Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Principe 3 stars

Via Fratelli Asquasciati, 96, 18038 Sanremo, Italy

#22 of 40 hotels in Sanremo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 489 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Overall ok but would not stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel manager spoke hardly any English which made things difficult, the hotel is located up a hill, difficult with heat and humidity, not for elderly or unfit people, breakfast was limited, 1 type if cereal which was chocolate covered cornflakes.

    The swimming pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet was poor, unstable. When I eventually connected, it would drop out after 1-2 minutes and take up to an hour for another connection.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.3
    Most i liked were smiles and politeness of all people I met...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would like to have self service (coffee/ milk) rather than waiter. Quite noisy airvent in the bathroom.

    Most i liked were smiles and politeness of all people I met there ( 2 receptionists, 2 waiters). A lot of green plants around, really lovely place, they even have friendly cat :) They have 6-7 private parking places ( if you are group you can even park more cars on way that you park behind each other). Nice, big room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Bit tired but very helpful staff and in good position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very limited range of drinks in bar even ran out of Limoncello in Italy !!!!!

    Food in restaurant very good,very helpful staff. Easy parking very short walk into San Remo well positioned. Would certainly return as we make regular visits to San Remo.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    A very pleasant three-night sojourn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked the location of the hotel, being close to the town-centre and not far from the railway station and an easy walk to one of the little beaches. We also liked the pool, the garden and its resident cat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel with all the facilities needed for a good relaxing holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We were only 200 metres from the shops (which are fantastic) but it was downhill and lots of steps, which wasn't too bad going down, but as we are both in our 60s, we found it quite challenging going back to the hotel. We chose to take the longer route which was still downhill, but avoided all the steps.

    Everything at the hotel was what you would expect, as my answers imply. The pool and poolside area is great. Plenty of seating around the area for sunbathing or just relaxing. pool table in the bar area and a fine lounge leading out onto the pool. We had a balcony overlooking the pool. Although it depends on the people staying there at the time, we found the rooms were quiet. Typical Continental breakfast, but plenty of it. The restaurant food was very good and good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    THE BEST SMALL HOTEL in SAN REMO WITH BEAUTIFUL WELCOMING STAFF WOWWW
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    that we could not stay longer honestly THIS is THE Hotel to stay at...

    Massimmo (sp) and his assistant young beautiful lady (very good english) welcomed us soo warmly to their MOST beautiful Hotel - this is a true Italian Hotel with the, style comforts views one wishes to see on the italian coast and WOW were we afforded this - run by lovely people, beautiful amazing view from the top floor with an amazing balcony and a large bed - thank you very much WOWW, bikes to explore the long long old railway line through THE most AMAZING tunnel I have ever ridden a bike through, the restaurants below are amazing of which we had dinner and a wonderful breakfast at the Hotel run by 2 VERY organised, attentive cheerful and most professional attention to detail...more coffee etc...hostess' thank you...the streets below the Hotel leading to the village square have absolute quality shops, designer and also local...go there just to ride the bikes through villages stopping off to have soo many gelato's I love this place and the Hotel especially...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Charming hotel! Excellent stay. Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little old with no windows but very clean so this was not a problem

    The staff were really friendly; especially the management behind reception. The hotel has real charm The location was fantastic, close to the beach and the casino - which was the best location for restaurants and bars The room was a good size with a big balcony overlooking the pool and also had a sea view. Great price - really good value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    8.3
    Really nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was actually nothing that I did not like...

    Great place to stay for a few nights! Nice and friendly atmosphair, great staff, nice poolarea and very well situated. Yes it is a little bit "old", but that is part of the charm. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.3
    A pleasant quiet hotel with a very nice pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The breakfast is exactly the same every day and gets a bit boring after a while. Security is dubious with all the room keys in full view and sometimes nobody on the reception desk, especially in the evenings. My car was left in the street for 5 days and the valet made no attempt to move it to the car park for easier loading on the day we left.

    A clean, modern, comfortable room with a small balcony. The swimming pool was great - we spent hours there very day. The location is near the casino and a short walk to the town. Plenty of restaurants, cafes and narrow streets to explore. Beware of the hills - there seems to be more uphill walking than downhill, but SanRemo is a very nice town.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    7.9
    Good hotel, lovely pool and close to main town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Diana needed to be replenished quicker as staff didn't really seem on the ball in the mornings

    Lovely relaxing pool area and close to main town - short walk away

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Friendly staff at the reception at midnight as well as...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be a bit of trouble if you come late if all the free slots at the hotel are taken, but in the end you can find a place somewhere nearby.

    Friendly staff at the reception at midnight as well as during the day. Room was old style but newly refurbished and it was clean and tidy. Wifi worked well. Breakfast was nice. We also use the swimming pool to refresh in the morning. Check-in/check-out was quick and efficient and we were nicely surprised to receive a free bottle of wine from the region.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    6.7
    Excellent position, but the rest lacks quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole structure is very run down, from old bathroom installations, noisy ventilators and worn carpets at the stairs entrace. There seem to be no focus on the quality of the breakfast with little choice, powder made juices and no cereals or fresh cut fruit.

    Spacious 4th floor room with seaview. Very kind and helpful staff. The position behind the casino and the walking street is very good and you can reach the small center in a couple of minutes walking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Short overnight stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel a bit dated, needs to be refreshed

    Location, parking and kind staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay - while the hotel is older (70s/80s) it was perfectly clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean, great to have parking and a great breakfast - Great location with partial sea views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    3.3
    the front desk person did not speak english.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the front desk person did not speak english. I asked for 2 beds because i was traveling with my mother and they gave me a couples bed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    3 day stay wunderful staff hotel was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was ok, swimming pool also, very nice staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    Our room was wide and comfortable, balcony was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair dryer was old, thats it.

    Our room was wide and comfortable, balcony was good. Employees were very hospitable. Hotel location is perfect.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.4
    pleasant staff, short walk to town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    had twin beds on request but bed so narrow could scarcely relax for fear of falling off. Substandard breakfast.

    pleasant staff, short walk to town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    7.5
    Near Casino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No real view. Too many building around!

    Near Casino

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.1
    Noisy Neighbours
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far too noisy and poor breakfast

    Staff and wine and parking spot

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.9
    Very polite staff, very comfortable bed and nice view to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very polite staff, very comfortable bed and nice view to the sea. Room and bathroom clean and spacious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    4 day break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could have been a bit better but was typical,

    Bed room and balcony were good, plus was the free air-con.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    8.8
    Value for money and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money and good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    8.8
    Upgrade room without asking - nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upgrade room without asking - nice location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    9.2
    Just great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfekt

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    8.8
    The staff were very polite and helpful, especially on our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very polite and helpful, especially on our last day when we had to depart at 6am, they had arranged a small breakfast for us. Great location and not too far from the centre, 10 mins max. Will definitely book this hotel again when I return to San Remo.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    7.1
    The atmostphere- the decoration.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not internet on the fourth floor.breakfast very basic, coffee not very good.

    The atmostphere- the decoration. The view if you get the right room. Free outside car parking.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    5.8
    Location small walk from center, staff friendly, commercial...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small Pool closed at 5:30. Shower head broken. Strong drain smell in bathroom in the morning. Bed light loose above the bed. Splash stains of a liquid on the wall by the mirror. Extractor in the bathroom full of dust. Breakfast average.

    Location small walk from center, staff friendly, commercial gesture for room inconvenience, free parking, 3rd floor room with sea view through surrounding buildings. Clean bedding. Aircon works well. Quiet area.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    8.8
    Walking into town via casino a real plus so no need to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not just at this hotel, but in general Italian breakfasts can be a bit one dimensional, especially if you stay a few nights like I did, some fresh fruit salad maybe?

    Walking into town via casino a real plus so no need to be driving around which can be confusing in San Remo

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    8.3
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking On the side of street

    Staff

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    10
    Everything was good ;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything was good ;)

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    10
    Quiet, comfortable and staff were very very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing comes to mind.

    Quiet, comfortable and staff were very very nice.

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    Always great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Always great!

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    9.2
    Great location, very friendly staff, clean room,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Weak wifi, poor breakfast

    Great location, very friendly staff, clean room,

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    8.3
    Convenient location, near to old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool needs renovation.

    Convenient location, near to old town. Private parking. Quiet area. Breakfast good, delicious coffee.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: