I would stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff didn’t make you feel welcomed they were all business with no customer service skills. I asked for directions twice didn’t seem like they wanted to help and they didn’t smile much.

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.8
    Gallas hotel, not madison.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked Madison and were moved to gallas hotel. Water hot and cold crazy. Thin walls.

    Gallas hotel, not madison. Cool room. Bed very nice. Funky elevator.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Not bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The A/C was not working properly. Hallways were narrow. The shower drain was not draining fast enough.

    We loved that the hotel was near a train station. The breakfast was enough to get you going in the morning. Staff was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    Eugene is very sweet and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The corners and under the sink is very dusty. Sane as the back of the door. Smells very old and dusty. Bed is not good. The matrass moves

    Eugene is very sweet and nice. Helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Centrally Located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC did not work. When we raised this with the reception, they stated that the AC facilities were available only after May 15. But for the windows, which we could open, it could have been pretty uncomfortable. The shower oscillated between very hot to cold water. Minor inconvenience.

    Excellent location just opposite the Roma Termini station The room that we were allocated was very spacious Good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    The people at the reception were very helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and pretty hot. The ventilation system was not very good. It was not easy to sleep

    The people at the reception were very helpful and polite. The hotel is located next to Termini, It is very convinient for people staying one nigth in rome or travelling early next day by train

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location. Impersonal staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most stuffy airless hotel with a rabbit warren of corridors. Air con ineffective. Impersonal staff.

    Fantastic location directly opposite train terminus and excellent location for metro and exploring. Large bathroom. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drinking water in room No tea coffee facility in room or even in hotel Only Italian TV channels Very hot room- no air conditioning No proper toiletries- shampoo, conditioner or body lotion- only body wash

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.3
    Right across from the train station, a great place to stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shower, and even though there was a European shower, there was no curtain, so difficult to wash your hair.

    Right across from the train station, a great place to stay if you are interested in a convenient location. An old regal hotel, but a bit dark for my taste. Plenty of space for four.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.3
    Will definitely come again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Shower door did not close properly. First time I stayed there I had a room to the back yard which I liked more. Maybe I can get my old room back when I come the next time which I definitely will.

    Brilliant Location, WIFI always worked fine. Friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room corners were a bit moldy and it smelled. The light was too low for me. And it was a bit cold as the heater wasn't the strongest

    I liked Ben. He was great! I felt like I traveled back in time and was in some mystery movie. All the little labyrinth corridors in the hotel were awesome. So as its entire design. It has style - I loved that about it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.9
    Central location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the fifth floor and the WiFi kept cutting off and we were constantly reconnecting, which was a pain! There is an unpleasant smell on the fifth floor. It would be nice to have tea and coffee facilities in the rooms. The extractor in the bathroom didn’t work.

    The room was clean with a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    4.6
    The hotel is adequate for travellers who are out sightseeing all day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast- the worst hotel breakfast ever. Bacon sits in luke-warm water, the orange juice is mostly water, there are sometimes no plates, bowls or cutlery, milk runs out and getting toast out of the toaster is just plain dangerous. The rooms are dark but functional, and rooms are clean but the bedding is inadequate - a sheet only as a covering is not warm enough for the room temperature. We stayed there twice because we had pre-booked, and one room had very dodgy plumbing but was more spacious than the other.

    The location is good, opposite the train station Roma Termini and near the start of the Hop-on hop-off bus route. The hotel has a big street sign so is easy to find, and we were very grateful for that after a long flight.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dark and no fresh air or windows

    Great location. Pretty old, dark and a little dusty. But overall good value for money. Great buffet breakfast - by European standards!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.4
    Location is the only thing that is great on this Hotel. Aside from that, nothing else is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist on night duty is very very rude (I forgot his name but he was tall and chubby). We asked a favor if we can print one plane eticket and he didn't want to entertain us and was frowning all the time. He even threw the paper at us. Such an ill-mannered person.

    Near Roma Termini station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    10
    Madison Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I had was quiet but very dark as it faced onto a back lane and although it was high up there was a small patio outside between my window and the room next door.

    Great location, excellent breakfast and the staff are very friendly and attentive . I would definitely stay there again. There is also a good selection of restaurants close by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Excellent choice of tasty foods and drinks for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On six flour not all of us had internet connectivity.

    Excellent choice of tasty foods and drinks for breakfast. Well sized, clean rooms, comfy beds, fridge cooling down drinks really well for hot weather. Nice, clean and tidy Hotel with helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    3.8
    Definitely not what we were offered on the Bookings site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked last minute on line. On arrival (within 10 minutes) we were told they had just booked the last room and offer us a place at Prince Galles. It was described as a 'Good hotel'. The second hotel as in a less family friendly area, the room was old and shabby, bathroom had broken shower and smelled. Although we booked as bed and breakfast no breakfast was offered. The price rose from €118 to €149 on paying. Finally when we looked for a hotel again two hours later the Madision Hotel was offering the same deal, even though it was eligibliy full. Bit odd really.

    The sheets appeared to be clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.1
    Normal
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was rude, aged staff, dont smile specially the receptionist of the Am shift,he doesnt give informations about the hotel, the wifi was too bad. Although Im genius on booking and i have a priority late check out when i booked the room I was surprised while telling this to the receptionist , he laugh and say that I have to check out like all the other guests at 12 pm

    The hotel is near the termini station u have only to cross the road, the location was nice , the breakfast too , I was happy to meet miss Carmen, the roommate whom welcomed me warmly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    8.3
    Convenient and worth what I paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    I love that is literally across the street from Rome Termini train station. I needed the hotel close because I was traveling with kids, stroller and suitcases and was going to take train for Rome Airport from there, so it is very convenient. Breakfast was great, eggs, deli meats and cheese, coffees, juice, jogurts, fruits, very assorted. The room was okay, we were 3 adults and 2 small children. It was tight spacewise, but for a 3 star hotel near Rome main train station it was well worth what I paid for.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    8.8
    Quick stay at Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I saw some dust in the room but overall is clean and good

    The room is big enough for family of 4 persons, the location is very close to termini railway station and very near to the shopping center, transportation is available, the frontline staff are kind and helpful, the brkaefast is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.9
    Adequate, basic, aged, but clean and location was perfect for my needs on this trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While not a negative reflection on Hotel Madison only, I found the steps entering the building to be a nuisance, especially with most travelers using rolling luggage. I had read many reviews prior to my selection, and expected small, slow lifts, but entering the building was difficult. On my last night there, I missed a step and fell; while waiting for my taxi on the last morning, I watched three people nearly fall on the steps...,,HIGH level of risk! Desk person was argumentive over my taxi request pick up time to the airport; I just waited until someone else was working and made my taxi with them. I didn't know the desk guy's name, but he was pretty full of himself....I preferred other staff members over him.

    I picked that property for the location to Roma Termini. I was looking for something economical and I think I did get what I was wanting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    3.3
    I will not come back because I was in other Hotel when arrive at Rome and this was really better.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I reserved 2 twins beds and I did not. I did not air conditioning in a room when the temperatures was about 37 o 38 degrees. The manager said me "I will give you a fan" I never had a fun. I need change 3 times de rooms and never has air conditioning. Other think when arrive to Hotel the person that was in this moment he didn't help me with the luggage because he said that he can't to do this. The place where is the hotel is total difficult for parking and I am not a young people some times I need help and more when you have steps.

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    The bed was very comfortable and the location extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC was advertised but be warned: it is a very weak unit that is only activated if you are in the room. In other words, if it's 38 degrees outside, it's 38 degrees in your room when you get back and you must wait a good hour before it cools down. Might not be a problem in winter, but certainly far from ideal in the summer.

    The bed was very comfortable and the location extremely convenient for travel to/from airport and elsewhere in Rome.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.2
    Very nice ending to a beautiful visit to Italy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning possibly could have been more effective, but this was not a big problem. Some fresh fruit at breakfast would have been a nice feature. Also, facial tissue paper in the room would be nice.

    Perfect location near the train station. Excellent breakfast. Clean and comfortable. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ac did not work that was the worst when u pay for it , there was no shower curtain so water was all over the room, absolute liability, water was either scalding or freezing, 1 outlet in the room, wifi was not great and when they cleaned our room they left us with NO toilet paper

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Hotel Madison A great location for the "less agile" older seasoned travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Arriving late the "Night Reception Man"at the desk did not have as good an understanding of English as the excellent day staff.It was a busy time to arrive and different languages were being spoken. We survived the night in the room by leaving the door ajar. The next morning,the day staff fixed the problem, and next morning were able to open the window.

    Location and very helpful Reception Staff. Quiet room was available as requested when booking the date of arrival. Breakfast Menu was designed to include different types of breakfasts and the self service enabled one to select what food to eat. I wished to leave a large bag in storage until I returned in 2 weeks,and the staff arranged the transfer to storage and when I returned a staff member was sent to collect it. As an older,silver-haired,walking-stick seasoned traveller(visited Italy for the first time in 1961) I appreciated the helpful Reception Desk People,who although are so busy, made my stay on the 2 occasions a memorable experience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    First stay at Madison nd Rome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the air conditioner does not go onto cool still the 1st June. Being given a fan foes not cut it.

    Brand new bed and doona setting in an upgraded room. Original room was just too hot and the quilt had an odour. Desk Manager was great. The porter Vlad was most helpful and a great asset to the Hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    5.8
    The location is good, just outside the main train station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room are quite small and the air conditioning is probably decades old - they might as well not be there. If you come to Rome during the Summer, expect not to sleep very well, unless you enjoy to sleep with > 30º C.

    The location is good, just outside the main train station (Roma Termini). The facilities are generally clean and the breakfast is acceptable for an Italian hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    9.2
    Would return here any time I am in Rome!
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent proximity to the metro. Wonderful breakfast (eggs, meat, pastries, yogurt, fruit...). My sons loved the layout as the halls wind and twist around. They also said the pastries were the best they've had in europe (we've lived there for 3 years)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    5.4
    No air con until June not as described
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property states air conditioning but when I queried why it did not work was told it is not turned on until July. Wifi was intermittent.

    Location, breakfast was standard

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    4.6
    Avoid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not rude but also not welcoming, decor is very dated, could hear the people talking in the next room!! Shower cubical doors were broken off there runners so wouldn't shut, lots of dirt under glass panel on the table, two of the four ceiling lights just flashed on and off like a strobe light and the lift didn't inspire confidence with the noises it makes and probably most concerning is the door doesn't even shut properly! We are not snobby people when it comes to hotels and normally stay just fine in a Travelodge in the UK with no complaints but this hotel just gave me a stomach churning feeling. We booked and paid for two nights but within half an hour of booking in we were out to find a better place for the second night which we did just down the road at the hotel Aphrodite and this was really lovely for a comparative price. In short I'd rather stay in a tent!

    Comfy bed and good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.9
    Great location and very nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi did not reach our room in the 6th floor. The room was extremely hot and AC not connected so had to sleep with open window. They gave us a smoking room which we did not request. Due to travel arrangements we could not arrive on 6 May which was paid already. One month before I requested the chance to move the booking to 8 May (7 was also paid) but did not pay attention to our request. On arrival after talking to the Manager he did not react to the my one night free to them. I understand the rules but since a month before I expected maybe an upgrade o some perks to compensate my mistake and their advantage.

    Great location and very nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was good especially the pastries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am in a wheelchair and was told it was disabled friendly. It definitely isn't two steps to get in the hotel and two more inside. The lift wasn't big enough for me to enter safely on my own. I asked for a low floor and was put on the six. Was moved to another hotel 5 minutes away the next day so really this spoilt the holiday for me.

    Breakfast was good especially the pastries. Lovely old hotel in very good condition and in a great location for getting around the city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    5.4
    Good location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    bed not comfortable ,room were not cleaned during our stay, shower sliding glas doors were not fitted well that it was not possible to move or close! WIFI very, very bad - disappointing !

    Good location .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.3
    Perfect base for exploring Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shower in the bathroom could have been easier to use. Cold or Scalding?

    So convenient, get off the airport transfer bus and its 50 yards away. Right by the main railway and underground station too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    9.6
    In front of the train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Recepcion guys were annoyingly cheeky.

    In front of the train station. Hotel was very comfortable and very clean. I recommend for everyone.. breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    6.3
    Great location only!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was on 4th floor and it was stinky. They should have used air freshener. Carpets in corridor and room need to be replaced. Staff should be more polite and receptive. It's not value for money. I didn't like the breakfast. Poor Wi-Fi connection, too.

    Location of the hotel is perfect, right in front of the Termini station. There are a few restaurants and a supermarket few steps away. I checked in at 1:15 am at late night without any problem. Hop on and hop off bus terminal is on walking distance, so you can visit all tourist attraction in a very short time.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    8.8
    Cost next to nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife had a sore throat she needs water heater. The receptionist said "No". We requested same answer.

    - good position - substential breakfast - clear - correct bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    8.8
    Great location and breakfast to explore Rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell in the toilet...seems poor sewer system

    Location , huge breakfast room, and choices....big toilet. Close to many sights by walking, and every sight in Rome and Italy by metro and bus! Loved walking around the great sights near the hotel..

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    Basic but clean hotel with good breakfast and very centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly centrally located , close to public transport facilities and lots of good choice of restaurants. Plenty choice for breakfast . Clean hotel and room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.9
    Location-fall out the door and onto your train
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a/c has been broken for too long.

    Location-fall out the door and onto your train

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.4
    Good location but bathroom too small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location but bathroom too small.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location - handy to railway station and easy access to tourist sites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Could not access WiFi in my room, had to go to the lounge area.

    Really convenient location near railway station and easy to find.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    4.6
    very bad bed is probably the worst bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very bad bed is probably the worst bed. very modest hotels very modest amenities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They need stronger Wi-Fi. No connection on 6th floor

    Everything. Professional and respectful staff. Excellent room. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.1
    Bello
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central near to termini station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Second time around & did not disappoint
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Gorgeous double room and glamour bathroom

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Good place to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best Place to visit all around Rome. well connected place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.8
    A three night stay in rome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our Jacuzzi bath was broken, the breakfast was ok

    Its location right beside termini station

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant but little expensive for value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room to small. Lift very slow.

    Room clean . Staff helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Good position near train station on busy road but room was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers seem to have a mind of their own 1 minute hot then the next cold

    Good position near train station on busy road but room was very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very central and the staff was very friendly and helpful went out of their way to help in any way they could

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: