Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Palazzo Priuli 4 stars

Fondamenta de l'Osmarin, 4979/b, Castello, 30122 Venice, Italy

#200 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 160 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staffs were very rude and arrogant the canal view promised for the superior room i have selected was not up to the mark. breakfast spread was reasonable.

    the location was nice - walkable distance from St Zaccharia waterstation - very close to st marks's square - making it easy accessabile. the facility do not have lift - so needs to climb the stairs which is not steady and got a sloppy feeling. Considering that the building is very old (few centuries), the interior was fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    See above

    The complimentary drinks (fizzy and still water, prosecco) were very welcome, as was the bottle of complimentary bottle of prosecco in the room. The hotel is very convenienty placed for travellers, and the staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room, uncomfortable mattress, terrible water pressure and temperature control, heat broken in the room. Fire alarm went off at 0320 and remained on until 0400. NOT WORTH THE COST TO STAY

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only English speaking TV programe that was available was CNN This was very irritating and as we arrived on a Friday evening nothing was done to improve the situation throughout our stay. We would have liked a kettle in our room to enable us to make tea and coffee at our convenience.

    Bed was comfortable. Bathroom adequate but fairly old fashioned but was clean. Free bottle of Prosecco on arrival and also available in the living room every afternoon.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room 102 buffet breakfast outside door, close to stairs, front of hotel and walk way to restaurant behind hotel.

    Very historic, lots of character, close to everything and nice continental breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water supply -- had to wait in mornings until rush hour was over, wbich is characteristic of old buidings but not really acceptable for a hotel of this level. Similarly, the historic carved wooden beds are gorgeous but mattresses are made to accommodate the antique beds, not modern backs. I didn't mind but you should know in advance that you'll sacrifice some comfort for authenticity.

    Breakfast is a large and luxurious assortment of different types of food, beautifully and elegantly presented and all of it delicious. The Priuli greets you with a complimentary bottle of prosecco in your room and sets out prosecco and mineral waters late each afternoon in the wonderful upstairs parlor which even has a small library of art books and novels. Gorgeous antique Venetian glass chandeliers, tiled floors, beamed ceilings, silk drapery in the bedrooms. You feel ancient grandeur all around you

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with some more pillows as the ones provided were very flat. Continental breakfast was basic but did the job, would have been great if more choice could have been made available.

    Location is just 5 minutes walk from St Marks Square so a great location. Staff were very courteous. Room met our needs, 1 double and 2 single beds for our family. Clean room and bathroom. Room also had a view of the small canal outside which was novel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I can`t think of anything that I didn`t like.

    The location was perfect being away from the hustle and noise of large crowds. They acknowledged that the breakfast was limited but plan to improve this area of service. The rooms are large and airy and the furnishings reflect the period of the hotel which we really appreciated, living in a listed cottage with antique furniture.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was over priced and dated. The stairs felt unsafe as they were not level. The furniture was old, chipped wood, with doors not closing properly. The bed was extremely hard and uncomfortable. Unable to sleep due to this and had back pain on waking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A stay at Palazzo Priuli is like taking a step back in time. This was one of the oldest Venetian palaces on the island. Marble and travertine floors, antique furnishings, crooked stairs ascending to the upper floor, slanted doors refitted to close tightly, handwoven carpets, and an absolutely modern bath. This is the second time we have stayed at this beautiful hotel and both rooms overlooked a canal with the endless flow of gondolas providing the entertainment. The location couldn't be more central! And service is 5-star! Our second night we found a chilled bottle of Prosecco with glasses in our room. Staff is super friendly and anticipated our every need, booked dinners and a show for us. It's a bit pricey, but if you want to step back in time into a top quality hotel, this is it!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lots of creaks and bangs in the night. no bar, no where to buy water except two tiny bottles in the mini bar.

    the location was good. bottle of prosecco in the room, nice welcome drink.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was just perfect!

    The location couldn't be better! One of the oldest buildings in venice.We had the junior suite with vieuw over the canals. The interior of the hotel and suite we're astounding! The staff was super friendly and the breakfast delicious. Next time when we're gonna visit Venice this is the place we're we gonna stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find and building works were going on next door. No fresh fruit at breakfast.

    On a smaller canal, v close to st marks square. Lots of character.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - The staff is not very welcomed (except the staff of the breakfast) - The price of the room is highly unjustified - The unconfortable of the bed - No umbrella to borrow when it rains

    - The location is amazing - We booked a classic room and the staff gived us a superior room - The breakfast is perfect - The room has a view on canals

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival the reception staff could have been more welcoming.

    Great location, really close to St Mark's Square and a good hotel from which to explore the canals of Venice. Just a short walk from San Zaccaria Alilunga stop which made getting from the airport to the hotel really easy. It's a fairly lengthy but relaxing boat ride from the airport. Breakfast was great and available from 7.00 - 10.00. None of walls or floors in the hotel were straight, but that just added to the experience of being in Venice. We were a family of 2 adults and 2 children. The room we had was a double and two singles, one of which was in the main bedroom, the second was in a small side room. It suited us but wouldn't suit everyone

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a quadruple room and one of the beds made access to the wardrobe a little difficult. We needed to be in a bigger room.

    the location is close to central Venice you are just a few minutes walk away. however the location is quiet it's hard to believe we were so close.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The 'superiore' room was a disaster! The floors were at a slant and the bed! The stairs are dangerous too!We had tochange rooms and when we checked out asked for a partial refund due to the room vbeing a "standard" and were told too bad!!

    The breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The men at the front desk were unnecessarily curt.

    A wonderful 700 year old palazzo with beautiful art, chandeliers (in the room!), 16 foot ceilings, the staircase (tilted and uneven, and we loved it) and a perfect location. The women at the front desk, the bellman, and the chamber woman, were fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is a bit small for 3 persons.

    Nice location and very friendly family and staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prefect stay. Really appreciated the support for the children.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be careful if you arrive late at night as you might find the front door locked.

    Great location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smell of old wood at the room

    Great staff, and very clean toilet

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning broke stuck on hot No English tv

    Breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely property, excellent and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing! It was all good!

    Very nice hotel,central for everything in Venice. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bed was not comfortable,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was superb and breakfast very lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious, warm coissants, sweet croissants, fruit.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the second time we have stayed there. We love the location, the character of the hotel and the yummy breakfast. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very unique hotel just minutes away from the Main square in Venice. If you want a real historical hotel experience, this is it

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Quadruple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Childrens/single bed a bit uncomfortable.

    Welcome chilled bottle of Prosecco was very much appreciated.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need better coffee. A cappuccino machine would be worth the money even if it is the pods.

    Selection was good.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Triple Room with Canal View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful location, friendly helpful staff, lovely room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff friendly, but no great internal atmosphere. Perhaps could have made a little more with the afternoon refreshments? The mosquitoes in the bedroom at night were a real nuisance and the dodgy AirCon meant the windows needed to be open.

    Good service with a smile at breakfast / reception and nibbles/refreshments left out late afternoon. Building and rooms evocative of Venice 'style'. Good bar / restaurant around the corner.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Appalling breakfast especially for the money paid. Tinned fruit. mini croissants, thin bread . No toaster but a sandwich grill provided which just crushed the thin bread. No offer of a capuccino just filtered coffee on the side No one asked if we enjoyed our stay even when we paid. I dont think anyone really cared. This hotel is not cheap but it is not up to the standard of a 4 star hotel. It needs to greatly improve the food and customer service.

    We had a junior suite with canal view which was a good size room traditionally decorated. Bathroom was big but needed updating - shower over the bath with grubby grouting. No robes provided.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room felt gloomy. The beds and pillows were very hard and uncomfortable. Ventilation was poor and opening windows allowed mosquitoes in. Slept badly because of this. A glass for water would be preferable to a plastic cup

    The staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was squeaking a bit too much.

    Great location - in walking distance of all major attractions, excellent breakfast, authentic Venetian experience. Hotel is in a former palace of a great Venetian family.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds were very uncomfortable, like sleeping on a plank of wood. Breakfast room was too small, especially as guests from hotel and its annex had to be accommodated.

    Perfect location, lovely setting on a canal with small bridge, impressive very old building. Modern bathroom. Breakfast was good, and it was a nice touch to provide a drink and nibbles in the afternoon.

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast basic. Room 103 awfully located in the building: close to all noise sources. Floor of room 103 not even and givrs a feeling it will soon collapse.

    Location, overall design.

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness of the welcome started off our stay pretty much as it continued. The staff were unfailingly helpful and pleasant, the breakfast was generous and delicious and our room was exactly as we had seen in the photographs on the website. It was a luxurious and rejuvenating few days in a beautiful hotel in a beautiful city.

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Such a beautiful setting. Open the window and there are gondoliers going past. Wonderful! This hotel is immersed in the atmosphere of Venice completely

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bathrooms are not the best....

    the location was great, and if you atch a water taxi you can arrange for a porter to collect your bags. Great when the weather is hot and you are travelling with a small child!

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lighting could be brighter in some rooms

    Interesting building in good location for visiting sights and waterbus. Clean and comfortable. Very helpful breakfast staff serving substantial breakfast. Thoughtful complimentary drink and fruit in afternoons-much needed on teturn from tourist trail. Glad of aircon too!

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent position, 5' walk to st Mark' s square, a feeling like still living in the magnificent past of Venice Superb room, comfortable and clean, luxurious bath, paintings, etc

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Possition, room overlooking canal attention to detail it was our anniversary and the hotel sent up a lovely bottle of bubbly for us to enjoy in the room but every afternoon they put out drinks nibbles which is a lovely touch.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The toasty maker was broken by another guest so did not have this available, they did however replace it on our last day. The wifi was free and great when you could get it, which seemed to be everywhere within the hotel except our room

    Great time of year to go (February) not as packed! Fantastic food and atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Tastefully furnished, large rooms, comfortable reception/lounge area. Good breakfast selection, complimentary refreshments in the afternoon. Excellent customer service

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Fab breakfast excellent location fab staff would recomend

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was a little disappointing.

    We liked the general ambience of the hotel, its history and the helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor soundproofing. We could hear the television upstairs (starting at 5am!)

    Sympathetically restored, made me feel like a princess.

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No tea making facilities in the room. A bit pricy

    Good breakfast Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bed was not confortable.

    The friendly staff of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Fantastic Location

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds not the most comfortable!

    The location of the hotel relative to the main sites of Venice.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    View from room, long breakfast hours, room decor and size.

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Guests also reviewed these properties: