Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Via Sardegna 149/151, Via Veneto, 00187 Rome, Italy

#563 of 921 hotels in Rome

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 227 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    7.5
    Adequate facilities for price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast layout could have been improved. Had to chase staff to replenish hot food trays

    Central location within walking distance of a number of city highlights and also within easy walking distance of transport links

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    9.6
    We felt comfortable and cared for, leaving us free to experience one of the world's great cities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unable to navigate to English subtitles on Italian TV. We liked what we saw and therefore wanted to understand what they were saying, so that we could learn more about Italian culture.

    Comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful reception. Liked the breakfast. Liked the shower and bathroom. Excellent location for sightseeing. Value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.6
    The staff were extremely helpful in assisting us with some...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit far for walking to all the main sites in Rome. As it is a walking city it takes on average 30 mins to get back from Trevi Fountain to the hotel.

    The staff were extremely helpful in assisting us with some expensive luggage that was left in a taxi. Worried we would not get it back and for fear of missing our flight, the staff were able to contact the taxi driver directly and have him hand deliver the luggage. They went above and beyond to help us during our stay. The room was very nice and decorated in a rustic Italian manner. The breakfast was very nice too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    5.4
    we see a big nice room and they give us small one, "sorry this is family room u dont book this"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    in photos they have bigger family rooms and we book it because we see a big nice room, but they give us a small one.. all rooms for 2 persons are not big.. but they put big family rooms.. we are very disapointed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2017

    8.8
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast room had no exterior windows which made it a little dark. The breakfast itself was adequate. No fresh fruit though.

    The location was excellent. Walking distance to great restaurants and about 10 mins walk to the nearest metro. We paid for a triple room (and very little extra cost) even though we were only two people and this gave us extra space. However, the bathroom was very small. Overall the room was light, airy and very clean. The bed was comfy albeit on the hard side and it was a decent sized bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No coffee facilities in the room. Also the walls are very thin, so hopefully you won't have noisy neighbours like we did.

    Very nice and central location. The breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2017

    9.6
    Great return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing real to complain about. My pillow was a little harder than I like, but being so tired most days it didn't stop me from sleeping.

    Convenient location to rental car drop-off, very nice breakfast, full complement of fare. We have stayed here before and found it still a favorite of ours. Room was clean, well maintained and elevator was great after 10 hours wandering around Rome.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2017

    7.9
    Hotel was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel was in a good location close to the Spanish steps but the streets close were a little unsettling when walking back late at night.

    Hotel was very nice. Simple, clean and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2017

    7.5
    Superb location for the price rooms very quiet and warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were hard as I have ever felt. Reception staff were surly to put it nicely. The room allocation seemed a bit rough as there were hardly any guests and we were given internal facing rooms.

    The breakfast was excellent and the location superb. Very safe part of Rome and walkable to everything.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2016

    9.2
    Clean and comfortable;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Strange smell in the room (like hospital or drugs) , probably because of substances used to wash the floor; No metro station nearby for the moment... The nearest metro station is Barberini(15 min by foot) (although I saw that metro station Venetto is under construction). So only bus nearby. Very small repairs should be taken here and there in our room at least.

    Clean and comfortable;Spacious rooms; Good position for a walk: 15-20 min to Piazza di Spagna or Fontana di Trevi, 30-40 min from Termini Station; Good and sati breakfast: omelette, boiled egs, simple bacon, fried bacon, cheese, salami, prosciutto, croissant, panettone, cookies, milk, coffee, tea, etc;

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    5.4
    Nice place to stay....
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Costly. Breakfast was mediocre and boring. Few options

    Friendly staff always willing to help

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    6.3
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The internet is VERY slow.

    Location. Comfortable bed and linen. Elevator

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2018

    10
    Grear position and quirky decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Grear position and quirky decor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    8.8
    Great to have breakfast included in the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed was a bit hard for me

    Great to have breakfast included in the price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    7.9
    Short walking distance to main attractions.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small but updated room with balcony. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent Rome hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mauro at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    10
    A wonderful palace with a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi is horrible!

    The decor was beautiful and he staff was so helpful!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    8.8
    Staff all fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff all fantastic. They even stored my extra luggage for me before I checked in for one week, while I travelled elsewhere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very poor. There was a problem with broken toilet flusher and ventilation in the bathroom, nobody fix it during our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2017

    7.5
    Classic Hotel with good breakfast & helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is a classic style with helpful staff and a good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2017

    7.9
    A quiet place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Good breakfast, though a little unvaried.

    Very warm welcome by the staff. Quiet neighbourhood.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2017

    7.9
    Hotel v clean staff friendly area central would stay there again
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room a bit small for length of stay

    Breakfast very good with hot and cold food Area quiet yet central to accessig sights

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2016

    9.2
    Excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Lovely room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2016

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds to hard and stiff

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2016

    6.3
    The location was nice and rooms were clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff at reception were not polite.no aircondition and rooms were noisy

    The location was nice and rooms were clean

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2016

    5.4
    Poor internet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor internet Pay money with less value

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2016

    7.1
    reception staff weren't always very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    no tea/coffee making facilities and bar shut very early

    very comfortable & clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2016

    7.5
    Who was principessa Isabella?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When you reinstall hairdryers make them a little stronger, long hair takes longer!!

    Good breakfast, very pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2016

    8.3
    Excellent position for accessing ministries and nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    There was a lot of noise coming from the lift which was very annoying during the night. Overall, there is bad acoustic isolation. Breakfast is quite basic. I was given a handwritten receipt.

    Excellent position for accessing ministries and nice neighbourhood, city centre and Termini station easily accessible on foot (15 minutes to the station) of by several bus lines. Nice restaurants reachable by walk. Good wi-fi. Very nice personnel, always ready to help and assist with suggestions.

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2016

    10
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The (included) breakfast was okay for Italian standards, but not extremely diverse. The coffee could have been better.

    Clean. The Marble floor is easy to maintain hygienic, and gives a very hygienic feel to the hotel in general. The location is in the better part of Rome and near the centre, if you like a 20mins strawl, passing the monumental hotels at the famous via veneto. The personnel was professional.

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2016

    7.5
    Reasonably convenient and room quite spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Perhaps next time would choose a more convenient location.

    Reasonably convenient and room quite spacious. Fortunately the weather was good otherwise walking to sights would have been more of a problem as there was no shelter

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2016

    9.6
    Friendly Staff, Obliging when asking directions, Prompt for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly Staff, Obliging when asking directions, Prompt for booking taxis, Nice room, Nice Breakfast, nice coffee, nice crispy croissants and delicious various yogurts! Definitely recommend Hotel.

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    7.9
    The room was absolutely beautiful and set the mood for our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The beds were not as comfortable as I would have expected. We paid an extravagant amount of money for parking when street parking was easy and cheap.

    The room was absolutely beautiful and set the mood for our quick visit of Rome. The breakfast was lovely and hotel located in a beautiful quiet are with easy street parking.

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2016

    9.6
    We stayed at this hotel for four nights in April 2016 and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed at this hotel for four nights in April 2016 and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms were really clean, there was no disturbing traffic, the location was excellent and very convenient. The service at the front desk was very friendly and efficient. Breakfast had a good variety of salty and sweet choices, but the coffee could have been better. This hotel is very good value for the money.

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2016

    4.2
    1 younger guy on reception was very helpful and always said...
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    There was an older guy on reception who was very ignorant and not very helpful when asking directions. On 1 occasion when asking for a taxi he didn't even speak or look at us.

    1 younger guy on reception was very helpful and always said hello when we arrived.

  • Reviewed: April 27, 2016

    5.4
    The only good thing about this hotel is it's location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This hotel is not good at all. Rooms are very simple and breakfast is poor. You can easily hear people voices from other rooms, it was hard to fall asleep, because there was so much rumor behind the walls. When we asked to give us a blanket, because it was cold in the room, the receptionist was shocked and rude, then promised us to give a blanket the next day but nothing changed. 3 days later they said that they can not give us a blanket because there's only sheet in the hotel so they offered us to cover ourselves with sheets. When we asked for water at 21:05 , the receptionist said that bar closes at 21:00 and no one can give us a bootle of water. This hotel doesn't deserve 4 stars. For sure.

    The only good thing about this hotel is it's location. And the receptionist Mauro is very professional and polite. Bartender and doorman from Moldova is also very professional and a nice person. Other people at reception were not very polite, answered the questions with big reluctance, they didn't really want to help.

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2016

    7.5
    Although the room was small ,the king size bed was extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately the "bar" was just an after thought and as we were a party of 4 it couldnt accomondate 4 people with drinks as there wasnt anywhere to sit! However there is a Restaurant next door where we were able to have drinks every night.(ai Fienaroli). As the rooms were on the small side you could hear various noises from adjoining bedrooms, fortunately no shouting!

    Although the room was small ,the king size bed was extremely comfortable , which was a pleasant surpris, although much needed after a lot of walking round Rome. Reception were very attentive and each member of staff spoke English which is always a plus. Although the hotel did not have a restaurant theyre was a wide choice of Restaurants near the hotel offering a variety of menus to cater for all. The decor in the hotel was pretty, with some "frescos" on the ceilings,especially in the breakfast room,where the hotel offered an adequate breakfast.

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2016

    4.2
    Bed was very hard and uncomfortable and poor sleep as a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was very hard and uncomfortable and poor sleep as a result. Desk staff not helpful.very small minded. Breakfast mediocre. Definitely not a 4 star. So very disappointing esp for a 5 night stay . Asked for ice and had to bring a plastic bag from trash can down from room to reception. Other guests had similar comments.

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2016

    7.9
    The room was very spacious and clean and nicely decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No provision in the room for making tea/coffee.Most of the TV satellite stations are in Italian and could not hardly find a station in English. The nearest metro is a good walking distance away, too much to walk with your suitcase.

    The room was very spacious and clean and nicely decorated. The buffet breakfast was adequate and the reception staff very polite and helpful.

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2016

    9.2
    The breakfast was delicious and the staff were kind and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location was a little further then I would have wanted but it turned out to be worth the extra 10-15 minutes walk from the Trevi Fountain!

    The breakfast was delicious and the staff were kind and courteous!

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2016

    7.1
    Central yet quiet location, rooms nice enough
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very slow wifi, overcharged for 2nd guest. I had booked a double room with single occupancy, but when my partner joined me, they charged € 40 extra, although it would have been the same price had I originally booked for two. Completely unacceptable.

    Central yet quiet location, rooms nice enough

  • Reviewed: March 2, 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast included, large room, nice staff on reception desk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was basic, coffee was filter and our previous hotel which was cheaper and in a more central location was serving real coffee in the mornings. A very strange noise outside at night....all night, every night! Sounded like distant but repeated gun shots but with a rhythm and did not stop. Kept us awake every night. Lady at breakfast wasn't particularly friendly and made us feel uncomfortable. View from room was of ugly buildings from every window which was a shame. Location wise- good for the metro, trevi fountain, spanish steps and hardrock cafe but I wouldn't stay in this area again and don't think that this hotel was worth the money we paid (even with a genius discount!)

    Breakfast included, large room, nice staff on reception desk (helpful with sightseeing tips and some insight into the city). Clean room, large bed, location was okay.

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2016

    3.8
    No things
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Some reception staff should not work in a place dedicated to receive tourists for bad morals upon inquiry of them respond loudly and Glad does not know thats his working in prepared place for tourism

    No things

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2015

    7.1
    We had an early checkout to join an organised tour, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We had an early checkout to join an organised tour, and therefore we left shortly before breakfast commenced at 7am. The staff did not suggest any alternatives (even though we had actually paid for breakfast) and there was a lack of cafes around the hotel where we could get something.

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2015

    10
    The hotel is just perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel is just perfect.The location is next to via Veneto,the breakfast was excellent,the room was cleaned every morning,the hotel is quiet,the stuff was polite.The price was good,compared to other 4stars hotels next to it.I do not think you need anything else from a hotel.I should stay again at this hotel.

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2015

    9.6
    Spacious room with large terrace and unique decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No drinking glasses - only plastic cups which broke easily Towels could have been softer and possibly a shelf in bathroom for toiletries

    Spacious room with large terrace and unique decor

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2015

    8.8
    The staff were so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The breakfast was not nice and the coffee was awful.

    The staff were so friendly.The hotel is so central yet private and the rooms were spotless. bed was comfy and bathroom was huge.

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    9.6
    The welcome Mauro gave us on arrival and during our all too...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    How could anyone not like the hotel !

    The welcome Mauro gave us on arrival and during our all too short stay. The atmosphere and ambience in the hotel was lovely as was the breakfast Our room was great and the bed comfortable. Whatever salary Mauro is on ,he deserves a raise befitting his position as Director of First Impressions which he fills so well. Thanks mate! John & Jan

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2015

    9.2
    Great location, great value for money, breakfast included,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Morning reception guy Mr Grumpy.

    Great location, great value for money, breakfast included, most reception staff friendly and helpful (especially Mauro)

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2015

    9.6
    Myself, granddaughter and Niece liked the room it was clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Myself, granddaughter and Niece liked the room it was clean and cared for,the breakfast had a lot of choices and very tasty bacon and scrambled egg. The location was excellent for visiting the major centres

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2015

    8.3
    The personel was very nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Need to get used to live in marbles :) Would be good to have self-cooked coffee/tea in the room.

    The personel was very nice and friendly. The room was clean and stylish. The bathroom was big. The location is ok - still walking distance to the most attractive sites. The district is quiet. Close to the car rentals.

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2015

    8.3
    The hotel is located in a quiet road close to upmarket...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wi-fi was poor. Breakfast was OK. A better selection of fresh fruit and breads would be an improvement. There is no catering beyond breakfast. Communal space, such as a seating area, is limited.

    The hotel is located in a quiet road close to upmarket shopping streets and a variety of restaurants. Bus stops and a subway station also are nearby. Attractions are within walking distance for energetic tourists. Hotel staff are friendly, and rooms are clean.

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2015

    5.8
    Location was good with close proximity to the Spanish steps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The reception staff (especially one particular individual) answered questions in a very functional manner and did not go out of his way to be pleasant or show any level of interest in our stay and In fact tried to avoid making eye contact !!

    Location was good with close proximity to the Spanish steps and villa Borghese park and nearby restaurants . The quad Room was large and fairly comfortable

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2015

    5.8
    clean and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The third bed they put in the room was held together with duck tape and sank in the middle. After complaining to reception they said that they could do nothing until the next day. After saying this was not good enough and if that was the case we would go to another hotel, they finally made a telephone call saying they were phoning the Manager. The result was we were moved to another room with three beds that were fine. My question to reception was how could someone make a bed were they could see it had missing runners for the springs and was replaced with duck tape. For the price being paid this was unbelievable. Location wise I think we would try and be closer to the Panthon in the future as its a bit of a walk up the hill to the Clarion.

    clean and tidy

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2015

    3.8
    The location was the only upside to the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The pictures on the site and the actual pictures of the room are deceiving. The room was very, very, very small for a family of 4 traveling with a teenager. At first glance it appears to be a decent hotel. Once you pull back the layers omg!!!! When we arrived the towels appeared to be dingy. The beds were supposed to be a double and 2 singles but they were 3 singles and one pull out sofa/chair/couch whatever you want to call it. When we pointed this out, it was mentioned that the 2 twins were supposed to be pushed together to make a double. Which in my opinion is not truly a double bed. So once we noticed the towels were dingy and the towel rack appeared too had not been clean either, we informed the front desk. New towels were brought to the room and the towel rack was cleaned. After pushing the two twins together to make the double bed we noticed a stain on one of the sheets. When we pulled back the sheets we noticed the stain was not on the sheets but was coming from a stain on the mattress. A dried up blood stain on the mattress!!!! Disgusting!!! My husband and I went to the front desk to inform them of the blood stained mattress. Then the drama began!!! We informed the front desk of the mattress being stained. The reply was "we have never had any complaints about the room before". Followed by "we are a 4 star hotel and we have excellent reviews about cleanliness." Followed by "you are just trying to find something wrong with the room." Mind you not once did we ask for a refund, we simply asked for a new mattress and new sheets. We even asked the front desk attendant to come and look at the mattress. He told us that "he could not leave the front desk". We offered to take pictures and he followed up with "I don't need to see them." I was then told that "the towels that I complained about earlier were not dirty, because madam I saw them myself.

    The location was the only upside to the hotel. The hotel staff was helpful in finding places nearby to eat and shop.

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2015

    6.3
    Proximity to Borghese Park and the breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Homeless people on the same street and not convenient to Rome s main attractions nor public transportation.

    Proximity to Borghese Park and the breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2015

    10
    Quiet area of Rome around other nicer hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quiet area of Rome around other nicer hotels. A 15-20min walk to metro and train station. Reasonably central to all we wanted to see. Clean rooms with essentials.

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2015

    7.5
    Room was very clean;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Horrible view from window onto back of buildings. Room was a bit small for three people. T.V. had no international channels. Only one pillow per bed. Limited choice for breakfast; milk jug not cold. No tea/coffee making facilities in rooms.

    Room was very clean; linen and towels changed daily. Shower was powerful and hot. New double glazed windows so no noise. Staff quite helpful. Hotel was opulently decorated (like it or not) In quite a nice area.

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2015

    9.6
    Good location, easy access to buses - walking distance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room had no counter space. Also, we tried to leave a bag with laundry for pickup, and the house cleaning never took it. If you plan on doing laundry, make sure to arrange it in person.

    Good location, easy access to buses - walking distance to most attractions. Far enough that you don't have to deal with all of the tourists. Lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2015

    8.8
    This is a nice, clean hotel, located very close to via...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Somehow the GPS can never really find this hotel. Tip: arriving into the street, turn left, not right as the GPS says.

    This is a nice, clean hotel, located very close to via Veneto. No complains at all.

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2015

    5.4
    I've stayed in numerous hotels in Rome & across the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    I've stayed in numerous hotels in Rome & across the world, the managment attitude and willingness to accomodate was disgraceful and rude. For this reason I would not stay here or recommend to others. Once u pay, they don't care about you anymore.

  • Reviewed: May 2, 2015

    6.3
    The location was good, easy walk to the metro and bus stops.
    • Couple

    The beds and pillows were very stiff, asked for fluffier pillows for three people, received one. There was no facility to wash clothes, their laundry service was very expensive. Every time we flushed the toilet the drain in the shower made noises, likely due to the age of the building the hotel is housed in.

    The location was good, easy walk to the metro and bus stops. ATM machines are very close. The hotel was clean and inviting, and staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the typical italian style, very tasty and fresh every morning.

  • Reviewed: April 30, 2015

    10
    This hotel was terrific!
    • Group

    Liked everything....and then some!

    This hotel was terrific! The building has been completely renovated and is very nice! The rooms are small but pristine and the bathrooms are great. Staff was helpful and breakfast was plentiful!

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2015

    4.2
    The only thing we liked was that the hotel was in walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff, in particular, Michaela and another man with salt and pepper hair, I did not get his name, were very very rude. The issue was that booking.com would not allow the change from 3 people to 2 people, So when booking this room, we were charged city tax, up front for 3 people for both nights. That is a waste of money and was never credited back nor was the room upgraded, as promised via email to me from the hotel. Michaela dismissed me when I was trying to explain it to him and the other man with salt and pepper hair said it is impossible that you paid the city taxes already, by law, you pay them at checkout. I explained, no, they were prepaid. He did not care what I had to say as he raised his voice, telling me: you are wrong, I work here. Then he pulled up my receipt and realized he was wrong and said it must have been some kind of special and he never apologized, and neither him, nor Michaela would help me to get the extra 24 Euros that I paid back or upgrade our room, nothing. They just dismissed me. I do have to say that Stephano and another man who was there very late at night with a beard, were great and very helpful. Stephano even took the time to walk us to the end of the block to point out places he recommended for dinner. The beds were like sleeping on a concrete slab! The shower was so small you could barely turn in it. I would NEVER stay here again and could not wait to leave and go back to the original hotel we had that was booked for these particular 2 nights which is the only reason I booked this hotel. The breakfast was garbage and the coffee had no flavor and was very weak, unlike the other hotel.

    The only thing we liked was that the hotel was in walking distance to a lot of places.

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2015

    9.2
    Good location walking distance from sights, Vatican,little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast! Selection not bad but very hit and miss .Semi stale bread at times, tepid water for tea, no rashers left another day even though we were on time. These were never hot and swimming in grease. Fruit poor. Very seldom got rolls.

    Good location walking distance from sights, Vatican,little food shop on via Sicilian around corner,and plenty of nice places to eat in area. Beautiful frescoes on ceilings of hotel .

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2015

    8.3
    Welcoming and helpful staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Welcoming and helpful staff. Well appointed elegant rooms, spacious bathroom with heated towel rails. Nicely stocked bar fridge. Great choices at Breakfast. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2015

    7.1
    Space in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room No place to sit in the room, chair was uncomfortable and far too low compared to the desk TV channels: no international channels and even the major Italian ones were missing Service at breakfast limited to non existing

    Space in the room Location

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2016

    8.3
    Very clean hotel,nice and quiet location,close to bus stops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Boring breakfast,plastic cups in the room.

    Very clean hotel,nice and quiet location,close to bus stops.Complimentary WiFi everywhere.Polite staff.

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2016

    5.0
    Staff weren't overly friendly or helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff weren't overly friendly or helpful. The bread served at breakfast was stale

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2016

    7.9
    breakfast, location, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    no

    breakfast, location, staff

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2016

    7.1
    Spotless clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spotless clean. Free wifi. Pleasant staff

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2016

    7.1
    The location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The location is excellent.

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2015

    10
    Everythink was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everythink was perfect.

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2015

    5.8
    Disappointed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    No WiFi very bad internet connection

    Disappointed.....

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2015

    10
    Location and cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast wasn't great with regard to the quality of the food

    Location and cleanliness

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Clarion Collection Hotel Principessa Isabella Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: