Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Properzio 2 stars

Via S. Francesco 38, 06082 Assisi, Italy

#21 of 55 hotels in Assisi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 411 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 71

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The desk agent didn't speak English and when the owner commicated in English she gave either bad directions or directions I didn't understand- From the bus stop- SIMPLY WALK TOWARDS THE CATHEDRAL FROM THE BUS STOP! I was lost (unecessarily) for an hour!

    The breakfast was wonderful and the location was great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel with a very nice location, maybe the best location in the city. Friendly staff and nice clean room, but a bit small room. I recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom very small, no elevator, the bed too soft.

    3 minutes walk to St. Basilica Assisi, Friendly Reception, Discount given for several recomended Restaurants are good added value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed in room 7 (two single beds) the beds are quite/too soft, the other double beds are supposedly better...

    Very good location, nice staff and the best breakfast we have seen during our ten day trip through Italy !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was just a little too small and compact. Otherwise we couldn't have been happier.

    Paolo was immensely helpful, a real gentleman and very cordial. The location is superb, a little difficult to drive to and unload, being in the historic centre, but he helped with that. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have like to have a room with a view but unfortunately the single room was without one.

    Location was great! Breakfast delicious and the receptionist very informative.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Many steps to get to the hotel, then to room. It will be not easy for the travellers with big luggages. Public parking place is almost 1 km away but free and safe.

    Good location near Basilica di San Francesco d’Assisi. Beautiful entrance where many people take pictures. Good breakfast! Assisi remains clean and beautiful partly thanks to the hotel Properzio.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a small terrace, and would benefit from a couple of chairs to sit.

    The location is great and air conditioning worked well. Lovely owners and a good choice for breakfast. Would stay again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower leaked at the bottom and "flooded" the bathroom floor a little bit.

    The location is excellent, right by the Domo. The host answered a few questions we had regarding times and gave us tips for walking around. The clothing code is very strict at the churches in Assisi, and he helped us explaining what works and what doesn't. The room was a good size for 3 people.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only good thing is the location

    Location great. Not a place for older people to many stairs. If driving and have car do not stay here. Owner not helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    600 meters parking of hotel, but nice walking, it is possible to come to the hotel by car for a moment, it is a normal situation in Assisi

    100 meter of Basilica St.Franciscus, walking zone, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too many steps to get to the hotel, and room. No lift. Mom was with us, shes 82 years old. It was not easy for here to get up to the 3rd floor ! To park our car I had to walk 900 meters out side Asis...a beautiful walk I might add but still...no parking on site.

    We wanted to visit Saint Francis Chapel at Asis, the location was perfect for our visit ! half a block from it ! And the manager was so help full and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Normal proprietor was gone on vacation?; received my keys from another guest- I cannot tell you how strange that was but everything worked out. No English at all from that guest nor from the man who showed up in the morning to deal with breakfast and payment. Room is old and smallest I experienced in my weeks of Italian touring. Parking anywhere in Assisi is difficult so I do not fault the B&B but it does add to the anxiety of staying there. We were able by chance to get a slot right outside but it needed to be moved by 10 am. Do not think we had any Wifi.

    VERY close to St Francis church; What an exciting location! Breakfast remembered as pretty good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything! The building is many hundreds of years old (but very modern inside) so it isn't perfect for someone who likes high-tech, urban hotels - but this is a pilgrimage site so pilgrims will love the feeling of authencity!

    Nice mattress. Not too hard like most hotels. Great breakfast options. Manager is very nice and helpful. Wonderful location, right by St.Francis Basilica and close to bus and taxi station.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise in the corridor can be an issue (but was not for us).

    Friendly and willing to help where possible. Good breakfast and nice location. We will go back when we will go to Assisi !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking of the hotel, that appears as available at the booking page, is far from the hotel and is in a public-open space (the local cemetery). It was really uncomfortable for me, specially that I had a rent car and I could not sleep well. Other point to clarify is that the room are really small and I have asked by twin room and they reserve for me a couple room. According to the reception of the hotel, it is necessary to write to the hotel (directly) to asking the style of the room! Was a really difficult night.

    people working in the hotel receive us very well.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The value for money B&B stay and friendly reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to park far away from the hotel

    Friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff's kindness and helpfulness. Breakfast is good and varied.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect for my objectives. One-night stay. Great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent stay but the parking was not located at the hotel. It was a short walk but not centrally located.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking facilities. You have to park outside the city walls by your own.

    The location is great! about 200 meters from the cathedral!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room was small, very samll.

    Location. Metres away from​. St Francis church

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a couple of flights of stairs to climb, which was an issue for my mother.

    Location was amazing and staff were very helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind

    Great value for money. Excellent host and great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking location is about 600m distant

    Hotel location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to S.Francesco's church.

    Very compact room and small bathroom with a good shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The process of keying in the lock combination of the front door. Smallness of the room.

    Location. Help of the staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A beautiful and quiet place, warm room and warm hospitality on a cold winter day - thank you!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We would stay here again in a heartbeat. And as to Assisi itself, what a gem of a place!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paolo gave some great advice to make our stay even better. This hotel offers excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Direction to get to hotel through Assisi, room was small.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator. Had to walk up stone steps to entry. Another flight of stairs to room. Difficult with luggage.

    Convenient to San Francisco Basilica.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location good but room and in particular the bathroom was way to small. Staff very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator for guests. Had to carry luggages up 3 flights of stair. Not handicap-friendly. Shower water leaks onto bathroom floor

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Limited English spoken

    The location is extremely close to the Basilica of San Francesco. Friendly staff and good breakfast. Thank you Hotel Properzio for letting us check in earlier than the listed check in time.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room had a single bed and if that had been removed and a desk provided with tea making facilities and chair and small frig that would have just improved the room completely, The shower was very tiny - but that was manageable for the age of the building ! Breakfast was good and available from 8 - 10 - a good time for holiday people.

    The atmosphere was perfect. My husband was ill and a doctor was available and he spoke English - Paolo the proprietor went out of his way for us - and did not charge for extra phone calls or inconvenience. The bed was comfortable and king size - excellent..The bells from the Basillica were a beautiful reminder of where we were, I would return.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Single room a bit too small and noise from other guests but it was ok, with the price one pays.

    Friendly staff, excellent location very close to basilica of St Francis.

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    • Solo traveller

    The owner was very nice, he also gave me some very good suggestions on places to visit and restaurants. Location was excellent, only 2 minutes away from basilica of St. Francis. Breakfast was also very good, room was clean and comfortable bed. Could not ask for anything better.

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was wonderful, the hotel was well located, the room was very comfortable, and the breakfast was better than other hotels we'd stayed at in Italy. Would highly recommend this place. Great value. Will stay here again if we return to Assisi.

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Ancient building was great but no elevator like many of these places.

    Paulo and his assistant were warm and helpful. He speaks not much English but tries hard. Breakfast was nice with cappuccino machine.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had an exceptionally pokey little room with an uncomfortable bed - but this is often the lot when makeing a single booking.

    I liked the arrangement for breakfast

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The owner was overly attentive and hovered, particularly over breakfast, which made us feel uncomfortable. Twice we went to breakfast and were asked to come back in ten minutes, even when there were tables available. The small room was on the top floor, with lots of stairs and no lift, and felt like being in an attic

    The room was clean and dark, which was good for sleeping

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    As always when it is about single room. So very often they are situated towards the backyard. The room was almost claustrophobic small. Just at about 20-30 cm for passing by my bed.

    The Location and it was kleen and not very expensive.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Room was located at the top of the hotel and had sloping ceiling which was difficult for the 2 taller members of our group. No lift at this hotel so be prepared for stairs

    This is a really lovely little hotel located just up the road from St Francis Basilica. Paulo is a delightful host, always willing to assist though has very little English so bring your phrase book. Great selection for breakfast. Very yummy!

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -Due to lack of maintenance, the hotel had a breakdown in their water system, we did not have water for parts of our stay, and no hot water at all -Very weak WiFi signal in room -Be aware that there is no available parking nearby. Paid parking approx 1 km away.

    -Great location for visiting the basilica -OK value for money (if you have hot water)

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel & the service there was horrible. No chair, no desk, the remote for the airconditioner was hidden away. When asked about airconditioner not running was not helped till we asked again for him to come to room.

    Nothing at the hotel , Assis was very nice and interesting

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Like many places in Assis there are space limitations and heritage listing implications, meaning no elevatórs, no air conditioning in some rooms and shower and bathroom spaces sized for midgets.

    Great location close to the Basílica. Great reception, the owner is very helpful, efficient and nice.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room is really tight. Two bed one for me and wife, and other for my child. No chair, or any more room to move around. While, we showed up on time, we had to call and wait for someone to show up to check us in. Staff didn't speak English.

    Nice staff. Free breakfast. Location.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is comfy, good value for the money considering Assisi is a very small town. We had to leave very early next morning so we missed breakfast but the lady offered to prepare a takeaway snack for us so we can have something. Turned out to be pretty good!

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived later than planned from the train station but the owner was very kind and gracious about our tardiness!! He didn't speak English and our Italian is awful but he still went out of his way to make us feel very welcome. The breakfast was beautifully presented. The position very handy to San Francesco Bascilica. Just be aware that there are stairs to climb. Rooms are small but beautifully appointed - very clean and comfy bed

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    8:05 am after a long exhausting trip the day before: -There is construction works next door, right behind to where we sleep, they are drilling the wall. We cannot sleep. -Yes i know. -Do you at least have some earplugs? -There is no earplugs. -Why did you not tell us so we could get our earplugs? -I dont understand english. Do i really need to tell more? I actually should: The wifi doesnt really work. And the bed is uncomfortable. How on earth do they have a score of over 8,5?

    The location was very good and the room was clean. But that is just about all.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The space for showers is very small, have to pay attention not to let the water spill out the curtain, but it's bearably.

    The receptionist(boss?) is very kind and warm. The location is good, only need 5min walk to Basilica di San Francesco, 10~15min to plaza Unita d'Italia depending on up or down slope. The breakfast is rich. We didn't see any elevator right there, but the boss help us take heavy luggage to our room let us embarrass(>///<) and warm:). In summary, it's really a nice place, good choice!

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room very tiny

    Great location & good selection of food for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Driving to hotel a bit difficult and not much English spoken

    Good muesli and nice coffee at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The single room was very small. Too small.

    Great location. The staff was very hospitable and friendly

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a slight smell in the room, which may have been related to the plumbing.

    Just around the corner from the Basilica. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The entrance and access to apartment No lift

    Space, proximity to town

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking is not close...a good 15 min. walk with your bags

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only a couple of minutes walk to St Francis church and close to many restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    the bathroom was a bit cramped

    the staff was very nice and the location, entrance and room great.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room is very small. No view.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very small room.

    Very close to Saint Frances. Excelent location. Very good breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful old town Bike friendly hotel

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From the excellent t welcome and throughout stay we enjoyed very much. Excellent location.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room felt very small and cramped

    Location to Duomo was very close

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I wish there had been a little writing table in the room.

    Location and staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent advice from Paolo, the hotel owner, on the restaurants in Assisi. His picks were infalliable!

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Shower area is too cramped.

    The location and owner are great.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very clean city, well organized, tourist friendly

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 71

Browse Hotel Properzio traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: