Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Principe 4 stars

Lista di Spagna 147, Cannaregio, 30121 Venice, Italy

#179 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2468 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Walls not very soundproof.

    Location: 3 min from railway station. Comfortable room and bed. Having breakfast overlooking the Grand Canal with amazing views.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good staff,Break Fast,Cleaned Room.Good Dinner.

    Good Hotel at main tourist point.Safe and comfortable.Good break fast.Easy to come either from Airport or Railnetwork.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath was too small and although there was a shower, the ceiling was too low to use it.

    The location was fabulous hotel reception is great with great terrace at rear overlooking the grand canal.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were professional but detached. No small talk. One guy on the front desk who I think was an IT person just waved us on when we stood in front of him. No pleasant redirection to the other receptionist. One woman in the breakfast dining area was extremely rude when we went to go onto the terrace, which we had done each day for breakfast. Apparently it was closed and she was extremely nasty. It ruined our morning. She tried to apologise later only because she knew we could report her. Too late we were not impressed at all. This hotel is average at best and would be 2.5 stars in Australia and not 4 stars as suggested on the website. A better attitude towards guests would improve the experience a great deal. I suggest staff training be instigated.

    Location. Only about 200 mts from the station and apart from the stairs at the station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets were dirty and very worn. The staff at front desk weren’t very helpful.

    Breakfast was good and self serviced. The location for breakfast was delightful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt the room was a bit Tired compared with other parts of the downstairs .

    Excellent location Excellent Staff Water taxi is a 4 min walk for the Airport Train station 4 min walk away . Shops on your doorstep and local attractions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a horrible smell on my floor in the hotel. I was told that the algae growth causes this smell since the hotel is right on the canal waterfront, the smell comes up from the water sometimes. There was fragrance sticks all over with a vanilla smell to suppress the stench. The smell was awful and impacted my enjoyment.

    The staff was very friendly. They spoke English. My room was overlooking the canal and was very picturesque. The complementary buffet breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lobby personnel should greet people with smiling face.

    Very comfortable bed, spacious bathroom, great breakfast, great location. Will gladly stay here again in the future.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Of our 3 rooms , one air con didn’t work, 2 safes, one TV. We spent one night without AC. Workers did attend to it 3 times which was annoying on a 2 day trip. Breakfast buffet was ok but the food wasn’t kept up to the pace of the crowd coming through. Front rooms have a wonderful view but also a 5am service to the hotel of deliveries and removals by boat that made an amazing noise until 7am.

    Accessible by foot from train station. Bar and restaurant at front of hotel and the staff in them were excellent. Bathrooms renovated, modern and spacious. Rooms nicely decorated, 2 of ours were spotless and crisp, one looked tired and yet to be updated and the one with AC issues. Breakfast area charming, offering of food ok. Good coffee at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers and bathroom amenities were lacking. Shampoo /body wash combo? No lotion? Update hair dryers please.

    Great location. Near train station, very close to water taxi, nice breakfast. Old world charm. Good wi fi. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaniness could be better!

    Excellent location with great a great view of the canal from the room balcony. Also can enjoy breakfast by the canal. Very close to the train station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    i think the building look old. the bath area was small and it was difficult to prevent water spread in bath area.

    we got the room with terrace. the view from the terrace was amazing. we spent good time by looking the beautiful city and drinking beer. it was unforgettable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room faced the high street and there was a lot of noise until midnight then shouting at 2am and then at 7am you could hear everyone rolling their suitcases down the high street which you can't sleep through as the window can't cut out all of the noise, although if your room doesn't face the high street it would be a lovely place to stay

    The hotel was very nice and in a good location to the train station and felt very grand. The breakfast options were very large and the apple juice tasted amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early for check in and had been traveling from very early in day. Asked if we could get into our room soon. They upgraded us to accommodate that request!! On the canal!!! Not many hotels would do that!! We would go again for sure! Elegant and old world Venice!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is bad. They serve cheese and ham, (both low standard comparing to what you can buy in any grocery store), eggs and bacon, juices, coffee, tea and some fruits. No veggies whatsoever and coffee tastes of filter, not arabica.

    It is a clean hotel with a friendly bartender and a good choice of drinks in the evening. The reception staff is ok. Rooms are clean, though you can feel they haven't been renovated in the last 5-10 years. The localization of the hotel is perfect - close to the station and on a shopping street but not as crowded as the ones next to St. Marc's square.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All was really good and we had nothing to comment.

    The property was great, the bed and pillows were very comfortable and the breakfast was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prickly pigeons on the terrace.

    Very friendly staff, comfortable beds, great breakfast offer. Many benefits for hotel guests (do not miss the tour Murano, Burano, Torcello).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was broken which meant the windows needed to be open, which allowed mosquitoes in, so I got bitten everywhere! The hotel were not apologetic at all. They were also not very friendly. In addition we had ants in the bathroom. I have stayed there twice before and it was fabulous but that was years ago and they have gone down hill massively. I would not recommend and won't be staying there again.

    Croissants at breakfast were delicious. And the shower was fab!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some decorations were a bit tacky and the whole interior appearance seems odd, although it doesn’t look bad by any means. Very slow wifi in the evenings.

    Great location near the train station and right on the Grand Canal with beautiful views from some rooms and the restaurant. Great breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) The restroom is big enough, but the shower room is too small, it would still be difficult to move for a skinny person while showering (I am a super skinny person but I kept hitting the shower wall & door) 2) It took forever to blow dry my hair 3) Towel is dirty 4) No hot water for showering sometimes 5) Restroom floor tile has been cracked and loose

    1) Good buffet breakfast but every day is the SAME food and drink 2) Only 5 min walk from train station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    16Feb 2018 EXCELLENT location close to Ferrovia ( railway station, 3 minutes walk ), Vaporetos terminal ( public ferries on grand canal ), easy access to carry your own luggage from train station, don't pay EUR15 to " luggage handlers " at the station for a 3 minutes walk, as we did, not knowing how far/close the hotel was. Nice, clean with past century furniture decor. Good buffet breakfast with all the essentials. Highly recommended, you won't be disapointed. I will come back to same place on a nxt trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main premises slightly dated, shower difficult to manipulate to not flood the bathroom floor, no robes supplied for a hotel of this purported calibre, only shower gel/shampoo, no conditioner nor body lotion, no wash cloths, no complimentary water, limited breakfast range, no availability of decaffinated coffee.

    If you want a superb canal view with close proximity to the main Venezia St Lucia station, this hotel is a good place to be. However, we had just come from another canal based hotel in San Marco, and there was no compare. The restaurant was great for dinner, an almost perfect Grand Canal location. Lovely food, very good service and great wine list. The reception area staff were helpful as they could possibly doing everything to ready our room earlier, due to our arrival being late morning. The room itself was spacious, clean and comfortable. Pros: Location of hotel, room size, bed comfort, in room safe, views from the room. It was not an unpleasant experience but not what was expected of a Venezia Commune four star hotel on the Grand Canal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location to take in all of Venice. No problem to walk to Rialto Bridge or San Marco Square. Easy access to the train station and the airport Staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It is not far from the car parking or train station. Also the staff were very helpful my wife got sick at 2am and they really helped me and followed with me until I came back

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Canal View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We had a wonderful room overlooking the Grand Canal - I'm sure it was an upgrade. The room was superb and scrupulously clean. Breakfast was also very good. Staff were helpful and very pleasant. The location was great, close to the vaporreta and within walking distance of the Jewish Quarter and the wonderful cicchetti and drinks.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The acomodation was like a fairytale. We spent there very romantic weekend with my boyfriend. It is a bit expensive but worth it. The man at the receptitheeven let us check out later! Very good experience. And the view on canal is made for nice romantic evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the rooms was hot and hard to regulate.

    Great location from train station. Liked that we went straight to hotel from train and then broke out to explore. Same for when leaving. Close access to public water bus or they will arrange private taxi. Staff was fantastic. Breakfast was fantastic. Beautiful view from our room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very rude employee at the front desk. My first night I needed to print boarding passes. Went to reception. Because I'm flying with an American passport on ryanair,you cant download your boarding pass on a tablet. The man at reception was very helpful and went on the sight and printed ir for me. The next day ryanair sent an email about booking priority seating so I could take a bag on board. They had changed there policy.I went back to reception to have a new boarding pass printed and the fellow at the desk was not accommodating , yelling that the hotel was not a business center.I said the guy the night before was able to do it and he was shouting at me asking whom it was. I told him to stop shouting at me and called him an ***hole and walked away. Other than this guy we had a good stay. He did send me to a internet cafe with vague directions and only found when we went to ask in a telephone shop where it was and it was in the back of the shop.

    Close to transport to airport, nice breakfast, in the heart of Venice island

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What started out positively as a warm greeting quickly degenerated into a look of ?disgust upon seeing my booking.com confirmation paper. No further eye contact thereafter throughout the booking in process and we were subsequently checked into the most inaccessible room in the entire hotel with no lift access to the floor (5th) despite our heavy luggage.

    Location was fantastic. Although that would have been the first issue to consider when planning to book any hotels in general. Hotel was generally clean enough for a one night's stay. Breakfast was above average, but not fantastic. Helpful porter.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn’t great and other than the room it all felt a bit dated. That said our room was good so we were happy.

    We had a great canal facing room. Well decorated in traditional Venetian style and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beer wasn't very nice from the bar and the bar was also a food serving area so not as relaxing as it could be

    The rooms the location and breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the staff very offhand and not welcoming. However, the concierge Erica, was excellent The mattress was a bit too hard for us but that was probably just personal preference.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing room for a 4* hotel. Significant mould in the bathroom, tired fittings and decoration, stand alone fridge with TV on top on a plastic drawer. Badly fitting shower screen above the bath led to flooded bathroom floor. Next to a building site with noisy work all day from 8am.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked last minute because the hotel that we originally booked wasn't up to standard. We booked a double room for two nights at the Princepe but when we arrived at the hotel the single beds were pushed together we explained that that wasn't what we booked online. No problem they said and we changed rooms to a beautiful room. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although I like the old charm of the hotel, I don't like cracked or broken tiles... the bathroom needs to be updated, however it is not a big issue. Would have liked a bigger room....

    The hotel has its charm, old style charm reminds me of early 20th century, but I read the hotel was built in 1600s, it was a Palace previously! That makes it quite appealing, the entrance is quite grand and pretty, the hallway on our floor was also beautiful with old traditional furniture, the breakfast room is really beautiful reminds me of old ball rooms from 1800s... Loved the breakfast itself, the breakfast staff are very attentive, perfect location close to the train station and the Grand Canal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The day it rained, there were no umbrellas available. Scaffolding outside our windows. The staff were not accommodating when asked about an alternative room.

    The breakfast was a good selection. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was very tired and needed fresh paint and repairs to the walls. However there were workmen in the Hotel, so the room might be scheduled for decorating.

    The situation is superb.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor view on the site says canal view and we had a horrible view of some scaffolding or the windows ,Missed on the second day toilet paper, shampoo and shower gel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Needed more whole grain cereals and fresh yogurt ( not out of a machine) . We were there for 5 days, it was an ok selection but not fabulous.

    Location fabulous not as crowded or noisy as Rialto or San Marco. So easy to walk everywhere and with the vaperatto / ferry stop just 50 meters away. Rooms clean , beds comfy this was our second stay and will definitely come back again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not kind at the reception, not really welcome with the customers. Support staff on the other side nice and avalilable. Bed not confortable, we asked for a bouble room and we got 2 materass put together with a big hole between the two.

    Good location close to the station but at the same price you can find a better place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the daily service to the room was half hearted...didnt replace soaps shampoos etc...left our balcony door open on two days, which ajoined the next room... our stay was a bit pricey but we were there during Carnival, so expected... the shower screen was inaffective...all of this was relayed in a feedback reveiw to the hotel in departure...the room is much smaller than described....we had to give way to each other to move around the bed

    location... straight off the bus , five minute walk over the main bridge...balcony room on Grande Canal...asked directions to clarify and we were there...loved that we didnt have to roam the streets for sges hauling bags, aas we saw countless tourists doing looking for their lots hotels...we walked and walked to anywhere we needed to go... water boats are just past the hotel...di yourself a favoyr, this was the absolute best location.. breakfast was buffet but good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost and noise from the street. Too close to station so very busy. No nice places to lounge and relax outside of room. No tea/coffee in room. I imagine there are many nicer places to stay.

    The bar and the view of the hotel from the Grand Canal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold bathroom. Without city or canal view. No coffee/tea facility.

    Close to train station. Comfortable bed. Warm room. Cosy breakfast. Near the canal restaurant. Ro9m with venetian design

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was too hot, and the rooms even more. In my first night it was impossible to sleep so i called the reception asking if they could down the heat or turn the air condicioner on and they simply said "nothing we can do". They werent helpful at all or cared at all about us. The rooms are too small, specially the bathroom.

    The location is great, the hotel is very beautiful (excluding the rooms that are too small) and the breakfast is also great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we leave something in the room, nowadays, we simply expect to be given back to us. The only answer we received was that they could not find it. Which is bad news for the quality of the housekeeping, or the reception, or both.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less than 5min walk from airport shuttle bus and station. Prices lower than San Marco/Doges palace area. Much better staying close to transport routes than paying over the odds to be central. We walked there in 30min and seen so much more than the tourist map shows you 😊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of the hotel, it was disgusting. Probably because of the canals... Breakfast was very poor, not much options.

    It was closed to the restaurants, bars, boats, etc... very easy facilities, I like that fact!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Stayed 5 nights. Plans changed and had to travel with a child who sleeps with us in one bed. On arrival was told to pay 40 euros extra per night even if the child sleeps with us and was told that if would have contacted the hotel earlier they could reduce the charge. I actually have emailed the hotel twice before arrival - just no one bothered to reply to my emails (Paid 230 euro extra). Tried to reply to their xmas lunch offer and reserve a table - again no decent reply. After been given a room noticed that it is very hot inside as heater was stuck on +26C, notified reception they have said that will fix the problem whilst we are out for the dinner. Came back to the room and found our window wide open with all our things laying around (camera, tablet ect) with the window having access to the yard (bringing in amazing aromas of pigeon droppings and cat piss) and the street, basically the staff member did not fix anything and just opened the window and exposed all our belongings to any thief. It was so hot to sleep that could not sleep all night. Got another room next day - same problem with heating, but at least windows weren't opening to the streets or bad smell. One evening I came back alone and was questioned by a porter which room I stay in and so on, the couple behind me weren't stopped or asked who they are and where they stay (double standards), with about 2 days of the stay left room service would not bother to replenish toiletries in the bathroom. Overall a hotel is quite dated (antique furniture is nice but carpets and bathrooms needs investment) and has problems with heating, avoid canal facing rooms as will not sleep due to delivery boats working from 6 am, breakfast staff really nice, front desk - not too much... will I go back to Venice? Yes. Will I go back to this hotel? Big NO.

    Good breakfast selection and variety of healthy and not so healthy :) options.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue we had was a beeping noise in the room next door but it was dealt with.

    In general we had a really nice stay. The dining room had a beautiful view and a tasty selection of food. Our room was spacious and clean. The staff was exceptionally helpful. Bathroom was clean and nice (The hair dryer gave was a taste of the late 70s era ;)). We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is disgusting, hallways smells like rotten eggs, all the staffs at the desk are arrogant and rude. I will also throw in that they are racist too, especially rude to Asians. Room fits two beds and that’s all. Everything is old and not the vintage old, just simply old and dirty. Bathroom is disgusting too. Breakfast is lame. This is no four star hotel. I wouldn’t even give it a one star.

    Location is close to train station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests are treated as customers, that will never back to this hotel. The hotel earn money on turists and offers quality like 2/3 stars hotel. Room: rust in shower, in general should be renowated. The view from room: it was roof with some machineres and waste. Breakfast: no vegetables (any!). Service: we asked as Genius member for early check-in but they didn’t answer us.

    The hotel is located in the city center, short distance to train station/ watherbus and attractions.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our experience at this hotel did not match those of other reviewers. Our room was on the top floor like an attic. The bed and pillows were rock hard. In the middle of winter, the room was so hot the windows had to be opened to sleep. The ceiling in the bathroom was on an angle, so it was not even possible to stand and take a shower. The hotel is dated and definitely not a 4 star. The staff were fine and the room was kept clean (except for the old and stained carpet), but needs an update.

    The location was fine, easy to reach from the airport and to get to all of the sites.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They were re-rendering the outside of our bedroom wall which started at eight in the morning, and they appeared to be changing the air conditioning system as well as renovating other rooms in our corridor. We were offered another room when we mentioned the re-rendering

    Good breakfast- plenty of it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1)No kettle. 2)Double bed and Single bed quoted for 3 people in a room turned out to be a folding bed for the "single bed". 3) Leaking shower hose

    Near train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and the staff in the reception not friendly,we are couple they give us a choice to small dark room or two single,we ask for a room on the river side he said to me you have to pay £70extra per night,is not worthy the money we pay £140 per night,Hotel cartoon is cheaper&nicer,I’m not recommending this hotel

    The location only

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room are good. Slow speed elivator. Break fast is very normal. Aproch to train station is so easy. Staf at reception is cooperative and smiling easpacially Mr.wafa. he is fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room was very small and not it did not matter as it was clean and well appointed we just opened the window to cool it down

    The staff were very helpful the location is perfect very close to pl Roma and with canal views a lovely terrace and at Breakfast a lady came round asking about the hotel to see if we were satisfied with everything and giving advise what to do in venice it was great

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee maker in room; although hot water is provided on the landing and paper cups and we brought our own tea bags: I thought the mini bar was okay if you wanted to use it; but you could put your own water bottle in to keep cool

    Bed was lovely, balcony was extra special loved it

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire property smells, I am glad I left most of my luggage in the car because what I bought with me ended up smelling just as bad.

    Very close to the heart of Venice

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was a little surprised at the front desk staff. They were not very pleasant. They were very formal and matter of fact. Given that I work for a world-renowned hotel school and travel extensively, I am keenly aware of the impression that is made by the front desk staff. Even as we walked by the desk several times, they rarely looked up or said hello. Not a very "warm" reception. There was little to no information regarding room amenities, such as the TV, i.e., no channel info, no info on how to control the temperature, etc. This would have been helpful.

    The location was perfect! Close to the train so we didn't need a water taxi to transport all our luggage. Right on the canal, so the views were spectacular. Breakfast was hearty and varied. Erica, the concierge, approached us at breakfast and was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Overall a wonderful experience!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location (close to Saint Lucia station / airport buses) and reasonably priced. Good breakfast and check-out wasn't until midday. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room - Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a better selection of fresh fruit at breakfast. Hotel was a little 'tired'.

    Great location on the Grand Canal with very easy access to all transport links. Beautiful balcony. Extremely clean. Breakfast quite good. Bar and Suchi restaurant very enjoyable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival, would have been nice if the reception staff could have smiled, appeared a bit frosty, which was a bit disappointing. Hotel porter was lovely and helpful with a warm cheery face.

    The view from our balcony looked directly on to the Grand Canal. Just beautiful! The room was light and airy, and a good size. It was very clean throughout!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Having to pay full amount several months in advance for a 7 day stay and not having the usual cancellation option which gave us no option if we had to move for some reason as we had already paid fully for those dates. Also, having to pay EUR5 for a fried egg - very expensive if one wants 2 eggs with their bacon - needless to say, we opted for the scrambled egg given.

    Excellent location on the Grand Canal with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby. Staff friendly and helpful. Good breakfast but not as much variation as we had when we stayed last year. Room had a good view albeit not over the Canal! and always cleaned very well - no complaints at all.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel staff offered to change our currency and said there is no commission. However the exchange rate was doubled what we paid otherwise. They didn’t bother to mention that. Also they asked us to take a tour to the glass factory which would require us to pay for a water taxi back. I felt that we were being targeted for being taken advantage of. A little sleazy.

    Location to train station

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view was fantastic. Very close to central station which makes it easier to carry your belongings. Also coffee just nearby the Grand Canal was perfect :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not enough time ....to make any comments....

    we ask to change our room reservations to face the gran canal..... the were absolutely great... tks... needed more the three days to see and enjoy the city .... but we will be back.... plus Erika made our trip enjoyable.....and informative!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not really. Just people in the front desk didn't smile to us, felt not very good about it.d

    Super nice location! Near train station and bus station and water bus stop~~~right in front of the river. You can have a super nice river view during the breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Usual lanolin-stripping shampoo in little bottles and hair dryer without much oomph but otherwise quite lovely

    Wonderful canal view room with balcony. Staff helpful with child crib and baggage room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    On a scale of 1 to 10, I would give them an 11. Had a wonderful room overlooking the Grand Canal. The room was well appointed and up to date. The included breakfast had a large and great variety of choices. We had an excellent experience at this hotel. I will definitely stay there when I return to Venice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first allocated room, which we had to stay in on our first night, had the window blocked shut due to construction work and the builders woke us the next morning. There was no notice of this when we booked or checked in. They gave us a cocktail as an apology but it was very disappointing.

    The staff were very helpful once we had complained but they didn't warn us of the problem with our room and it looked a little like they hoped to get away with it. However, the next morning, the manager Vincente went out of his way to ensure we got sorted into a room we liked, much appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had sent three mails that i would like early check in about 11:00. Also in my emails i noticed them that my purpose is a wedding proposal. My last email was the previus day and i asked them if they could have flowers on the room (on charge ofcourse). the receptionist told me they never received any mail from me. (All request were from booking site to be sure) I dont say that any other hotel in case of that could offer me at least an upgrade room or a bottle of wine.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was so nice and the receptionist in morning time was so nice and helpful the guy he was working in afternoon was so rude he make us disappointed from the service

    location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel with stunning view on the grand canal. During our stay the staff was very helpful and professional. The room was spacious and quiet. Breakfast with view on the grand canal was amazing. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We would have loved to have dinner outside but they were not serving due to the chill in the air. I would suggest some patio heaters to allow guests to enjoy the atmosphere and fantastic location at night.

    The location is absolutely fantastic! We throughly enjoyed the private patio the hotel offers with the fantastic view over the Canal. The hotel staff is exceptionally professional and welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Principe traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: